Search the Databases

Search
Advanced Search

Site Tools

Partner Projects

 

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Library.

Search For: Keyword: Gynecology

   |   Expand All Items Collapse All Items

Displaying records 1 through 10 of 12 found.

   |   

Toggle Details

American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (ACOG)

Annotation: The American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (ACOG) provides educational materials on pregnancy, birth, contraception, reproductive health, and women's issues such as violence against women, smoking cessation, and underserved women. Members and invited experts serve on various ACOG committees focusing on adolescent health care, gynecologic practice, obstetrics, American Indian affairs, and other topics. Statistics from a variety of resources are posted on the Web site, along with guides to selected internet resources on topics such as vaccines, cultural competency, adolescent/pediatric health, pregnancy, sexuality, and smoking cessation. Services to consumers include inquiry responses and publications. A resource catalog is also available. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Web Site: http://www.acog.org

Keywords: Prenatal care, American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, Childbirth, Contraception, Domestic violence, Gynecology, Legislation, Obstetrics, Pregnancy, Professional education, Professional ethics, Professional societies, Publications, Reproductive health, Women's health

Toggle Details

Association of Professors of Gynecology and Obstetrics (APGO)

Annotation: The mission of the Association of Professors of Gynecology and Obstetrics (APGO) is to promote excellence in women's health care education and provide an exchange of information on programs of study, teaching methods and research activities among gynecologic and obstetric programs. The APGO Women's Healthcare Education Office (WHEO) is invloved in activities to strengthen undergraduate women's health education for all medical students, including a women's health care competencies project. APGO provides reference information to consumers, publishes a catalog of available publications, and sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Web Site: http://www.apgo.org

Keywords: Gynecology, Obstetrics, Pregnancy, Prenatal care, Reproductive health

Toggle Details

Association of Women's Health, Obstetric and Neonatal Nurses (AWHONN)

Annotation: The Association of Women's Health, Obstetric and Neonatal Nurses (AWHONN) is a not for profit association of 22,000 health care professionals who are dedicated to establishing and promoting the highest standards of nursing practice, education, and research to improve the health and health care of women and newborns. The association sponsors conferences and training seminars, and produces professional and consumer journals, publications, and other resources. Its Web site includes a Prematurity Resource Center which links to information about prematurity.

Web Site: http://www.awhonn.org/awhonn/

Keywords: Gynecology, Neonatal nursing, Nursing, Nursing specialties, Obstetrical nursing, Perinatal care, Premature infants, Prenatal care, Reproductive health

Toggle Details

CHOICE

Annotation: CHOICE is a community-based organization dedicated to increasing awareness of and access to sexual health services, especially among underserved populations who traditionally experience barriers to care. CHOICE operates five bi-lingual (Spanish-English) hotlines and programs of community education and outreach. The hotlines include: the CHOICE Hotline for general reproductive and women's health information, serving the five-county Philadelphia area; the Pennsylvania Department of Public Health AIDS Fact Line for information about HIV/AIDS related issues which serves the entire state; the Children's Health Line which helps families obtain free or low cost health care and insurance coverage for their children; the CHOICE Teen Line, which provides sexual health counseling and education to young callers; and the Blueprint for a Safer Philadelphia Community Hotline that is part of a local effort to reduce youth homicides through a public health model. CHOICE is on the list of instructional resources recommended and approved by the Philadelphia School District to provide sexual health education in the City's public schools. CHOICE is currently active in 180 schools, after-school programs, community sites, hospitals, and churches. CHOICE offers online resources in English and Spanish.

Web Site: http://www.choice-phila.org

Keywords: Gynecology, AIDS, Advocacy, Advocacy, Child care, Children, Family planning, HIV, Health education, Health insurance programs, Hotlines, Information services, Maternal care, Reproductive health, Sexuality education

Toggle Details

Council of University Chairs of Obstetrics and Gynecology (CUCOG)

Annotation: The Council of University Chairs of Obstetrics and Gynecology (CUCOG) promotes excellence in medical education in the fields of obstetrics and gynecology. The council, which represents chairpersons in departments of obstetrics and gynecology within schools of medicine, conducts an annual meeting, publishes a semiannual newsletter, and provides copies of special reports such as A Blueprint for the Future of Academic Obstetrics and Gynecology (the result of a two-day retreat conducted by CUCOG).

