Search the Databases

Search
Advanced Search

Site Tools

Partner Projects

 

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Library.

Search For: Keyword: Parent support services

   |   Expand All Items Collapse All Items

   |   

Displaying records 1 through 10 of 171 found.
Toggle Details

Parents Helping Parents (PHP) The Family Resource Center. n.d.. The modern art of caring for families. Santa Clara, CA: Parents Helping Parents (PHP) The Family Resource Center, ca. 100 pp.

Annotation: These resource materials, which are usable for handouts or overhead transparencies, are based on a workshop for nurses who work with families of children with special health needs. Sections of the notebook include the following materials: class exercises; family perspectives focusing on feelings about having a child with disabilities; principles of family centered care; guidelines for referrals; descriptions of community resources; an overview of family centered care; journal articles; eligibility criteria and procedures for referrals; and an article by the cofounder of Parents Helping Parents (PHP) that summarizes all aspects of needed professional knowledge. A brochure in the notebook describes the PHP program and provides contact information. The workshop and materials are cosponsored with Kaiser Permanente. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Parents Helping Parents, 3041 Olcott Street, Santa Clara, CA 95054-3222, Telephone: (408) 727-5775 Fax: (408) 727-0182 E-mail: nancye@php.com Web Site: http://www.php.com Price unknown.

Keywords: Children with developmental disabilities, Children with special health care needs, Communication, Cultural competence, Family resource centers, Family support services, Health occupations, Parent support services, Professional training, Resource materials, Stress management

Toggle Details

Family Information Network. n.d.. The Family Information Network. Columbus, OH: Family Information Network, 2 pp.

Annotation: This brochure describes the Family Information Network in Ohio. The organization is a statewide parent-to-parent network which provides information and support to families with babies and young children who have developmental challenges and/or disabilities.

Contact: Family Information Network of Ohio, 143 Northwest Avenue, Building A, Tallmadge, OH 44278, Telephone: (330) 633-2055 Fax: (330) 633-2658 E-mail: gstoner@familychild.org Web Site: http://www.familychild.org/fin/FIN.htm Price unknown.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Information networks, Ohio, Parent support services, Parenting

Toggle Details

Southeast Alabama Early Intervention Council. n.d.. A guide for very special parents of very special children. [Montgomery, AL]: Alabama State Department of Education, Alabama's Care Management Project, 55 pp.

Annotation: This parent manual, a production of Alabama's Care Management Project, was developed to provide information and support to parents of infants and toddlers with special needs. The manual discusses various aspects of child health care, including growth and development, check-ups, immunization, preparing for a doctor's visit, communicating with the physician and other professionals, and questions to ask; and it includes resources and support services, a glossary of frequently used medical and education terms, and a personal health record and care manual from the Children's Rehabilitation Service. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Child development, Child health promotion, Child health services, Children with developmental disabilities, Family support programs, Immunization, Parent education

Toggle Details

Make a Difference Information Network . n.d.. Make a Difference Information Network [brochure]. No place: Make a Difference Information Network, 2 pp.

Annotation: This brochure briefly describes the Make a Difference Information Network, a network of cooperating programs in Kansas serving children and adults with disabilities. Information is available about advocacy and legal organizations, respite care during vacations, weekends or family emergencies, screening, diagnosis and evaluation, education, public health and social service agencies, counseling, living arrangements, parent support groups, resource materials for families, and training resources and materials for service providers. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: University of Kansas, Bureau of Child Research, Dole Human Development Center, Room 1052, 1000 Sunnyside Avenue, Lawrence , KS 66045, Telephone: (785) 864-4295 Fax: (785) 864-5323 Web Site: http://www.lsi.ku.edu/

Keywords: Advocacy, Children with special health care needs, Early intervention, Parent support services, Services, Special health care needs

Toggle Details

Project Enlightenment. n.d.. Project Enlightenment. Raleigh, NC: Wake County Public School System, Project Enlightenment, 32 pp., 8 pp.

Annotation: This pamphlet describes Project Enlightenment, run by the Wake County, North Carolina Public School System. The project's services and facilities include consultation and training services, supplementary support services, a parent-teacher resource center, a demonstration preschool, and TALKline, a telephone service for parents, teachers, and child care workers. A separate brochure provides an overview of the main features of the project.

Contact: Wake County Public School System, Project Enlightenment, 501 South Boylan Avenue, Raleigh, NC 27603, Telephone: (919) 856-7774 Secondary Telephone: (919) 856-7800 Contact Phone: (919) 755-6935 Fax: (919) 508-0810 Web Site: http://projectenlightenment.wcpss.net/ Price unknown.

Keywords: Community programs, Early childhood education, Families, Parent education, Parent support services, Preschool children, Resource centers, Teachers, Volunteers

Toggle Details

Boston Healthy Start Initiative. n.d.. Outline of BHSI's pilot nurturing program presently funded through the Carnegie Foundation known as Connect the DOTS. Boston, MA: Boston Healthy Start Initiative, 33 pp.

