American
Academy of Pediatrics, Council on School Health
Resources for pediatricians and other health professionals, including
policies, publications, training, state contacts, and other resources.
American School Health Association
Advocacy materials, self-study training resources, and links to other
resources.
Center
for Health and Health Care in Schools
Information for health professionals, educators, parents,
and young people to assist in promoting the health of children through school-connected
programs. Includes a section on immigrant and refugee children.
Center for Mental Health in Schools
Practitioner toolkit and networks, resources and publications, and
free quarterly journal.
Centers
for Disease Control and Prevention, Division on
Adolescent and School Health (DASH)
Tools for curriculum analysis and program evaluation; information
on national, state, and local programs; and resources on
school health topics.
ERIC
Education Resources Information Center
Database of publications on many educational topics, including
school health, breakfast and lunch programs, physical education, school
nurses, and sports medicine. Free full-text access is available for many
documents.
MedlinePlus:
School Health
News, overviews, nutrition, specific conditions, related
issues, videos, research, journal articles, organizations, law and policy,
statistics, and materials for children and adolescents.
National
Assembly on School-based Health Care
Resources to enable school-based health centers to deliver
affordable, high-quality services and play an active role in public policy.
Materials on advocacy and policy, evaluation and quality improvement, financing,
mental health, training opportunities, and state affiliates.
National Association of School Nurses
Online resources on many school health topics such as obesity,
asthma, non-violence, and environmental health; toolkits of resources for
school nurses; educational campaigns on topics such as flu, immunizations,
meningitis, and head lice; continuing education; materials about the profession
of school nurse; policy and advocacy materials; research; and list of state
school nurse associations.
National Association of State Boards of Education: Center for Safe and
Healthy Schools
State school health policy database with a comprehensive set of
laws and policies from 50 states on more than 40 topics; best practice
model policy language on school health topics; other resources.
National
Center for School Crisis and Bereavement
Bereavement guidelines for schools and parents; psychological first aid
brochure in English and Mandarin Chinese; and resources on crisis intervention,
emergency preparedness, and bereavement.
National Coordinating
Committee on School Health and Safety
List of member
organizations with links to the school health portions of their Web sites,
list of federal agencies that sponsor or actively participate in this
committee's activities, and list of recommended resources on school health
topics.
National Education Association Health
Information Network
Information and programs to improve
the health and safety of the school community. School safety alerts
on recalled products and materials on nutrition, stomach bugs, immunizations,
school crisis, Internet safety, school and community safety, healthy
hygiene and disease prevention, and other topics.
National
School Boards Association, School Health
Programs
Resources to help policymakers and educators make informed
decisions about health issues including "101" information packets
such as Asthma in Schools 101 and Tobacco Use Prevention 101, NSBA health-related
publications, a database of promising district practices, and the School
Health Resource Database, which contains abstracts of more than 3,000 articles,
training tools, and policy samples. Focus topics include tobacco, asthma,
flu planning, and childhood obesity. Links are provided for numerous additional
topics.
From the MCH Library Databases
Related MCH Library Resource Lists
For more information
on school health and related topics,
use the MCH Library Advanced
Search.
Authors: Olivia K. Pickett, M.A., M.L.S., Beth DeFrancis
Sun, MCH Library
August 2010