Search the Databases

Search
Advanced Search

Site Tools

Partner Projects

 

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Library.

Search For: Keyword: Homeless persons

   |   Expand All Items Collapse All Items

Displaying records 1 through 10 of 13 found.

   |   

Toggle Details

U.S. Bureau of Primary Health Care (BPHC)

Annotation: The Bureau of Primary Health Care (BPHC) provides leadership in promoting access to primary health care for medically underserved populations including those with special needs such as the homeless, migrants and farmworkers, and people with or at risk for HIV infection. Bureau programs include community-based health centers, the National Hansen's Disease Program, and the Free Clinics Medical Malpractice Program. The Web site provides access to searchable databases, statistics, employment opportunities, document archives, and publications.

Web Site: http://www.hrsa.gov/about/organization/bureaus/bphc/index.html

Keywords: HIV, Homeless persons, Immunization, Migrant health, Primary health care, Public health programs, Public health services, Public housing, Underserved communities

Toggle Details

Children's Defense Fund (CDF)

Annotation: The Children's Defense Fund (CDF) is a research and advocacy group for children and youth. It gathers data and disseminates information on key issues affecting children and adolescents, including development and implementation of federal and state policies. CDF provides information, technical assistance, and support to a network of state and local child advocates, service providers, and public and private sector officials and leaders. Initiatives have included adolescent pregnancy prevention programs, prenatal care campaigns, universal immunization programs, promotion of the Head Start program, and the State Children's Health Insurance Program (SCHIP). Publications include a monthly newsletter, CDF Reports. A publications list is available. CDF also coordinates the Black Community Crusade for Children, an effort to strengthen black community support for children, and publishes a newsletter of Crusade activities, Necessary. In addition, it coordinates the Student Heath Outreach (SHOUT) project, a student-run project whose goal is to reach all eligible children and sign them up for health insurance by engaging students, as well as school administrators, in the effort to spread the word about Medicaid and CHIP.

Web Site: http://www.childrensdefense.org

Keywords: Child health, Adolescent pregnancy, Blacks, Child advocacy, Child care, Child safety, Children, Data collection, Homeless persons, Infant mortality, Legislation, Minority groups, Prenatal care, State children's heatlh insurance program, Statistics

Toggle Details

Children's Health Fund

Annotation: The Children's Health Fund, founded in 1987, is committed to providing health care to the nation's medically underserved children through the development and support of innovative primary care pediatric progams and the promotion of guaranteed access to medical homes and appropriate health care for all children. The Children's Health Fund's national network of 15 pediatric programs has treated nearly 300,000 children since it was founded.

Web Site: http://www.childrenshealthfund.org

Keywords: Children, Grants, Homeless persons, Immunization

Toggle Details

HUD USER

Annotation: The U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) sponsors personalized literature searches through the HUD User database, document delivery, publications (including topical bibliographies and announcements of research projects). HUD USER provides information on housing safety, home building technologies and lead-based paint. The organization provides referrals, publications, and reference information to consumers. Publications include a newsletter.

Web Site: http://www.huduser.org

Keywords: Homeless persons

Toggle Details

Juvenile Justice Clearinghouse (JJC)

Annotation: The Juvenile Justice Clearinghouse (JJC) is a component of the National Criminal Justice Reference Service that collects, synthesizes, and disseminates information on juvenile justice and delinquency prevention. Through print and other media, the Clearinghouse offers the latest research findings, descriptions of promising programs, publications on youth-related issues, practical guides and manuals, announcements of funding opportunities, and other resources on juvenile justice and related topics.

Web Site: http://www.ojjdp.gov/programs/ProgSummary.asp?pi=2

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescent parents, Clearinghouses, Homeless persons, Injury prevention, Juvenile delinquency, Missing children, Runaways, School dropouts, Sexual abuse, Substance abuse

Toggle Details

Mid-Atlantic Network of Youth and Family Services (MANY)

Annotation: The Mid-Atlantic Network of Youth and Family Services (MANY) is a federally funded technical assistance network designed to strengthen and coordinate resources and services for youth in high risk situations and their families. MANY serves Delaware, Maryland, Pennsylvania, Virginia, West Virginia, and the District of Columbia. MANY offers training workshops and information on program innovations, funding, legislation, and policy. MANY also has a clearinghouse for current information and data. A newsletter is available. MANY also operates MANYCorps, and Americorps program which engages young people in service to their communities. MANY specializes in assisting groups in learning about ways that young people can play meaningful roles in the structures that impact their lives.

