Search the Databases

Search
Advanced Search

Site Tools

Partner Projects

 

Annotated Lists of Organizations on Key Topics in Maternal and Child Health

This list of 32 organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations online database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Library. To identify additional materials on this topic, search the Organizations database using our online search form.

The MCH Organizations Database lists government, professional, and voluntary organizations involved in maternal and child health activities, primarily at a national level. Information available to consumers is indicated where known.

Displaying 32 records.
Toggle Details

American Social Health Association (ASHA)

Annotation: Founded in 1914, the American Social Health Association (ASHA) is a nonprofit organization that works to improve the health of individuals, families, and communities, with a focus on sexually transmitted diseases (STDs). Through education, research, and public policy the association produces multifaceted programs addressing the most prevalent STDs, including its Herpes Resource Center, the National HPV (human papillomavirus) and Cervical Cancer Prevention Resource Center, and a National Women's Health Initiative focusing on sexual health. ASHA operates the STI Resource Center Hotline and publishes patient education pamphlets and specialized materials for professionals. Some publications are available in Spanish.

Web Site: http://www.ashastd.org

Keywords: Sexually transmitted diseases, AIDS, Herpes genitalis, Hotlines, Human papillomavirus, Immunization, Prevention programs, Public health, Public policy, Sexual health

Toggle Details

ASPIRA Association

Annotation: ASPIRA Association is a national Hispanic leadership development organization that offers leadership and educational opportunities to Puerto Rican and other Latino adolescents. It sponsors a national health careers program that encourages Hispanic youth to prepare for careers in health-related fields, operates demonstration projects in Hispanic communities and has designed and implemented afterschool educational programs. Materials are available in Spanish.

Web Site: http://www.aspira.org

Keywords: Adolescents, Child care, Hispanic Americans, Minority groups, Outreach

Toggle Details

Boys Town

Annotation: Boys Town -- formerly known as Girls and Boys Town -- provides a second chance for children and adolescents with behavioral, emotional, or physical problems. Although the Boys Town headquarters is in Nebraska, its outreach is national in scope with more than a dozen treatment sites across the country. Services provided include residential care, shelter care, foster care, treatment, parent training, family crisis intervention, and a 24-hour crisis hotline, as well as technical assistance and referrals to other residential care programs across the nation. The focus is on implementing an integrated continuum of care for children and families based on research-proven services. Boys Town hosts a Web site for parents -- parenting.org -- and provides positive learning tools for educators based on the Boys Town Model. Other resources include workshops, webinars, presentations, research findings, and a blog The organization aconducts research through the Boys Towns National Research Institute and provides treatment for children with speech, hearing, and visual problems at its National Research Hospital in Omaha Nebraska.

Web Site: http://www.boystown.org

Keywords: Adolescents, Speech disorders, Hearing disorders,, Child abuse, Child neglect, Foster care, Residential programs

Toggle Details

Center for the Improvement of Child Caring (CICC)

Annotation: The Center for the Improvement of Child Caring (CICC), a non-profit organization founded in 1974, works to give parents the education and support they need, and to give the professionals who work with children and parents the latest continuing education to enable them to provide high quality parenting and child development services. The center offers culturally diverse parenting classes and seminars nationwide on a contractual basis with community groups, schools, and other child and family serving institutions. It also conducts parenting instructor training workshops in cities throughout the nation to prepare personnel who work for local institutions to deliver state-of-the-art parenting skill-building programs like the Center's three national model, evidenced based programs, Confident Parenting, Effective Black Parenting and Los Ninos Bien Educados. CICC offers an online catalog of books, videotapes, and audiotapes on parenting and child development issues and has an online methodology for parents and service providers to help determine whether children under five may have special needs (The CICC Discovery Tool).

Web Site: http://www.ciccparenting.org

Keywords: Child health, Parent education programs, Parent support services, Parenting

Toggle Details

Center on Media and Child Health (CMCH)

Annotation: The Center on Media and Child Health (CMCH) is a joint initiative of Children's Hospital Boston, Harvard Medical School, and Harvard School of Public Health. Their mission is to advance scientific research, clinical interventions, and education on the subject of media and their effects, positive and negative, on the physical, mental, and social health of children and adolescents. The center offers a free searchable database of scientific research on media effects, publishes research findings, produces guidelines for parents and teachers concerning safe and constructive uses of media, and publishes an electronic newsletter.

