Search the Databases

Search
Advanced Search

Site Tools

Partner Projects

 

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Library.

Search For: Keyword: Adolescents

   |   Expand All Items Collapse All Items

Displaying records 1 through 10 of 125 found.

   |   

Toggle Details

Cyberbullying Research Center

Annotation: The Cyberbullying Research Center provides information about the nature, extent, causes, and consequences of cyberbullying among adolescents. Cyberbullying can be defined as “Willful and repeated harm inflicted through the use of computers, cell phones, and other electronic devices.” It is also known as “cyber bullying,” “electronic bullying,” “e-bullying,” “sms bullying,” “mobile bullying,” “online bullying,” “digital bullying,” or “Internet bullying.” The web site serves as a clearinghouse of information concerning the ways adolescents use and misuse technology. It is intended to be a resource for parents, educators, law enforcement officers, counselors, and others who work with youth. It contains facts, figures, and detailed stories from those who have been directly impacted by online aggression. In addition, the site includes numerous resources to help prevent and respond to cyberbullying incidents.

Web Site: http://www.cyberbullying.us/

Keywords: Adolescent mental health, Adolescents, Adolescents, Aggression, Behavioral problems, Bullying, School violence, Technology, Telecommunications, Violence prevention

Toggle Details

ACT for Youth

Annotation: ACT (Assets Coming Together) for Youth connects positive youth development resources and research to practice in New York State and beyond. The ACT for Youth Center of Excellence provides technical support, training, and evaluation for youth-serving programs funded by the NYS Department of Health, youth development and adolescent sexual health resources housed on the ACT for Youth Web site, a home base for the ACT Youth Network, which connects young community activists across New York State.

Web Site: http://www.actforyouth.net/

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescents, Advocacy, New York, Sexual health, State initiatives, Youth development, Youth services

Toggle Details

Advocates for Youth (AFY)

Annotation: Advocates for Youth is dedicated to creating programs and advocating for policies that help young people make informed and responsible decisions about their reproductive and sexual health. Advocates provides information, training, and strategic assistance to youth-serving organizations, policy makers, youth activists, and the media in the United States and the developing world. Advocates publishes newsletters, as well as provider- and consumer-oriented publications on adolescent reproductive health. A publications catalog is available. Some materials are available in French, Spanish, and Portuguese.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescents, Decision making skills, Information sources, Life skills, Peer education, Programs, Publications, Reproductive health, Sexual behavior, Sexuality education, Women

Toggle Details

Allies Against Asthma (AAA)

Annotation: Allies Against Asthma (AAA) is a national initiative aimed at improving asthma control for children and adolescents. The program provides support to seven community-based coalitions to develop, implement, and sustain comprehensive asthma management programs that include improved access to and quality of medical services, education, family and community support, and environmental and policy initiatives. The program is funded by the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation. AAA responds to inquiries, provides technical assistance, and posts numerous Web resources and links to other programs.

Web Site: http://www.asthma.umich.edu

Keywords: Asthma, Adolescents, Children, Coalitions, Community programs, Online databases

Toggle Details

America's Promise

Annotation: America's Promise is a not-for-profit organization working to mobilize Americans from all sectors of society to help build the character and competence of the nation's youth by fulfilling Five Promises to young people: that they have (1) ongoing relationships with caring adults in their lives - parents, mentors, tutors, or coaches (2) safe places with structured activities during nonschool hours; (3) healthy start and future; (4) marketable skills through effective education; and (5) opportunities to give back through community service. The organization was founded after the 1997 Presidents' Summit for America's Future, when Presidents Clinton, Bush, Carter and Ford, and First Lady Nancy Reagan challenged the nation's to make youth a national priority. Their call to action included a commitment on the part of the nation to fulfill the Five Promises. The Summit was co-sponsored by the Points of Light Foundation and the Corporation for National Service. Since its inception, America’s Promise has formed partnerships with 500 national organizations that have made large-scale national commitments to fulfill one or more of the Five Promises. These organizations have agreed to expand existing youth programs or create new ones and hold themselves accountable by measuring their progress. Community and state partners have formed grassroots coalitions among the public, private, and not-for-profit sectors to generate more resources for young people who need them.

