[Skip to Content]
Georgetown University NCEMCH | MCH Navigator
Search the Databases

Search
Advanced Search

Site Tools

Partner Projects

MCH Social Media

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Library.

Search For: Keyword: Spina bifida

   |   Expand All Items Collapse All Items

   |   

Displaying records 1 through 10 of 51 found.
Toggle Details

West Virginia Bureau of Public Health, Division of Handicapped Children's Services. n.d.. Myelodysplasia clinic. Charleston, WV: West Virginia Bureau of Public Health, Division of Handicapped Children's Services, 2 pp.

Annotation: This brochure provides a brief overview of the services of the Myelodysplasia Clinic in West Virginia.

Contact: West Virginia Department of Health and Human Resources, Office of Maternal, Child and Family Health, State Capitol Complex, Building 3, Room 206, Charleston, WV 25305, Telephone: (304) 558-0684 Contact Phone: (304) 558-7996 Fax: (304) 558-1130 Web Site: http://www.wvdhhr.org/mcfh Price unknown.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Clinics, Neural tube defects, Spina bifida, West Virginia

Toggle Details

Cataldo M. n.d.. Project ABLE - Altering Bowel Learning Effectively [Final report]. Baltimore, MD: Kennedy Institute for Handicapped Children, 9 pp.

Annotation: This project addressed the problem of fecal incontinence in children with myelomeningocele by developing an affordable instructional package for health care providers and a parent instruction program in order to help these children develop bowel control. Improvement was documented in half the children using this systematic home-based method. The training program included a videotape and written provider and parent manuals. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: customerservice@ntis.gov Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov/Index.aspx Document Number: NTIS PB93-152999.

Keywords: Bowel Control, Chronically Ill, Home-Based Health Care, Meningomyelocele, Parent Education Clinics, Spina Bifida Association, Spina Bifida Incontinence, Toilet Training

Toggle Details

U.S. Government Accountability Office. 2014. VA spina bifida program: Outreach to key stakeholders and written guidance for claims audit follow-up activities needed. Washington, DC: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 27 pp.

Annotation: This report presenting findings from an evaluation of the administration of spina bifida health care benefits for children of servicemembers and veterans by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs' Veterans Health Administration (VHA). Topics include the extent to which VHA conducts outreach about available benefits, what is known about available processed health care claims, and what oversight VHA conducts of the claims process. Recommendations for executive action are included.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: contact@gao.gov Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website. Document Number: GAO-14-564.

Keywords: Access to health care, Administration, Children with special health care needs, Employee benefits, Federal programs, Health care utilization, Military, Outreach, Spina bifida, Utilization review

Toggle Details

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Public Health Grand Rounds. 2010. Folic acid in the prevention of birth defects. Atlanta, GA: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Public Health Grand Rounds,

Annotation: This webcast focuses on efforts currently under way to decrease the prevalence of neural tube defects (NTDs) in the United States and discusses global strategies to reduce the burden of NTDs worldwide through mandatory fortification of staple foods with folic acid.The webcast also includes information about NTDs, a discussion of possible harmful effects of folic acid, and information about next steps in folic acid fortification. A video of the webcast and a PowerPoint presentation are available.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30333, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: cdc@cdcinfo.gov Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Anencephaly, Folic acid, Food additives, High risk groups, International health, Neural tube defects, Prevention, Public policy, Research, Spina bifida

Toggle Details

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. 2008. Women need 400 micrograms of folic acid every day. Atlanta, GA: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 4 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about folic acid and the importance of taking this vitamin every day for women who could become pregnant. The fact sheet answers the following questions: (1) what is folic acid?, (2) how much is enough?, and (3) when should a woman start taking folic acid?. Tips on how to remember to take a vitamin with folic acid every day are included. Sources of more information are also provided.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30333, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: cdc@cdcinfo.gov Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Folic acid, Neural tube defects, Prenatal care, Prevention, Spina bifida

Toggle Details

National Center on Birth Defects and Developmental Disabilities. 2008. Folic acid: Helping to ensure a health pregnancy. [Atlanta, GA]: National Center on Birth Defects and Developmental Disabilities, (Birth defects)

Annotation: This podcast for consumers provides information about taking folic acid before and during pregnancy to help prevent neural tube defects, including spina bifida and anencephaly. The podcast explains why all women of childbearing age should take folic acid every day, discusses fetal development, and outlines different ways for women to ensure that they are taking in sufficient amounts of folic acid.

