Search the Databases

Search
Advanced Search

Site Tools

Partner Projects

 

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Library.

Search For: Keyword: Special education

   |   Expand All Items Collapse All Items

Displaying records 1 through 10 of 44 found.

   |   

Toggle Details

American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry (AAPD)

Annotation: The American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry (AAPD) advocates for policies, guidelines, and programs that promote optimal oral health and oral health care for infants, children, and adolescents, including those with special health care needs (SHCNs). AAPD’s website contains guidelines and policy statements and issues of the journal, Pediatric Dentistry.

Web Site: http://www.aapd.org

Keywords: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, Child health, Children with special health care needs, Consumer education, Education, Guidelines, Medical research, Oral health, Pediatric dentistry, Professional societies, Publications, Spanish language materials

Toggle Details

Association for Persons with Severe Handicaps (TASH)

Annotation: The Association for Persons with Severe Handicaps (TASH) promotes human dignity, education, and independence for people with developmental disabilities. Members include parents, administrators, teachers, medical and legal personnel, researchers, speech pathologists, occupational and physical therapists, and people with disabilities. The association provides information referrals and publications; publishes a monthly newsletter and quarterly scholarly journal; and holds regional workshops, training seminars, and an annual conference. A catalog is also published.

Web Site: http://www.tash.org

Keywords: Developmental disabilities, Advocacy, Disabilities, Handicapping conditions, Information services, Integration, Special education, Special health care needs

Toggle Details

Association on Higher Education and Disability (AHEAD)

Annotation: The Association on Higher Education And Disability (AHEAD) is an international, multicultural organization of professionals committed to full participation in higher education for persons with disabilities. AHEAD was founded in 1977 to address the need and concern for upgrading the quality of services and support available to persons with disabilities in higher education. The association aims to promote excellence through education, communication, and training, and offers numerous training programs, workshops, publications and conferences. Special interest group listservs on various topics are available to members.

Web Site: http://www.ahead.org

Keywords: College students, Colleges, Disabilities, Special education

Toggle Details

Bright Futures for Families

Toggle Details

Canadian Association for Community Living (CACL)

Annotation: The Canadian Association for Community Living (CACL) works to ensure that people with intellectual disabilities can live, learn, and work in integrated settings in their communities and that their rights are protected by legislation and public policy.

Web Site: http://www.cacl.ca

Keywords: Integration, Mental retardation, Public policies, Special education

Toggle Details

Center for Applied Special Technology (CAST)

Annotation: The Center for Applied Special Technology (CAST) is a not-for-profit organization that works to expand educational opportunities for individuals with disabilities through innovative uses oftechnology. CAST focuses on the development of learning models and tools that are usable by a wide range of learners and specifically promotes Universal Design for Learning (UDL), an approach to teaching, learning and curriculum development that draws on current brain research and new technology to respond to individual differences in learning styles. CAST promotes UDL through leadership in the National Center on Accessing the General Curriculum, and through presentations and participation in national education forums. Books, journal articles, videotapes and newsletters that discuss both UDL and technology in learning are available. CAST also develops software and Web sites that support UDL. CAST is the developer of Bobby (acquired by Watchfire in July 2002),a Web-based program that assists designers in making Web sites accessible to disabled people. CAST offers professional development and curriculum planning support in schools and other educational settings.

Web Site: http://www.cast.org

Keywords: Educational materials, Curriculum development, Disabilities, Educational programs, Special education

Toggle Details

Center for Best Practices in Early Childhood Education

Annotation: The Center for Best Practices in Early Childhood Education in the College of Education and Human Services at Western Illinois University provides products, training materials, conference presentations and workshops on topics relating to technology and early childhood. Catalogs of various software, print, and video products and complimentary copies of ACTTive Technology, the Center's quarterly publication dedicated to technology and young children with disabilities, are available upon request.

Web Site: http://www.wiu.edu/thecenter/

Keywords: Technology, Children with special health care needs, Early childhood education, Early intervention

Toggle Details

Council for Exceptional Children (CEC)

Annotation: The Council for Exceptional Children (CEC) is the largest international professional organization dedicated to improving educational success for individuals with exceptionalities - students with disabilities and/or gifts. CEC advocates for appropriate governmental policies; sets professional standards; provides continual professional development; advocates for newly and historically underserved individuals with exceptionalities; and helps professionals obtain conditions and resources necessary for effective professional practice. Services provided include the following: information dissemination, public policy advocacy and information; conventions and conferences; special education publications; and standards for the preparation and certification of special educators and professional practice. Please note: consumers are asked not to direct inquiries to both CEC and the ERIC Clearinghouse on Disabilities and Gifted Education, since the two organizations share staff and resources in responding to questions on disabilities.

Web Site: http://www.cec.sped.org

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Educational factors, Educational programs, Professional societies, Special education programs

Toggle Details

Council of Administrators of Special Education (CASE)

Annotation: The Council of Administrators of Special Education (CASE) is a professional organization and support group serving special education administrators throughout the United States and Canada. A division of the Council for Exceptional Children, CASE is organized to promote professional leadership, provide opportunity for study of problems common to its members, and to communicate through discussion and publications information that will develop improved services for exceptional children. The council maintains a website; publishes a journal and a newsletter; and produces additional materials through its Research and Development Committee. Services to consumers include referrals, publications, and reference information. The Council also sponsors conferences.

Web Site: http://www.casecec.org

Keywords: Professional education, Special education

Toggle Details

Education Law Center (ELP)

Annotation: The Education Law Center (ELC) advocates on behalf of public school children for access to an equal and adequate education under state and federal laws, ELC focuses on improving public education for disadvantaged children, and children with disabilities and other special needs. ELC uses a wide variety of strategies, including public education and engagement, policy initiatives, research, communications and, as a last resort, legal action. ELC works to improve education for urban school children by advocating for effective implementation of the programs and reforms ordered in the landmark Abbott v. Burke school funding case, and provides direct legal assistance to lower income children in disputes involving access to an adequate, equal and appropriate education under state and federal laws. ELC focuses primarily in New Jersey and also provides information, technical assistance and support to attorneys and advocates in other states seeking to improve public education.

Web Site: http://www.edlawcenter.org/

Keywords: Advocacy, Children with special health care needs, Education, Legal aid, New Jersey, Public education, Public schools, State organizations

   |   

 

Page 1 of 5

 Jump to Page » Next Page »

Return to Citations Page | Go To Cross-Database Search | Advanced MCHLine® Search