[Skip to Content]
Georgetown University NCEMCH | MCH Navigator
Search the Databases

Search
Advanced Search

Site Tools

Partner Projects

MCH Social Media

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Library.

Search For: Keyword: Mental retardation

   |   Expand All Items Collapse All Items

   |   

Displaying records 1 through 10 of 172 found.
Toggle Details

Waisman Center for Mental Retardation and Human Development. n.d.. Waisman Center training tape. Madison, WI: Waisman Center for Mental Retardation and Human Development, 1 videotape (90 minutes, VHS 1/2 inch).

Annotation: This videotape for training health care professionals examines topics important to treating children with special health needs. It contains five parts, entitled Leadership, Care Coordination, Interdisciplinary Teaming, University Affiliated Programs, and Overview of Mental Retardation. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Waisman Center for Mental Retardation and Human Development, University of Wisconsin, Madison, 1500 Highland Avenue, Madison, WI 53705-2280, Telephone: (608) 263-5776 Secondary Telephone: (608) 263-1656 Fax: (608) 263-0529 Web Site: http://www.waisman.wisc.edu/ Price unknown.

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Children with special health care needs, Health professionals, Interdisciplinary approach, Leadership training, Mental retardation, Professional education, University affiliated programs, Videotapes

Toggle Details

District of Columbia Department of Human Resources. n.d.. Maternal and child health and crippled children's programs. Washington, DC: District of Columbia Department of Human Resources , 12 pp.

Toggle Details

Wittenmyer J. n.d.. Amelioration of Health Problems of Children with Parents with Mental Retardation: [Final report]. Madison, WI: Wisconsin Council on Developmental Disabilities, 51 pp.

Annotation: This project attempted to improve the health status of children in families in which one or both parents have mental retardation by reducing the risks associated with lack of immunization, poor nutrition, undiagnosed medical or developmental problems, injuries, and inadequate early stimulation. Efforts included both direct services (such as immunization, screening, and home care programs) and a consultation and technical assistance program aimed at improving the accessibility of the service delivery system for these children. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: customerservice@ntis.gov Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov/Index.aspx Document Number: NTIS PB93-201051.

Keywords: Access to Health Care, Barriers to Health Care, Health Education, High risk children, High risk groups: Families, Mental Retardation, Parents, Parents with disabilities, Preventive Health Care, Primary Care

Toggle Details

Children's Hospital Medical Center, Developmental Evaluation Clinic. n.d.. Training programs at the Developmental Evaluation Clinic. Boston, MA: Children's Hospital Medical Center, Developmental Evaluation Clinic, 24 pp.

Annotation: This booklet describes the training programs of Boston Children's Hospital Developmental Evaluation Clinic, one of the university affiliated programs formed at the recommendation of the President's Commission on Mental Retardation. It discusses the clinic's team approach, how an evaluation of a child is conducted, the curriculum and facilities of the clinic, and the training that is provided in the araes of social work, physical and occupational therapy, nursing, speech pathology and audiology, nutrition, pediatrics, dentistry, psychology, psychiatry, and special education. The program is funded by Maternal and Child Health Services, Health Services and Mental Health Administration, and other federal agencies. Inserted in the booklet is a pamphlet for parents that describes the services of the clinic.

Keywords: Children with developmental disabilities, Clinics, Federal MCH programs, Mental retardation, Professional education, University affiliated programs

Toggle Details

National Center for Social Statistics. n. d.. Statistical summary of patients served in mental retardation clinics, fiscal year 1969. [Washington, DC]: U.S. Department of Health, Education, and Welfare, Social and Rehabilitation Service, National Center for Social Statistics, 7 items. (NCSS report MR-1 (FY 69))

Annotation: This document provides data on services rendered to mentally retarded children in fiscal year 1969 by clinics supported in whole or in part by federal grants under Title V of the Social Security Act. The library also holds instructions and forms for reporting similar data in other years (1956, 1960, and 1974).

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 Fax: (202) 784-9777 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: http://www.mchlibrary.org Document Number: NCSS Report MR-1 (FY 69).

Keywords: Children, Clinics, Mental retardation, State programs, Statistics, Title V programs

Toggle Details

Waldman M, Nicholson S, Adilov N. 2012. Positive and negative mental health consequences of early childhood television watching. Cambridge, MA: National Bureau of Economic Research, 45 pp. (NBER working paper series no. 17786)

Annotation: This paper examines the relationship between early childhood television watching and two health outcomes – autism and mental retardation. Using cross-sectional data from 1972 until 1992 on county-level autism and mental retardation rates, combined with county-level children's cable-television subscription rates, the authors' aimed tp eliminate questions concerning reverse causation while investigating the effects of early childhood television viewing on the prevalence of mental retardation and autism. Tables compare children's television viewing by race, family structure, income, and other variables, while figures compare rates of autism and mental retardation according to race, county demographics, and cable subscription rates.

