[Skip to Content]
Georgetown University NCEMCH | MCH Navigator
Search the Databases

Search
Advanced Search

Site Tools

Partner Projects

MCH Social Media

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Library.

Search For: Keyword: Refugees

   |   Expand All Items Collapse All Items

   |   

Displaying records 1 through 10 of 23 found.
Toggle Details

U.S. Administration for Children and Families, Office of Refugee Resettlement. 2013. Somali refugee women: Learn about your health. Washington, DC: U.S. Administration for Children and Families, 4 videos.

Annotation: This four-part video series aims to provide information for current and former Somali refugee women about their bodies and health, so they can make the choices that are right for them. Topics include the reproductive system; infections, relationships, and cancer; pregnancy and birth; and other female health issues.

Contact: U.S. Administration for Children and Families, 370 L'Enfant Promenade, S.W., Washington, DC 20447, Telephone: (202) 401-9215 Secondary Telephone: (800) 422-4453 Web Site: http://www.acf.hhs.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Audiovisual materials, Health promotion, Minority health, Refugees, Reproductive health, Videos, Women's health

Toggle Details

Louisville Metro Public Health & Wellness. [2012]. Healthy Tomorrows Somali Bantu Project final report. Louisville, KY: Louisville Metro Public Health & Wellness, 21 pp.

Annotation: This final report summarizes the Healthy Tomorrows Somali Bantu Project, which took place between March 2006 and February 2012 and was developed to increase access to culturally competent healthcare services, health prevention, and health education services and to provide a medical home for families of the Somali Bantu refugee population who have settled in Louisville, KY since the year 2000. The report describes the project goals and objectives; discusses program activities and evaluation measures; presents the results and final outcomes; and addresses futures plans and sustainability. A quick reference guide on the diet, religion, language, and culture of the Somali Bantu refugees is included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Louisville Metro Department of Public Health & Wellness, 400 East Gray Street, Louisville, KY 40202, Telephone: (502)574-6665 Contact Phone: 502-574-6665 Contact E-mail: ginger.dereksen@louisvilleky.gov; ryan.irvine@louisvilleky.gov Web Site: http://www.louisvilleky.gov/health/ Available at no charge.

Keywords: Access to health care, Cultural competence, Final reports, Health education, Healthy Tomorrows, Kentucky, Local programs, Minority health, Prevention programs, Refugees

Toggle Details

McNeely C, Sprecher K, Bates D. 2010. Comparative case study of caring across communities: Identifying essential components of comprehensive school-linked mental health services for refugee and immigrant children. Knoxville, TN: University of Tennessee, Center for the Study of Youth and Political Violence and Department of Public Health, 42 pp.

Annotation: This document reports on a qualitative evaluation of the Caring Across Communities program, an initiative that supports the development of school-connected mental health care models to reduce emotional and behavioral health problems among children in low-income, refugee, or immigrant communities. The report provides background on the study, lists program sites, discusses the study methods, and presents findings.

Contact: Center for Health and Health Care in Schools, George Washington University Milken Institute School of Public Health, 2175 K Street, N.W., Suite 200, Room 213, Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 994-4895 E-mail: chhcs@gwu.edu Web Site: http://www.healthinschools.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Cultural factors, Families, Health care delivery, Immigrants, Initiatives, Language barriers, Low income groups, Mental disorders, Mental health, Parents, Prevention, Program evaluation, Refugees, School health

Toggle Details

U.S. Administration for Children and Families. [2005]. A childhood for every child: How compassion-driven solutions are transforming the nation's well-being. Washington, DC: U.S. Administration for Children and Families, 12 pp.

Annotation: This report describes ways in which Administration for Children and Families' (ACF's) services for poor children, families with few resources, developmentally disabled adults, and refugees have been strengthened during the past four years. The report discusses ACF's programs to strengthen families, empower communities, encourage youth development, and ensure child well-being. ACF's goals for the future are also discussed.

