[Skip to Content]
Georgetown University NCEMCH | MCH Navigator
Search the Databases

Search
Advanced Search

Site Tools

Partner Projects

MCH Social Media

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Library.

Search For: Keyword: Multicultural populations

   |   Expand All Items Collapse All Items

   |   

Displaying records 1 through 10 of 22 found.
Toggle Details

Georgia Department of Human Resources, Division of Public Health. n.d.. Car safety seats—It's safe, it's the law. Atlanta, GA: Georgia Department of Human Resources, 2 pp.

Annotation: This pamphlet on car seat safety targets populations with low-literacy skills. The pamphlet uses few words, large type and descriptive multicultural graphics to explain basic car seat safety.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 Fax: (202) 784-9777 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: http://www.mchlibrary.org Single photocopies available at no charge.

Keywords: Car seats, Injury prevention, Low literacy, Multicultural populations, Safety

Toggle Details

Contra Costa County Health Services Department, Public and Environmental Health Advisory Board, Morgan MA. 1994. A community response: Partnership strategies for a healthy county. Martinez, CA: Contra Costa County Health Services Department, 27 pp.

Annotation: This report explains the role of the Public and Environmental Health Advisory Board (PEHAB) in Contra Costa County, California, in identifying critical health issues in the county and involving concerned community groups in determining policies and priorities. The report summarizes the findings of the 1992 Health Status Report, reviews input based on community forums, and presents PEHAB's recommendations to the County Health Services Department and the Board of Supervisors. One appendix describes the methodology used to develop the Health Status Report; others list participants involved in the community forums and meetings.

Contact: Contra Costa County Health Services, Public Health Division, 50 Douglas Drive, Martinez, CA 94553, Telephone: (925) 313-6712 Fax: (925) 313-6712 Web Site: http://www.cchealth.org/groups/public_health/ Single copies available at no charge.

Keywords: California, Community organizations, Health policy, Health promotion, Health status, Multicultural populations, Policy development, Public health, Underserved communities

Toggle Details

Kreps GL, Kunimoto EN. 1994. Effective communication in multicultural health care settings. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications, 146 pp. (Communicating effectively in multicultural contexts; 3)

Annotation: This book focuses on how communication in the health care environment is affected by different cultural factors including variations due to regional, ethnic, racial, socioeconomic, occupational, generational, and health status orientations. Designed to help providers, administrators, and health care consumers, the book provides an overview of the current complexities in communicating in the health care environment and suggests techniques to improve communication strategies in the future.

Contact: Sage Publications, 2455 Teller Road, Thousand Oaks, CA 91320-2218, Telephone: (805) 499-9774 Secondary Telephone: (800)818-7243 Fax: (805) 499-0871 E-mail: order@sagepub.com Web Site: http://www.sagepub.com $16.95 plus $2.00 shipping and handling; prepayment required for orders under $25.00. Document Number: ISBN 0-8039-4714-3.

Keywords: Communication skills, Cultural sensitivity, Culturally competent services, Health promotion, Health services, Multicultural populations

Toggle Details

National Association of County Health Officials. 1993-. Multicultural resource guide and bibliography. Washington, DC: National Association of County Health Officials, irregular.

Annotation: This publication provides access to non-governmental organizations and government agencies that are concerned with multicultural health and to publications about that issue. It is designed for the use of local health officials and lists contact information for the independent associations and state and federal agencies dealing with minority health matters. The bibliographic section provides citations to books, pamphlets, reports, manuals, and educational materials. Subjects covered include HIV/AIDS, substance abuse, maternal and child health, cultural competence, and environmental justice. The specific focus of each issue varies.

Contact: National Association of County and City Health Officials , 1100 17th Street, N.W., Seventh Floor, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 783-5550 Fax: (202) 783-1583 E-mail: info@naccho.org Web Site: http://www.naccho.org $2.00 per issue.

Keywords: American Indians, Asian Americans, Associations, Bibliographies, Blacks, Directories, Hispanic Americans, Minority health, Multicultural populations, Organizations, Pacific Islanders, Public health agencies

Toggle Details

Merkel-Holguin LA, with Sobel AJ. 1993. The child welfare stat book 1993. Washington, DC: Child Welfare League of America, 156 pp.

Annotation: This statistical compilation provides ready access to data on a wide range of child and adolescent health issues. The book is organized by subject. Under adolescent pregnancy, the topics covered include prenatal care, number of new and repeat pregnancies, number of births, sexual activity, and contraceptive use. The adoption section gives the number of successful placements, including those of special health needs children, along with figures on adoption assistance claims and recipients. Substantiation rates and mortality rates in child abuse are presented in addition to statistics of abuse by age, race, gender, type of maltreatment, and relationship of perpetrator. Child care data include figures on availability, costs, and Head Start enrollments. Education statistics focus on public school expenditures per pupil as well as high school completion and dropout rates by age and by race. The health insurance section features a chart of states with budget proposals to cut Medicaid expenditures in fiscal year 1993 along with figures on both the number of children receiving Medicaid and those lacking health insurance altogether. Annual incarceration rates and one-day census counts are included in the juvenile justice section. The nutrition chapter features charts on low birthweight babies, WIC, food stamps, and The National School Lunch and Breakfast Programs. The out-of-home care section gives both the total number and average monthly number of children in foster care, placement characteristics, duration of stay, monthly maintenance rates, estimates of kinship care, and information on residential group care and independent living services. Other chapters focus on general demographic factors, Aid to Families with Dependent Children, children with HIV/AIDS, adolescent alcohol and drug use, infant mortality, and homelessness. A subsequent edition of this publication is called "Child Abuse and Neglect: A Look at the States."

