Search the Databases

Search
Advanced Search

Site Tools

Partner Projects

 

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Library.

Search For: Keyword: Learning activities

   |   Expand All Items Collapse All Items

   |   

Displaying records 1 through 10 of 23 found.
Toggle Details

Bartel NR, Peckham VG, Radcliffe J. n.d.. Educational handbook for parents of preschool children with brain tumors. Philadelphia, PA: Children's Hospital of Philadelphia, 57 pp.

Annotation: This handbook is designed to help parents and caregivers of children with brain tumors and other neurological impairments act as facilitators in their child's development. Areas covered include attention and memory, communication skills, social-emotional considerations, and taking care of the caregivers. Appendices list movement activities, computer software for children, parent resources, and background information on the Education of the Handicapped Act Amendments of 1986 (P.L. 99-457).

Contact: Children's Hospital of Philadelphia, 34th Street and Civic Center Boulevard, Philadelphia, PA 19104-4399, Telephone: (215) 590-1000 Web Site: http://www.chop.edu/consumer/index.jsp Price unknown.

Keywords: Brain tumors, Cancer, Child development, Children with special health care needs, Education of the Handicapped Act Amendments of 1986, Federal legislation, Learning activities, Preschool children

Toggle Details

National Eye Institute. n.d.. Wild about healthy vision: Activity book for ages 9-12. [Bethesda, MD]: National Eye Institute, 15 pp.

Annotation: This activity booklet is designed to help children between the ages of nine and twelve learn about healthy vision. It includes a variety of games and activities to help children learn about eye disease, eye safety, and first aid for eye injuries.

Contact: National Eye Institute, , 31 Center Drive, MSC 2510, Bethesda, MD 20892-2510, Telephone: (301) 496-5248 Fax: (301) 402-1065 E-mail: 2020@nei.nih.gov Web Site: http://www.nei.nih.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Educational materials, Eye care, Learning activities, Materials for children, Vision

Toggle Details

National Eye Institute. n.d.. See all you can see: Activity book for ages 6-8. [Bethesda, MD]: National Eye Institute, 12 pp.

Annotation: This activity booklet is designed to help children between the ages of six and eight learn about healthy vision. It includes a variety of games and activities to help children learn about eye disease, eye safety, and first aid for eye injuries.

Contact: National Eye Institute, , 31 Center Drive, MSC 2510, Bethesda, MD 20892-2510, Telephone: (301) 496-5248 Fax: (301) 402-1065 E-mail: 2020@nei.nih.gov Web Site: http://www.nei.nih.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Educational materials, Eye care, Learning activities, Materials for children, Vision

Toggle Details

South Carolina Department of Health and Environmental Control, Division of Oral Health. 2011. Oral health parent information: Infants, toddlers, preschoolers. [Columbia, SC]: South Carolina Department of Health and Environmental Control, Division of Oral Health, 31 pp.

Annotation: This booklet contains information for parents that is developmentally appropriate and based on recommendations from Bright Futures in Practice: Oral Health. The brochure encourages parents to take an active role in establishing and maintaining behaviors that support infant and child oral health. Tips on selecting a toothbrush and toothpaste, nutrition, safety, and dental visits are included. Information on oral health during pregnancy is also provided.

Contact: South Carolina Department of Health and Environmental Control, Division of Oral Health, 2600 Bull Street, Columbia, SC 29201, Telephone: (803) 898-3432 Web Site: http://www.scdhec.gov/health/mch/oral/index.htm Available from the website. Document Number: ML-025191.

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Dental care, Dental hygiene, Health promotion, Infants, Learning activities, Nutrition, Oral health, Pregnant women, Young children

Toggle Details

South Carolina Department of Health and Environmental Control, Division of Oral Health. 2011. Oral health teacher activities for the early childhood classroom: Infants, toddlers, preschoolers. Columbia, SC: South Carolina Department of Health and Environmental Control, Division of Oral Health, 43 pp.

Annotation: This guide contains 13 hands-on activities for infants through age four to help acquaint them with their mouth, how to care for their teeth, learn to like healthy foods, and encourage them to keep their smiles safe. Each of the lessons includes information on the purpose of the activity, the time required to do the activity, the supplies needed, step by step directions, related resources such as books, suggestions for reinforcing the ideas, as well as information for parents.

Contact: South Carolina Department of Health and Environmental Control, Division of Oral Health, 2600 Bull Street, Columbia, SC 29201, Telephone: (803) 898-3432 Web Site: http://www.scdhec.gov/health/mch/oral/index.htm Available from the web site.

