Search the Databases

Search
Advanced Search

Site Tools

Partner Projects

 

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Library.

Search For: Keyword: Health promotion

   |   Expand All Items Collapse All Items

Displaying records 1 through 10 of 171 found.

   |   

Toggle Details

Academy for Eating Disorders (AED)

Annotation: The Academy for Eating Disorders (AED) is a multidisciplinary professional organization that promotes excellence in research, treatment, and prevention of eating disorders, including anorexa nervosa, bulimia nervosa, and binge eating disorder. Founded in 1993, AED provides education, training, and a forum for collaboration and dialogue. The academy sponsors conferences, produces a quarterly newsletter, assists in the development of professional guidelines, and identifies and rewards outstanding achievement in the field.

Web Site: http://www.aedweb.org

Keywords: Anorexia nervosa, Bulimia, Eating disorders, Health promotion, Preventive health services, Professional societies

Toggle Details

Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics (AND)

Annotation: The Academy of Nutrition of Dietetics (AND) is the advocate of the dietetics profession serving the public through the promotion of optimal nutrition, health, and well being. The association is involved in the credentialing of competent nutrition and dietetic professionals and provides continuing education for nearly 70,000 members. Key areas of interest include obesity and overweight (with a focus on children); healthy aging; nutrigenetics and nutrigenomics; Integrative medicine (including supplements and alternative medicine; and safe, sustainable, and nutritious food supply. Through its Knowledge Center, ADA provides current food and nutrition information for consumers, health professionals, and ADA members. Until 2012 it was known as the American Dietetic Association (ADA)

Web Site: http://www.eatright.org

Keywords: Nutrition, Child nutrition, Consumer education, Dietetic technicians, Health promotion, Hotlines, Information sources, Maternal nutrition, Professional societies, Public health nutrition, Publications, Spanish language materials

Toggle Details

Action for Healthy Kids (AFHK)

Annotation: Action for Healthy Kids (AFHK) is a nonprofit organization formed to address the epidemic of overweight, undernourished, and sedentary youth by focusing on changes at school, to improve children's nutrition and increase physical activity, which will in turn improve their readiness to learn. An outgrowth of the 2002 Healthy Schools Summit, AFHK is a public-private partnership of more than 50 national organizations and government agencies representing education, health, fitness, and nutrition. AFHK's Web site provides information on current activities in the 50 states plus the District of Columbia, and a searchable database that lists resources to improve schools, including materials and profiles of successful school practices.

Web Site: http://www.actionforhealthykids.org

Keywords: Databases, Child nutrition, Health promotion, Model programs, Physical activity, Schools

Toggle Details

American Association of Family and Consumer Sciences (AAFCS)

Annotation: The American Association of Family and Consumer Sciences (AAFCS), formerly the American Home Economics Association, works to affect public policy on families and to improve the quality of personal and family life through education, research, cooperative programs, and public information. Publications include brochures, booklets, reference books, periodicals (The Journal of Family and Consumer Sciences, and Family and Consumer Sciences Research Journal (issued quarterly), and a publications & product catalog. AAFCS sponsors annual conferences and provides certification and accreditation programs. Services to consumers include referrals, publications, and reference information.

Web Site: http://www.aafcs.org

Keywords: Adolescent health, Consumer education, Family life education, Health promotion, School linked programs

Toggle Details

American College of Gastroenterology (ACG)

Annotation: Founded in 1932, the American College of Gastroenterology (ACG) works to advance the scientific study and medical practice of diseases of the gastrointestinal (digestive) tract. The college sponsors annual scientific meetings, provides regional postgraduate training courses, awards research grants, advocates on behalf of gastroenterologists and their patients, and disseminates scientific information on digestive health and GI disorders. Publications include the Journal of Gastroenterology. Patient materials are posted on ACG's Web site.

Web Site: http://gi.org//

Keywords: , Gastroenterology, Advocacy, Disease prevention, Gastrogenterologists, Gastrointestinal diseases, Grants, Health promotion, Information sources, Patient education, Professional societies, Professional training

Toggle Details

American College of Medical Genetics (ACMG)

Annotation: The American College of Medical Genetics (ACMG) provides education, resources, and representation for the medical genetics profession. ACMG promotes the development and implementation of methods to diagnose, treat and prevent genetic disease and establishes uniform laboratory standards, quality assurance, and proficiency testing. The college develops clinical practice guidelines and produces laboratory-services directories, databases, position papers, and population screening guidelines.

Web Site: http://www.acmg.net/

Keywords: Genetics, Advocacy, Diagnosis, Genetics education, Health promotion, Preventive health services, Professional societies, Publications, Quality assurance, Resources for professionals, Standards

Toggle Details

American College of Occupational and Environmental Medicine (ACOEM)

Annotation: The American College of Occupational and Environmental Medicine (ACOEM) is a professional society that promotes the health and safety of workers through preventive medicine, clinical care, research, and education. The organization sponsors two national conferences, scientific sessions, postgraduate seminars, training courses, and self-assessment programs. Publications include the monthly Journal of Occupational and Environmental Medicine, MRO Update Newsletter, an annual membership directory, and a newsletter, ACOEM Report.

Web Site: http://www.acoem.org

Keywords: Health promotion, Personnel, Preventive medicine, , Occupational safety and health

Toggle Details

American College of Preventive Medicine (ACPM)

Annotation: The American College of Preventive Medicine (ACPM) is a national organization of physicians working to prevent disease and promote health. It seeks to advance the science and practice of preventive medicine by providing educational opportunities for its members, advocating public policies consistent with scientific principles, supporting the investigation and analysis of issues relevant to the field, and participating in national forums to address important professional and public health concerns. It provides the public with reference information. Publications include a peer-reviewed journal and a newsletter. In addition, the organization sponsors conferences, training seminars and workshops.

Web Site: http://www.acpm.org

Keywords: Health promotion, Preventive health services

Toggle Details

American College of Sports Medicine (ACSM)

Annotation: The American College of Sports Medicine (ACSM) promotes and integrates scientific research, education and practical applications of sports medicine and exercise science to maintain and enhance physical performance, fitness, health, and quality of life. ACSM offers members informational publications and video materials, meetings, and continuing education. Membership is open to interested individuals as well as health professionals.

Web Site: http://www.acsm.org

Keywords: Sports medicine, Consumer education, Exercise, Health promotion, Physical activity, Professional education

Toggle Details

American Gastroenterological Association (AGA)

Annotation: The American Gastroenterological Association (AGA) is a society of physicians, surgeons, scientists, and other individuals within the healthcare community who have a demonstrated a continued interest in the functions and disorders of the digestive system. As a professional association, AGA serves as an advocate for its members and their patients; supports members’ practices and scientific needs; and promote the discovery, dissemination, and application of new knowledge leading to the prevention, treatment and cure of digestive diseases. AGA offers training and career development opportunities, publishes periodicals, and provides member resources such as patient education materials and an online supply store.

Web Site: http://www.gastro.org

Keywords: Professional training, Gastroenterology, Advocacy, Disease prevention, Gastrogenterologists, Gastrointestinal diseases, Health promotion, Information sources, Patient education, Professional education, Professional societies, Publications

   |   

 

Page 1 of 18

 Jump to Page » Next Page »

Return to Citations Page | Go To Cross-Database Search | Advanced MCHLine® Search