Search the Databases

Search
Advanced Search

Site Tools

Partner Projects

 

Annotated Lists of Organizations on Key Topics in Maternal and Child Health

This list of 18 organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations online database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Library. To identify additional materials on this topic, search the Organizations database using our online search form.

The MCH Organizations Database lists government, professional, and voluntary organizations involved in maternal and child health activities, primarily at a national level. Information available to consumers is indicated where known.

Displaying 18 records.
Toggle Details

American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP)

Annotation: The American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP) is a national association representing family physicians, family medicine residents, and medical students that seeks to promote the science and art of family medicine and to ensure high-quality, cost-effective health care for clients of all ages. AAFP's website contains news and information on journals, continuing medical education, clinical care and research, running a practice, policy and advocacy, and careers. AAFP's patient Web site -- familydoctor.org -- features information for specific populations including women, men, parents and kids, and older adults; health tools such as a guide to over-the-counter medications; and tips for healthy living.

Web Site: http://www.aafp.org

Keywords: Child health, Conferences, Families, Immunization, Physicians, Preventive health services, Primary care, Professional societies, Professional training, Publications, Spanish language materials

Toggle Details

American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (ACOG)

Annotation: The American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (ACOG) provides educational materials on pregnancy, birth, contraception, reproductive health, and women's issues such as violence against women, smoking cessation, and underserved women. Members and invited experts serve on various ACOG committees focusing on adolescent health care, gynecologic practice, obstetrics, American Indian affairs, and other topics. Statistics from a variety of resources are posted on the Web site, along with guides to selected internet resources on topics such as vaccines, cultural competency, adolescent/pediatric health, pregnancy, sexuality, and smoking cessation. Services to consumers include inquiry responses and publications. A resource catalog is also available. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Web Site: http://www.acog.org

Keywords: Prenatal care, American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, Childbirth, Contraception, Domestic violence, Gynecology, Legislation, Obstetrics, Pregnancy, Professional education, Professional ethics, Professional societies, Publications, Reproductive health, Women's health

Toggle Details

American Medical Association, Adolescent Health Program (AMA)

Annotation: The American Medical Association (AMA) Program on Child and Adolescent Health works to improve the health status of youth. Activities include the AMA National Coalition on Adolescent Health, adolescent health online Web site, Child Health Initiative, Healthy People 2010 activities, and a youth violence project. Services to consumers include reference information. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Web Site: http://www.ama-assn.org/ama/pub/category/1947.html

Keywords: Adolescent health, Prevention services, Professional societies

Toggle Details

American Public Health Association (APHA)

Annotation: The American Public Health Association (APHA) is the oldest and largest organization of public health professionals in the world, representing members from a broad array of occupations in public health. APHA brings together researchers, health service providers, administrators, teachers, and other health workers in a multidisciplinary environment of professional exchange, study, and action. APHA is concerned with a broad set of issues affecting personal and environmental health, including federal and state funding for health programs, pollution control, programs and policies related to chronic and infectious diseases, a smoke-free society, and professional education in public health. The association actively serves the public, its members, and the public health profession through its scientific programs, publications, annual meeting, awards program, educational service, and advocacy efforts. Its Web site includes a wide variety of resources, including the Community Solutions to Health Disparities database. Publications include the monthly American Journal of Public Health, manuals, directories, books, pamphlets, and a newspaper, The Nation's Health. Services to consumers include referrals, reference information, and access to searchable databases.

Web Site: http://www.apha.org

Keywords: Public health, Access to health care, Community programs, Consumer education, Environmental health, Guidelines, Health promotion, Information sources, Mental health, Minority health, Model programs, Professional societies, Program evaluation, Publications, Standards

Toggle Details

Annie E. Casey Foundation (AECF)

Annotation: One of the Annie E. Casey Foundation's main objectives is to provide the best available data and analysis on critical issues affecting disadvantaged children and families, as well as the knowledge and tools that practitioners, policymakers, and citizens need to advance their efforts on behalf of children. For more than half a century the foundation has worked to improve the futures for kids at risk of poor outcomes. Their mission encompasses direct support services to vulnerable children and families, and in recent years has used major grant making to support demonstrations, evaluations, and advocacy aimed at helping large public systems, as well as nonprofit networks, to become more effective in their efforts on behalf of struggling families and at-risk kids.

