Search the Databases

Search
Advanced Search

Site Tools

Partner Projects

 

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Library.

Search For: Keyword: Mental health

   |   Expand All Items Collapse All Items

Displaying records 1 through 10 of 92 found.

   |   

Toggle Details

Cyberbullying Research Center

Annotation: The Cyberbullying Research Center provides information about the nature, extent, causes, and consequences of cyberbullying among adolescents. Cyberbullying can be defined as “Willful and repeated harm inflicted through the use of computers, cell phones, and other electronic devices.” It is also known as “cyber bullying,” “electronic bullying,” “e-bullying,” “sms bullying,” “mobile bullying,” “online bullying,” “digital bullying,” or “Internet bullying.” The web site serves as a clearinghouse of information concerning the ways adolescents use and misuse technology. It is intended to be a resource for parents, educators, law enforcement officers, counselors, and others who work with youth. It contains facts, figures, and detailed stories from those who have been directly impacted by online aggression. In addition, the site includes numerous resources to help prevent and respond to cyberbullying incidents.

Web Site: http://www.cyberbullying.us/

Keywords: Adolescent mental health, Adolescents, Adolescents, Aggression, Behavioral problems, Bullying, School violence, Technology, Telecommunications, Violence prevention

Toggle Details

African American Family Services (AAFS)

Annotation: African American Family Services (AAFS) provides culturally-specific, community-based mental health, chemical health, and family preservation services to African American youth, adults and families. A.A.F.S. consists of three divisions, including the Institute on Black Chemical Abuse, the African American Counseling Center, and the Institute for Resiliency and Culture: A Movement for Youth. AAFS provides referrals and inquiry responses and produces an electronic newsletter.

Web Site: http://www.aafs.net

Keywords: Blacks, Drug abuse, Mental health, Minority health, Substance abuse

Toggle Details

American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry (AACAP)

Annotation: The American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry (AACAP) represents over 7,500 child and adolescent psychiatrists, physicians with at least five years of additional training beyond medical school in adult, child, and adolescent psychiatry. Academy members actively research, diagnose, and treat emotional, developmental, behavioral, and mental disorders affecting children, adolescents, and their families. The Academy provides public information, including a referral service that works with child advocacy groups, parents, teachers, and other medical and mental health professionals. Some family materials are available in Arabic, Hebrew, Icelandic, Malaysian, Polish, Spanish, and Urdu. The academy publishes a catalog, a newsletter and a journal. The academy also sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Web Site: http://www.aacap.org

Keywords: Psychiatry, Adolescent mental health, Adolescents, Advocacy, Behavior, Child mental health, Children, Conferences, Foreign language materials, Guidelines, Mental health, Mental health professionals, Mental health services, Professional societies, Public awareness campaigns, Publications, Referrals, Training

Toggle Details

American Association of Pastoral Counselors (AAPC)

Annotation: The American Association of Pastoral Counselors (AAPC) represents and sets professional standards for over 3,000 pastoral counselors and 100 pastoral counseling centers in North America and around the world. Pastoral counselors are certified mental health professionals who have had in-depth religious and/or theological training. Members provide psychotherapy using spiritual resources as well as psychological understanding for healing and growth. AAPC was founded in 1964 as an organization which certifies pastoral counselors, accredits pastoral counseling centers, and approves training programs. It is nonsectarian and respects the spiritual commitments and religious traditions of those who seek assistance without imposing counselor beliefs onto the client. The AAPC Web site provides information about the organization, a directory of pastoral counselors, and links to online discussion groups and other Internet resources.

Web Site: http://www.aapc.org/

Keywords: Accreditation, Counseling, Certification, Mental health, Pastoral care, Professional education, Psychotherapy, Spirituality

Toggle Details

American Association of Suicidology (AAS)

Annotation: The American Association of Suicidology (AAS) is a nonprofit organization that strives to understand and prevent suicide through research, public awareness programs, and education and training for professionals and volunteers. Members include mental health professionals, researchers, suicide prevention and crisis intervention centers, school districts, crisis center volunteers, and survivors of suicide. Services to consumers include referrals, publications, and reference information. Some materials are available in Spanish. AAS also maintains a listserv and develops public service announcements and pamphlets on suicide prevention, and members work with the media as consultants and participants in stories involving suicide-related issues. Publications include a bi-monthly journal, Suicide and Life-Threatening Behaviors; a quarterly newsletter, Newslink; a quarterly newsletter, Surviving Suicide; and conference proceedings.