Contact: U.S. Administration for Children and Families, 370 L'Enfant Promenade, S.W., Washington, DC 20447, Telephone: (202) 401-9215 Secondary Telephone: (800) 422-4453 Web Site: http://www.acf.hhs.gov Available at no charge; also available from the website.

Keywords: Administration for Children and Families, Adolescents, Adults, Child advocacy, Children, Communities, Developmental disabilities, Families, Federal agencies, Federal programs, Poverty, Refugees

Toggle Details

CDC Childhood Lead Poisoning Prevention Program. [2005]. CDC recommendations for lead poisoning prevention in newly arrived refugee children. Atlanta, GA: National Center for Environmental Health, 5 pp.

Annotation: This report provides recommendations for preventing lead poisoning among refugee children newly arrived in the United States. The report includes background information as well as recommendations in the following categories: (1) primary prevention of elevated blood lead levels, (2) identification of children with elevated blood lead levels, (3) early post-arrival evaluation and therapy, and (4) health education and outreach.

Contact: National Center for Environmental Health, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta , GA 30333, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: E-mail: cdcinfo@cdc.gov Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/nceh Available from the website.

Keywords: Child health, Children, Evaluation, Health education, Immigrants, Lead poisoning, Outreach, Prevention, Refugees

Toggle Details

Norvenius G, Kohler L, Johannsson J, Wennergren G (Eds.). 2001. Protection—prevention—promotion: Development and future of child health services. Goteborg, Sweden: Nordiska Halsovardshogskolan, 252 pp.

Annotation: This publication presents the main contributions from the Child Health Services conference held in Sweden at the Nordic School of Public Health. It includes three main areas: methods and contents; research and practice; and organisations and structures; preceded by a general overview of the Child Health Services and their development in Sweden, and followed by a look into the future. Topics include child health services for high-risk groups, refugee children, public education programs, and descriptions of programs in Sweden, Europe, the United Kingdom, and New Zealand. Each article concludes with a list of references, and contact information for all authors is provided at the end of the publication.

Contact: Nordiska Halsovardshogskolan, Nya Varvet, Building 25, Box 12133 SE-402 42, Goteborg, Sweden Telephone: 46(0) 31 693900 Fax: 46(0) 31 691777 E-mail: administration@nhv.se Web Site: http://www.nhv.se Contact for cost information. Document Number: ISBN 91-89479-63-7; NHV report: 2001:5.

Keywords: Child health programs, Child health promotion, Europe, High risk groups, International health, New Zealand, Refugees, Screening, Sweden, United Kingdom

Toggle Details

Hernandez M, Isaacs MR (Eds.). 1998. Promoting cultural competence in children's mental health services. Baltimore, MD: Paul H. Brookes Publishing Company, 370 pp. (Systems of care for children's mental health)

Annotation: This book defines cultural competence and outlines strategies for fostering it in a wide variety of mental health programs for children from birth to age 18 and their families. The book contains self-assessment tools, troubleshooting suggestions, planning assistance, methods for recruiting and retaining ethnically diverse staff, and tips on operating in a managed care environment. Section one focuses on the need to develop organizational infrastructures that support and further cultural competence. Section two reviews methods for incorporating cultural competence principles at the local community level. Section three is focused on special issues related to serving culturally diverse populations. And section four highlights the need to continue to research and evaluate the development of culturally competent services and systems. Advice on the impact of exposure to violence, substance abuse, and stress in immigrant and refugee populations is included.

Contact: Brookes Publishing, P.O. Box 10624, Baltimore, MD 21285-0624, Telephone: (800) 638-3775 Secondary Telephone: (410) 337-9580 Fax: (410) 337-8539 E-mail: custserv@brookespublishing.com Web Site: http://www.brookespublishing.com $32.95 includes shipping and handling. Document Number: ISBN 1-55766-287-8.