Web Site: http://www.aecf.org/

Keywords: Child health, Data, Data analysis, Family support, Grants, High risk children, Low income groups, Poverty

Toggle Details

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)

Annotation: The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), a part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, is the primary Federal agency responsible for conducting and supporting public health activities in the United States, including the prevention and control of infecious and chronic disease. The primary goals of the agency are to reduce health risks during every stage of life; spearhead efforts to improve global health; ensure that the places people live, work, and play have safe, healthy environments; and prepare for emerging health threats from mental health to environmental health. The Public Inquiries Office responds to inquiries in the areas of preventive medicine, immunization, disease control, and health education. The Web site covers a wide range of health & safety topics, including diseases & conditions, emergency rpeparedness, environmental health, life stages & populations, healthy living, injury and violence; travelers' health, and workplace health and safety. Also included are links to data and statistics, online access to CDC's journals and other publications; and tools & resources such as an image library, podcasts, and a Body Mass Index (BMI0 calculator. A Spanish-language version of the Web site is available, and some materials are available in Spanish, French, Asian languages and other languages. CDC also sponsors conferences, training seminars and workshops. I

Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov

Keywords: Preventive health services, Adolescents, Data analysis, Data collection, Disease prevention, Environmental health, Federal agencies, Guidelines, Health education, Health promotion, Immunization, Listservs, Nutrition, Occupational safety and health, Online databases, Population surveillance, Publications, Safety, Spanish language materials, Standards, Technical assistance, Training

Toggle Details

Child Trends

Annotation: Child Trends is a nonprofit research center that works to improve the quality, scope, and use of statistical information on children and adolescents. The research and public information activities of Child Trends are supported by grants from government agencies and foundations and by contributions from the public. Statistics regarding child and adolescent health indicators, including data on adolescent pregnancy and childbearing, are available on request. The Web site includes the Child Trends Databank, which offers data briefs, a newsletter, and What Works, which contains information for indicators about the types of programs and interventions that may influence particular outcomes for children and adolescents. Its Lifecourse Model includes a database of evaluated programs. Services to consumers include referrals, publications, and reference information. Publications include a Facts at a Glance, which reports data on U.S. adolescent fertility, the Child Indicator newsletter, and a series of research briefs.

Web Site: http://www.childtrends.org

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescent pregnancy, Child health, Community programs, Data analysis, Data collection, Family relations, Health statistics, Information sources, Model programs, Program descriptions, Research, Statistical analysis

Toggle Details

Children's Safety Network (CSN)

Annotation: The Children's Safety Network (CSN) works with State and Territorial Title V, Maternal and Child Health (MCH) and Injury and Violence Prevention (IVP) programs to strengthen their capacity to create healthy, safe and injury free communities for children and families. CSN works with a broad range of partners, including federal agencies, national organizations and professional groups to increase awareness about the importance of, extend the reach of, and share information on injury and violence prevention with state health agencies and others. CSN provides technical assistance, publications, and an electronic newsletter. CSN is funded by the Health Resources and Services Administration’s, Maternal and Child Health Bureau and provides services at no cost.

Web Site: http://www.childrenssafetynetwork.org

Keywords: Children, Injury prevention, National MCH resource center, Resource centers, Unintentional injuries, Violence prevention

Toggle Details

Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health

Annotation: The Bloomberg School of Public Health at Johns Hopkins University conducts international research, programs in education, and public policy initiatives in an ongoing effort to keep global populations safe from injury and illness. The school's Hopkins Population Center conducts interdisciplinary research on populations within the U.S. and abroad; brings together biodefense and public health preparedness research and training initiaitves; and monitors and predicts illness, including the progression of HIV to AIDS. The school's Institute for Vaccine Safety provides an independent assessment of vaccines and vaccine safety to help guide decision makers and educate physicians, the public, and the media about key issues surrounding the safety of vaccines. Demographic data as well as news items concerning the health and safety of America's populations (e.g., safety-seat legislation, weather emergency preparedness, and data-monitoring developments ) are posted on the Web site.

