Search the Databases

Search
Advanced Search

Site Tools

Partner Projects

 

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Library.

Search For: Keyword: Public health programs

   |   Expand All Items Collapse All Items

Displaying records 1 through 10 of 78 found.

   |   

Toggle Details

Advocates for Youth (AFY)

Annotation: Advocates for Youth is dedicated to creating programs and advocating for policies that help young people make informed and responsible decisions about their reproductive and sexual health. Advocates provides information, training, and strategic assistance to youth-serving organizations, policy makers, youth activists, and the media in the United States and the developing world. Advocates publishes newsletters, as well as provider- and consumer-oriented publications on adolescent reproductive health. A publications catalog is available. Some materials are available in French, Spanish, and Portuguese.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescents, Decision making skills, Information sources, Life skills, Peer education, Programs, Publications, Reproductive health, Sexual behavior, Sexuality education, Women

Toggle Details

American Public Health Association (APHA)

Annotation: The American Public Health Association (APHA) is the oldest and largest organization of public health professionals in the world, representing members from a broad array of occupations in public health. APHA brings together researchers, health service providers, administrators, teachers, and other health workers in a multidisciplinary environment of professional exchange, study, and action. APHA is concerned with a broad set of issues affecting personal and environmental health, including federal and state funding for health programs, pollution control, programs and policies related to chronic and infectious diseases, a smoke-free society, and professional education in public health. The association actively serves the public, its members, and the public health profession through its scientific programs, publications, annual meeting, awards program, educational service, and advocacy efforts. Its Web site includes a wide variety of resources, including the Community Solutions to Health Disparities database. Publications include the monthly American Journal of Public Health, manuals, directories, books, pamphlets, and a newspaper, The Nation's Health. Services to consumers include referrals, reference information, and access to searchable databases.

Web Site: http://www.apha.org

Keywords: Public health, Access to health care, Community programs, Consumer education, Environmental health, Guidelines, Health promotion, Information sources, Mental health, Minority health, Model programs, Professional societies, Program evaluation, Publications, Standards

Toggle Details

American Public Health Association, Center for School, Health and Education

Annotation: The American Public Health Association's Center for School, Health and Education advances school-based health care as a comprehensive strategy for preventing school dropout and improving graduation rates for students in kindergarten through grade 12. Through partnerships, policies and advocacy, the center links the education and public health communities to ensure that all students -- particularly those facing social inequities -- are supported to graduate. The center promotes school-based health centers as uniquely positioned to create a learning-friendly climate school-wide, increase access to physical and mental health care, and promote lifelong healthy behaviors for children and teens.

Web Site: http://www.schoolbasedhealthcare.org

Keywords: Graduation, Health care delivery, Prevention programs, Public health, School based clinics, School dropouts

Toggle Details

American Public Human Services Association (APHSA)

Annotation: The American Public Human Services Association (APHSA), formerly the American Public Welfare Association, represents state and local agencies as well as individuals interested or employed in public welfare. The association develops national social policy positions and sponsors conferences, workshops, and training sessions.

Web Site: http://www.aphsa.org/

Keywords: Advocacy, Block grants, CSHN programs, Child care, Child health, Maternal health, Public policies, Title V

Toggle Details

American Social Health Association (ASHA)

Annotation: Founded in 1914, the American Social Health Association (ASHA) is a nonprofit organization that works to improve the health of individuals, families, and communities, with a focus on sexually transmitted diseases (STDs). Through education, research, and public policy the association produces multifaceted programs addressing the most prevalent STDs, including its Herpes Resource Center, the National HPV (human papillomavirus) and Cervical Cancer Prevention Resource Center, and a National Women's Health Initiative focusing on sexual health. ASHA operates the STI Resource Center Hotline and publishes patient education pamphlets and specialized materials for professionals. Some publications are available in Spanish.