Keywords: Assessment, Child mental health, Children, Communities, Cultural factors, Cultural sensitivity, Culturally competent services, Immigrants, Minority groups, Organizations, Refugees, Research, Stress, Substance abuse, Violence

Toggle Details

New York University, School of Medicine, Division of Primary Care Internal Medicine, New York Task Force on Immigrant Health. 1995. Cross-cultural care giving in maternal and child health: A trainer's manual. New York, NY: New York University, New York Task Force on Immigrant Health, 88 pp.

Annotation: This train the trainers manual provides information on training health care providers to deliver maternal and child health services to refugees and immigrant populations while taking their cultural, linguistic, and epidemiological needs into account. The manual contains an overview of the course's methodology, organization, and objectives; it provides introductions, background materials, instructional guidelines, exercises, and references for four training modules. Evaluation materials include a staff needs assessment survey, pre- and post-tests, and session evaluation forms; and the manual lists references and other resources. The training modules cover: working with interpreters, conducting cross-cultural medical interviews, health beliefs and practices across cultures, and family dynamics and domestic abuse. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: New York University, Division of Primary Care Internal Medicine, Bellevue Hospital, 550 First Avenue, Old Bellevue, Room A615, New York, NY 10016, Telephone: (212) 263-8553 Fax: (212) 263-8788 E-mail: marc.gourevitch@nyumc.org Web Site: http://www.med.nyu.edu/medicine/dgim/ Price unknown.

Keywords: Child health, Children, Cultural sensitivity, Culturally competent services, Immigrants, MCH services, Manuals, Maternal health, Mothers, Refugees, Service delivery, Training

Toggle Details

de Bocanegra HT (Ed.). 1994. Integrated maternal child health care for immigrant and refugee populations. New York, NY: New York University, New York Task Force on Immigrant Health, 49 pp.

Annotation: These proceedings are from a symposium held on December 6, 1993, which focused on delivering coordinated, culturally appropriate services for immigrant or refugee mothers and children. The proceedings summarize sessions that focused on these topics: immigrant health training in maternity and infant care family planning programs, health issues faced by this group, epidemiological factors, health care entitlements, a review of cross-cultural training curricula, taking cross-cultural medical interviews including the use of interpreters, differences in health beliefs and practices, domestic violence in immigrant families, and barriers to prenatal care encountered by Latina women in New York state. Appendices include biographical sketches and lists of the participants and the members of the curriculum committee. The symposium was sponsored by the New York Task Force on Immigrant Health, the New York State Perinatal Association, and the New York State Department of Health. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: New York University, Division of Primary Care Internal Medicine, Bellevue Hospital, 550 First Avenue, Old Bellevue, Room A615, New York, NY 10016, Telephone: (212) 263-8553 Fax: (212) 263-8788 E-mail: marc.gourevitch@nyumc.org Web Site: http://www.med.nyu.edu/medicine/dgim/ Price unknown.

Keywords: Access to health care, Child health, Children, Conferences, Cultural barriers, Cultural beliefs, Cultural factors, Culturally competent services, Domestic violence, Epidemiology, Family planning, Health attitudes, Health behavior, Hispanic Americans, Immigrants, Interviews, MCH services, Maternal health, Mothers, New York, Prenatal care, Refugees, Service coordination, Service delivery

Toggle Details

Travelers and Immigrants Aid, Chicago Institute on Urban Poverty. 1993. Refugee immunization project report of focus groups. Chicago, IL: Travelers and Immigrants Aid, 15 pp.

Annotation: This report presents the methodology, findings, and recommendations of a focus group of the Refugee Immunization Project that was to identify barriers to childhood immunization that exist for refugees from five different communities in order to provide effective education and outreach strategies. The report includes the question protocol given to each ethnic group studied.

Keywords: Child health, Child health promotion, Ethnic groups, Immunization, Immunization programs, Outreach, Refugees

   |   

 

Page 1 of 3

 Jump to Page » Next Page »

Return to Previous Page | Go To Cross-Database Search | Advanced MCHLine® Search