Web Site: http://www.jhsph.edu

Keywords: , Immunization, AIDS, Health promotion, Injury prevention, International health, Preventive health services, Research

Toggle Details

March of Dimes (MOD)

Annotation: The March of Dimes (MOD) works to prevent birth defects and infant mortality through research, education, and advocacy programs. MOD's Pregnancy and Newborn Health Education Center provides information and referral services for the general public and professionals on topics such as preconception health, pregnancy, childbirth, genetics, and birth defects. MOD also produces educational materials on these and other topics such as prematurity, baby care, adolescent pregnancy, folic acid, nursing, and bereavement. A publications catalog is available, and some materials are available in Spanish. Anyone can subscribe to MOD's free electronic newsletter. MOD also sponsors the Prematurity Research Initiative, which provides funding for research into the causes of prematurity, and has developed PeriStats -- an online source for maternal, infant, and child health-related data at the state level and for many indicators at the county and national level (available at http://peristats.modimes.org/).

Web Site: http://www.marchofdimes.com

Keywords: Congenital abnormalities, Adolescent pregnancy, Advocacy, Childbirth education, Genetic disorders, Genetics education, Infant mortality, Information services, Medical research, Patient education, Prenatal care, Preterm birth, Professional education, Public awareness materials

Toggle Details

National Adolescent and Young Adult Health Information Center (NAHIC)

Annotation: The National Adolescent and Young Adult Health Information Center (NAHIC) serves a national resource for adolescent and young adult health information and research, and works to assure the integration, synthesis, coordination, and dissemination of adolescent and young adult health‐related information. NAHIC emphasizes the needs of special populations who are more adversely affected by changes in the social environment of young people and their families. It is a combination of two organizations housed within the University of California, San Francisco: The National Adolescent Health Information and Innovation Center (NAHIIC) and the Public Policy Analysis and Education Center for Adolescent and Young Adult Health (The Policy Center).

Web Site: http://nahic.ucsf.edu

Keywords: Adolescent health, National MCH resource center, Policy, Programs, Resource centers

Toggle Details

National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS)

Annotation: The National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) is a national resource for vital statistics and health-related information and is part of the National Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. The center collects and disseminates data on major health and nutrition indicators affecting the population. Data are presented so that specific groups, such as children and adolescents, can be isolated. Publications include statistical reports and information on morbidity and mortality, use of health resources, nutritional status, and survey research.

Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/nchs

Keywords: Health statistics, Data, Injury prevention, Nutrition, Public health, Publications, Research

Toggle Details

National Center for Injury Prevention and Control (NCIPC)

Annotation: The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) began studying motor vehicle, home, and recreational injuries in the early 1970s and violence prevention in 1983. From these early activities grew a national program to reduce injury, disability, death, and costs associated with injuries outside the workplace. in June 1992, CDC established the National Center for Injury Prevention and Control (NCIPC). As the lead federal agency for injury prevention, NCIPC works closely with other federal agencies; national, state, and local organizations; state and local health departments; and research institutions. Services to consumers include referrals, publications, and reference information. NCIPC publishes a newsletter, supports research, and sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/injury/index.html

Keywords: Injury prevention, Agricultural injuries, Bicycle helmets, Car seats, Data, Domestic violence, Federal initiatives, Gun violence, Head injuries, Household injuries, Injuries, School injuries, School violence, Sports injuries, Unintentional injuries, Violence

Toggle Details

National Center for the Review and Prevention of Child Deaths

Annotation: The National Center for the Review and Prevention of Child Deaths is a national resource center to support efforts to understand why children die and to prevent child deaths. The center's services include providing technical assistance, training, and support to child death review (CDR) teams, creating CDR support resources and tools; establishing a national CDR report system; coordinating with other mortality and morbidity reviews; collaborating with state Title V programs; and promoting CDR to national public and private organizations. The center is a program of the Michigan Public Health Institute in collaboration with the University of Alabama Birmingham, and is supported in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. It was previously called the National MCH Center for Child Death Review.

