Search the Databases

Search
Advanced Search

Site Tools

Partner Projects

 

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Library.

Search For: Keyword: Alaska Natives

   |   Expand All Items Collapse All Items

Displaying records 1 through 10 of 10 found.

   |   

Toggle Details

American Indian and Alaska Native Head Start Research Center (AIANHSRC)

Annotation: The American Indian and Alaska Native Head Start Research Center (AIANHSRC) operationalizes and implements a research and training agenda for American Indian and Alaska Native Head Start and Early Head Start Programs. The center addresses gaps in knowledge relevant to early childhood intervention in American Indian and Alaska Native (AI/AN) communities through implementation of the following objectives: (1) to establish an infrastructure for addressing the needs of AI/AN and Head Start (HS) research; (2) to facilitate the conduct of research that will address the needs of AI/AN communities, their HS programs, and university-based researchers; and (3) to develop the capacity for future research in AI/AN HS.

Web Site: http://www.ucdenver.edu/academics/colleges/PublicHealth/research/centers/CAIANH/aianhsrc/Pages/aianhsrc.aspx

Keywords: American Indians, Head Start, Alaska natives, Early intervention, Research, Young children

Toggle Details

Colorado School of Public Health, Center for Native Oral Health Research (CNOHR)

Annotation: Colorado School of Public Health's Center for Native Oral Health Research works with American Indian and Alaska Native (AI/AN) communities to conduct, facilitate, and disseminate oral health intervention research. The center was established in 2008 with funding from the National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research as one of five centers nationally that are focused on oral health disparities, and one of three Collaborating Centers for Early Childhood Caries. Projects are aimed at promoting behavioral change for oral health in AI mothers and children and testing a service delivery model in AI Head Start programs.

Web Site: http://www.ucdenver.edu/academics/colleges/PublicHealth/research/centers/CAIANH/cnohr/Pages/cnohr.aspx

Keywords: Access to health care, Alaska Natives, American Indians, Oral health, Research, Training

Toggle Details

U.S. Indian Health Service, Head Start Program

Annotation: The Indian Health Service (IHS) Head Start Program promotes health activities that are proven to improve health outcomes for American Indian and Alaska Native Early Head Start and Head Start grantees, centers, staff, children, and communities by reducing the risks of chronic disease. Specific goals include the following: (1) to support the Office of Head Start and the health objectives and performance standard requirements; (2) to assist grantees in the development of health programs for children, family, staff, and community; (3) to develop programs that promote health lifestyle activities; and (4) to assist Head Start grantees in developing local and community partnerships. The Web site features a section specifically devoted to Head Start providers and another to Head Start families; information about the program's mission and focus areas (health priorities, challenges, and trends); resources and links; and contacts. A search tool provides access to information about specific IHS Head Start programs.

Web Site: http://www.ihs.gov/NonMedicalPrograms/HeadStart/

Keywords: Alaska Natives, American Indians, Early intervention, Federal programs, Head Start, Health promotion, Program development, Young children

Toggle Details

U.S. Indian Health Service, Division of Oral Health

Annotation: The Indian Health Service (IHS) Division of Oral Health addresses the oral health needs of American Indians and Alaska Natives in hospitals and clinics throughout the United States. The Web site provides information on IHS' dental career path options (civil service employee, Commissioned Corps Officer, or tribal hire); externships; the loan repayment program; and volunteering. Information on networking and resources, a vacancy database, and recruiting events are also provided.

Web Site: http://www.ihs.gov/MedicalPrograms/Dental/index.cfm

Keywords: Alaska Natives, American Indians, Careers, Dental care, Federal programs, Financial assistance, Online databases, Oral health, Public health dental hygienists, Public health dentists, Work force

Toggle Details

National Council of Urban Indian Health (NCUIH)

Annotation: The National Council of Urban Indian Health (NCUIH) aims to support and advocate for quality, accessible health care for all American Indians and Alaska Natives living in urban communities through advocacy, training, education, and leadership development. The council supports Urban Indian Health Programs (UIHP) that include comprehensive clinics and outreach centers. Information available includes newsletters, weekly news and resources update, legislative alerts, position papers on urban Indian health, and additional resources. The council presents an annual conference, workshops and training opportunities, and a membership teleconference series.

