Search the Databases

Search
Advanced Search

Site Tools

Partner Projects

 

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Library.

Search For: Keyword: Professional training

   |   Expand All Items Collapse All Items

Displaying records 1 through 10 of 52 found.

   |   

Toggle Details

Academic Pediatric Association (APA)

Annotation: The Academic Pediatric Association (APA) is an organization of health care professionals that works to improve health care for children by conducting research, teaching, and formulating public policy. Publications include a newsletter, a series of guidelines for general pediatrics education of medical students and pediatric residents and a journal.

Web Site: http://www.ambpeds.org

Keywords: Child health, Children, Consumer education, Guidelines, Health education, Health services, Information sources, Professional societies, Professional training, Public policy, Research, Teaching

Toggle Details

Academic Pediatric Association (APA )

Annotation: The Academic Pediatric Association (APA) is dedicated to improving the health of all children and adolescents by providing leadership in the education of child health professionals, research and the dissemination of new knowledge, patient care with measurable improvements in health outcomes, and advocacy for an equitable children's health agenda. APA provides online educational resources and research networks, legislative updates, and publications including special reports, a newsletter, and the journal, Academic Pediatrics.

Web Site: http://www.ambpeds.org/

Keywords: Child health, Adolescent health, Child advocacy, Pediatrics, Professional education, Professional organizations, Professional training, Research , Resources for professionals

Toggle Details

AIDS Education and Training Centers National Resource Center (AETC National Resource Center)

Annotation: The AIDS Education and Training Centers (AECT) National Resource Center provides education and training resources for the regional AETCs to support their mission to offer timely, high quality, state-of-the-art information to healthcare professionals working with existing and emerging populations affected by HIV. The center offers a virtual library of online training resources for adaptation to meet local training needs; clinical information; journal scan and training materials on new and emerging issues important to HIV care providers; and listservs providing information about updates in clinical treatment guidelines, availability of new training resources, and newly available government documents.

Web Site: http://www.aidsetc.org

Keywords: HIV, AIDS, Interdisciplinary approach, Professional education, Professional training

Toggle Details

Alexander Graham Bell Association for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing (AG Bell)

Annotation: The Alexander Graham Bell Association for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing is a membership-based information center on hearing loss, emphasizing the use of technology, speech, speechreading, residual hearing, and written and spoken language. AG Bell focuses specifically on children with hearing loss, providing ongoing support and advocacy for parents, professionals and other interested parties. AG Bell publishes books and brochures on the subject of hearing loss, auditory approaches in education, advocacy, employment, and advances in hearing technology. AG Bell also publishes a magazine, Volta Voices, and a scholarly journal, The Volta Review, and offers resource-referral services to individuals with questions about hearing loss and auditory approaches. AG Bell provides financial aid to qualifying applicants for mainstreamed, auditory-based education at the preschool, school-age, and university levels. Regional conferences and biennial conventions are held to educate both members and non-members on issues relating to hearing loss. AG Bell also provides governmental and education advocacy services through its state chapters, children's rights coordinators, and international affiliates.

Web Site: http://nc.agbell.org//Page.aspx?pid=348

Keywords: Deafness, Family support services, Hearing disorders, Lip reading training, Professional training

Toggle Details

American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry (AACAP)

Annotation: The American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry (AACAP) represents over 7,500 child and adolescent psychiatrists, physicians with at least five years of additional training beyond medical school in adult, child, and adolescent psychiatry. Academy members actively research, diagnose, and treat emotional, developmental, behavioral, and mental disorders affecting children, adolescents, and their families. The Academy provides public information, including a referral service that works with child advocacy groups, parents, teachers, and other medical and mental health professionals. Some family materials are available in Arabic, Hebrew, Icelandic, Malaysian, Polish, Spanish, and Urdu. The academy publishes a catalog, a newsletter and a journal. The academy also sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Web Site: http://www.aacap.org

Keywords: Psychiatry, Adolescent mental health, Adolescents, Advocacy, Behavior, Child mental health, Children, Conferences, Foreign language materials, Guidelines, Mental health, Mental health professionals, Mental health services, Professional societies, Public awareness campaigns, Publications, Referrals, Training

Toggle Details

American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP)

Annotation: The American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP) is a national association representing family physicians, family medicine residents, and medical students that seeks to promote the science and art of family medicine and to ensure high-quality, cost-effective health care for clients of all ages. AAFP's website contains news and information on journals, continuing medical education, clinical care and research, running a practice, policy and advocacy, and careers. AAFP's patient Web site -- familydoctor.org -- features information for specific populations including women, men, parents and kids, and older adults; health tools such as a guide to over-the-counter medications; and tips for healthy living.

Web Site: http://www.aafp.org

Keywords: Child health, Conferences, Families, Immunization, Physicians, Preventive health services, Primary care, Professional societies, Professional training, Publications, Spanish language materials

Toggle Details

American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP)

Annotation: The American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) develops policy and educates health professionals and the public on pediatric health needs, and serves as an advocate for children, adolescents, and families by promoting legislation and community-based programs that affect their health. Publications include Red Book: Report of the Committee on Infectious Diseases, AAP News, policy statements, manuals, patient education materials, and a monthly journal, Pediatrics, as well as a publications catalog. Some resources are available in Spanish and other languages. AAP also sponsors conferences and training seminars for members.

Web Site: http://www.aap.org

Keywords: Child health, Adolescents, Child abuse, Child advocacy, Child care, Conferences, Immunization, Injury prevention, Pediatrics, Preventive health services, Professional societies, Professional training, Publications, Resources for professionals, Spanish language materials, Young children

Toggle Details

American College of Gastroenterology (ACG)

Annotation: Founded in 1932, the American College of Gastroenterology (ACG) works to advance the scientific study and medical practice of diseases of the gastrointestinal (digestive) tract. The college sponsors annual scientific meetings, provides regional postgraduate training courses, awards research grants, advocates on behalf of gastroenterologists and their patients, and disseminates scientific information on digestive health and GI disorders. Publications include the Journal of Gastroenterology. Patient materials are posted on ACG's Web site.

Web Site: http://gi.org//

Keywords: , Gastroenterology, Advocacy, Disease prevention, Gastrogenterologists, Gastrointestinal diseases, Grants, Health promotion, Information sources, Patient education, Professional societies, Professional training

Toggle Details

American College of Radiology (ACR )

Annotation: The American College of Radiology (ACR) works to ensure that imaging is safe, effective, and accessible to those who need it. Members include radiologists, radiation oncologists, and medical physicists. The college sponsors Webcasts, conducts research, provides training materials, and produces publications, including practice guidelines and technical standards, as well as patient materials. In addition to ACR's main Web site, the college also maintains a Web site designed specifically for patients in collaboration with the Radiological Society of North America (see www.radiologyinfo.org).

Web Site: http://www.acr.org

Keywords: Patient education, . Research, Professional societies, Professional training, Radiology

Toggle Details

American Dental Hygienists' Association (ADHA)

Annotation: The American Dental Hygienists’ Association (ADHA) works to advance the art and science of dental hygiene, promote standards of education and practice in the profession, and provide professional support and educational programs. ADHA’s website provides information about the association’s annual meeting and periodicals, Access and Journal of Dental Hygiene. These and other ADHA resources address issues and opportunities for public health advocacy, education, and research.

Web Site: http://www.adha.org

Keywords: Associations, Child health, Conferences, Dental health, Dental hygienists, Oral health, Professional education, Professional societies, Publications, Spanish language materials, Training materials

   |   

 

Page 1 of 6

 Jump to Page » Next Page »

Return to Citations Page | Go To Cross-Database Search | Advanced MCHLine® Search