[Skip to Content]
Georgetown University NCEMCH | MCH Navigator
Search the Databases

Search
Advanced Search

Site Tools

Partner Projects

MCH Social Media

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Library.

Search For: Keyword: Farm workers

   |   Expand All Items Collapse All Items

   |   

Displaying records 1 through 10 of 31 found.
Toggle Details

Schmit S. 2014. Migrant and Seasonal Head Start participants, programs, families and staff in 2013. Washington, DC: Center for Law and Social Policy, 2 pp.

Annotation: [in process] This fact sheet uses data from the Head Start Program Information Report to describe the characteristics of children enrolled in Migrant and Seasonal Head Start programs and their families and the services provided to them. Data are presented on participants, families, programs, and staff. Topics include demographics, screenings, ongoing source of care, special needs, prenatal and postnatal health care, health insurance, oral examinations, mental health interventions, and follow-up services.

Contact: Center for Law and Social Policy, 1200 18th Street, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 906-8000 Fax: (202) 842-2885 E-mail: http://www.clasp.org/about/contact Web Site: http://www.clasp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Families, Farm workers, Federal programs, Head Start, Health services delivery, Low income groups, Migrants, Statistics, Young children

Toggle Details

Jones CA, Parker TS, Ahearn M, Mishra AK, Variyam JN. 2009. Health status and health care access of farm and rural populations. Washington, DC: Economic Research Service, U.S. Department of Agriculture, 64 pp. (Economic information bulletin no. 57)

Annotation: This report focuses on the health care access and health outcomes of rural residents and farm operator households, in comparison with those of their urban and non-farm counterparts. Topics include profiles of farm and rural populations, health status and health risks, health care access, and implications for research and policy. A summary of the report is available.

Contact: U.S. Department of Agriculture, Economic Research Service, 1800 M Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20036-5831, Telephone: (202) 694-5050 E-mail: infocenterers.usda.gov Web Site: http://www.ers.usda.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Urban population, Access to health care, Farm workers, Health status, Public policy, Research, Rural population

Toggle Details

Rosenbaum S. 2008. Medicaid portability in the context of oral health care for Head Start-enrolled children in migrant farmworker families. Washington, DC: George Washington University, School of Public Health and Health Services, 10 pp.

Annotation: This analysis examines opportunities and challenges in addressing Medicaid eligibility and enrollment for children of migrant and seasonal farmworkers. It examines Medicaid portability, that is, the ability of Medicaid to follow children from one state to another. The analysis presents an overview of Medicaid eligibility and enrollment and approaches to increasing Medicaid enrollment and portability for children in Migrant and Seasonal Head Start programs, using Head Start programs as a mechanism for identifying and enrolling children in Medicaid. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272, Telephone: (202) 784-9771 Fax: (202) 784-9777 E-mail: OHRCinfo@georgetown.edu Web Site: http://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Child health services, Eligibility determination, Enrollment, Farm workers, Head Start, Medicaid, Migrant health programs, Migrants, Oral health, Young children

Toggle Details

Community Health Resource and Development Center. 2006-. MiVIA de Salud: Online medical records for migrant and seasonal farmworkers. [Sonoma, CA: Community Health Resource and Development Center],

Annotation: This Web site is designed to improve health outcomes of migrant and seasonal farmworkers in California by providing a secure, online personal health record that can be accessed electronically by health care providers in different communities. The Web site provides information for consumers on being an active care consumer, obtaining health insurance, and on using the personal health record. Stories of individuals who have benefitted from MiVIA and news stories are included. The site is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: MiVIA, Telephone: (707) 935-4880 E-mail: mivia@followme.com Web Site: http://www.mivia.org

Keywords: Farm workers, Medical records, Migrants, Spanish language materials

Toggle Details

Rosenbaum S, Shin P. 2005. Migrant and seasonal farmworkers: Health insurance coverage and access to care. Washington, DC: Kaiser Commission on Medicaid and the Uninsured, 24 pp.

Annotation: This brief provides an overview of migrant and seasonal farm workers and the health challenges they face and considers options for improving their health coverage and access to care. The brief, which includes an executive summary, discusses the study approach, provides a profile of farm workers and their families and of health centers that serve them, discusses barriers to Medicaid coverage in this population, and offers conclusions. Statistical information is presented in figures throughout the brief. Endnotes are included.

Contact: Kaiser Commission on Medicaid and the Uninsured, 1330 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 347-5270 Fax: (202) 347-5274 E-mail: http://www.kff.org/about/contact.cfm Web Site: http://kff.org/about-kaiser-commission-on-medicaid-and-the-uninsured/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Families, Farm workers, Medicaid, Migrant health, Migrant health centers, Migrants

Toggle Details

Hopewell A, Steffensen J. 2005. Enhancing Partnerships for Head Start and oral health: Special population forums—Final synthesis report. Washington, DC: Health Systems Research, 20 pp.

