Search the Databases

Search
Advanced Search

Site Tools

Partner Projects

 

Annotated Lists of Organizations on Key Topics in Maternal and Child Health

This list of 10 organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations online database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Library. To identify additional materials on this topic, search the Organizations database using our online search form.

The MCH Organizations Database lists government, professional, and voluntary organizations involved in maternal and child health activities, primarily at a national level. Information available to consumers is indicated where known.

Displaying 10 records.
Toggle Details

Advocates for Youth (AFY)

Annotation: Advocates for Youth is dedicated to creating programs and advocating for policies that help young people make informed and responsible decisions about their reproductive and sexual health. Advocates provides information, training, and strategic assistance to youth-serving organizations, policy makers, youth activists, and the media in the United States and the developing world. Advocates publishes newsletters, as well as provider- and consumer-oriented publications on adolescent reproductive health. A publications catalog is available. Some materials are available in French, Spanish, and Portuguese.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescents, Decision making skills, Information sources, Life skills, Peer education, Programs, Publications, Reproductive health, Sexual behavior, Sexuality education, Women

Toggle Details

American Social Health Association (ASHA)

Annotation: Founded in 1914, the American Social Health Association (ASHA) is a nonprofit organization that works to improve the health of individuals, families, and communities, with a focus on sexually transmitted diseases (STDs). Through education, research, and public policy the association produces multifaceted programs addressing the most prevalent STDs, including its Herpes Resource Center, the National HPV (human papillomavirus) and Cervical Cancer Prevention Resource Center, and a National Women's Health Initiative focusing on sexual health. ASHA operates the STI Resource Center Hotline and publishes patient education pamphlets and specialized materials for professionals. Some publications are available in Spanish.

Web Site: http://www.ashastd.org

Keywords: Sexually transmitted diseases, AIDS, Herpes genitalis, Hotlines, Human papillomavirus, Immunization, Prevention programs, Public health, Public policy, Sexual health

Toggle Details

Answer

Annotation: Answer at Rutgers University, formerly the Network for Family Life Education, specializes in training adults to deliver effective sexuality-education programs to children and youth. It provides resources, advocacy, training and technical assistance in support of age-appropriate, balanced, comprehensive sexuality education. Answer's Web site, Sex, Etc., is about teens for teens, and covers girls' health; guys' health; sex; love and relationships; gay, lesbian, bi-sexual, transgender, questioning, and intersex youth; deciding about sex; birth control and condoms; sexually transmitted diseases; pregnancy; teen parenting; abortion; adoption; emotional health; abuse and violence; gody image; and alcohol and drugs. A parallel site for professionals is planned.

Web Site: http://answer.rutgers.edu/

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy prevention, Sexuality education

Toggle Details

Children's Aid Society, Carrera Adolescent Sexuality and Pregnancy Prevention Program

Annotation: The Children's Aid Society (CAS) Carrera Adolescent Sexuality and Pregnancy Prevention Program (developed under the direction of the Bernice and Milton Stern National Adolescent Sexuality Training Center) serves as a primary pregnancy prevention model that uses a holistic aproach to help adolescents develop personal goals while increasing their sexual literacy and knowledge about the consequences of sexual activity. The program, which has been replicated across in states across the country, emphasizes the importance of education and employment. The Web site provides links to additional resources on sexuality education and adolescentr pregnancy prevention.

Web Site: http://www.stopteenpregnancy.com/

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Family relations, Parent education, Sexuality education

Toggle Details

Future of Sex Education (FoSE)

Annotation: The Future of Sex Education Project (FoSE) began in July 2007 when staff from Advocates for Youth, Answer and SIECUS first met to discuss the future of sex education in the United States. At the time, each organization was looking ahead to the possibility of a future without federal abstinence-only-until-marriage funding and simultaneously found themselves exploring the question of how best to advance comprehensive sexuality education in schools. In May of 2008, Advocates, Answer and SIECUS formalized these discussions with funding from the Ford, George Gund and Grove Foundations, and the FoSE Project was launched.

Web Site: http://www.futureofsexed.org

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Family life education, Psychosexual development, Sexual behavior, Sexual development, Sexuality education

Toggle Details

Medical Institute for Sexual Health (MISH)

Annotation: The Medical Institute for Sexual Health is a nonprofit organization that identifies, evaluates and communicates scientific information to promote healthy sexual decisions and behavior to medical professionals, educators, government officials, parents, and the media. It provides an electronic newsletter, an annual conference, and medical e-mail advisories that highlight recent research. It also publishes brochures, videos, reports, national guidelines for sexuality and character education, and a comparison of abstinence vs. safer sex sexuality education. Spanish-language brochures are available.

