Search the Databases

Search
Advanced Search

Site Tools

Partner Projects

 

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Library.

Search For: Keyword: Screening tests

   |   Expand All Items Collapse All Items

   |   

Displaying records 1 through 10 of 103 found.
Toggle Details

American College of Medical Genetics. n.d.. Hearing loss, genetics, and your child. Bethesda, MD: American College of Medical Genetics, 2 pp.

Annotation: This brochure provides information for parents of children with hearing loss. The brochure discusses genetics and hearing loss; insurance and paying for genetic testing; what parents should do once hearing loss has been diagnosed; why it is important for children with hearing loss to be seen by a geneticist; how to prepare for the genetics appointment; and what happens at the appointment.

Contact: American College of Medical Genetics, 7220 Wisconsin Avenue, N.W., Suite 300, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (301) 718-9603 Fax: (301) 718-9604 E-mail: acmg@acmg.net Web Site: http://www.acmg.net/

Keywords: Children, Consumer education materials, Genes, Genetic disorders, Genetic screening, Genetic services, Genetics, Hearing disorders, Hearing screening, Hearing tests, Infants

Toggle Details

National Center on Birth Defects and Developmental Disabilities, Early Hearing Detection and Intervention Program. n.d.. Hearing loss fact sheet. [Atlanta, GA: National Center on Birth Defects and Developmental Disabilities, Early Hearing Detection and Intervention Program], 1 p.

Annotation: This fact sheet for parents provides information about hearing loss in children. It explains what hearing loss in children is; discusses some signs of hearing loss, what causes it, and whether it can be prevented; and what parents can do it they suspect that their child has hearing loss. The fact sheet is printed in English on one side and in Spanish on the other.

Contact: National Center on Birth Defects and Developmental Disabilities, Early Hearing Detection and Intervention Program, 1600 Clifton Road, Mailstop E-88, Atlanta, GA 30333, Telephone: (404) 498-3032 Secondary Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Fax: (404) 498-3060 E-mail: ehdi@cdc.gov Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/ncbddd/ehdi Available at no charge; also available from the website.

Keywords: Child development, Children, Consumer education materials, Early childhood development, Hearing disorders, Hearing screening, Hearing tests, Heath services, Infant development, Infants, Prevention, Spanish language materials

Toggle Details

American Optometric Association. n.d.. Ready for school: Understanding the difference between vision screenings and vision examinations. St. Louis, MO: American Optometric Association, 2 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet for parents provides information about the difference between vision screenings and vision examinations and explains why it is important for young children to receive comprehensive vision and eye examinations conducted by a doctor before they start school. The fact sheet explains the essential elements of a comprehensive eye examination used to ensure that learning is maximized through good vision.

Contact: American Optometric Association, 243 North Lindbergh Boulevard, First Floor , St. Louis, MO 63141, Telephone: (314) 991-4100 Secondary Telephone: (800) 365-2219 Fax: (314) 991-4101 Web Site: http://www.aoanet.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Child health, Consumer education materials, Eye diseases, Screening, Vision, Vision disorders, Vision screening, Vision tests, Young children

Toggle Details

Association of Public Health Laboratories. (2013). Newborn screening: Four facts policymakers need to know. Silver Spring, MD: Association of Public Health Laboratories, 14 pp.

Annotation: This bochure describes the importance of newborn screening in the early detection of heritable and genetic conditions that may otherwise be hidden in infancy or early childhood. It outlines the history of newborn screening in the United States in the past 50 years, the importance of blood-spot samples from every newborn being screened by a laboratory, the public health success of newborn screening, the economic benefits of early detection of conditions, the success of pre-discharge hearing and heart screening, and the importance of evolving and improving newborn screening. The brochure contains tables describing the most common disorders screened for and partners in the screening process. It also provides several vignettes of people who were diagnosed with various conditions and were able to lead healthy lives because their conditions could be treated if diagnosed early.

Contact: Association of Public Health Laboratories, 8515 Georgia Avenue, Suite 700 , Silver Spring, MD 20910, Telephone: (240) 485-2745 Secondary Telephone: (240) 485-2747 Fax: (240) 485-2700 E-mail: scott.becker@aphl.org Web Site: http://www.aphl.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Blood tests, Genetic screening, Hearing tests, Neonatal screening, Newborn infants, Screening tests

Toggle Details

Taylor P, Bailey D, Green SR, McCully C, eds. 2012. Substance abuse during pregnancy: Guidelines for screening (rev. ed.). Olympia, WA: Maternal and Child Health, Washington State Department of Health, 50 pp.

Annotation: This booklet describes the role of health professionals in screening and identifying pregnant women with substance abuse issues. Contents include guidelines for screening and follow-up, sample screening tools, recommendations related to drug testing of pregnant women and newborns, and referral resources. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Health Education Resource Exchange, Washington State Department of Health, P.O. Box 47833, Olympia, WA 98504-7833, Telephone: (360) 236-3736 Fax: (360) 664-4500 E-mail: here@doh.wa.gov Web Site: http://here.doh.wa.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Guidelines, Newborns, Pregnant women, Screening, Substance abuse, Substance abuse treatment services, Tests

Toggle Details

California Health Benefits Review Program. 2012. Policy brief: Pediatric dental and pediatric vision essential health benefits. Oakland, CA: California Health Benefits Review Program, 11 pp.

