Search the Databases

Search
Advanced Search

Site Tools

Partner Projects

 

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Library.

Search For: Keyword: Consumer education materials

   |   Expand All Items Collapse All Items

   |   

Displaying records 1 through 10 of 720 found.
Toggle Details

Massachusetts Department of Public Health, Division of Family Health Services. n.d.. Safehome checklist: A step-by-step home safety check for families with children up to age six. Boston, MA: Massachusetts Department of Public Health, 7 pp.

Annotation: This checklist provides families with children up to age six with a step-by-step home safety check. Subject areas included in the checklist are kitchen safety, bathroom safety, child area safety, general safety, safety supplies, and safety practices. The checklist is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: Massachusetts Department of Public Health, Injury Prevention and Control Program, 250 Washington Street, Fourth Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 624-5413 Contact Phone: (617) 727-1246 E-mail: cindy.rogers@state.ma.us Web Site: http://www.mass.gov/?pageID=eohhs2terminal&L=5&L0=Home&L1=Government&L2=Departments+and+Divisions&L3=Department+of+Public+Health&L4=Programs+and+Services+A+-+J&sid=Eeohhs2&b=terminalcontent&f=dph_com_health_injury_g_ipcp_about&csid=Eeohhs2 Single copies available at no charge.

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Household safety, Injury prevention, Spanish language materials

Toggle Details

National SAFE KIDS Campaign. n.d.. Home safety checklist. Indianapolis, IN: Kiwanis International, 4 pp. (MEP 9)

Annotation: This home safety checklist constituted a brochure provided by the National SAFE KIDS Campaign to Kiwanis International. Local Kiwanis groups were encouraged to print the brochure under their own logo for distribution to parents through hospitals, pediatricians, supermarkets, child care centers and other community sites. The checklist is designed for use by parents to evaluate their homes for injury risks to children so they might take preventive measures. Injury areas covered include falls, cuts, drowning, asphyxiation, nursery and toy injuries, juvenile furniture, burns, and outside play areas. The checklist is written at an easily understood language level.

Keywords: Children, Community organizations, Consumer education, Educational materials, High risk groups, Injury prevention, Intervention, Parent education, Residential injuries

Toggle Details

Providence Ambulatory Health Care Foundation. n.d.. HGB E, anemia and basic genetics. Providence, RI: Providence Ambulatory Health Care Foundation, 1 videotape (VHS 1/2 inch).

Annotation: This videotape provides information on hemoglobin E, anemia, and basic genetics. It describes how genes are inherited, and kinds of health problems different kinds of hemoglobin cause (anemia and thalassemia). It is supplemented by three pamphlets: Questions about thalassemia, Questions about hemoglobin E, and Genetics—The story of genes. The tapes and pamphlets are available in English, Laotian, and Cambodian. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 Fax: (202) 784-9777 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: http://www.mchlibrary.org Available for loan.

Keywords: Anemia, Asian language materials, Consumer education materials, Genetics, Thalassemia, Videotapes

Toggle Details

American Liver Foundation, Physicians' Information Division. n.d.. Hepatitis B: Patient information. Cedar Grove, NJ: American Liver Foundation, 1 videotape (10 minutes, 1/2 inch VHS).

Annotation: This videotape portrays a physician talking with a young Asian woman about liver cancer and its primary cause, hepatitis B: how hepatitis B spread, symptoms and the usual course of liver cancer, the body's ability to fight hepatitis B, carriers, effectiveness and safety of vaccinations, and populations at higher risk of contracting hepatitis B.

Contact: American Liver Foundation, 75 Maiden Lane, Suite 603, New York, NY 10038, Telephone: (212) 668-1000 Secondary Telephone: Fax: (212) 483-8179 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.liverfoundation.org Price unknown.

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Cancer, Consumer education materials, Disease prevention, Hepatitis B, Liver diseases, Videotapes

Toggle Details

Arizona Department of Health Services. n.d.. Nine months to get ready: You can make a difference. [Phoenix, AZ]: Arizona Department of Health Services, 17 pp.

Annotation: This pamphlet contains month by month information for pregnant women; it contains information about fetal development, physical changes in the mother's body and the mother's emotions, and activities the mother should do to take responsibility for a healthy pregnancy.