Web Site: http://www.medinstitute.org

Keywords: Abstinence, Disease prevention, Sexuality education, Sexually transmitted diseases

Toggle Details

National Coalition to Support Sexuality Education (NCSSE )

Annotation: The National Coalition to Support Sexuality Education (NCSSE) consists of over 140 national organizations committed to medically accurate, age-appropriate, comprehensive sexuality education for all children and youth in the United States. NCSSE hosts biannual meetings on key issues in sexuality education; supports member organizations in advocating for comprehensive sexuality education policies and programs at the state and national level; and provides a forum for networking, resource sharing, and collaboration among national organizations supporting comprehensive sexuality education. An extensive listing of curricula and other resources is available on the Web site; topics include sexuality education resources and curricula, abstinence-only curricula, HIV and AIDS curricula, guidelines for sexuality education programs, resources for families, and resources for faith-based organizations.

Web Site: http://www.ncsse.org

Keywords: Sexuality, Advocacy, Coalitions, Collaboration , Health promotion, Information dissemination, Reproductive health, Sexuality education

Toggle Details

Planned Parenthood Federation of America (PPFA)

Annotation: The Planned Parenthood Federation of America (PPFA) is dedicated to the principle that every person has the fundamental right to choose whether or when to have children. The federation works to ensure access to sexuality education and family planning services. Planned Parenthood health centers offer high-quality sexual and reproductive health care, including family planning, gynecological care, STI/STD testing and treatment, pregnancy testing, and abortion services. Its Web site offers information on birth control, emergency contraception, abortion, pregnancy, sexually transmitted infections and diseases, gynecological exams, teens, and sexuality. The online database of the PPFA Katharine Dexter McCormick Library includes books, brochures, programs, curricula, and audiovisual materials on sexuality education. PPFA publishes a catalog, newsletter, and journal, and some or its publications are available in Spanish.

Web Site: http://www.plannedparenthood.org

Keywords: Family planning, Abortion, Adolescent pregnancy, Advocacy, Contraception, Health education, Internet, Online databases, Public awareness materials, Publications, Reproductive health, Reproductive rights, Sexuality education, Spanish language materials

Toggle Details

Religious Institute

Annotation: Founded in 2001, the Religious Institute develops and supports a network of clergy, religious educators, theologians, theological ethicists, and other religious leaders committed to promoting sexual justice in the faith community and society. It promotes the goals and vision of the Religious Declaration. It is an ecumenical, interfaith organization dedicated to advocating for sexual health, education and justice in faith communities and society. The institute works to build the capacity of religious institutions and clergy to offer sexuality education within the context of their own faith traditions and to advocate for sexual rights. It also strives to help congregations become sexually healthy faith communities and to educate the public and policy makers about sexual justice issues. Topics also include reproductive justice; inclusion of gays, lesbians, bisexual, and transgender people; abuse prevention; and international issues. The Religious Institute also works with secular organizations on how to reach out to faith communities. The institute publishes a newsletter and a journal and hosts conferences, workshops, and training seminars. Its Web site provides information on sexually healthy faith communities, sexuality education, marriage equality, and reproductive justice; a newsletter and lists of publications and links are included.

Web Site: http://www.religiousinstitute.org

Keywords: Moral values, Civil rights, Clergy, Ethics, Marriage, Religion, Religious organizations, Reproductive rights, Sexuality, Sexuality education

Toggle Details

Sexuality Information and Education Council of the United States (SIECUS)

Annotation: The Sexuality Information and Education Council of the United States (SIECUS) is a nonprofit organization that develops, collects, and disseminates information, promotes comprehensive education about sexuality, and advocates the right of individuals to make responsible sexual choices. The organization's library(the Mary S. Calderone Library) collects materials specifically related to human sexuality with a focus on sexuality education. Data searches of books, reports, curricula, and journal articles in the collection are available for a fee. The organization also maintains a variety of listservs, and develops fact sheets, annotated bibliographies, and other publications. A publications catalog is free upon request. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Web Site: http://www.siecus.org

Keywords: Sexuality, Advocacy, Health promotion, Information dissemination, Reproductive health, Sexuality education

Return to Previous Page | Go To Cross-Database Search | Advanced MCHLine® Search