Annotation: This brief focuses on a subset of the health insurance market subject to essential health benefits (EHB) coverage requirements in California, non-grandfathered small group and individual market health service plans, and policies regulated by the Department of Managed Care and the California Department of Insurance. Topics include specific tests, treatments, and services covered in the pediatric dental and pediatric vision EHB category; the age group eligible for pediatric dental and pediatric vision coverage; and how stand-alone health insurance will be coordinated with stand-alone dental insurance to fulfill the pediatric EHB requirement.

Contact: California Health Benefits Review Program, University of California, Office of the President, 111 Franklin Street, 11th Floor, Oakland, CA 94607, Telephone: (510) 287-3876 Web Site: http://www.chbrp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: California, Children, Dental care, Health insurance, Medicaid, Oral health, State programs, Vision screening, Vision tests

Toggle Details

National Center on Birth Defects and Developmental Disabilities, Division of Blood Disorders. [2011]. What you should know about sickle cell trait. Atlanta, GA: National Center on Birth Defects and Developmental Disabilities, Division of Blood Disorders, 2 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet provides answers to frequently asked questions about sickle cell trait. It explains the differences between sickle cell trait and sickle cell disease; explains how someone acquires the trait and who is affected by it; explains the health complications that may result from having the trait; and describes the blood test that can determine whether or not someone has the trait. The fact sheet also provides statistics on the chances that a baby will acquire sickle cell trait, based on whether or not one or both parents have either the trait or the disease.

Contact: National Center on Birth Defects and Developmental Disabilities, MS E-87, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30333, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/ncbddd Available from the website.

Keywords: Blood and lymphatic diseases, Consumer education materials, Screening tests, Sickle cell disease, Sickle cell trait

Toggle Details

Minnesota Department of Health. [2011]. Developmental and social-emotional screening of young children (0-6 years of age) in Minnesosta. St. Paul, MN: Minnesota Department of Health,

Annotation: This website provides an overview of developmental and mental health screening of children (ages 0 through 6) in the state of Minnesota; online access to screening instruments and state requirements; and a training module for clinics and health care providers. The site describes the review process for screening tools used in Minnesota's public programs; provides answers to frequently asked questions; and offers additional training resources such as web training videos and power point presentations. Links to related information produced by the Minnesota Department of Health are provided as well.

Contact: Minnesota Department of Health, P.O. Box 64975, St. Paul, MN 55164-0975, Telephone: (651) 201-5000 Secondary Telephone: (888) 345-0823 Web Site: http://www.health.state.mn.us Available from the website.

Keywords: Developmental screening, Minnesota, Public health services, Screening, Screening tests, State programs, Training materials, Young children

Toggle Details

Genetic Alliance. [2011]. Baby's first test. [Washington, DC]: Genetic Alliance,

Annotation: This website provides information on newborn screening primarily for expecting and new parents. Resources are also available for prenatal and pediatric health professionals, including information about dried blood spot storage and usage. The content is based on 2008 legislation (the Newborn Screening Saves Lives Act) to expand support, research, and education opportunities for newborn screening. The website is organized as follows: About Newborn Screening (newborn screening facts, genetic and family history, screening resources, conditions screened by state); What to Expect (before birth, testing procedure, responding to results, testing outcomes, and what happens to the blood sample); Find a Condition; and Living with Conditions (family experiences, talking about a diagnosis, advocacy and support groups, finding a specialist, insurance and planning, looking to the future). [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Genetic Alliance, 4301 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Suite 404, Washington, DC 20008-2369, Telephone: (202) 966-5557 Secondary Telephone: (800) 336-GENE Fax: (202) 966-8553 E-mail: info@geneticalliance.org Web Site: http://www.geneticalliance.org Available at no charge.

Keywords: Blood tests, Educational materials, Family support, Genetic services, Newborn infants, Resources for professionals, Screening, Special health care needs

Toggle Details

U.S. Preventive Services Task Force. 2011. Screening for visual impairment in children ages 1 to 5 years. Rockville, MD: U.S. Preventive Services Task Force,

Annotation: This web site provides information on the updated recommendations for vision screening for young children in the United States. Contents include a summary, the complete statement, a supporting article, evidence synthesis, and a clinical summary.

Contact: U.S. Preventive Services Task Force, 540 Gaither Road, Rockville, MD 20850, Telephone: (301) 427-1584 E-mail: http://www.uspreventiveservicestaskforce.org/contact-uspstf/ Web Site: http://www.uspreventiveservicestaskforce.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Anticipatory guidance, Health supervision, Vision screening, Vision tests, Young children

   |   

 

Page 1 of 11

 Jump to Page » Next Page »

Return to Previous Page | Go To Cross-Database Search | Advanced MCHLine® Search