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Pregnancy, Prenatal care

Toggle Details

Alabama Medicaid Agency. n.d.. Your guide to patient 1st: Health care close to home. Montgomery, AL: Alabama Medicaid Agency, 24 pp.

Annotation: This brochure describes Patient 1st, Alabama's Medicaid managed care program, and explains how it works. Tips for program participants on how to access health care, including how to obtain referrals and make appointments with health professionals, are provided. The brochure also presents information on participant rights and duties, doctor's office or clinic rules, and emergency room guidelines. Self-care information, such as how and when to call a doctor and how and when to take medicine, is also included.

Contact: Alabama Medicaid Agency, 501 Dexter Avenue, P.O. Box 5624, Montgomery, AL 36103-5624, Telephone: (334) 242-5000 Web Site: http://medicaid.alabama.gov

Keywords: Alabama, Consumer education materials, Medicaid

Toggle Details

American Academy of Pediatrics. n.d.. Family readiness kit: Preparing to handle disasters. (2nd ed.). Elk Grove Village, IL: American Academy of Pediatrics, 35 pp.

Annotation: This kit is designed for parents to use at home to help prepare for most kinds of disasters. It consists of an overview booklet, a "4 steps to safety readiness" guide, a child identification card, a list for recording local emergency phone numbers, and fact sheets on earthquake, flood, hurricane, terrorism, tornado, tsunami, and winter storms.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 141 Northwest Point Boulevard, Elk Grove Village, IL 60007-1098, Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: http://www.aap.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Disaster planning

Toggle Details

National Center on Birth Defects and Developmental Disabilities, Early Hearing Detection and Intervention Program. n.d.. Questions you may want to ask your child's audiologist. Atlanta, GA: National Center on Birth Defects and Developmental Disabilities, Early Hearing Detection and Intervention Program, 2 pp.

Annotation: This fold-out card provides parents with specific questions to ask an audiologist about their child's hearing loss. Topics include the child's hearing loss; hearing aids and cochlear implants; communication and educational options; and parent and family support. The card is written in English on one side and Spanish on the other side. Space is provided for parents to record notes about the questions.

Contact: National Center on Birth Defects and Developmental Disabilities, Early Hearing Detection and Intervention Program, 1600 Clifton Road, Mailstop E-88, Atlanta, GA 30333, Telephone: (404) 498-3032 Secondary Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Fax: (404) 498-3060 E-mail: ehdi@cdc.gov Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/ncbddd/ehdi Available from the website.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Consumer education materials, Hearing disorders, Parent education, Spanish language materials

Toggle Details

Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences. n.d.. Helping children cope during deployment. Bethesda, MD: Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences, 2 pp. (Courage to care)

Annotation: This fact sheet, which is geared toward parents and family caregivers, contains information to help children cope during a parent's deployment. The fact sheet presents commonly asked questions and their responses. General tips for communicating with children of all ages, as well as advice for communicating with children from age 3 through adolescents according to their ages, are also included.

Contact: Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences, 4301 Jones Bridge Road, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (800) 515-5257 E-mail: webmaster@usuhs.gov Web Site: http://www.usuhs.mil Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent mental health, Adolescents, Child mental health, Children, Communication, Consumer education materials, Coping, Families, Military, Parent child relations, Parents

Toggle Details

Nguyen K-P, Mai CT, Santa Clara Valley Breastfeeding Task Force. n.d.. Breastfeeding educational materials in Vietnamese language. [No place, CA: Santa Clara Valley Breastfeeding Task Force], 6 items.

Annotation: This resource provides downloadable breastfeeding-education pamphlets for new mothers. Topics of the pamphlets include breastfeeding, milk quality, how to breastfeed, breast milk expression and storage, taking care of sore nipples and breast engorgement, and what to eat while breastfeeding. Each pamphlet is available in English and Vietnamese.

Contact: University of California, Berkeley, College of Natural Resources, 101 Giannini Hall, Berkeley, CA 94720, Telephone: (510) 642-7171 E-mail: cnrmain@nature.berkeley.edu Web Site: http://nature.berkeley.edu/site/index.php Available from the website.

Keywords: Asian language materials, Breastfeeding, Breastfeeding promotion, Consumer education materials, Infants, Nutrition

   |   

 

Page 1 of 72

 Jump to Page » Next Page »

Return to Previous Page | Go To Cross-Database Search | Advanced MCHLine® Search