Web Site: http://www.cucog.org

Keywords: , Obstetrics, Gynecology, Medical schools, Professional societies

Toggle Details

Foundation for Women's Cancer

Annotation: The Foundation for Women's Cander, formerly the Gynecologic Cancer Foundation, works to raise public awareness of gynecological cancer prevention, early diagnosis, and proper treatment, and supports research and training related to gynecologic cancers.

Web Site: http://www.foundationforwomenscancer.org/

Keywords: Foundations , Public awareness campaigns, Gynecology, Cancer, Ovarian cancer, Preventive health services, Reproductive health, Treatment services, Uterine cancer, Vaginal cancer

Toggle Details

Motherisk

Annotation: The Motherisk Program answers questions from women and health professionals who are concerned about potential reproductive risks from exposure to drugs, chemicals, radiation, and infections during pregnancy and lactation. The Web site provides access to pregnancy and breastfeeding resources for parents and professionals, including fact sheets, video tutorials, and links to additional resources. A telephone service handles questions about uncomplicated exposures. The service primarily receives inquiries from Ontario but will answer those from any center in Canada or the United States. Motherisk also offers three topic specific hotlines: Morning sickness, (800) 436-8477; HIV Healthline and Network, (888) 246-5840; Alcohol and Substance Use Line, (877) 327-I4636. The program also publishes a newsletter and maintains an online bookstore.

Web Site: http://www.motherisk.org

Keywords: Reproductive hazards, Alcohol abuse, Canada, Drug use during pregnancy, Gynecology, High risk pregnancy, Hotlines, Lactation, Maternal fetal exchange, Nausea, Obstetrics, Occupational safety and health, Pregnancy, Public health, Publications, Reproductive health, Substance abuse, Teratogens, Teratology, Vomiting

Toggle Details

National Association of Nurse Practitioners in Women's Health (NPWH)

Annotation: The National Association of Nurse Practitioners in Women's Health (NPWH), formerly the National Association of Nurse Practitioners in Reproductive Health, represents nurse practitioners that provide care to women in the primary care setting as well as in women's health specialty practices. NPWH works to assure quality health care to women of all ages by nurse practitioners and to protect and promote a woman's right to make her own choices regarding her health within the context of her personal, religious, cultural, and family beliefs. To fulfill its mission and to address the needs of its members, NPWH has established a comprehensive program of technical assistance, public policy analysis, professional education and publications. It publishes standards of practice and education, accredits nurse practitioner programs, and approves continuing education courses. Services to consumers include referrals, publications, and reference information. NPWH publishes newsletters and sponsors conferences, training seminars, and workshops.

Web Site: http://www.npwh.org

Keywords: Education, Gynecology Family planning, Infertility, Nurse practitioners, Obstetrics, Reproductive health, Training

Toggle Details

National Ovarian Cancer Coalition (NOCC)

Annotation: The National Ovarian Cancer Coalition (NOCC) is an ovarian cancer public information and education organization. NOCC provides toll-free information, online discussion forums, print and electronic materials, including news updates and research findings, and other ovarian cancer support resources and services.

Web Site: http://www.ovarian.org

Keywords: Gynecology, Cancer, Consumer education, Hotlines, Information sources, Ovarian cancer, Resource centers, Women's health

Toggle Details

North American Society for Pediatric and Adolescent Gynecology (NASPAG)

Annotation: The North American Society for Pediatric and Adolescent Gynecology (NASPAG) was established in 1986 and is comprised of obstetricians, gynecologists, and pediatricians. The society develops curriculum for medical students, residents, and practicing physicians in the area of pediatric and adolescent gynecology. Publications include a bi-monthly journal entitled Journal of Pediatric and Adolescent Gynecology and a quarterly newsletter. The organization also sponsors conferences.

Web Site: http://www.naspag.org

Keywords: Gynecology, Professional education, Professional societies

   |   

 

Page 1 of 2

 Jump to Page » Next Page »

Return to Citations Page | Go To Cross-Database Search | Advanced MCHLine® Search