Suicide Prevention
Resource Brief
- National Suicide Prevention Lifeline. A free, 24-hour, confidential hotline available to anyone in suicidal crisis
or emotional distress. Call for yourself or someone you care about. Your call
will be routed to the nearest crisis center. Telephone: (800) 273-TALK or (800)
273- 8255 (voice); (800) 799-4889 (TDD) or (888) 628-9454 (Spanish).
- Trevor Lifeline. A free, 24-hour, confidential crisis and suicide-prevention lifeline for lesbian,
gay, bisexual, transgender, and questioning youth. TrevorChat is a free, confidential, and secure online messaging service that provides live
help with trained volunteers.
- American Association of Suicidology (AAS). Fact sheets, statistics, and publications for health, education, and social services professionals and families about reducing the incidence of suicide and suicidal behaviors among children and adolescents. Includes information about education and training opportunities for health and education professionals. Also includes resources and support for those thinking about suicide, suicide loss survivors, and suicide attempt survivors.
- Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC): Suicide Prevention. Fact sheets, program information,
definitions, and data about
suicide. Includes information about
suicide risk and protective factors,
consequences, and prevention strategies.
- Children's Safety Network: Suicide Prevention. State fact sheets with data about suicide and adolescents and a summary of
state maternal and child health program efforts to address adolescent suicide.
Also includes presentations, a webinar, and the recent publication:
Special Newsletter Issue on Suicide Prevention. (2011).
- National Action Alliance for Suicide Prevention (Action Alliance). News and information about the Action Alliance, a public-private partnership to help guide the implementation of the goals and objectives in the National Strategy for Suicide Prevention (NSSP).
- Reach Out. Youth-generated, expert-reviewed information and stories
with opportunities for adolescents to connect with one another in a supportive,
safe environment. Topics include warning signs for suicide, depression, and
eating disorders, as well as relationship advice and coping
strategies. Includes tips to help cope with tough times and tips for helping
a friend.
- Recommendations for Reporting on Suicide. Recommendations
for the media about safe and accurate reporting of suicide to reduce the risk of contagion and encourage help-seeking behavior. Lists the warning signs of suicide.
- Suicide
Prevention Resource Center (SPRC).
Suicide prevention information,
training materials, and other resources
to assist professionals, advocates, and families
with developing suicide prevention
programs, interventions, and policies. Includes an
online library of resources about suicide, suicide
prevention, and mental health. Also presents descriptions
of and resources
from state efforts to prevent suicide.
SPRC is funded by the Substance
Abuse and Mental Health Services
Administration (SAMHSA).
Resources include
After a Suicide: A Toolkit for Schools. (2011).
Best Practices Registry for Suicide Prevention. Program descriptions and contact information for suicide prevention programs that effectively address specific objectives of the National Strategy for Suicide Prevention.
Continuity of Care for Suicide Prevention and Research: Suicide Attempts and Suicide Deaths Subsequent to Discharge from an Emergency Department or an Inpatient Psychiatry Unit. (2011). [Report].
- TeenScreen National Center for Mental Health Checkups. Resources for the early identification of mental illness in adolescents, including
kits for developing a mental health screening initiative in primary care offices,
schools, and community-based programs; evidence-based resources for providing
mental health checkups to adolescents as part of their routine health care; fact
sheets on mental health, depression, and suicide; and a state resource center
with information about adolescent suicide, mental health issues, policy, and
state and federal government contacts. TeenScreen is affiliated with the Columbia
University
Division of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry.
- The Trevor Project. Facts and warning signs about suicide, tips on how to help a person in crisis, and an online directory for finding local resources for lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and questioning youth. Also offers information about a classroom tool and other resources that can be used to generate discussion about the issues surrounding suicide, personal identity, and sexual orientation. Resources include
Talking About Suicide and LGBT Populations. (2011). This guide was developed by the American Foundation for Suicide Prevention, Gay & Lesbian Alliance Against Defamation, Gay, Lesbian and Straight Education Network, Johnson Family Foundation, Movement Advancement Project, and The Trevor Project.
- American Association of Suicidology (AAS): Suicide Loss Survivors. A newsletter, articles, a handbook, personal stories, and fact sheets for survivors
of suicide. Includes an online directory of suicide survivor support groups
by state. Also offers a fact sheet for family members, friends, and coworkers
about helping a survivor heal and resources for mental health clinicians who
have lost a client to suicide.
- Compassionate Friends: Grief Support After the Death of a Child. Brochures for parents, grandparents, and siblings who have experienced the
death of a child at any age and from any cause. Also offers support via online support groups and local chapters.
- Adolescent Violence Prevention knowledge path, family resource brief, school resource brief
- Bullying resource brief
- Emotional, Behavioral, and Mental Health Challenges in Children and Adolescents knowledge
path, family
resource brief, school
resource brief
Suicide Prevention: Resource Brief. (July 2011). (Updated: September 2011).
Author: Susan Brune Lorenzo, M.L.S., MCH Library.
Reviewers: Lauren Agoratus, M.A., Family Voices and Family-to-Family Health Information Resource Center at the Statewide Parent Advocacy Network of N.J.; Olivia Pickett, M.A., M.L.S., MCH Library; Judi Siegel, L.I.C.S.W., Children's Hospital Boston; Sandy Swan, M.L.S., M.P.H., C.H.I.S., Phil Johnson Historic Archives and Research Library.
Editor: Ruth Barzel, M.A., MCH Library.