Search the Databases

Search
Advanced Search

Site Tools

Partner Projects

 

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Library.

Search For: Keyword: Health professionals

   |   Expand All Items Collapse All Items

   |   

Displaying records 1 through 10 of 537 found.
Toggle Details

[LifeSpan Comprehensive Services with Home Visiting]. n.d.. [Parent/child curriculum]. [Dallas, TX: LifeSpan Comprehensive Services with Home Visiting], 39 pp., 9 brochures (4 pp. each).

Annotation: This information package, presented in three formats, contains nine sets of materials on an infant's first year of life. It is intended for use by community service aides (CSAs) and social workers (SW) who are making home visits and by the adolescent parents they visit. Fact sheets for the parents summarize the main behavior traits and health concerns for infants at different developmental stages; the reverse side of these sheets provide additional guidance on each topic. These fact sheets alternate with those labeled CSA/SW Curriculum Guidelines; which provide instructions for the professionals working with the adolescent parents. The package also contains brochures that focus on particular behavior traits, health concerns, and nutrition. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Community Oriented Primary Care Program, LifeSpan Comprehensive Services with Home Visiting, 6263 Harry Hines Boulevard, Suite 401, Dallas, TX 75235, Telephone: (214) 630-4781 Fax: (214) 630-8308 Price unknown.

Keywords: Adolescent parents, Curricula, Educational materials, Health promotion, Home visiting, Infant behavior, Infant health, Infant nutrition, Infants, Resources for professionals

Toggle Details

Waisman Center for Mental Retardation and Human Development. n.d.. Waisman Center training tape. Madison, WI: Waisman Center for Mental Retardation and Human Development, 1 videotape (90 minutes, VHS 1/2 inch).

Annotation: This videotape for training health care professionals examines topics important to treating children with special health needs. It contains five parts, entitled Leadership, Care Coordination, Interdisciplinary Teaming, University Affiliated Programs, and Overview of Mental Retardation. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Waisman Center for Mental Retardation and Human Development, University of Wisconsin, Madison, 1500 Highland Avenue, Madison, WI 53705-2280, Telephone: (608) 263-5776 Secondary Telephone: (608) 263-1656 Fax: (608) 263-0529 Web Site: http://www.waisman.wisc.edu/ Price unknown.

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Children with special health care needs, Health professionals, Interdisciplinary approach, Leadership training, Mental retardation, Professional education, University affiliated programs, Videotapes

Toggle Details

Mary's Center for Maternal and Child Care, Teen Project, Making Dreams Possible for Hispanic Teens. n.d.. [Intake and assessment forms]. Washington, DC: Mary's Center for Maternal and Child Care, Making Dreams Possible for Hispanic Teens, 13 pp., 17 pp.

Annotation: These intake forms are used for evaluating Hispanic adolescents who are obtaining services from Mary's Center for Maternal and Child Care in Washington, DC. One form, to be completed by the Teen Project's professional staff, provides space to record demographic and background information, the treatment plan, and information gathered during various stages in the evaluation. The other evaluation form is used by the Pediatric Department in assessing the need for social services. This form includes a time line tracking sheet and a questionnaire for eliciting background information. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Mary's Center for Maternal and Child Care, Teen Project, 2333 Ontario Road, N.W., Washington, DC 20009, Telephone: (202) 483-8196 Fax: (202) 483-0836 E-mail: info@marcenter.org Web Site: http://www.maryscenter.org/support.html#1 Price unknown.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescents, Assessment, Child health, Evaluation, Forms, Health professionals, Hispanic Americans, Infant health, Pediatric care, Resources for professionals

Toggle Details

New York State Department of Social Services, New York State Governor's Commission on Domestic Violence, and New York State Department of Health. n.d.. Domestic violence: A curriculum for hospital emergency departments. Albany, NY: New York State Governor's Commission on Domestic Violence, 61 pp.

Annotation: This curriculum is designed to help health professionals in emergency care settings identify, understand and assist women who are victims of domestic violence. It presents skills and exercises designed to increase the response skills of medical professionals. The training units summarize the social, psychological and health dimensions of woman battering; describe how to identify, diagnose, assess, and refer cases of battering; review the role and responsibility of physicians, nurses, social workers, and clerical staff; and outline an approach to improving a health facility's domestic violence response capability. The two teaching units, The Problems of Woman Battering and The Medical Response, consist of two sessions each. An appendix includes information such as misconceptions about abuse, myths and realities survey, data sheet, illustrations of abuse, a sample interview of a battered woman, and a blank evaluation sheet.

Keywords: Crisis intervention, Emergency medical services, Family violence, Gender, Health professionals, New York, Protocols, Resources for professionals, Training

Toggle Details

Project Lifeline. n.d.. Emergency response kit: A health professional's guide to preventing handgun violence through media advocacy. Washington, DC: Center to Prevent Handgun Violence, 48 pp., 3 brochures (2 pp. each), 3 posters (1 p. each).

Annotation: This media kit explains how health professionals can educate their communities to help prevent handgun violence, especially violence involving children and adolescents, by responding to news reports about gun tragedies in the local community. It contains information sections on when to respond, talking points, getting started by making contact with local media, written messages such a letters to the editor, how to be interviewed on radio or television, and a brief bibliography. Pockets at the front and back of the notebook contain three small posters, three pamphlets, and an order form for the kit.