Web Site: http://www.cmch.tv

Keywords: Adolescent health, Child health, Mass media

Toggle Details

Child Welfare Information Gateway

Annotation: The Child Welfare Information Gateway was created when the National Adoption Information Clearinghouse and the National Clearinghouse on Child Abuse and Neglect Information were consolidated and expanded. The gateway promotes the safety, permanency, and well-being of children and families by connecting child welfare, adoption, and related professionals as well as concerned citizens to timely information. A service of the Children's Bureau, Administration for Children and Families, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, the gateway provides access to print and electronic publications, websites, live chat and online support, and databases covering a wide range of topics from prevention to permanency, including child welfare, child abuse and neglect, adoption, search, and reunion.

Web Site: http://www.childwelfare.gov

Keywords: Adopted children, Adoptive parents, Biological parents, Child abuse, Child neglect, Children with special health care needs, Clearinghouses, Databases, Family violence, Information services, Information dissemination, Adoption, Injury prevention, Support groups

Toggle Details

Do It Now Foundation (DIN)

Annotation: Do It Now (DIN) Foundation is a national, nonprofit educational foundation working to provide adolescents and their families with timely, accurate information on a range of behavioral health issues, including alcohol and alcoholism, contraception, sexually transmitted diseases, drug use and abuse, parenting, eating disorders, suicide, and stress. Publications include pamphlets, booklets, books, reports, and posters. A publications catalog is available. Some publications are available in Spanish, Italian, French, German, and other languages. The DIN Web site is written for adolescents.

Web Site: http://www.doitnow.org

Keywords: Adolescent health, Depression, Eating disorders, Mental health, Rape, Sexually transmitted diseases, Substance abuse, Suicide

Toggle Details

Families and Work Institute

Annotation: The Families and Work Institute is a nonprofit organization that explores ways to balance continuing workplace productivity demands and the changing needs of families. The institute conducts research on issues related to the changing demographics of the workforce; child and elder care demands, services, and impacts on work; as well as workplace research that helps employers respond to identified needs. It provides information dissemination, strategic planning, technical assistance, and management training services for decision makers in business, communities, and government. It is conducting the I am Your Child Early Childhood Public Engagement Campaign, and also has a Fatherhood Project.

Web Site: http://www.familiesandwork.org

Keywords: Child care, Child health, Families, Fathers, Infant health, Working parents

Toggle Details

Family Research Council (FRC)

Annotation: The Family Research Council (FRC) is an independent, nonpartisan, nonprofit organization that analyzes issues affecting families and works to ensure that the interests of families are considered and respected in the development of national policy. The organization is dedicated to the promotion of marriage and family and the sanctity of human life. Maintains an online bookstore, publishes legislative action periodicals, hosts radio programs and blogs, and posts national survey data related to marriage and families in America.

Web Site: http://www.frc.org

Keywords: Child health, Child care, Parental leave, Parenting, Public policies, Public policies, Work family issues, Working women

Toggle Details

Federal Citizen Information Center (FCIC)

Annotation: The Federal Citizen Information Center (FCIC), formerly the Federal Consumer Information Center, publishes the quarterly Consumer Information Catalog. The catalog lists publications on topics such as parenting, nutrition, exercise, weight control, and child safety. In addition, the FCIC publishes the Consumer Action Handbook, which contains consumer advice and listings of contacts in business, trade associations, consumer organizations, and local, state, and federal government. The FCIC's National Contact Center serves as a single point of contact for individuals with questions about federal agencies, programs and services. The specially trained staff can answer questions in English and Spanish about all aspects of the federal government or direct callers to an appropriate contact.

Web Site: http://www.pueblo.gsa.gov/

Keywords: Child safety, Nutrition, Parenting, Patient education, Prenatal care, Weight management, Spanish language materials, Consumer education materials

Toggle Details

Home and School Institute, Megaskills Education Center (HSI)

Annotation: The MegaSkills Education Center is dedicated to enhancing achievement in students by developing "megaskills," which include confidence, motivation, effort, responsibility, initiative, perseverance, caring, teamwork,common sense, problem solving, andfocus. The MegaSkills Education Center offers resources to help develop partnerships with schools and communities and to build success for children, parents and teachers through books, trainings, and conference presentations. The MegaSkills programs, now in over 4000 schools in 48 states, serve diverse communities by training teachers to conduct workshops and provide home learning "recipes" for families.

