Search the Databases

Search
Advanced Search

Site Tools

Partner Projects

 

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Library.

Search For: Keyword: Nutrition

   |   Expand All Items Collapse All Items

   |   

Displaying records 1 through 10 of 2279 found.
Toggle Details

Johnston S. n.d.. Moving mountains: A curriculum guide for spiritual and physical health for women of color. Boston, MA: Boston Healthy Start Initiative, ca. 125 pp.

Annotation: This teaching guide prepared for the Boston Healthy Start program focuses on minority women's health. It includes lessons on these topics: self esteem and body language; getting fit and keeping fit; pregnancy and childbirth; and the postpartum experience. Each section contains narrative content, activities, handouts, suggested reading lists, and resource lists (in English and in Spanish). [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Boston Healthy Start Initiative, 1010 Massachusetts Avenue, Second Floor, Boston, MA 02118, Telephone: (617) 534-5395 Secondary Telephone: (617) 534-9799 Fax: (617) 534-5358 E-mail: healthystart@bphc.org Web Site: http://www.bphc.org/programs/cafh/mch/bhsi/Pages/Home.aspx Available at no charge.

Keywords: Childbirth, Curricula, Exercise, Minority groups, Minority health, Nutrition, Postpartum, Postpartum care, Pregnancy, Puerperium, Self esteem, Spanish language materials, Spirituality, Women's health

Toggle Details

Milwaukee Healthy Women and Infants Project. n.d.. Nutrition assessment. Milwaukee, WI: Milwaukee Healthy Women and Infants Project, 5 pp.

Annotation: This questionnaire provides space to record information about nutrition habits of pregnant women. It also has a section for parenting teens about how their baby is fed, and for pregnant teens about breastfeeding.

Keywords: Maternal nutrition, Nutrition assessment, Pregnant women, Questionnaires

Toggle Details

U.S. Department of Agriculture, Science and Education Administration, Human Nutrition Center. n.d.. Food: The hassle-free guide to a better diet. U.S. Department of Agriculture, 64 pp.

Annotation: Recipes for each main meal are presented following a discussion of the kinds and amounts of food that make up a nutritious diet.

Keywords: Cookbooks, Nutrition, Recipes

Toggle Details

Children's Hospital of Alabama. n.d.. Pediatric diet manual. Birmingham, AL: Children's Hospital of Alabama, 192 pp.

Annotation: This manual is a guide for the Children's Hospital of Alabama. It contains instructions for modifying diets for a variety of special needs. Regular diet modifications, liquid diets, consistency modifications, sodium restricted diets, carbohydrate controlled diets, diets appropriate for children with gastrointestinal disorders, renal disorders, or protein metabolism disorders are covered.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Dietary guidelines, Nutrition

Toggle Details

National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health. n.d.. Nutrition: Selected SPRANS abstracts FY 1988. Washington, DC: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, 173 pp.

Annotation: This publication provides information about the nutrition component of 107 projects supported by the Office of Maternal and Child Health, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services during 1988. Subjects of the project include prenatal care and risk reduction, systems development, breastfeeding, infant health, child health, adolescent health, chronic illness and disabling conditions, community based, comprehensive services, and training programs. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 Fax: (202) 784-9777 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: http://www.mchlibrary.org Out of print; available for loan. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHB336.

Keywords: Nutrition, SPRANS

Toggle Details

Churchill Media and Center for Science in the Public Interest. n.d.. Fast food: What's in it for you?. Los Angeles, CA: Churchill Media; Washington, DC: Center for Science in the Public Interest, 1 videotape (16:30 minutes, VHS 1/2 inch).

Annotation: This videotape is designed to educate students in grades 5 to 7 about the nutritional values of foods and the relationship between the foods they eat and their health. It follows two characters in the videotape as they learn about foods that are high in saturated fats, cholesterol, and sugar. It indicates ways they can make better food choices at fast food restaurants and at home. The videotape discussion guide provides a summary of the videotape, learning objectives, suggestions for discussions and activities, and a list of several related materials.