Contact: National Center on Birth Defects and Developmental Disabilities, 1600 Clifton Road, Mailstop E-87, Atlanta, GA 30333, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/ncbddd Available from the website.

Keywords: Anencephaly, Folic acid, Infant health, Neural tube defects, Pregnancy, Prevention, Reproductive health, Spina bifida

Toggle Details

Spina Bifida Association of America. 2007. Folic acid. [Washington, DC]: Spina Bifida Association of America, 1 p.

Annotation: This fact sheet, which is geared toward consumers, provides information about folic acid. The fact sheet answers the following questions: (1) what is folic acid?, (2) where can I get folic acid?, and (3) how much folic acid do I need?.

Contact: Spina Bifida Association of America, 4590 MacArthur Boulevard, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20007, Telephone: (202) 944-3285 Secondary Telephone: (800) 621-3141 Fax: (202) 944-3295 E-mail: sbaa@sbaa.org Web Site: http://www.sbaa.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Folic acid, Neural tube defects, Pregnancy, Prenatal care, Prevention, Spina bifida

Toggle Details

Spina Bifida Association of America. 2007. Spotlight on spina bifida. [Washington, DC]: Spina Bifida Association of America, 3 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information on spina bifida. The fact sheet explains what spina bifida is and offers a description of the three different types of spina bifida: occulta, meningocele, and myelomeningocele. Treatment, prevention, associated conditions and physical limitations, detection before birth, and the long-term outlook for individuals with spina bifida are also discussed. In addition, the fact sheet provides information about folic acid.

Contact: Spina Bifida Association of America, 4590 MacArthur Boulevard, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20007, Telephone: (202) 944-3285 Secondary Telephone: (800) 621-3141 Fax: (202) 944-3295 E-mail: sbaa@sbaa.org Web Site: http://www.sbaa.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Disabilities, Folic acid, Prevention, Spina bifida, Treatment

Toggle Details

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. [2005]. Reducing the risk of a neural tube birth defect. Atlanta, GA: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 2 pp.

Annotation: This brochure, which is geared toward families who have had a pregnancy affected by a neural tube defect (NTD), provides an overview of NTDs, describes the three most common NTDs (anencephaly, spina bifida, and encephalocele), and explains that folic acid before pregnancy and early in pregnancy can reduce the risk of experiencing another pregnancy affected by an NTD.

Contact: National Birth Defects Prevention Network, 14781 Memorial Drive, #1561, Houston, TX 77079, E-mail: nbdpn@nbdpn.org Web Site: http://www.nbdpn.org Available at no charge; also available from the website.

Keywords: Anencephaly, Encephalocele, Families, Folic acid, Neural tube defects, Pregnancy, Spina bifida

Toggle Details

National Birth Defects Prevention Network. 2004. Neural tube defect ascertainment project. Atlanta, GA: National Birth Defects Prevention Network, 2 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet includes data pertaining to the Neural Tube Defect Ascertainment Project. Data were provided by all 23 participating birth defects surveillance systems in March 2004 and covered approximately 2, 000, 000 births annually (approximately half of all U.S. births). Data are provided for spina bifida and anencephaly.

Contact: National Birth Defects Prevention Network, 14781 Memorial Drive, #1561, Houston, TX 77079, E-mail: nbdpn@nbdpn.org Web Site: http://www.nbdpn.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Anencephaly, Data, Neural tube defects, Population surveillance, Spina bifida

   |   

 

Page 1 of 6

 Jump to Page » Next Page »

Return to Previous Page | Go To Cross-Database Search | Advanced MCHLine® Search