Web Site: http://www.ristatepirc.org/megaskills.php

Keywords: Child development, Child health, Literacy, Parents, Schools

Toggle Details

Kiwanis International, Young Children: Priority One

Annotation: Young Children: Priority One is a program of Kiwanis International that supports children ages 0–5 years in the areas of maternal and infant health, child care and development, parent education and support, and safety and pediatric trauma. Local clubs conduct projects on topics such as prenatal care, immunization, child care, and parenting. Some Kiwanis clubs provide services to consumers that include referrals, publications, and reference information. Some materials are available in Spanish, French, Italian and other languages. A catalog is available.

Web Site: http://sites.kiwanis.org/Kiwanis/en/discover/Our-work/Young-Children-Priority-One.aspx

Keywords: Outreach, Public awareness, Public health

Toggle Details

Mothers of Supertwins (MOST)

Annotation: Mothers of Supertwins (MOST) is a national nonprofit organization founded in 1987 as a support network for families who have or are expecting triplets or higher numbers of babies. MOST provides information, education, resources, and support during pregnancy, infancy, and childhood. Services include a medical and educational advisory board, a quarterly journal, referrals for families with special needs, parenting packages for a variety of topics, and local networking within the U.S. A resource catalog is available.

Web Site: http://www.mostonline.org

Keywords: Child health, Infant health, Multiple births, Parenting, Triplets

Toggle Details

National Association of Elementary School Principals (NAESP)

Annotation: The National Association of Elementary School Principals (NAESP), established in 1921, provides leadership, publishes standards, and produces resources for elementary and middle school principals in the United States, Canada, and overseas. NAESP's book of standards is entitled Leading Early Childhood Learning Communities: What Principals ShouldKnow and Be Able to Do (an executive summary can be downloaded free-of-charge from the Web site). The association also publishes newsletters, Principal magazine, and resource catalogs, and holds annual conventions,.

Web Site: http://naesp.org

Keywords: Education, Elementary schools, Principals, School health

Toggle Details

National Center for Fathering

Annotation: National Center for Fathering (NCF) seeks to inspire and equip men to be better fathers through seminars and small groups. It provides fathering resources through its newsletter and web page. NCF provides direct father training and resources as well as train-the-trainer seminars and resources for those who work with dads. Materials are available in Spanish and Asian languages.

Web Site: http://www.fathers.com

Keywords: Fathers

Toggle Details

National Center on Parent, Family, and Community Engagement (NCPFCE)

Annotation: The National Center on Parent, Family, and Community Engagement identifies, develops, and disseminates evidence-based best practices associated with the development of young children and the strengthening of families and communities. The Center creates culturally and linguistically relevant training and tools for implementing comprehensive, systemic, and integrated approaches to parent, family, and community engagement in Head Start and Early Head Start. It is one of six national centers funded by the U.S. Office of Head Start.

Web Site: http://eclkc.ohs.acf.hhs.gov/hslc/tta-system/family

Keywords: Collaboration, Early Head Start, Early childhood education, Families, Head Start, Resource centers, Young children

Toggle Details

National Council For Adoption (NCFA)

Annotation: The National Council for Adoption (NCFA) is an adoption advocacy nonprofit organization serving adoptive parents, birthparents, adoptive professionals, and agencies by advocating for the positive option of adoption through education, research, and legislative action. NCFA serves as an adoption information clearinghouse, offering referrals, publications, reference information, and online training tools. Some materials are available in Spanish. NCFA also sponsors conferences.

Web Site: https://www.adoptioncouncil.org

Keywords: Adoption, Adoptive parents, Biological parents, Adopted children, Legislation

Toggle Details

National Organization of Mothers of Twins Clubs (NOMOTC)

Annotation: The National Organization of Mothers of Twins Clubs, Inc. (NOMOTC) is a support group for parents of twins and higher order multiples. It is a network of local clubs nationwide whose basic purposes are research and education. As such, NOMOTC’s focus is to support parents as they face the challenges or joys of raising multiple birth children. As a means of accomplishing that goal, NOMOTC has published support materials for mothers of multiples and continues to publish its news magazine, NOMOTC’s Notebook. NOMOTC provides specialized Support Services in the areas of Special Needs, Single Parenting, Higher Order Multiples, and Bereavement. NOMOTC also completes its own organizational research on selected issues, and maintains a bibliography of books related to parenting multiples. Selected materials are available in Spanish.

Web Site: http://www.NOMOTC.org

Keywords: Child health, Health education, Information services, Medical research, Multiple births, Parent groups, Twins

Toggle Details

National Organization of Single Mothers (NOSM)

Annotation: Founded in 1991, the National Organization of Single Mothers seeks to help the country's single parents meet the challenges of daily life and to counter the negative stereotype of single parents. The organization maintains an online bookstore, publishes an online magazine, hosts discussion forums, and links to blogs, support groups, and other resources of interest to single mothers.