Contact: Brady Center to Prevent Gun Violence, 1225 Eye Street, N.W., Suite 1100, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 289-7319 Fax: (202) 408-1851 Web Site: http://www.bradycenter.org Price unknown.

Keywords: Adolescents, Audiovisual materials, Children, Community programs, Gun violence, Handguns, Media campaigns, Posters, Public health education, Resources for professionals, Technical assistance

Toggle Details

Davidson L. n.d.. Demonstration Projects for Pediatric EMS Systems Components: [Final report]. Mobile, AL: University of South Alabama College of Medicine, 104 pp.

Annotation: The overall goal of the this project was to demonstrate effective models for the necessary components of an emergency medical services for children (EMSC) system and the integration of those components into currently operating adult-oriented systems. The project has outlined the six major components of an EMSC system: (l) System description, (2) prevention, (3) education, (4) standards of care, (5) quality assurance, and (6) research and development. The project comprised seven subprojects whose activities included educating the public, the prehospital care provider, and the rural physician about the assessment and management of pediatric emergencies; comparing the efficacy of ground versus air transport; defining the degree of psychological impairment caused by head injury; identifying the rehabilitation facilities available locally, regionally, and nationally; and increasing compliance with safety belt/child restraint legislation. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: customerservice@ntis.gov Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov/Index.aspx Document Number: NTIS PB92-103332.

Keywords: Cost-Benefit Analysis, Data Collection, Emergency Medical Services, Emergency medical technicians, Facilities For, First Aid, Head Injuries, Health Professionals, Paramedics, Rehabilitation, Seat Belts/Restraints for Children

Toggle Details

Fiser D. n.d.. Demonstration Project: Emergency Medical Services for Children: [Final report]. Little Rock, AR: University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences, 44 pp.

Annotation: The Arkansas Demonstration Project utilized a broad-based approach to evaluate and improve the outcome of pediatric emergencies in Arkansas. It involved interaction with many statewide agencies, including various offices of the Arkansas Department of Health and the Area Health Education Centers (AHECs) of the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences. The project was designed with four primary purposes: (1) Increase the level of knowledge regarding the consequences of critical illness and injury in children in the State of Arkansas; (2) improve the emergency medical services provided to those children during the project period and after, particularly to handicapped and minority children; (3) determine the effectiveness of the proposed methodologies for the reduction of morbidity and mortality associated with childhood illness and injury; and (4) determine effective methods of imparting the knowledge gained to other States in a manner resulting in the adoption of effective programs by those States. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: customerservice@ntis.gov Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov/Index.aspx Document Number: NTIS PB93-196947.

Keywords: Ambulances, Child Education of Health Professionals, Data Bases, Data Collection, Disabled, Emergency Medical Services, Emergency Medical Technicians (EMTs), Emergency medical technicians, Minorities, Morbidity, Mortality, Networking

Toggle Details

Newacheck P. n.d.. Improving Health Insurance Coverage for Adolescents: Analysis, Dissemination, and Technical Assistance [Final report]. San Francisco, CA: Institute for Health Policy Studies, 12 pp.

Annotation: The goals of this project were to: (1) Heighten awareness of adolescent health insurance problems and potential solutions among policymakers, health care professionals, educators, business groups, and parents; (2) strengthen State-level capacity to plan and implement strategies for improving financing of health services for adolescents; and (3) update and expand our knowledge base concerning the financing of health services for adolescents. Activities included conducting workshops, providing technical assistance, and publishing reports and educational materials. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: customerservice@ntis.gov Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov/Index.aspx Document Number: NTIS PB94-161536.

Keywords: Adolescents, Data Collection, Education of Health Professionals, Financing Health Care for Adolescents, Health Insurance, Medicaid, Minorities

Toggle Details

Nelson R. n.d.. Analysis and Expansion of Community-Based Interagency Collaborative Efforts: [Final report]. Iowa City, IA: University of Iowa, 51 pp.

Annotation: This study sought to document, evaluate, and disseminate information about two community-based projects designed as models of collaborative interagency service provision for children and families. The project developed a set of recommendations for collaborative efforts, addressing procedure as well as policy and organization. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: customerservice@ntis.gov Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov/Index.aspx Document Number: NTIS PB93-152890.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Collaboration, Community-Based Health Care, Family centered, Fragmentation of Services, Health Professionals, Interagency cooperation, community based care

Toggle Details

Force J. n.d.. Project Copernicus [Final report]. Baltimore, MD: Maryland Department of Health and Mental Hygiene, 15 pp.

Annotation: Project Copernicus, a dual-State initiative for Maryland and Virginia, developed, demonstrated, and evaluated training programs in family-centered service coordination with target groups of professional service providers and parents in urban, rural, and suburban areas of Maryland and Virginia. Project Copernicus demonstrated how to provide family-centered care for families with children with special health needs by assisting both parents and professional service providers to develop and use family-centered service coordination activities (case management). [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: customerservice@ntis.gov Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov/Index.aspx Document Number: NTIS PB97-121859.

Keywords: Access to Health Care, CSHCN, Case Management, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Coordination of Health Care, Disabled, Education of Health Professionals, Families, Family-Centered Health Care, Fragmentation of Services, Parent Education, Parents, programs

   |   

 

Page 1 of 54

 Jump to Page » Next Page »

Return to Previous Page | Go To Cross-Database Search | Advanced MCHLine® Search