- Alcoholics Anonymous (A.A.). Information about this program to help fellow members solve their common problem and help others to recover from alcoholism. Includes an online directory of local A.A. meetings.
- Smokefree.gov: Talk to an Expert. Contact information to speak with a smoking-cessation counselor in English
and Spanish by telephone: (877) 44U-QUIT (448-7848). Also links to a text messaging
service and state quitlines.
- Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA): Behavioral Health Treatment Services Locator. Contact information for drug- and alcohol-abuse-treatment facilities and programs. SAMHSA also
offers a confidential, free, 24-hour-a-day, 365-day-a-year, information
service, in English and Spanish, for individuals and family members facing
substance abuse issues. Call for referrals to local treatment facilities,
support groups, and community-based organizations. Telephone: (800) 662-HELP (662-4357).
College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists
(ACOG). Information and materials about preconception and pregnancy
for health professionals including a resource list about tobacco, alcohol, and substance use. Note: Some resources on the website are accessible to members only. Recent, web-accessible resources include
Smoking Cessation During Pregnancy: A Clinician's Guide to Helping Pregnant Women Quit Smoking. (2011).
Alcohol Spectrum Disorders (FASD) Center for
Resources for health professionals, policymakers,
and consumers about preventing and treating
FASD. Presents fact sheets, brochures, posters,
reports, and video clips. Includes information about evidence-based prevention programs, a publications database, and a collection of resources for working with American Indian, Alaska Native, and Native Hawaiian populations.
Perinatal Network: Substance Use and Pregnancy. Tools for health professionals about integrating screening and treatment for tobacco, alcohol, and substance use into prenatal care. Includes educational materials for pregnant women and families.
- National Abandoned Infants Assistance Resource Center. Fact sheets, issue briefs, and training tools for health and social services professionals working with pregnant and postpartum women with alcohol and substance use disorders.
- National Center for Birth Defects and Developmental Disabilities (NCBDDD): Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorders (FASD). Research information, screening and intervention tools, educational resources, and Podcasts and other multimedia tools for health professionals and women of childbearing age to prevent alcohol use during preconception and pregnancy. Some materials are available in Spanish.
Organization on Fetal Alcohol Syndrome (NOFAS).
Fact sheets for pregnant women and professionals about the dangers of alcohol consumption
during pregnancy. Includes a national and state-by-state resource directory and tools for educators,
including a school-based FASD education
and prevention curriculum.
- Smokefree Women: Pregnancy and Motherhood. Information for women who are pregnant or want to become pregnant about the harmful
effects of smoking on their health and their infant's health. Includes
information about secondhand smoke, myths about smoking and pregnancy,
and relationships and smoking. Also presents a guide to quitting and ways to talk to a smoking-cessation counselor and a companion website Smokefree
- Smoking Cessation for Pregnancy and Beyond. Online continuing education program for health professionals with case-based learning using simulated and actual patients, interactive activities, lectures, and links to additional resources.
- Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA): Office of Applied Studies. Reports about the prevalence of and treatment for tobacco, alcohol, and substance use among pregnant women and women of childbearing age.
- Office of the Surgeon General. 2005. Advisory on Alcohol Use in Pregnancy. Rockville, MD: Office of the Surgeon General.
- Office of the Surgeon General. 2010. How Tobacco Smoke Causes Disease: The Biology and Behavioral Basis for Smoking-Attributable Disease. Rockville, MD: Office of the Surgeon General. [Report]. The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) released highlight sheets and educational materials to accompany the report, including Overview of Findings Regarding Reproductive Health (2010) and Scientific Review of Findings Regarding Reproductive Health.
Related MCH Library Resources
Tobacco, Alcohol, and Substance Use During Preconception and Pregnancy: Resource
Brief. (January 2012). (Updated December 2014).
Author: Susan Brune Lorenzo, M.L.S., MCH Library.
Reviewers: Olivia Pickett, M.A., M.L.S., MCH Library.
Editor: Ruth Barzel, M.A., MCH Library.