Web Site: http://www.manynet.org

Keywords: Adolescents, Delaware, District of Columbia, Homeless persons, Maryland, Pennsylvania, Runaways, Technical assistance, Virginia, West Virginia, Youth

Toggle Details

National Alliance to End Homelessness

Annotation: The National Alliance to End Homelessness, founded in 1983, is a nonprofit organization whose mission is to mobilize the nonprofit, public, and private sectors of society in an alliance to end homelessness. The Alliance's Ten Year Plan to End Homelessness identifies the nation's current weaknesses in addressing the problem and lays out practical steps that the nation can take to end homelessness within ten years. The Alliance produces a newsletter and sponsors conferences and workshops.

Web Site: http://www.endhomelessness.org

Keywords: Homeless persons, Policy, Technical assistance

Toggle Details

National Clearinghouse on Families and Youth (NCFY)

Annotation: The National Clearinghouse on Families and Youth (NCFY), formerly the National Clearinghouse on Runaway and Homeless Youth, was established by the Family and Youth Services Bureau (FYSB) to serve as a central resource on youth and family policy and practice. FYSB is the lead agency on youth and family issues within the Administration on Children, Youth and Families; Administration for Children and Families; U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. NCFY produces technical assistance materials on youth and family programming; operates an information line through which practitioners, policymakers, and the general public can access information on youth and family issues; and distributes materials at conferences and training events.

Web Site: http://www.ncfy.com

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescents, Alcoholic beverages, HIV, Homeless persons, Prevention, Runaways, Substance abuse, Youth

Toggle Details

National Council of Juvenile and Family Court Judges (NCJFCJ)

Annotation: The National Council of Juvenile and Family Court Judges (NCJFCJ) represents America's judges who exercise jurisdiction over delinquency, abuse, and neglect, divorce, custody, support, domestic violence and similar types of cases throughout the country. The National Council, a 501 (c) (3) coroporation, conducts judicial education and training programs at the Louis W. McHardy National College of Juvenile and Family Justice, located on the Reno campus of the University of Nevada as well as at numerous sites throughout the country. Current focus issues of the National Council include juvenile and family law, serious and violent juvenile crime, child abuse and neglect, youthful sex offenders, family violence, substance abuse issues and a host of other subjects. Their services to consumers include referrals, publications, and reference information. NCJFCJ publishes a journal, newsletter, digest, and catalog. The association also sponsors conferences, workshops, and training seminars.

Web Site: http://www.ncjfcj.org/

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescent parents, Homeless persons, Injury prevention, Juvenile delinquency, Runaways, School dropouts, Substance abuse, Violence prevention

Toggle Details

National Network for Youth (NNY)

Annotation: The National Network for Youth, formerly National Network of Runaway and Youth Services, is a nonprofit membership organization with over 700 members. Through regional and state network affiliates, the National Network represents over 1,500 constituents, primarily community-based youth serving agencies. The National Network's mission is to ensure that young people are safe and grow up to lead healthy and productive lives. The driving force of the network in achieving its mission is Community Youth Development (CYD). CYD is an approach that models best practices in youth work and focuses on lifelong learning in which youth develop skills and competencies to be contributing members to their communities and societies. Activities include advocacy and public education promoting youth /adult partnerships, and strengthening staff and community-based organization capacity, to provide effective programs to runaway, homeless, and other youth in high-risk situations. Also provided are training and technical assistance in a wide variety of areas including the professional development of youth workers, youth leadership, peer education, HIV/AIDS, grant writing, and community and youth development. The National Network for Youth is a sponsoring member of the Council on Accreditation of Services for Families and Children. Publications include two newsletters, Network News and Policy Reporter; a journal, CYD Journal: Community Youth Development and a variety of issue briefs, fact sheets and bibliographies. Services to consumers include referrals, reference information, and publications. The organization also sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Web Site: http://www.nn4youth.org

Keywords: Adolescents, Adolescent development, Adolescent pregnancy, Advocacy, Alcoholic beverages, HIV, Health education, Health promotion, High risk adolescents, Homeless persons, Prevention, Runaways, Substance abuse, Training

   |   

 

Page 1 of 2

 Jump to Page » Next Page »

Return to Citations Page | Go To Cross-Database Search | Advanced MCHLine® Search