Web Site: http://www.ashastd.org

Keywords: Sexually transmitted diseases, AIDS, Herpes genitalis, Hotlines, Human papillomavirus, Immunization, Prevention programs, Public health, Public policy, Sexual health

Toggle Details

Asian and Pacific Islander American Health Forum (APIAHF)

Annotation: The Asian and Pacific Islander American Health Forum (APIAHF) works to influence policy, mobilizes communities, and strengthens programs and organizations to improve the health of Asian Americans, Native Hawaiians, and Pacific Islanders. The forum advocates for accurate representation of the health needs of Asian and Pacific Islander communities; performs community sensitive research to better inform health policy makers and providers; forges coalitions for the development of national health policies and programs; empowers individuals and communities to pursue parity in health status, to ensure a multicultural and multilingual approach to health services delivery; and fosters strategic linkages to promote improvement in the health of Asian and Pacific Islander Americans. APIAHF sponsors conferences, maintains an online resource database, hosts listservs, and publishes public health alerts. Materials are available in Asian and Pacific Islander languages.

Web Site: http://www.apiahf.org/

Keywords: Advocacy, Asian Americans, Minority groups, Pacific Islanders, Public health programs

Toggle Details

Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs (AMCHP)

Annotation: The Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs (AMCHP) supports state maternal and child health programs and provides national leadership on issues affecting women and children. AMCHP accomplishes its mission through the active participation of its members and partnerships with government agencies, families and advocates, health care purchasers and providers, academic and research professionals, and others at the national, state, and local levels. AMCHP tracks and analyzes emerging policy issues that impact family health and distributes the information to subscribers electronically via the AMCHP Legislative Alert. Issues areas include adolescent and school health; best practices; child health; data and assessment; family involvement; Medicaid, State Children's Health Insurance Program, and welfare; mental health; and women's and perinatal health. It also has a National Center for Health Reform Implementation.

Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

Keywords: Maternal health, Advocacy, Block grants, CSHN programs, Child health, Children with special health care needs, Federal MCH programs, Guidelines, Models, Professional societies, Public policies, State programs, Technical assistance, Title V

Toggle Details

Association of State and Territorial Health Officials (ASTHO)

Annotation: The Association of State and Territorial Health Officials (ASTHO) is a non-profit association that represents the public health agencies of the U.S. and territories and is engaged in a wide range of legislative, scientific, educational, and programmatic issues and activities on behalf of public health. Its mission is to formulate and influence sound national public health policy and to service state health departments in the development and implementation of programs and policies to promote heath and prevent disease. Program areas include access, infectious disease, preparedness, standards, workforce development, environmental health, public health informatics, state health services, accreditation and performance, and prevention and health promotion. Services to consumers include publications, newsletters (including the electronic Primary Care and Prevention Network News), and reference information. The Web site includes resources on evidence-based public health interventions and links to each state's public health department.

Web Site: http://www.astho.org

Keywords: Public Health, Access to health care, Advocacy, Conferences, Health promotion, Information services, Information sources, Legislation, Policy development, Professional societies, Program development, Program evaluation, Public Policies, Public health infrastructure, Public health programs, Publications, State programs

Toggle Details

Association of State and Territorial Public Health Nutrition Directors (ASTPHND)

Annotation: The Association of State and Territorial Public Health Nutrition Directors (ASTPHND) works to promote the achievement of optimal nutritional status for all sectors of the U.S. population. The association has a core membership of nutrition directors of the health departments of U.S. states, territories, commonwealths, districts, and possessions and an expanded membership of state public health nutritionists. It provides leadership in national and state food and nutrition policy, programs, and services through communication, education, research, and advocacy. It provides referrals, publications (including a newsletter), conferences, and training seminars.

Web Site: http://www.ASTPHND.org

Keywords: Public health, Advocacy, Education, Health promotion, Nutrition, Nutrition programs, Policy development, Standards, State health agencies

Toggle Details

Association of Teachers of Maternal and Child Health (ATMCH)

Annotation: The Association of Teachers of Maternal and Child Health (ATMCH) provides leadership in education, research, and service in the field of maternal and child health (MCH). ATMCH offers an interdisciplinary forum through which MCH faculty from schools of public health and other institutions of higher learning can share knowledge, ideas, and skills for educating students, advancing research, and applying research results to policies, programs, and services. The website contains information on AMCHP membership, leadership, meetings, projects, and awards, as well as links to MCH-related resources such as data, competencies, history, and training. Additional content includes a biannual newsletter and links to MCH programs in schools of public health and related organizations.

Web Site: http://www.atmch.org

Keywords: Maternal health, Child health, Curricula, Health education, History, MCH programs, Professional education, Professional societies, Public health, Teaching

   |   

 

Page 1 of 8

 Jump to Page » Next Page »

Return to Citations Page | Go To Cross-Database Search | Advanced MCHLine® Search