Web Site: http://www.americaspromise.org

Keywords: Character, Adolescent development, Adolescents, Character development, Child development, Children, Coalitions, Collaboration, Life skills, Youth development

Toggle Details

American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry (AACAP)

Annotation: The American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry (AACAP) represents over 7,500 child and adolescent psychiatrists, physicians with at least five years of additional training beyond medical school in adult, child, and adolescent psychiatry. Academy members actively research, diagnose, and treat emotional, developmental, behavioral, and mental disorders affecting children, adolescents, and their families. The Academy provides public information, including a referral service that works with child advocacy groups, parents, teachers, and other medical and mental health professionals. Some family materials are available in Arabic, Hebrew, Icelandic, Malaysian, Polish, Spanish, and Urdu. The academy publishes a catalog, a newsletter and a journal. The academy also sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Web Site: http://www.aacap.org

Keywords: Psychiatry, Adolescent mental health, Adolescents, Advocacy, Behavior, Child mental health, Children, Conferences, Foreign language materials, Guidelines, Mental health, Mental health professionals, Mental health services, Professional societies, Public awareness campaigns, Publications, Referrals, Training

Toggle Details

American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP)

Annotation: The American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) develops policy and educates health professionals and the public on pediatric health needs, and serves as an advocate for children, adolescents, and families by promoting legislation and community-based programs that affect their health. Publications include Red Book: Report of the Committee on Infectious Diseases, AAP News, policy statements, manuals, patient education materials, and a monthly journal, Pediatrics, as well as a publications catalog. Some resources are available in Spanish and other languages. AAP also sponsors conferences and training seminars for members.

Web Site: http://www.aap.org

Keywords: Child health, Adolescents, Child abuse, Child advocacy, Child care, Conferences, Immunization, Injury prevention, Pediatrics, Preventive health services, Professional societies, Professional training, Publications, Resources for professionals, Spanish language materials, Young children

Toggle Details

American Association for Health Education (AAHE)

Annotation: The American Association for Health Education (AAHE) is a professional membership organization representing more than 7,000 health educators in public and private schools, colleges and universities, health education and supervision positions, public and private health clinics and hospitals, and official and voluntary community health education programs. The organization is one of six national associations that form the American Alliance of Health, Physical Education, Recreation, and Dance. Services include legislative representation, job placement, special interest groups, and conventions, conferences, and meetings. AAHE publishes the bimonthly AmericanJournal of Health Education; International Electronic Journal of Health Education; HEXTRA, a quarterly newsletter; and HIV Prevention and CSHE Project Brief. AAHE also sponsors The Health Education Directory (HEDIR), which is a list serve for professionals in health education and promotion.

Web Site: http://www.aahperd.org/aahe

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Health education, Youth

Toggle Details

American Association of School Administrators (AASA)

Annotation: The American Association of School Administrators (AASA), founded in 1865, is a professional organization for educational leaders inAmerica and many other countries. AASA's mission is to support and develop effective school system leaders who are dedicated to quality public education for all children. AASA brings together administrators of school systems and educational service agencies, school district superintendents, placement officers, directors and administrators of education associations, heads of private schools, college deans and educational administration professors, and central, building, and service unit administrators. The association sponsors annual professional development through conferences. Publications include The Leader's Edge (delivered electronically) and The School Administrator, a monthly magazine

Web Site: http://www.aasa.org

Keywords: School health, Adolescents, Children, Education

Toggle Details

American School Health Association (ASHA)

Annotation: The American School Health Association (ASHA), founded in 1927, is an interdisciplinary professional membership association whose members include nurses, physicians, teachers, physical educators, counselors, social workers, psychologists, administrators, health educators, health coordinators, nutritionists, and others all advocating for high-quality school health instruction, health services, and a healthful school environment. ASHA's mission is to protect and promote the health of children and youth by supporting coordinated school health programs as a foundation for school success. The association hosts a listservice and publishes The Journal of School Health (subscription with membership), Health in Action (a practitioners publication), and the Pulse newsletter. ASHA information, membership application, publications, annual conference, application for conference presentations, student scholarship, and workshops are available on the Web site.

Web Site: http://www.ashaweb.org

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, School health programs, School health services, Professional societies, School health

   |   

 

Page 1 of 13

 Jump to Page » Next Page »

Return to Citations Page | Go To Cross-Database Search | Advanced MCHLine® Search