photo collage
Top Navigational image with links Home About Search
Search the Databases
Advanced Search
MCH Library Resources navigational image with links MCH Group 3rd Edition Guidelines Oral Health Resource Center Bright Futures at Georgetown University AIM Partners MCHB Final Report Healthy Start MCH History MCH Thesaurus Resource Guides MCH Alert Newsletter Bright Futures for Women About the LibraryMultimedia Resources Databases Contact Us Frequently Asked Questions Site Map Distance Learning MCHB-Funded Projects and Final Reports Children's Bureau Healthy People 2010/2020 State MCH-Medicaid Coordination MCH Links MCHB Resources Centers Sudden Infant Death Resources for Families Knowledge Paths Find Services Non-English Languages
Environmental Health
Resource Brief

Table of Contents

Web Sites
Additional Resources


Web Sites

Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry (ATSDR).
A-to-Z compendium of environmental health and toxic substance information; data resources, including the National Exposure Registry and the World Trade Center Health Registry; an interactive map of hazardous waste sites; state cooperative-agreement partners; case studies; online learning tools; and other publications. Also available in Spanish.

Alliance for Healthy Homes
Downloadable publications, news alerts, discussion forums, and links to additional resources. The alliance’s Community Environmental Health Resource Center http://www.cehrc.org offers resources and tools for use by community-based advocacy groups.

Association of State and Territorial Health Officials (ASTHO) Environmental Health Program
Searchable database of state environmental health directors; a monthly climate change webinar series; downloadable ASTHO publications; environmental health policy and position statements; and links to state resources, including environmental legislation and statutes databases.

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), Environmental Health
Environmental health studies, manuals, reports, and guidelines; data and statistics; environmental health news; and environmental health Web maps (tools for searching environmental health information by geographic location or contaminant). The National Center for Environmental Health (NCEH), a related CDC organization, works to prevent or control diseases or deaths that result from interactions between people and their environment. NCEH resources include an A–Z topic index, a guide to nationally funded data systems, and publications such as fact sheets, brochures, and books.

Children’s Environmental Health Resource Sampler
Links to policy and legislation, computer-based learning programs, glossaries, electronic newsletters, geographic information systems, funding sources, and other online resources on general and specific topics such as asthma, childhood cancer, and food safety for health professionals and the public. This site is published by Partners in Information Access for the Public Health Workforce, a collaboration of U.S. government agencies, public health organizations, and health sciences libraries.

Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)
A-to-Z environmental health information, news, educational tools, and links to clearinghouses, databases, dockets, and test methods. EPA’s Indoor Air Quality page http://www.epa.gov/iaq provides information and tools related to indoor environmental health topics such as asthma, molds and moisture, radon, smoke-free homes and motor vehicles, carbon monoxide, green buildings, tools for schools, and disaster response.

Healthy Child Healthy World
Environmental-safety checklists; articles on prevention techniques; downloadable reports (many related to organic lifestyle choices); a community action kit; a blog; an electronic newsletter; links to searchable databases; and Health eHouse http://healthychild.org/programs/healthehouse , an interactive virtual house designed to make it easier for families to identify environmental health hazards in the home.

March of Dimes, Environmental Risk and Pregnancy
Quick reference and fact sheets related to environmental risk during pregnancy, including risks from lead, mercury, pesticides, solvents, and other potentially hazardous materials. Provides links to environmental organizations, teratology information, and other materials for health professionals and researchers.

MedlinePlus, Environmental Health
Overviews, news, specific conditions, research, clinical trials, journal articles, dictionaries, directories, law, policy, statistics, and materials for children, adolescents, and women. MedlinePlus also has pages on specific topics such as air pollution <>, asthma in children, smoking and tobacco use, and other topics.

National Center for Healthy Housing
Quarterly e-newsletter and downloadable publications on topics related to healthy housing, including lead hazard control and prevention. Through its National Healthy Housing Clearinghouse, the center maintains a searchable database of over 600 documents on topics related to lead and healthy housing.

National Children’s Study
The National Children’s Study will examine the effects of environmental influences on the health and development of more than 100,000 children across the United States, following them from before birth until age 21. The Web site provides progress updates and meeting announcements, links to related publications and adjunct studies, details of the study (including research methodology), and a list of study centers.

National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences (NIEHS)
Information on health conditions and diseases, environmental agents, exposure routes, population research, and environmental science education, research approaches, and biological processes. Includes links to related clinical trials, downloadable health studies, current NIEHS research, tools for health professionals, science-education materials, and links to related topics. A set of pages for children -- with games, stories, and other activities -- is available in English and Spanish. The institute’s peer-reviewed journal, Environmental Health Perspectives, is available online at no charge.

National Library of Medicine (NLM), Toxicology and Environmental Health Information Program (TEHIP)
Databases, bibliographies, tutorials, and other scientific and consumer-oriented resources, including Enviro-Health Links (selected links to Internet sources on toxicology and environmental health issues of recent special interest). Other tools from NLM include Toxtown, an environmental-health-education tool for students and teachers, and ToxSeek.

National Toxicology Program Center for the Evaluation of Risks to Human Reproduction (CERHR)
Scientifically based assessments of the potential for adverse effects on reproduction and development caused by agents to which humans may be exposed. Included are links to expert-panel reports, monographs, and information on reproductive health topics such as impaired fertility, contraception, genetic counseling, breastfeeding, medications, and recreational drugs. The site also addresses common concerns during pregnancy such as exposure to caffeine, paints, smoking, and pesticides, and provides links to dozens of women’s health sites.


Additional Resources

From the MCH Library Databases:

For more information on this topic, use the MCH Library Advanced Search.

Authors: Olivia K. Pickett, M.A., M.L.S., Beth DeFrancis Sun, MCH Library
March 2008