Web Site: http://www.childdeathreview.org

Keywords: Child death review, National MCH resource center, Resource centers

Toggle Details

Pan American Health Organization (PAHO)

Annotation: The Pan American Health Organization is an agency of the United Nations that works to promote health and prevent disease, to support country efforts to control or eradicate communicable diseases, to extend health services to underserved populations of its member countries, and to promote cooperation among governments in solving public health problems. The organization serves as the World Health Organization's regional office for the Americas. It sponsors conferences and seminars and publishes a catalog and a journal. Materials are available in Spanish, French, and Portuguese.

Web Site: http://new.paho.org

Keywords: Health education, Health promotion, International organizations

Toggle Details

Population Reference Bureau (PRB)

Annotation: The Population Reference Bureau (PRB) is a private, nonprofit organization that gathers, interprets, and disseminates information about population. The goal of the bureau is to increase awareness and understanding of population trends and their implications by presenting information that is reliable, unbiased, and up-to-date. Its audience includes legislators and public officials, teachers and students, the business community, and individuals with interest and concern about U.S. and world affairs. Publications include a catalog, a newsletter, a journal, and special reports. Materials are available in Spanish and French. The bureau also sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Web Site: http://www.prb.org

Keywords: Demography, Developing countries, International health, Statistics, Trends

Toggle Details

U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB)

Annotation: The Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB) is charged with primary responsibility for promoting and improving the health of our Nation's mothers and children. As part of the Health Resources and Services Administration, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, MCHB administers Title V of the Social Security Act. MCHB's mission is to provide national leadership and to work in partnership with States, communities, public-private partners, and families to strengthen the maternal and child infrastructure, assure the availability and use of medical homes, and build knowledge and human resources in order to assure continued improvement in the health, safety, and well-being of the maternal and child health population. MCHB administers major programs including the Maternal and Child Health Services Block Grant, the Healthy Start Initiative, the Emergency Medical Services for Children Program, Traumatic Brain Injury, and the Universal Newborn Hearing Screening Program. Services to consumers include referrals, publications, and reference information. MCHB also provides a national hotline for prenatal care information.

Web Site: http://www.mchb.hrsa.gov

Keywords: Adolescent health, Block grants, Brain injuries, Child health, Children with special health care needs, Emergency medical services for children, Federal agencies, Healthy Start, Hearing screening, Hotlines, Infant health, MCH programs, MCH services, Maternal health, Perinatal health, Title V programs

Toggle Details

UNICEF, the United Nation's Children's Fund

Annotation: UNICEF, the United Nation's Children's Fund, works with others around the globe to overcome the obstacles caused by poverty, violence, disease, and discrimination. UNICEF promotes immunization, works to prevent the spread of HIV/Aids among young people, promotes girls' education and gender equality, and advocates for children. Information by country, contained on the Web site, includes basic health indicators such as mortality and life expectancy; efforts in advocacy, education, and fundraising; and guidelines for becoming involved. UNICEF's Innocenti Research Centre helps to identify and research areas that are vital to the current and future work of the organization. A publications catalog is available online. Interested individuals are invited to subscribe to receive electronic news alerts.

Web Site: http://www.unicef.org

Keywords: Immunization, AIDS, Adolescents, Child advocacy, Child health, Developing countries, Fundraising, Gender discrimination, Health promotion, International health, Mortality, Preventive health services

Return to Previous Page | Go To Cross-Database Search | Advanced MCHLine® Search