Web Site: http://www.singlemothers.org

Keywords: Child support, Parenting, Single mothers

Toggle Details

National Parent Teacher Association (NPTA)

Annotation: The National Parent Teacher Association (PTA) is a nonprofit association that works to support and speak on behalf of children and youth; assist parents in developing the skills they need to raise and protect their children; and to encourage parent and public involvement in the public schools of the nation. The PTA provides leadership training tools, as well as parent resources on topics such as child safety, health and wellness, student achievement, and media technology. The association hosts online forums, produces print and electronic publications, and sponsors a variety of meetings, conferences, and events.

Web Site: http://www.pta.org

Keywords: Adolescents, , Child advocacy, Child health programs Parenting, Children, Education

Toggle Details

National Parenting Education Network (NPEN)

Annotation: The National Parenting Education Network (NPEN) began as the Parenting Education Network and was formed by a group of professionals interested in advancing the field of parenting education. NPIN provides referrals, produces an electronic newsletter, and collaborates with other organizations.

Web Site: http://www.npen.org

Keywords: Parent education

Toggle Details

New Parents Network (NPN)

Annotation: New Parents Network is a non-profit organization founded in 1988 to serve as an engine to gather and to disseminate local and general parenting information. NPN's mission is to help children by increasing the distribution of local and general parenting information to all, but especially to those most in need and hardest to reach. New Parents Network maintains an Internet site giving parenting information in English and Spanish in multi-media formats specifically geared towards providing public health nurses and hospital doctors and nurses with localized and universal parenting information. Services to consumers include referrals, reference information, and access to searchable databases.

Web Site: http://www.newparentsnetwork.org

Keywords: Child health, First time parents, Infant health, Maternity care, Parent education, Parenting, Postpartum care

Toggle Details

Parents Action for Children

Annotation: Parents Action for Children works to raise public awareness about the critical importance the prenatal period through the first early years plays in a child’s healthy brain development. Parents Action develops DVDs and booklets -- in both English and Spanish -- for parents and caregivers.

Web Site: http://www.parentsaction.org/

Keywords: Infant development, Caregivers, Child development, Developmental stages, Early childhood development, Health promotion, Information sources, Parent child relations, Parent education, Parent participation, Parenting skills, Public awareness campaigns

Toggle Details

Parents Anonymous (PA)

Annotation: Founded in 1970, Parents Anonymous, Inc. is the nation's oldest and largest child abuse and neglect prevention, education, and treatment program. The organization's mission is to promote mutual support and parent leadership in order to build and support strong, healthy families. Today, Parent's Anonymous leads an extensive national network of neighborhood-based support groups for parents and their children. Services to consumers include referrals, publications, reference information and research publications. The organization publishes a newsletter, sponsors conferences and training seminars, and provides materials in Spanish.

Web Site: http://www.parentsanonymous.org

Keywords: Injury prevention, Adolescents, Anticipatory guidance, Child abuse, Child neglect, Children, Counseling, Education, Family violence, Information services, Parenting, Spanish language materials

Toggle Details

Parents as Teachers (PAT)

Annotation: Parent as Teachers (PAT) is a voluntary early childhood parent education and family support program designed to help all parents give their children the best possible start in life. This home-school-community partnership provides parents with information on child development prenatally to age 5 and suggests learning opportunities that encourage language and intellectual growth, physical and social skills. Based on the philosophy that parents are their children's first and most influential teachers, PAT professionals provide timely information to all families through personal visits, training seminars and conferences, group meetings, screening, and a resource network. Parents as Teachers programs are part of many Even Start and other federal Title 1 programs, as well as Early Head Start and Head Start. The Parents as Teachers National Center has offered training to improve the skills of its parent educators, including Issues in Working with Teen Parents and Supporting Families Facing Critical Issues. Publications include a catalog and newsletters. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Web Site: http://www.parentsasteachers.org

Keywords: Adolescent parents, Parent education, Programs

Toggle Details

Prepare Tomorrow's Parents

Annotation: Prepare Tomorrow's Parents, formerly the Parenting Project, is a non-profit organization that works to bring parenting, empathy and nurturing skills education to all school age children and adolescents. The organization identifies and promotes parenting-education programs; maintains a clearinghouse of instructional materials for teachers and advocates of parenting education for young people; publishes and distributes an advocacy guide; and provides links to numerous parenting education resources on its website. I