Web Site: http://www.ncuih.org

Keywords: Advocacy, Alaska Natives, Native Americans, Training, Urban health, Urban population

Toggle Details

Native American Professional Parent Resources, Dental Support Center

Annotation: The Native American Professional Parent Resources' Dental Support Center provides training, technical assistance, and other support to dental clinics in the Albuquerque area of the Indian Health Service, which includes all of New Mexico, as well as southern Colorado and El Paso, Texas. Through continuing education opportunities, the development and distribution of culturally relevant materials, and other activities, the Dental Support Center works to improve the oral health status of American Indians/Alaska Natives.

Web Site: http://www.nappr.org/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=9&Itemid=13

Keywords: Alaska Natives, American Indians, Dental clinics, Oral health, Regional programs, Technical assistance, Training

Toggle Details

U.S. Indian Health Service (IHS)

Annotation: The Indian Health Service (IHS) is responsible for providing federal health services to American Indians and Alaska Natives. The IHS provides a comprehensive health service delivery system for American Indians and Alaska Natives who belong to federally recognized tribes. The Web site provides an A-to-Z guide to IHS divisions, programs, tools, and health topics, along with information on IHS staff, area offices and facilities, jobs and student opportunities, initiatives and collaborations, legal and policy issues, training opportunities, conferences and events, and councils and workgroups. Information on medical programs, information technology, jobs and student opportunities, support (non-Medical) programs, and area offices and facilities is also provided.

Web Site: http://www.ihs.gov

Keywords: Access to health care, Alaska Natives, American Indians, Contract services, Federal agencies, Health promotion, Online databases, Preventive health services, Work force

Toggle Details

U.S. Indian Health Service, Division of Behavioral Health

Annotation: The Indian Health Service (IHS) Division of Behavioral Health supports tribal and urban Native communities to eliminate behavioral diseases and conditions and promotes health, resilience, and strength in all communities. The Web site provides information on activities and initiatives; data; integrated behavioral health; conferences, meetings, and workshops; behavioral health job database; links; methamphetamine treatment and prevention; and suicide prevention.

Web Site: http://www.ihs.gov/MedicalPrograms/Behavioral/

Keywords: Access to health care, Alaska Natives, American Indians, Contract services, Federal programs, Health promotion, Mental health, Methamphetamines, Online databases, Preventive health services, Suicide prevention, Work force

Toggle Details

U.S. Indian Health Service, Division of Diabetes Treatment and Prevention

Annotation: The Indian Health Service (IHS) Division of Diabetes Treatment and Prevention is responsible for developing, documenting, and sustaining clinical and public health efforts to treat and prevent diabetes in American Indians and Alaska Natives. The Web site provides information on contacts; programs; training and conferences; and resources and tools including podcasts, client education materials, fact sheets, Diabetes News, clinical guidelines, best practices, curricula, and algorithms.

Web Site: http://www.ihs.gov/MedicalPrograms/Diabetes/index.cfm?module=home

Keywords: Access to health care, Alaska Natives, American Indians, Diabetes mellitus, Federal programs, Health promotion, Preventive health services

Toggle Details

U.S. Indian Health Service, Division of Program Statistics

Annotation: The Indian Health Service (IHS) Division of Program Statistics is a source of American Indian and Alaska Native demographic and client care information. The division publishes two main reports: Trends in Indian Health and Regional Differences in Indian Health.

Web Site: http://www.ihs.gov/NonMedicalPrograms/IHS_Stats/

Keywords: Access to health care, Alaska Natives, American Indians, Demography, Federal programs, Health status, Trends

   |   

 

Page 1 of 1

 

Return to Citations Page | Go To Cross-Database Search | Advanced MCHLine® Search