Search the Databases

Search
Advanced Search

Site Tools

Partner Projects

 

Annotated Lists of Organizations on Key Topics in Maternal and Child Health

This list of 7 organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations online database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Library. To identify additional materials on this topic, search the Organizations database using our online search form.

The MCH Organizations Database lists government, professional, and voluntary organizations involved in maternal and child health activities, primarily at a national level. Information available to consumers is indicated where known.

Displaying 7 records.
Toggle Details

Association of SIDS and Infant Mortality Programs (ASIP)

Annotation: The Association of SIDS and Infant Mortality Programs (ASIP) is a multidisciplinary professional membership organization whose members provide community education, training programs, and consultation for health departments, hospitals, emergency responders, medical examiners and law enforcement.  The SIDS/ID professionals in ASIP (whose work addresses Sudden Infant Death Syndrome and Other Infant Death) represent a majority of the states, in many cases including the State SIDS/ID program director. ASIP provides national leadership to establish and promote policy and practice for professionals who respond to infant and child death and is committed to bereavement support, risk reduction and prevention services.

Web Site: http://www.asip1.org

Keywords: Infant health, Infant mortality, SIDS

Toggle Details

Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (NICHD)

Annotation: The Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (NICHD) -- renamed by Congress in 2008 in honor of the Institute's founder -- supports and conducts research on topics related to the health of children, adults, families, and populations. The mission of the NICHD is to ensure that every person is born healthy and wanted; that women suffer no harmful effects from reproductive processes; that all children have the chance to achieve their full potential for healthy and productive lives, free from disease or disability; and to ensure the health, productivity, independence, and well-being of all people through optimal rehabilitation. Areas of emphasis include: events that happen prior to and throughout pregnancy and childhood, including infertility, pre-term birth, birth defects, developmental disabilities, and human learning and behavior; human growth and development across the lifespan, including nutrition, developmental biology, and congenital diseases; reproductive health and education about reproductive practices, including disorders affecting fertility and infertility, contraception, and sexually transmitted diseases/HIV/AIDS; and medical rehabilitation interventions for those affected by disabilities, including technology and assistive-device development, intervention evaluation, and health promotion and prevention of disabilities. The Center for Research for Mothers and Children, the Center for Population Research, the National Center for Medical Rehabilitation Research, the Division of Epidemiology, Statistics, and Prevention Research, and the Division of Intramural Research comprise the NICHD. The Institute offers a wide range of materials for various audiences, from researchers to parents; many publications are available in Spanish.

Web Site: http://www.nichd.nih.gov

Keywords: Adolescent health, Child health, Congenital abnormalities, Infant health, Infant mortality, Maternal health, Medical research, Mental retardation, National Institutes of Health, Nutrition, Population dynamics, Publications, Reproductive health, Spanish language materials, Training

Toggle Details

March of Dimes (MOD)

Annotation: The March of Dimes (MOD) works to prevent birth defects and infant mortality through research, education, and advocacy programs. MOD's Pregnancy and Newborn Health Education Center provides information and referral services for the general public and professionals on topics such as preconception health, pregnancy, childbirth, genetics, and birth defects. MOD also produces educational materials on these and other topics such as prematurity, baby care, adolescent pregnancy, folic acid, nursing, and bereavement. A publications catalog is available, and some materials are available in Spanish. Anyone can subscribe to MOD's free electronic newsletter. MOD also sponsors the Prematurity Research Initiative, which provides funding for research into the causes of prematurity, and has developed PeriStats -- an online source for maternal, infant, and child health-related data at the state level and for many indicators at the county and national level (available at http://peristats.modimes.org/).

Web Site: http://www.marchofdimes.com

Keywords: Congenital abnormalities, Adolescent pregnancy, Advocacy, Childbirth education, Genetic disorders, Genetics education, Infant mortality, Information services, Medical research, Patient education, Prenatal care, Preterm birth, Professional education, Public awareness materials

Toggle Details

National Center for the Review and Prevention of Child Deaths

Annotation: The National Center for the Review and Prevention of Child Deaths is a national resource center to support efforts to understand why children die and to prevent child deaths. The center's services include providing technical assistance, training, and support to child death review (CDR) teams, creating CDR support resources and tools; establishing a national CDR report system; coordinating with other mortality and morbidity reviews; collaborating with state Title V programs; and promoting CDR to national public and private organizations. The center is a program of the Michigan Public Health Institute in collaboration with the University of Alabama Birmingham, and is supported in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. It was previously called the National MCH Center for Child Death Review.

Web Site: http://www.childdeathreview.org

Keywords: Child death review, National MCH resource center, Resource centers

Toggle Details

National Fetal and Infant Mortality Review Program (NFIMR)

Annotation: The National Fetal and Infant Mortality Review Program (NFIMR), a partnership between the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists and the federal Maternal and Child Health Bureau, provides technical assistance in many aspects of developing and carrying out fetal infant mortality review programs. It provides newsletters, manuals, a listserv, and other materials.

Web Site: http://www.nfimr.org

Keywords: Infant health, Conferences, Data analysis, Data collection, Federal programs, Fetal mortality, Infant mortality, Listservs, Mortality, Mortality rates, National MCH resource center, Neonatal mortality, Online systems, Perinatal mortality, Public private partnerships, Publications, Research, Resource centers, Spanish language materials, State programs, Statistics

Toggle Details

National Institute on Minority Health and Health Disparities (NCMHD)

Annotation: The National Institute on Minority Health and Health Disparities (NIMHD), a part of the National Institutes of Health, promotes minority health; conducts and supports research, training, and research infrastructure; fosters emerging programs; disseminates information; and reaches out to minority and other health disparity communities. Priorities for the institute are the social determinants of health, patient-centered outcomes research; faith-based approaches to health disparities; and improving the participation of health disparity populations in clinical trials.

Web Site: http://www.ncmhd.nih.gov

Keywords: Access to health care, Ethnic factors, Federal grants, Government programs, Health promotion, Information dissemination, Minority health, Model programs, Racial discrimination, Racial factors, Research, Sociocultural factors

Toggle Details

National SUID/SIDS Resource Center (NSIDRC)

Annotation: The National SUID/SIDS Resource Center (NSIDRC) provides information on sudden unexpected infant death (SUID), sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS), miscarriage, stillbirth, other infant death, and related topics. The center maintains computerized databases of technical literature, public awareness materials, and information on SIDS-related organizations to meet the needs of state SIDS programs, policymakers, researchers, health care providers, families, and the public. Publications include bibliographies, information sheets, and other educational materials. Some publications are available in Spanish. It was previously named the National Sudden and Unexpected Infant/Child Death and Pregnancy Loss Resource Center, National SIDS / Infant Death Resource Center and the National Sudden Infant Death Resource Center. NSIDRC is funded by the U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau.

Web Site: http://www.sidscenter.org/

Keywords: Infant health, Apnea, Bereavement, Infant mortality, Miscarriage, National MCH resource center, Online databases, Public awareness materials, Publications, Referrals, Resource centers, SIDS, Spanish language materials, State programs, Stillbirth, Technical assistance

Return to Previous Page | Go To Cross-Database Search | Advanced MCHLine® Search