Contact: National Bureau of Economic Research, 1050 Massachusetts Avenue, Cambridge, MA 02138-5398, Telephone: (617) 868-3900 Fax: (617) 868-2742 E-mail: info@nber.org Web Site: http://www.nber.org Available from the website after free registration.

Keywords: Autism, Data analysis, Early childhood development, Mental retardation, Studies, Television

Toggle Details

March of Dimes Birth Defects Foundation. 2007. PKU. White Plains, NY: March of Dimes , (Preconception risk reduction)

Annotation: This web site provides information about phenylketonuria (PKU). It answers the following questions: (1) what is PKU?, (2) how does PKU affect a child?, (3) who gets PKU?, (4) are all infants tested for PKU?, (5) how is the test done?, (6) can PKU symptoms be prevented?, (7) what is maternal PKU? (8) what is new in PKU research?, and (9) are there additional sources of information? References are included.

Contact: March of Dimes, 1275 Mamaroneck Avenue, White Plains, NY 10605, Telephone: (914) 997-4488 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: Web Site: http://www.marchofdimes.com Available from the website.

Keywords: Child health, Infant health, Maternal phenylketonuria, Mental retardation, Phenylketonuria, Prevention, Research, Treatment, Women's health

Toggle Details

National Institute of Child Health and Human Development. 2003. Families and Fragile X syndrome. Bethesda, MD: National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, 46 pp.

Annotation: This booklet, which is geared toward families, presents information about Fragile X syndrome that can provide a foundation of knowledge to help in understanding options, making decisions, and finding help. The booklet provides an overview of Fragile X syndrome and answers many questions that families may have, such as, what causes Fragile X syndrome? What are the signs and symptoms of Fragile X syndrome? Is there a cure for Fragile X syndrome? And, where can I go for more information about Fragile X syndrome? The booklet includes sepia-tinted photographs of individuals with Fragile X syndrome and their families. The booklet concludes with a list of references.

Contact: National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, Human Learning and Behavior Branch, Executive Plaza North, Room 633, Bethesda, MD 20892., Telephone: (301) 496-6591 Document Number: NIH Pub. No. 03-3402.

Keywords: Families, Fragile X syndrome, Mental retardation, Patient education materials

Toggle Details

Fenton SJ, Perlman S, Turner H, eds. 2003. Oral health care for people with special needs: Guidelines for comprehensive care. Boston, MA: Exceptional Parent, 46 pp.

Annotation: This publication for health professionals comprises articles on oral health care for individuals with special health care needs. Articles discuss the oral health care needs of children with mental retardation or other developmental disabilities and the lack of importance placed on their oral health care. Additional articles provide information on behavior-management techniques, diagnostic and treatment considerations, and professional challenges and responsibilities.

Contact: Exceptional Parent, Exceptional Parent Library, 416 Main Street, Johnstown, PA 15901, Telephone: (800) 372-7368, x110 E-mail: EPLibrary@eparent.com Web Site: http://www.eparent.com $6.95, includes shipping and handling. Order online at http://www.eplibrary.com/specialreports.

Keywords: Behavior, Children with special health care needs, Dental care, Developmental disabilities, Health care delivery, Mental retardation, Oral health, Special health care services

Toggle Details

U.S. Public Health Service, Office of the Surgeon General. 2002. Closing the gap: A national blueprint to improve the health of persons with mental retardation—Report of the Surgeon General's Conference on Health Disparities and Mental Retardation. Rockville, MD: U.S. Public Health Service, 53 pp.

Annotation: This conference report identifies priority goals and action steps set forth by the mental retardation (MR) community at the national conference held December 5–6, 2001, in Washington, DC. The goals and action steps are described as follows: (1) integrate health promotion into community environments of individuals with MR; (2) increase knowledge and understanding of health and MR, ensuring that knowledge is made practical and easy to use; (3) improve the quality of health care for individuals with MR; (4) train health professionals in the care of adults and children with MR; (5) ensure that health care financing produces good health outcomes for adults and children with MR; and (6) increase sources of health care services for children, adolescents, and adults with MR, ensuring that they can easily access services. The report also includes six appendices covering the conference plenary sessions, a list of participants, a list of potential partners, a description of programs and strategies to close the health disparities gap for those with MR, a summary of the Surgeon General's listening session, and a list of speakers at the listening session. Appendix D, Section C describes oral health programs.

Contact: U.S. Government Printing Office, 732 North Capitol Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20401, Telephone: (202) 512-1800 Secondary Telephone: (866) 512-1800 Fax: (202) 512-2104 E-mail: contactcenter@gpo.gov Web Site: http://www.gpo.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescents, Adults, Children, Conferences, Federal initiatives, Health care delivery, Health care financing, Health promotion, Mental retardation, Oral health, Program descriptions, Quality assurance, Special health care needs, Special health care services

   |   

 

Page 1 of 18

 Jump to Page » Next Page »

Return to Previous Page | Go To Cross-Database Search | Advanced MCHLine® Search