Annotation: This manual describes a pilot family nurturing program, in which parents and children attend a series of classes together. In outline form, the manual explains how the pilot program works and how it is implemented, the philosophy and constructs behind the program, the timeline and budget for the program, and an evaluation. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Boston Healthy Start Initiative, 1010 Massachusetts Avenue, Second Floor, Boston, MA 02118, Telephone: (617) 534-5395 Secondary Telephone: (617) 534-9799 Contact Phone: (617) 534-7828 Fax: (617) 534-5358 E-mail: healthystart@bphc.org Web Site: http://www.bphc.org/programs/cafh/mch/bhsi/Pages/Home.aspx Contact for cost information.

Keywords: Boston Healthy Start, Community based services, Community programs, Facilitating services, Family relations, Family support services, Outreach, Parent education programs, Training materials

Toggle Details

Baltimore City Healthy Start. n.d.. Parenting education curricula. Baltimore, MD: Baltimore City Healthy Start, 162 pp.

Annotation: This publication contains parent education training modules. The curriculum is designed to assist both traditional-age and teenage parents in gaining control of their parenting situations by offering options, information, and protective parenting solutions to everyday problems. The modules are specially designed for parents who have open cases with Baltimore's Child Care Protective Services and for parents who are at risk for having a protective services case reopened or initiated. The modules include the following subject areas: 1) building communications skills; 2) developing values for children; 3) partner relationships; 4) discipline; 5) role of the family; 6) care of the sick child; 7) time and stress management; and 8) care of the newborn. The guide also includes handouts and a bibliography. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Baltimore City Healthy Start, 2521 North Charles Street, Baltimore, MD 21218, Telephone: (410) 396-7318 Contact Phone: (410) 396-9994 Fax: (410) 366-2825 E-mail: info@baltimorehealthystart.org Web Site: http://www.baltimorehealthystart.org/ Available at no charge.

Keywords: Adolescent parents, Adolescents, Baltimore Healthy Start, Community programs, Curricula, Parent child relations, Parent education, Parent support services, Parenting, Teaching, Training materials

Toggle Details

District of Columbia Healthy Start Project. n.d.. Resource parents' home visiting guide. Washington, DC: District of Columbia Healthy Start Project, 22 pp.

Annotation: This reference document is supplementary to the formal class training a resource mother receives in preparation for the job. It is intended as an organizer and a reminder of information to be covered for each monthly home visit. Each monthly section contains the following: a list of goals for the visit; materials needed; a sample dialogue; step-by-step guide; and follow-up steps. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 Contact Phone: (202) 562-3046 Fax: (202) 784-9777 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: http://www.mchlibrary.org Photocopy available at no charge.

Keywords: District of Columbia, Healthy Start, Home visiting, Infant mortality, Paraprofessional, Parent support services, Prenatal care, Prevention programs, Reference materials, Resource mothers

Toggle Details

NICU Transition Planning to Serve Infants and Families Committee for North Central Wisconsin. n.d.. NICU transition planning to serve infants and families. Wausau WI: St. Joseph's Hospital, 2 pp.

Annotation: This brochure describes the NICU Transition Planning to Serve Infants and Families Committee for North Central Wisconsin, which was formed to improve the transition for the neonatal intensive care unit to the home. The brochure provides an overview of the committee, describes its accomplishment, and discusses future directions and committee goals.

Keywords: Families, Family support services, Infants, Neonatal intensive care units, Parent support services, Parents, Transition, Wisconsin

Toggle Details

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Children’s Bureau, Office on Child Abuse and Neglect, Child Welfare Information Gateway, FRIENDS National Resource Center for Community-Based Child Abuse Prevention, and Center for the Study of Social Policy—Strengthening Families. 2013. 2013 resource guide: Preventing child maltreatment and promoting well-being—A network for action. Washington, DC: Child Welfare Information Gateway, 74 pp.

Annotation: This resource guide offers support to community-based child abuse prevention professionals who work to prevent child maltreatment and promote well-being, as well as others such as policymakers, parent educators, family support workers, health-care providers, program administrators, teachers, child care providers, mentors, and clergy. Contents include: (1) laying the groundwork for understanding child well-being, (2) working with families and six protective factors, (3) engaging the community, (4) protecting children, (5) tip sheets for parents and caregivers, and (6) resources. The tip sheets section includes some items in English and Spanish.

Contact: Child Welfare Information Gateway, Administration on Children, Youth, and Families, Children's Bureau, 1250 Maryland Avenue, S.W., Eighth Floor, Washington, DC 20024, Telephone: (800) 394-3366 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: info@childwelfare.gov Web Site: http://www.childwelfare.gov Available from the web site.

Keywords: Child abuse, Child neglect, Child protective services, Community based services, Family support services, Maltreated children, Parent education, Prevention, Spanish language materials

   |   

 

Page 1 of 18

 Jump to Page » Next Page »

Return to Previous Page | Go To Cross-Database Search | Advanced MCHLine® Search