Care, Services, and Support
- Alcoholics Anonymous (A.A.). Information about this program to help fellow members solve their common problem and help others to recover from alcoholism. Includes an online directory of local A.A. meetings.
- Smokefree Teen: Your Call. Tools to help adolescents stop smoking. Includes an interactive guide, a free
smartphone application, social networks, and
SmokefreeTXT. Free text message cessation service that provides encouragement, advice, and tips to quit smoking. Sign up online text QUIT to iQUIT (47848).
Quitline. Call to speak with a smoking-cessation counselor by telephone: 1-800-QUIT-NOW (1-800-784-8669).
- Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA): Substance
Abuse Treatment Facility Locator. Contact information for drug- and alcohol-abuse-treatment programs. SAMHSA also
offers a confidential, free, 24-hour-a-day, 365-day-a-year, information
service, in English and Spanish, for individuals and family members facing
substance abuse issues. Call for referrals to local treatment facilities,
support groups, and community-based organizations. Telephone: (800) 662-HELP (662-4357).
Websites
- Campaign for Tobacco-Free Kids. A collection of fact sheets about the toll of tobacco and proven, cost-effective solutions that prevent children and adolescents from smoking, help smokers quit, and protect non-smokers from the harmful effects of secondhand smoke.
- Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC): Healthy Youth! Adolescent Health. Information about societal influences on adolescents and the critical types
of adolescent health behavior that contribute markedly to the leading causes
of death, disability, and social problems among adolescents and adults in the
United States. Resources address alcohol and drug use and tobacco use and include data and statistics, science-based prevention strategies, publications,
and program information. Examples are
Best Practices User Guide: Youth Engagement—State and Community Interventions. (2010).
Guide to Community Preventive Services: Adolescent Health. Recommendations for population-based interventions that focus on adolescent
alcohol and drug use, violence, and
sexual behaviors. A separate set of recommendations addresses tobacco use.
Smoking and Health Resource Library. Abstracts of journal articles, books and book chapters, reports, conference proceedings and conference papers, government documents, and other publications.
- Children Now: Talking with Kids About Tough Issues. Tips for talking more easily with your kids about difficult issues, including drugs and alcohol.
- MedlinePlus. Links to information for families in English and Spanish about underage drinking, drugs and young people, and smoking and youth.
- National Center on Addiction and Substance Abuse (CASA). Research information, publications, and news about the abuse of legal and illegal
drugs, alcohol, and tobacco; the economic and social costs of the abuse,
and what works for whom in prevention and treatment.
- National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (NIAAA). Research information, data, news, and resources for professionals and families about alcohol consumption, prevention, and treatment. Initiatives include the Underage Drinking Research Initiative, Leadership to Keep Children Alcohol Free, College Drinking Prevention, and Cool Spot: The Young Teen's Place for Info on Alcohol and Resisting Peer Pressure. Recent resources include
Alcohol Screening and Brief Intervention for Youth: A Practitioner's Guide. (2011). (Developed in collaboration with the American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP).
- National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA). Program information and
publications for health professionals and researchers about the health aspects
of drug abuse and addiction to inform policy and improve practice. Includes
drug-use screening tools, publications about drug abuse and mental illness
(comorbidity), research summaries about prevention and treatment, and statistics
about drug use. Resources for parents, teachers, students, and young adults
include fact sheets
on specific
drugs, prevention curricula, and Spanish-language materials. Also see NIDA for Teens. Recent publications include
Seeking Drug Abuse Treatment: Know What to Ask. (2011). [Brochure].
- Parents. The Anti-Drug. Strategies for parents and adult caregivers to prevent or stop their adolescent's illicit drug
use. Includes drug facts, signs and symptoms of use, and
suggestions for how to talk to adolescents about their drug and alcohol use.
- Partnership at Drugfree.org. Science-based resources and information about community-education programs
to help parents prevent, intervene in, and find treatment for drug and alcohol
use by their adolescents and young adults. Includes a drug guide with information
on more than 40 commonly abused drugs.
- Rutgers University Center of Alcohol Studies: Alcohol Studies Database. Citations for journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and audio-visual materials about alcohol, including adolescents and alcohol and adolescents and drugs.
- Smokefree Teen. Information for adolescents about the harmful effects of smoking and secondhand smoke on their health and tools to stop smoking.
- Stop Underage Drinking. Links to resources developed by federal agencies about underage drinking and
strategies for prevention and treatment. Includes resources designed for health
and social services professionals, parents, adolescents, community
and faith-based organizations, businesses, educators, and law-enforcement agencies.
- Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA). Resources for health and social services professionals, educators, and families about substance abuse;
treatment, prevention, and recovery; service delivery and practice
issues; research; data; and grants. Includes publications about specific substances. Some materials are available in Spanish. Resources
include
Office of Applied Studies: Youth and Substance Use. Reports with national data on alcohol, tobacco, and drug abuse; substance-use-related emergency department episodes and medical examiner cases; and substance
abuse treatment.
States in Brief Reports. Click on a state for overviews of adolescent drug, alcohol, and tobacco use; treatment
resources; mental health indicators; and SAMHSA grant funding within the state.
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Data Archive (SAMHDA) Substance abuse and mental health research data, including those that focus on children and adolescents.
- Committee on Substance Abuse. 2011. Substance Use Screening, Brief Intervention, and Referral to Treatment for Pediatricians. Elk Grove Village, IL: American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP). [Policy statement].
- Office of the Surgeon General. 2012. Preventing Tobacco Use Among Youth and Young Adults. Rockville, MD: Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS). [Report, Consumer booklet, Fact sheets, Public service announcement, Promotional buttons, E-card].
Related MCH Library Resources
Tobacco, Alcohol, and Substance Use in Children and Adolescents: Resource Brief,
2nd ed. (November 2011). (Updated: March 2012).
Author: Susan Brune Lorenzo, M.L.S., MCH Library.
Reviewers: Olivia Pickett, M.A., M.L.S., MCH Library.
Editor: Ruth Barzel, M.A., MCH Library.