Keywords: Infants, Learning activities, Materials for children, Oral health, Young children

Toggle Details

Fox MK, Hallgren K, Boller K, Turner A. 2010. Efforts to meet children's physical activity and nutritional needs: Findings from the I Am Moving, I Am Learning implementation evaluation—Final report. [Princeton, NJ]: Mathematica, 276 pp.

Annotation: This final report provides information about the I am Moving, I am Learning (IMIL) Initiative, developed in 2004 by Head Start Region III in response to a request from the Office of Head Start. The content is based on an evaluation of the following goals: to increase the amount of time children spend in moderate to vigorous physical activity, to improve the quality of structured movement activities, and to promote healthy food choices for children. The report provides an overview of the initiative and discusses results of the process and outcome evaluations (inputs, outputs, and lessons learned).

Contact: Mathematica Policy Research, P.O. Box 2393, Princeton, NJ 08543-2393, Telephone: (609) 799-3535 Fax: (609) 799-0005 E-mail: info@mathematica-mpr.com Web Site: http://www.mathematica-mpr.com Available from the website.

Keywords: Head Start, Health promotion, Initiatives, Learning activities, Low income groups, Nutrition, Physical activity, Young children

Toggle Details

Zero To Three. 2007. Everyday ways to support your baby's and toddler's early learning. Washington, DC: Zero to Three, 2 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet for parents provides information about ways to support infants' and young childrens' learning. The fact sheet informs parents about how infants and young children develop in the following areas: language and communication, thinking skills, self-control, and self-confidence. For each area, suggestions are provided to help infants and children learn and develop. The fact sheet is in English on one side and in Spanish on the other side.

Contact: Zero To Three, 1255 23rd Street, N.W., Suite 350, Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 638-1144 Fax: (202) 638-0851 Web Site: http://www.zerotothree.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Communication, Consumer education materials, Early childhood development, Infant development, Infants, Language development, Learning, Learning activities, Self control, Self esteem, Spanish language materials, Toddlers, Young children

Toggle Details

Carman R. 2007. Conflict resolution from the inside out: Helping teens manage conflict in the real world. [Woodbury, NY]: Bureau for At-Risk Youth, 105 pp., 1 CD-ROM

Annotation: This curriculum contains activities designed to promote mastery of conflict resolution skills among teenagers and middle school students. It examines the various causes of conflict and explores methods to help participants gain control over their emotions and thoughts. Guidelines for facilitators, suggestions for practice, and handouts are provided throughout. A compact disk (CD) containing the curriculum is enclosed in the back pocket.

Contact: Guidance Group, Web Site: http://www.guidance-group.com/ $29.95, plus shipping and handling. Document Number: ISBN 978-1-56688-851-6.

Keywords: Adolescents, Communication skills, Conflict resolution, Curricula, Learning activities, Students, Violence prevention, Youth, Youth development

Toggle Details

South Carolina Department of Health and Environmental Control, Oral Health Division. 2006. Oral health for families with special health care needs. [Columbia, SC]: South Carolina Department of Health and Environmental Control, Division of Oral Health, 64 pp.

Annotation: This resource guide is designed to give parents and other caregivers tips on oral hygiene and oral health care for children and youth with special health care needs. Topics include selecting and adapting a toothbrush, addressing challenges, providing good nutrition, encouraging safety, and going to the dentist. Contents also include information sheets for specific conditions, state and national organizations, and service information.

Contact: South Carolina Department of Health and Environmental Control, Division of Oral Health, 2600 Bull Street, Columbia, SC 29201, Telephone: (803) 898-3432 Web Site: http://www.scdhec.gov/health/mch/oral/index.htm Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent's with special health care needs, Children with special health care needs, Educational materials, Family support services, Learning activities, Oral health, South Carolina, State programs

Toggle Details

South Carolina Department of Health and Environmental Control, Oral Health Division. 2006. Oral health activity and information booklet for afterschoolers. [Columbia, SC]: South Carolina Department of Health and Environmental Control, Division of Oral Health, 54 pp.

Annotation: This booklet contains activities designed for students in first through fifth grade participating in afterschool programs. Contents include lessons with hands-on activities that teach children how to take care of their teeth and help them understand why it is important to do so, why choosing healthy foods is important, and how to prevent injuries to the mouth.

Contact: South Carolina Department of Health and Environmental Control, Division of Oral Health, 2600 Bull Street, Columbia, SC 29201, Telephone: (803) 898-3432 Web Site: http://www.scdhec.gov/health/mch/oral/index.htm Single photocopies available at no charge.

Keywords: Dental care, Educational materials, Learning activities, Nutrition, Oral health, School age children

   |   

 

Page 1 of 3

 Jump to Page » Next Page »

Return to Previous Page | Go To Cross-Database Search | Advanced MCHLine® Search