Search the Databases

Search
Advanced Search

Site Tools

Partner Projects

 

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Library.

Search For: Keyword: Advocacy

   |   Expand All Items Collapse All Items

Displaying records 1 through 10 of 262 found.

   |   

Toggle Details

ABC for Health (ABC for Health)

Annotation: ABC for Health (Advocacy and Benefits Counseling for Health) is a Wisconsin-based nonprofit public interest law firm dedicated to ensuring health care access for children and families, particularly those with special needs or who are at risk. ABC for Health's mission is to provide health care consumers with the information, advocacy tools, legal services, and expert support they need to navigate through America's health care financing system.

Web Site: http://www.safetyweb.org/

Keywords: Access to health care, Advocacy, Children with special health care needs, Health care financing, Legal issues, State organizations, Wisconsin

Toggle Details

Academic Pediatric Association (APA )

Annotation: The Academic Pediatric Association (APA) is dedicated to improving the health of all children and adolescents by providing leadership in the education of child health professionals, research and the dissemination of new knowledge, patient care with measurable improvements in health outcomes, and advocacy for an equitable children's health agenda. APA provides online educational resources and research networks, legislative updates, and publications including special reports, a newsletter, and the journal, Academic Pediatrics.

Web Site: http://www.ambpeds.org/

Keywords: Child health, Adolescent health, Child advocacy, Pediatrics, Professional education, Professional organizations, Professional training, Research , Resources for professionals

Toggle Details

ACT for Youth

Annotation: ACT (Assets Coming Together) for Youth connects positive youth development resources and research to practice in New York State and beyond. The ACT for Youth Center of Excellence provides technical support, training, and evaluation for youth-serving programs funded by the NYS Department of Health, youth development and adolescent sexual health resources housed on the ACT for Youth Web site, a home base for the ACT Youth Network, which connects young community activists across New York State.

Web Site: http://www.actforyouth.net/

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescents, Advocacy, New York, Sexual health, State initiatives, Youth development, Youth services

Toggle Details

ADHA Institute for Oral Health (IOH)

Annotation: The ADHA Institute for Oral Health (IOH) advances the profession of dental hygiene in collaboration with the American Dental Hygienists' Association through scholarships, research grants, community service grants, and fellowships. The website provides information on fundraising tools and resources, the IOH benefit reception and auction, and volunteer opportunities.

Web Site: http://www.adha.org/institute

Keywords: Advocacy, Fundraising, Grants, Oral health, Professional education, Research

Toggle Details

Adopt a Special Kid (AASK)

Annotation: Adopt A Special Kid (AASK) provides complete, no-fee foster and adoption services to families interested in helping children in the child welfare system. The organization was formed in 1973 on the principle that it is every child's right to be a permanent member of a supportive family. AASK's pioneering success in placing children in California lead to requests to replicate its program model, and, today, adoption programs and services developed by AASK operate in California, Arizona, Ohio and New Mexico. In addition to its programs to find families for waiting children, AASK also advocates systemic changes that will improve life opportunities for these children.

Web Site: http://www.adoptaspecialkid.org

Keywords: Adoption, Advocacy, Children with special health care needs, Foster care, Model programs, Services

Toggle Details

Advocacy Center for Persons with Disabilities (ACPD, Advocacy Center)

Annotation: The Advocacy Center for Persons with Disabilities, formerly the Governor's Commission on Advocacy, is a federally funded nonprofit corporation working to advance the dignity, equality, self-determination, and expressed choices of individuals with disabilities. The Center promotes, expands, protects, and seeks to assure the human and legal rights of the people through the provision of information and advocacy. The center administers five federally mandated programs: the Protection and Advocacy System for Persons with Developmental Disabilities, the Client Assistant Program, the Protection and Advocacy System for Individuals with Mental Illness, the Protection and Advocacy for Individual Rights, and the Technology Assistance Program. Services to consumers include advocacy and information. The center publishes a newsletter, sponsors training seminars, and provides materials in Spanish.

Web Site: http://www.advocacycenter.org

Keywords: Advocacy, Disabilities, Special health care needs

Toggle Details

Advocates for Children and Youth (ACY)

Annotation: Advocates for Children and Youth (ACY) is a statewide nonprofit organization that educates Marylanders about the needs of children and encourages investment in good health, quality education, safe environment, and economic security of children. Activities include: educating and mobilizing Marylanders around the needs of children and their families; researching and providing information to public officials, the media, and statewide organizations on key issues affecting Maryland's children and families; identifying effective programs and services that meet the needs of children and their families and advocating for funds to implement these programs and services; and A providing legal representation to children who are having trouble staying in school. A publications list if available, and some materials are available in Spanish. The organization sponsors conferences.

Web Site: http://www.acy.org

Keywords: Advocacy, Children, Maryland, Public policies

Toggle Details

AIDS Alliance for Children, Youth and Families

Annotation: The AIDS Alliance for Children, Youth, and Families, founded in 1994 as the AIDS Policy Center for Children, Youth and Families, is a national organization focused on the needs of children, youth, and families living with, affected by, or at risk for HIV and AIDS. Since its founding, the organization has been an advocate for children, youth, and families affected by HIV/AIDS. While continuing with policy analysis and advocacy activities, the organization has expanded its mission to include education and training for consumers and providers. The organization offers local and national training, technical assistance, and publications. Other services to consumers include a list service, conferences, and workshops.

Web Site: http://www.aids-alliance.org

Keywords: AIDS, Advocacy, Children, Education, Families, HIV, Listservs, Training, Youth

Toggle Details

Alliance for Aging Research

Annotation: The Alliance for Aging Research supports and works to accelerate the pace of medical discoveries to improve the experience of aging and health. The Alliance advocates for increases in research dollars for age-related diseases and supports federal legislation that will advance medical breakthroughs. The alliance also conducts grassroots education campaigns for health professionals and the public on diseases which disproportionately affect the elderly; sponsors the Paul Beeson Physician Faculty Scholars in Aging Research Program; conducts studies and surveys that examine important medical, behavioral, and social issues associated with longevity; serves as a clearinghouse for information on the health and well-being of older people; and creates and disseminates health education materials to consumers in a variety of formats.

Web Site: http://www.agingresearch.org

Keywords: , Public awareness campaigns, Advocacy, Aging, Clearinghouses, Consumer education, Fellowships, Geriatrics, Information sources, Legislation, Longevity, Medical research, Research, Studies, Surveys

Toggle Details

American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry (AACAP)

Annotation: The American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry (AACAP) represents over 7,500 child and adolescent psychiatrists, physicians with at least five years of additional training beyond medical school in adult, child, and adolescent psychiatry. Academy members actively research, diagnose, and treat emotional, developmental, behavioral, and mental disorders affecting children, adolescents, and their families. The Academy provides public information, including a referral service that works with child advocacy groups, parents, teachers, and other medical and mental health professionals. Some family materials are available in Arabic, Hebrew, Icelandic, Malaysian, Polish, Spanish, and Urdu. The academy publishes a catalog, a newsletter and a journal. The academy also sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Web Site: http://www.aacap.org

Keywords: Psychiatry, Adolescent mental health, Adolescents, Advocacy, Behavior, Child mental health, Children, Conferences, Foreign language materials, Guidelines, Mental health, Mental health professionals, Mental health services, Professional societies, Public awareness campaigns, Publications, Referrals, Training

   |   

 

Page 1 of 27

 Jump to Page » Next Page »

Return to Citations Page | Go To Cross-Database Search | Advanced MCHLine® Search