Search the Databases

Search
Advanced Search

Site Tools

Partner Projects

 

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Library.

Search For: Keyword: Social work

   |   Expand All Items Collapse All Items

   |   

Displaying records 1 through 10 of 165 found.
Toggle Details

St. Denis GC, Jaros KJ (Eds.). n.d.. Public health social work and primary health care: A case management approach—Proceedings. Pittsburgh, PA: University of Pittsburgh, Public Health Social Work Training Program, 103 pp.

Annotation: This report presents the proceedings of the annual Public Health Social Work Maternal and Child Health Institute held in April 1989, in Pittsburgh. Presentations covered issues and directions for case management, case management in specific situations (multiply diagnosed children, pediatric AIDS in Belle Glade, Florida, prenatal care, and primary care), quality assurance, management information systems, training in case management, and a community development approach to case management in Pittsburgh. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 Fax: (202) 784-9777 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: http://www.mchlibrary.org Available for loan. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHD077.

Keywords: Case management, Conference proceedings, Primary care, Social work

Toggle Details

Jones S, Weiss JO. n.d.. A forum for nurses and social workers: Panel of families affected with a genetic disorder. Washington, DC: Georgetown University Child Development Center, 1 videotape (VHS 1/2 inch).

Annotation: This videotape is of a class from a continuing education program entitled Incorporation of Genetics into Clinical Practice: A Course for Nurses and Social Workers. The class features a panel of families affected by a genetic disorder. The teachers hope to increase awareness among nurses and social workers about the difficulties of genetic disorders.

Contact: Georgetown University Center for Child and Human Development, Georgetown University Box 571485, Washington, DC 20057-1485, Telephone: (202)687-5503 Secondary Telephone: (202)687-5000 Fax: (202) 687-8899 E-mail: gucdc@georgetown.edu Web Site: http://gucchd.georgetown.edu Price unknown.

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Continuing education, Genetic disorders, Nurses, Professional education, Social workers, Videotapes

Toggle Details

University of Kansas Medical Center. n.d.. Interdisciplinary training for people working with infants and toddlers with special needs and their families: An instructional package for nutritionists. Kansas City, KS: University of Kansas Medical Center , ca. 500 pp.

Annotation: This set of instructional materials was developed to train professionals in Missouri's First Steps program in the skills of 1) meeting the interrelated psychosocial, health, developmental, and educational needs of children eligible under Part H of Public Law 99-457; and 2) assist families in enhancing the development of their children, and in participating fully in the development and implementation of Individual Family Services Plans. The materials were designed to assist skilled, experienced professionals to train fellow professionals who have not been prepared to work with infants and toddlers with special needs and their families. The materials are organized into two parts. The first is five units promoting the development of the knowledge and skills needed to work in early intervention in Missouri and were intended to reflect current best practices. The second part was designed to provide members of specific disciplines with knowledge and skills particularly relevant to their specialization. There are 10 discipline-specific training units: 1) audiology, 2) education, 3) medicine, 4) nursing, 5) nutrition, 6) occupational therapy, 7) physical therapy, 8) psychology, 9) social work, and 10) speech and language pathology. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: University of Kansas Medical Center, 3901Rainbow Boulevard, Kansas City, KS 66160, Telephone: (913) 588-5000 Secondary Telephone: (913) 588-7963 Web Site: http://www.kumc.edu/ Available at no charge.

Keywords: Audiology, Children with developmental disabilities, Children with special health care needs, Early intervention, Education, Families, First Steps, Infants, Language disorders, Medicine, Missouri, Nursing, Nutrition, Occupational therapy, Physical therapy, Psychology, Social work, Speech pathology, Toddlers, Training materials

Toggle Details

Haugen IH. n.d.. A comparison between the social work profession and the nursing profession: Philosophy, theory and practice. Minneapolis, MN: [University of Minnesota, School of Public Health], Systems Development Project , 25 pp. (Comment series no: 0-10 (34))

Annotation: This paper compares the philosophy, theory and practice of nursing and social work to find to what extent overlapping, similarities, and divergencies may exist between them. This paper is produced as part of the documentation and assessment of the effect of P.L. 89-97, Title II. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Federal MCH programs, Children and Youth Projects, Nurses, Program evaluation, Social workers

Toggle Details

Carter M. n.d.. Continuing Nursing Education: Adolescents: [Final report]. Kansas City, KS: University of Kansas School of Nursing, 12 pp.

Annotation: This grant sponsored a symposium to improve adolescent approaches to health care through providing health professionals with new, innovative, and practical approaches to adolescent health care delivery. Issues addressed were: reaching the adolescent client; the application of physiological, cognitive, emotional, social, and behavioral theories to adolescent health care; and specific adolescent problems such as adolescent pregnancy and parenting, drug abuse, suicide, and body image; and sexuality in the disabled adolescent. Program emphasis was on the team and multi-disciplinary approach to effective adolescent health care delivery. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: customerservice@ntis.gov Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov/Index.aspx Document Number: NTIS PB93-196731.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Nurses Physicians Social Workers, Professional education

Toggle Details

WestEd Center for Child and Family Studies. n.d.. Home visiting the PITC way. Sausalito, CA: WestEd Center for Child and Family Studies, 2 pp.