Contact: Society for Visual Education, 6465 North Avondale Avenue, Chicago, IL 60631, Telephone: (800) 253-2788 Secondary Telephone: 1-773-775-9433 Fax: 1-800-444-9855 E-mail: clearvue_service@discovery.com Web Site: http://www.clearvue.com/index.asp Price unknown. Document Number: ISBN 0-7932-0796-7.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescent nutrition, Audiovisual materials, Educational materials, Materials for adolescents, Videotapes

Toggle Details

Northern Kentucky District Health Department. n.d.. Lead handouts. Newport, KY: Northern Kentucky District Health Department, 5 pp.

Annotation: This series of fact sheets for consumers discusses various aspects of lead poisoning prevention and treatment in children. Lead Poisoning in Children: A Community Problem explains the symptoms of lead poisoning, sources of lead, and what to do about lead poisoning. Lead Poisoning Diet discusses the importance of eating a diet adequate in iron and calcium and low in fat. Pica discusses the importance of high-iron and high-calcium snacks for children who have elevated blood lead levels or who practice pica.

Contact: Northern Kentucky Independent District Health Department, 610 Medical Village Drive, Edgewood, KY 41017, Telephone: (859) 341-4264 Fax: (859) 341-4264 Web Site: http://www.nkyhealth.org/mx/hm.asp?id=home Available at no charge.

Keywords: Lead poisoning, Nutrition, Prevention, Treatment

Toggle Details

Altschul Group Corporation. n.d.. Nutrition for babies and toddlers. Evanston, IL: Altschul Group Corporation, 2 pp.

Annotation: This pamphlet describes two videotapes, developed for new parents, on the importance of good nutrition for infants and toddlers. The first videotape, "First Foods: Lily Feeds Her Baby," explains the dietary needs of infants and how those needs change within the first year of life. Topics include differences between breast milk and formula, food allergies, and food preparation. The second videotape, "Feeding A Toddler: Lily Gets Her Money's Worth," describes a variety of food options for toddlers for those on a tight budget. Topics include smart shopping, meal planning, and food preparation.

Contact: Altschul Group, 1560 Sherman Avenue, Suite 100, Evanston, IL 60201-4817, Telephone: (847) 328-6700 Web Site: http://www.manta.com/coms2/dnbcompany_crr8zr Available at no charge.

Keywords: Child health, Food handling, Infant health, Infants, Nutrition, Toddlers, Young children

Toggle Details

Southeast Asian Developmentally Disabled Prevention Program. n.d.. Outline for baby care. San Diego, CA: Southeast Asian Developmentally Disabled Prevention Program, 1 videotape (60 minutes).

Annotation: This video is available in Cambodian, Hmong, Laotian, Vietnamese and English. It shows basic procedures in caring for newborn babies. Included are directions for bathing, safety procedures, cord care, appropriate dress, feeding, breast feeding, immunization, mother care, temperature-taking, and preemie care. Instructions for when to call a physician and how to perform infant CPR are also given. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: SEADD, San Diego Regional Center, 4355 Ruffin Road, San Diego, CA 92123, Telephone: (619) 576-2965

Keywords: Asian language materials, Audiovisual materials, Breastfeeding, Immunization, Infant care, Infant health, Infant nutrition, Maternal health, Newborn infants, Premature infants, Videotapes

Toggle Details

Crump IM. n.d.. Facts about prenatal nutrition. San Diego, CA: San Diego Regional Center for the Developmentally Disabled, 1 p.

Annotation: This pamphlet, in English and Spanish, answers some common questions about nutrition and weight gain for pregnant women. A complete chart of daily food needs shows food groups, examples from each group, and number of servings needed in the first trimester of pregnancy and in the last two trimesters of pregnancy. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: San Diego- Imperial Counties Developmental Services, 4355 Ruffin Road, Suite 205, San Diego, CA 92123, Telephone: (619) 576-2813 Contact Phone: (619) 576-2966 Fax: (619) 576-2873 Price unknown. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHB104 (English), MCHB094 (Spanish).

Keywords: Maternal health, Maternal nutrition, Prenatal nutrition, Spanish language materials

   |   

 

Page 1 of 228

 Jump to Page » Next Page »

Return to Previous Page | Go To Cross-Database Search | Advanced MCHLine® Search