Web Site: http://www.suicidology.org

Keywords: Suicide prevention, Attempted suicide, Crisis intervention, Health education, Information services, Mental health, Public awareness campaigns, Suicide, Training

Toggle Details

American Institutes for Research, Center for Effective Collaboration and Practice (CECP)

Annotation: The Center for Effective Collaboration and Practice (CECP) at the American Institutes for Research supports and promotes a reoriented national preparedness to foster the development and the adjustment of children with or at risk of developing serious emotional disturbance. To achieve that goal, the center has a policy of collaboration at federal, state, and local levels that contributes to and facilitates the production, exchange, and use of knowledge about effective practices. The center is funded by the U.S. Department of Education's Office of Special Education Programs and receives additional support from the Center for Mental Health Services, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. Topics covered by the center include child welfare, cultural competence, families, juvenile justice, mental health, school violence prevention and intervention, and schools and special education. The center provides publications, list service discussions, information about promising practices and prevention programs that work, and links to further information.

Web Site: http://cecp.air.org

Keywords: Adolescent mental health, Affective disorders, Child mental health, Collaboration, Information services, Listservs, Model programs

Toggle Details

American Orthopsychiatric Association (ORTHO)

Annotation: The American Orthopsychiatric Association (ORTHO) promotes an interdisciplinary approach to mental health. Members include psychologists, psychiatrists, social workers, nurses, educators, lawyers, sociologists, and others. The association maintains study groups for members and sponsors annual meetings. Publications include the quarterly American Journal of Orthopsychiatry , Readings (a quarterly publication) and a newsletter.

Web Site: http://www.amerortho.org

Keywords: Advocacy, Health promotion, , Mental health

Toggle Details

American Psychiatric Association (APA)

Annotation: The American Psychiatric Association is a national society that brings together more than 40,000 physicians and medical students who specialize in the diagnosis and treatment of mental and emotional disorders. The association works to improve treatment, rehabilitation, and care for people who are mentally ill, to promote research and professional education in psychiatry and allied fields, to advance the standards of psychiatric services and facilities, to promote the best interests of users and potential users of mental health services, to foster cooperation among people concerned with the medical, psychological, social, and legal aspects of mental health and illness, and to share psychiatric knowledge with other medical practitioners, scientists in other fields, and the public. APA houses a library, which provides reference information, and publishes a newsletter and two journals. In addition, the American Psychiatric Press, Inc., (AAPI), which is affiliated with the APA, publishes a catalog of their books. APA also sponsors the Healthy Minds Web site (www.healthyminds.org) as part of its Healthy Minds Healthy Lives public information campaign. APA has an annual meeting each May and an Institute on Psychiatric Services in the fall.

Web Site: http://www.psych.org

Keywords: Mental disorders, Mental health, Professional societies

Toggle Details

American Psychiatric Nurses Association (APNA)

Annotation: The American Psychiatric Nurses Association (APNA) is a professional organization that provides leadership to advance psychiatric-mental health nursing practice, improve mental health care for culturally diverse individuals, families, groups, and communities, and shape health care policy for the delivery of mental health services. The organization publishes a newsletter and a journal and sponsors workshops and conferences.

Web Site: http://www.apna.org

Keywords: Mental disorders, Mental health, Nurses

Toggle Details

American Psychological Association (APA)

Annotation: The American Psychological Association (APA) is a scientific and professional society of psychologists that works to advance psychology as a science, a profession, and a means of promoting health, education and the human welfare. Students may participate as affiliates. Publications include newsletters, catalogs, journals, abstracts, and many other materials. APA also sponsors conferences and workshops.

Web Site: http://www.apa.org

Keywords: Psychology, Advocacy, Behavioral sciences, Conferences, Consumer education, Information sources, Mental health, Mental health services, Professional societies, Psychologists, Publications, Resource centers, Training

   |   

 

Page 1 of 10

 Jump to Page » Next Page »

Return to Citations Page | Go To Cross-Database Search | Advanced MCHLine® Search