Annotation: This brochure provides information about a home visiting training program conducted by the West Ed institute that combines social work best practices with the latest information on early childhood development and parenting. The brochure discusses what takes place on each day of the 5-day program, explains how to register and what fees cover, and describes the goals and format of the institute.

Contact: WestEd Center for Child and Family Studies, 180 Harbor Drive, Suite 112, Sausalito, CA 94965, Telephone: (415) 289-2300 E-mail: ssigner@wested.org Web Site: http://www.wested.org/cs/we/view/pg/3

Keywords: Early childhood development, Home visiting, Infants, Parenting skills, Social work, Training, Young children

Toggle Details

Hanson N, Hill KS. 2011. Defining the children's hospital role in child maltreatment. (2nd ed.). Alexandria, VA: National Association of Children's Hospitals and Related Institutions, 84 pp.

Annotation: This book outlines what a child protection team at a children’s hospital should offer in terms of infrastructure, staffing, functions, and systems to be considered either basic, advanced, or a center of excellence. The book discusses each of these three tiers, explaining how they serve as a framework for hospital self assessment and are not intended as a ranking for competitive evaluation. The first section covers medical leadership, team administration, and social work; the second section covers clinical services, policies, prevention, advocacy, community collaboration, education, and research; and the third section covers funding, reimbursement, and risk management. The benefit to the community is covered in a special section.

Contact: National Association of Children's Hospitals and Related Institutions, 401 Wythe Street, Alexandria, VA 22314, Telephone: (703) 684-1355 Fax: (703) 684-1589 Web Site: http://www.childrenshospitals.net//AM/Template.cfm?Section=Home3 Available from the website.

Keywords: Assessment, Child abuse, Child protective services, Child welfare, Maltreated children, Pediatric hospitals, Program evaluation, Program improvement, Social work

Toggle Details

CityMatCH. 2007. Mental health services and funding in MCH. Omaha, NE: CityMatCH, (Emerging issues in maternal and child health)

Annotation: This webcast includes three presentations: (1) Maternal and Child Health and Mental Health: Time for Action, (2) Integrating Behavioral Health into Primary Care, and (3) A Model for a Collaborative Social Work/Public Health Response to Traumatic and Catastrophic Events, Lessons Learned from Katrina. The first discusses mental health among women and children, especially those from low-income communities; the second discusses the Duvall County health department, in Jacksonville, Florida, and its efforts to integrate mental health services into primary care service; and the third discusses h traumatic and catastrophic events and how to collaboratively respond to them. The webcast includes PowerPoint presentations and audio files. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170, Telephone: (402) 552-9500 E-mail: citymch@unmc.edu Web Site: http://www.citymatch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Child health, Collaboration, Health services, Low income groups, Mental health, Multimedia, Primary care, Public health, Social work, Women's health

Toggle Details

Buysse V, Wesley PW (Eds.). 2006. Evidence-based practice in the early childhood field. Washington, DC: Zero to Three Press, 258 pp.

Annotation: This book looks at the evidence-based movement in the early childhood field, including early childhood education, early childhood special education, early intervention, child care, infant and child mental health, developmental and clinical psychology, social work, and the medical and allied health professions, among other areas. The book is organized around three questions: (1) what is evidence-based practice, and how did it emerge?, (2) how will evidence-based practice affect the early childhood field?, and (3) what are some promising practices, strategies, and future directions for implementing evidence-based practice? The book also discusses research on the impact of evidence-based practice, the evidence-based practice movement and its effect on knowledge utilization, making the case for evidence-based policy, building and establishing the evidence base, and reflections and recommendations. Each chapter includes references. The book includes an index.

Contact: Zero To Three, 1255 23rd Street, N.W., Suite 350, Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 638-1144 Fax: (202) 638-0851 Web Site: http://www.zerotothree.org $34.95, plus shipping and handling. Document Number: ISBN 0-943657-95-4.

Keywords: Child health, Clinical psychology, Developmental psychology, Early childhood development, Early childhood education, Evidence, Mental health, Public policy, Social work, Special education, Young children

Toggle Details

National Center for Children in Poverty. 2005. Why social security matters to children and families: What every policymaker should know. New York, NY: National Center for Children in Poverty, 4 pp.

Annotation: This report describes the way Social Security provides insurance protection for the families of working parents in cases of serious disability or death. The report explains what Social Security is, how the program affects children and families, what are the program's effects on child poverty, and what is at stake for children and families in the current social security debate. Statistical information is presented in figures throughout the report. Endnotes are included.

Contact: National Center for Children in Poverty, 215 West 125th Street, Third Floor, New York, NY 10027, Telephone: (646) 284-9600 Fax: (646) 284-9623 E-mail: info@nccp.org Web Site: http://www.nccp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Children, Death, Disabilities, Families, Parents, Poverty, Public policy, Social Security, Working parents

   |   

 

Page 1 of 17

 Jump to Page » Next Page »

Return to Previous Page | Go To Cross-Database Search | Advanced MCHLine® Search