Contact: Child Welfare League of America, 1726 M Street, N.W., Suite 500, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 688-4200 Fax: (202) 833-1689 Web Site: http://www.cwla.org $32.95 plus shipping and handling; no shipping and handling if prepaid.

Keywords: AIDS, Adolescent pregnancy, Adoption, Age groups, Aid to Families with Dependent Children, Alcohol abuse, Alcohol rehabilitation, Child abuse, Child care, Child mortality, Child neglect, Child sexual abuse, Children with special health care needs, Contraceptive use, Drug abuse, Drug affected children, Drug affected infants, Education, Food Stamp Program, HIV, Head Start, Health insurance, Homeless persons, Infant mortality, Juvenile justice, Low birthweight infants, Medicaid, Multicultural populations, Out of home care, Pediatric AIDS, Poverty, Prenatal care, School dropouts, School lunch programs, Statistics, Substance abusing pregnant women, WIC Program, Youth

Toggle Details

Locke DC. 1992. Increasing multicultural understanding: A comprehensive model. Newbury Park, CA: Sage Publications, 166 pp. (Multicultural aspects of counseling series; 1)

Annotation: This book is designed to help those learning to be counselors develop an understanding of different cultural groups, including identifying characteristics of cultures, making comparisons between the dominant culture and the culturally different groups, making comparisons among culturally different groups, and using that information to develop strategies or interventions for students or clients. Groups covered are African Americans, Amish, Native Americans, Japanese Americans, Chinese Americans, Vietnamese in the United States, Korean Americans, Mexican Americans, and Puerto Rican Americans.

Contact: Sage Publications, 2455 Teller Road, Thousand Oaks, CA 91320-2218, Telephone: (805) 499-9774 Secondary Telephone: (800)818-7243 Fax: (805) 499-0871 E-mail: order@sagepub.com Web Site: http://www.sagepub.com $14.95 plus shipping and handling; prepayment required for orders under $25.00.

Keywords: Counselors, Cultural diversity, Ethnic groups, Multicultural populations, Professional education

Toggle Details

American Heart Association. 1992. Why exercise?. Dallas,TX: American Heart Association, 5pp.

Annotation: Testing at a 7th grade reading level (SMOG index), this booklet with multicultural action-oriented illustrations, discusses the benefits of exercise. It explains why to exercise, how to start, and what kinds are best. It emphasizes making exercise safe and fun.

Contact: American Heart Association, 7272 Greenville Avenue, Dallas, TX 75231-4596, Telephone: (800) AHA-USA1 Secondary Telephone: 1-800-242-8721 Contact Phone: (800) 242-8721 Web Site: http://www.americanheart.org

Keywords: Exercise, Multicultural populations

Toggle Details

Benard B. 1991. Moving toward a just and vital culture: Multiculturalism in our schools. Portland, OR: Northwest Regional Educational Laboratory, Western Center for Drug-Free School and Communities, 27 pp.

Annotation: This report provides information for educators and others interested in improving the school's role in addressing substance abuse among ethnic minority groups. This report reviews the key findings from "Prevention Research Updates," a publication prepared by the Western Center for Drug-Free School and Communities, which summarizes recent research on adolescent substance abuse and its prevention. The research finding focusing on four minority groups, specifically Native Americans, Blacks, Hispanics, and Asian Americans are presented as well as recommendations for building a culturally transformed school. Components for this recommendation include: the active involvement of the school community; the development of a school policy committed to all students; the redistribution of power and authority within the school and classroom; establishing high expectations by teachers for ethnic minority children and adolescents; and the infusion of a multicultural content throughout the curriculum.

Contact: Northwest Regional Educational Laboratory, Western Regional Center for Drug-Free Schools and Communities, 101 S. W. Main Street, Suite 500, Portland, OR 97204, Telephone: (503) 275-9486 Secondary Telephone: (800) 547-6339 Contact Phone: (503) 275-9475 $6.05 includes shipping and handling.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescents, American Indians, Asian Americans, Blacks, Child health, Children, Ethnic groups, Hispanic Americans, Multicultural populations, Schools, Substance abuse

Toggle Details

Healthy Mothers, Healthy Babies Coalition. 1990. Healthy mothers, healthy babies: Supplement to a compendium of program ideas for serving low-income women. Rockville, MD: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, 41 pp.

Annotation: This supplement provides information about serving low-income women that has been developed since the original compendium was published in 1986. Part 1 provides an annotated bibliography of recent resources on policy recommendations. Part 2 gives an update on Medicaid. Part 3 lists multimedia campaigns. Part 4 provides resource material specifically targeted to culturally diverse populations and groups that have special needs. Part 5 gives a list of selected federally supported clearinghouses. Part 6 lists Healthy Mothers, Healthy Babies Coalition members at the state and national levels. The original compendium is now out of print. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 Contact Phone: (703) 821-8955, ext. 248 Fax: (202) 784-9777 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: http://www.mchlibrary.org Available for loan. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHC063; DHHS HRS-M-CH90-6.

Keywords: Health education, Low income groups, Multicultural populations, Prenatal care, Women

Toggle Details

Washington Emergency Medical Services for Children. 1990. Cultural diversity training: For emergency department staff caring for pediatric patients. Seattle, WA: Washington Emergency Medical Services for Children,

Annotation: This publication is an instructors' manual for a six-session staff continuing education course addressing the need for cultural diversity training in emergency care settings, tools for enhancing cross-cultural communication, effective methods for working with translators, and the need for organizational support in the provision of culturally competent care. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Emergency medical services, Multicultural populations

   |   

 

Page 1 of 3

 Jump to Page » Next Page »

Return to Previous Page | Go To Cross-Database Search | Advanced MCHLine® Search