Web Site: http://www.parentingproject.org

Keywords: Child abuse prevention, Family life education, Parent education, Parenting, Schools, Violence prevention

Toggle Details

Prevent Child Abuse America (PCAA)

Annotation: Prevent Child Abuse America (PCAA), formerly the National Committee to Prevent Child Abuse, seeks to increase public awareness of the incidence, origins, nature, and effects of child abuse. The organization serves as a national advocate to prevent the neglect and physical, sexual, and emotional abuse of children. It sponsors their state chapters and the Healthy Families America home visitor prevention program and partners with the National Family Support Roundtable in establishing and supporting parent self-help mutual support groups across the country. The organization publishes a number of pamphlets and brochures on parenting for consumers. A publications catalog is available. PCAA sponsors training seminars and provides some materials in Spanish.

Web Site: http://www.preventchildabuse.org

Keywords: Advocacy, Child abuse, Injury prevention, Parent support services, Parenting, Peer support programs, Public education

Toggle Details

Promoting Responsible Fatherhood

Annotation: Promoting Responsible Fatherhood (formerly known as the Fatherhood Initiative) was developed by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services to support and strengthen the roles of fathers in families. The Web site links to projects related to effective parenting, healthy marriage, economic stability, incarceration, visitation and child support, research, and program developments.

Web Site: http://fatherhood.hhs.gov/

Keywords: Fathers, Federal agencies, Information sources, Online databases, Outreach, Parenting skills, Program descriptions, Publications

Toggle Details

Through the Looking Glass (TLG)

Annotation: Through the Looking Glass (TLG) is a non-profit agency that provides services, training, materials, and research concerning families in which a child, parent or grandparent has a disability or medical issue. Direct services to local Bay Area families include in-home clinical intervention services, development of adaptive parenting equipment, parent support groups and other services geared to each family's unmet needs. Services provided at the national level include training, publications, scholarships, a parent blog, and a legal program that promotes justice and human rights for parents with disabilities and their children in child care custody cases.

Web Site: http://www.lookingglass.org

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Parenting, Pregnancy, Special health care needs, Women

Toggle Details

Triplet Connection

Annotation: The Triplet Connection is a not-for-profit organization that assists families who are preparing for multiple births or raising multiple babies, particularly triplets, quadruplets and higher-order multiples. It provides referrals and distributes information on promoting healthy pregnancies and reducing risks, caring for multiple babies at home, and sharing feelings and concerns with other families raising multiple babies. The organization has an advisory board of obstetricians, perinatologists, obstetric nurses, dietitians, and family therapists. Services include a quarterly magazine and information packets, workshops, an annual convention, online forums, and two publications, Exceptional Pregnancies, A Survival Guide to Parents Expecting Twins and Exceptional Pregnancies, A Survival Guide to Parents Expecting Triplets or More.

Web Site: http://www.tripletconnection.org

Keywords: Child health, Health promotion, Information dissemination, Listservs, Multiple births, Parenting, Support groups, Triplets

Toggle Details

Twin Services Consulting (TSC)

Annotation: Twin Services Consulting is a service provided by Patricia Malmstrom, founder and director of the former non-profit agency, Twin Services, Inc. (TSI). Twin Services Consulting (TSC) offers e-mail referral to national multiple birth resources and consultation regarding program development. Its Web site offers free parenting education materials about twin care and development.

Web Site: http://www.twinservices.org

Keywords: Child health, California, Childbirth, Educational materials, Multiple births, Pregnancy, Referrals, Support groups, Technical assistance, Training, Triplets, Twins

Toggle Details

U.S. Department of Agriculture, National Institute of Food and Agriculture (NIFA)

Annotation: The National Institute of Food and Agriculture (NIFA) -- formerly the Cooperative State Research, Education and Extension Service (CSREES) -- is an agency within the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) charged with advancing knowledge for agriculture, the environment, human health and well-being, and communities by supporting research, education, and extension programs in the Land-Grant University System and other partner organizations. NIFA helps fund research, education, and extension services at the state and local level, and provides program leadership in these areas. The website provides news, grant information, and links to programs covering a wide range of agriculture-related topics for consumers, grantees, government agencies, businesses, and other audiences.

Web Site: http://www.csrees.usda.gov

Keywords: Young children, Agriculture, Environment, Low income groups, Nutrition, Parenting

Return to Previous Page | Go To Cross-Database Search | Advanced MCHLine® Search