Annotation: This final report synthesizes Head Start oral health forum participant suggestions for strategies for addressing oral health concerns of special populations enrolled in Head Start programs in Region XI and Region XII. The populations are identified as American Indian-Alaska Native and migrant and seasonal farmworkers. Topics include (1) an overview of the Head Start Bureau and Maternal and Child Health Bureau oral health partnership, (2) the special population forums, and (3) an overview of the special populations and their regions, including oral health care services available and cultural considerations. Additional topics include priority issues and strategies, including prevention, education, access to care, and cross-cutting recommendations. A brief conclusion completes the report. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272, Telephone: (202) 784-9771 Fax: (202) 784-9777 E-mail: OHRCinfo@georgetown.edu Web Site: http://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Alaska natives, American Indians, Conferences, Families, Farm workers, Final reports, Head Start, Migrants, Oral health, Region XI, Region XII, Strategic plans, Young children

Toggle Details

Cason KL, Snyder A. 2004. The health and nutrition of Hispanic migrant and seasonal farm workers. Harrisburg, PA: Center for Rural Pennsylvania, 18 pp.

Annotation: This report describes a study of migrant and seasonal farm workers in Chester and Adams counties, Pennsylvania. Topics include how the study population is defined and characteristics of the study counties and Pennsylvania's migrant and seasonal farm workers. The study methodology is detailed and results are discussed including demographic characteristics, food choices and influences on food choices, dietary acculturation, food sufficiency practices, and nutrition education. Focus group and key informant interviews are summarized and discussion of barriers to achieving good nutrition, meeting health care needs, and participation in food assistance programs are highlighted. Additional discussion provides conclusions and policy considerations.

Contact: Center for Rural Pennsylvania, 200 North Third Street, Suite 600, Harrisburg, PA 17101, Telephone: (717) 787-9555 Fax: (717) 772-3587 E-mail: info@ruralpa.org Web Site: http://www.ruralpa.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, Farm workers, Health services, Hispanic Americans, Migrants, Nutrition, Pennsylvania, Rural environment, Social services

Toggle Details

National Center for Farmworker Health. [2003] (ca.). Oral health. Buda, TX: National Center for Farmworker Health, 3 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet outlines how dental disease ranks as one of the top health problems for farmworkers, both children and adults. Statistics are provided on overall oral health, tooth decay, access to fluoridated water, access to dental care services, and oral health status by age and ethnic groups. Specific data are provided for farmworkers in several states. Extensive endnotes are provided.

Contact: National Center for Farmworker Health, 1770 FM 967, Buda, TX 78610, Telephone: (512) 312-2700 Secondary Telephone: (800) 531-5120 Fax: (512) 312-2600 E-mail: info@ncfh.org Web Site: http://www.ncfh.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Adults, Children, Dental care, Ethnic groups, Farm workers, Fluorides, Migrant health programs, Oral health, Rural health, Statistics

Toggle Details

Lombardi GR. [2001]. Migrant health issues: Dental/oral health services. Buda, TX: National Center for Farmworker Health, 7 pp. (Monograph no. 1)

Annotation: This monograph focuses on the lack of information for farmworkers about oral health and their lack of access to preventive or restorative oral health services. Topics include a review of access to fluoridated water, improved oral hygiene, and the application of sealants to the teeth of farmworker children; case studies of oral health access and poor dental outcomes in several states; and causes of high early childhood caries rates among low-income and migrant children from families.

Contact: National Center for Farmworker Health, 1770 FM 967, Buda, TX 78610, Telephone: (512) 312-2700 Secondary Telephone: (800) 531-5120 Fax: (512) 312-2600 E-mail: info@ncfh.org Web Site: http://www.ncfh.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, Children, Early childhood caries, Families, Farm workers, Low income groups, Migrant health, Migrants, Oral health

Toggle Details

Quandt SA, Austin CK, Arcury TA, Summers ME, Martinez HN. 1998. Pesticide safety training materials for farmworkers: An annotated bibliography. Chapel Hill, NC: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Center for Urban and Regional Studies, 42 pp. (Working paper 98-01)

Annotation: This annotated bibliography presents the results of a search for health education materials appropriate for use with farm workers and related to agricultural chemical exposure. It was developed as part of a project to develop appropriate interventions among migrant and seasonal farmworkers. The bibliography reviews the types of materials available, rates the comprehensiveness of the educational objectives, and suggests strengths and weaknesses of the materials. It is intended as a resource to health educators working with farmers, farmworkers, and farm families.

Contact: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Center for Urban and Regional Studies , 108 Battle Lane, Campus Box 3410, Chapel Hill, NC 27599, Telephone: (919) 962-3074 Fax: (919) 962-2518 Web Site: http://curs.unc.edu/ $7.00 including postage and handling. Make check or money order to the Center. Remittance must be in U.S. dollars payable on a U.S. bank.

Keywords: Agricultural safety, Bibliographies, Chemicals, Farm workers, Hazardous materials, Health education, Health educators, Pesticides

   |   

 

Page 1 of 4

 Jump to Page » Next Page »

Return to Previous Page | Go To Cross-Database Search | Advanced MCHLine® Search