Top Pages

A-Z Index (Resources & Services)

Resource Guides:
All | Families | Professionals | Schools | Non-English | Multimedia

MCH Alert Newsletter

Search

Top Pages
Home  ::  A - Z Index: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z   ::  Search

Environmental Health

Annotated Lists of Organizations on Key Topics in Maternal and Child Health

OrganizationsThis list of 42 organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations online database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Library. To identify additional materials on this topic, search the Organizations database using our online search form.

The MCH Organizations Database lists government, professional, and voluntary organizations involved in maternal and child health activities, primarily at a national level. Information available to consumers is indicated where known.

Displaying 42 records.

Allergy and Asthma Network/Mothers of Asthmatics (AAN/MA)

Annotation: The Allergy and Asthma Network/Mothers of Asthmatics, Inc. (AAN/MA) is a national nonprofit network of families working to overcome allergies and asthma. AANMA produces practical resources, educational materials, and programs to address the health and family needs of people with asthma and allergies. The organization provides reference information to consumers through its toll-free help line and publishes Allergy & Asthma Today magazine and the monthly newsletter MA Report. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Contact: 2751 Prosperity Avenue, Suite 150, Fairfax, VA 22031, Telephone: (800) 878-4403 Fax: (703) 573-7794 Web Site: http://www.aanma.org

Keywords: Allergies, Asthma, Respiratory diseases

more information

Alliance for Healthy Homes

Annotation: The Alliance for Healthy Homes, formerly the Alliance to End Childhood Lead Poisoning, is a Washington-based national public interest organization working to protect children from lead poisoning and other housing-related health hazards. The Alliance alerts the public to the problem of childhood lead poisoning, develops strategies for prevention, oversees federal programs, and regulates and informs health professionals and political leaders of its health risks and available remedies. Areas of emphasis include primary prevention—removing sources of lead and other hazardous substances in the environment before children are exposed—and expansion of blood screening programs to identify at-risk children. The alliance also works with grassroots groups for social justice in low-income communities, providing resources through its Community Environmental Health Resource Center (see http://www.cehrc.org). Services to consumers include publications and reference information. Publications include a newsletter. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Contact: 630 I Street, Suite 300, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 580-7208 Web Site: http://www.afhh.org/ E-mail: afhh@afhh.org

Keywords: Lead, Lead poisoning

more information

Allies Against Asthma (AAA)

Annotation: Allies Against Asthma (AAA) is a national initiative aimed at improving asthma control for children and adolescents. The program provides support to seven community-based coalitions to develop, implement, and sustain comprehensive asthma management programs that include improved access to and quality of medical services, education, family and community support, and environmental and policy initiatives. The program is funded by the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation. AAA responds to inquiries, provides technical assistance, and posts numerous Web resources and links to other programs.

Contact: University of Michigan School of Public Health, 109 South Observatory Street, Ann Arbor, MI 48109-2029, Telephone: (734) 615-3312 Fax: (734) 763-9115 Web Site: http://www.asthma.umich.edu E-mail: asthma@umich.edu

Keywords: Adolescents, Asthma, Children, Coalitions, Community programs, Online databases

more information

American Academy of Allergy, Asthma and Immunology (AAAAI)

Annotation: The American Academy of Allergy, Asthma, and Immunology (AAAAI) is a professional society of physicians specializing in allergy, asthma, and allergic diseases. The Academy enhances and supports allergy/immunology programs; fosters and disseminates research; provides advocacy and support for patients and the allergy/immunology specialists who provide their care; and provides education and information for members, other healthcare professionals, patients and the public. Publications include brochures, allergy guides, and online tip sheets. Local pollen counts for trees, weeds, grass, and mold are also provided online through The National Allergy Bureau™ -- the section of the AAAAI's Aeroallergen Network that is responsible for reporting current pollen and mold spore levels to the public.

Contact: 555 East Wells Street, Suite 1100, Milwaukee, WI 53202-3823, Telephone: (414) 272-6071 Web Site: http://www.aaaai.org E-mail: Info@aaaai.org

Keywords: Allergies, Asthma, Immunologic diseases, Respiratory diseases

more information

American Academy of Environmental Medicine (AAEM)

Annotation: Previously known as the Society for Clinical Ecology, the group was founded in 1965 and is an international association of physicians and other professional interested in the clinical aspects of human ecology. The Academy is interested in expanding the knowledge of interactions between human individuals and their environment, as these may be demonstrated to be reflected in their total health. The Academy is comprised primarily of medical professionals who sponsor publications, seminars, and courses. A newsletter and journal are among the organization's publications.

Contact: 6505 East Central Ave.,#296, Wichita, KS 67206, Telephone: (316) 684-5500 Fax: (316) 684-5709 Web Site: http://www.aaem.com/ E-mail: administrator@aaemonline.org

Keywords: Environmental medicine

more information

American Association of Poison Control Centers (AAPCC)

Annotation: The American Association of Poison Control Centers (AAPCC) is a professional organization for poison control centers and individuals involved in clinical toxicology and poison prevention. Association activities include maintaining the nationwide toll-free number (800/222-1222) which reaches all U.S. Poison Centers. Other activities include an annual scientific meeting, certification specialists, data collection, and toxicosurveillance. AAPCC provides access to the New Core System Database (NCSBeta) -- a comprehensive poisoning surveillance database -- and annual reports (summaries) of data from the National Poisoning and Exposure Database -- which contains detailed toxicological information on more than 24 million poison exposures reported to U.S. poison centers.from 1983-2006.

Contact: 515 King Street, Suite 510, Alexandria, VA 22314, Telephone: (703) 894-1858 24-hour info line: (800) 222-1222 Fax: (703) 683-2812 Web Site: http://www.aapcc.org E-mail: info@aapcc.org

Keywords: Certification, Emergency medical services, Hotlines, Poison control centers, Poisons, Population surveillance, Prevention, Public awareness campaigns, Publications, Resource centers, Toxicology

more information

American Cancer Society (ACS)

Annotation: The American Cancer Society (ACS) is a nationwide community-based voluntary health organization dedicated to eliminating cancer as a major health problem by preventing cancer, saving lives, and diminishing suffering from cancer through research, education, advocacy, and service. The society provides educational materials and information for patients, their families, and professionals. Some publications are available in Spanish and in Asian languages (Chinese, Korean, and Vietnamese).

Contact: 250 Williams Street, N.W., Atlanta, GA 30303, Telephone: (800) 227-2345 TTY: (866) 228-4327 Fax: (404) 315-9348 Web Site: http://www.cancer.org

Keywords: Cancer, Information sources, Medical research, Public awareness materials

more information

American Lung Association (ALA)

Annotation: The American Lung Association (ALA) is a voluntary health organization dedicated to the prevention, cure, and control of all types of lung disease through public health education, advocacy, and research. ALA monitors air quality and reports trends related to environmental health issues. Publications include The American Lung Association Family Guide to Asthma and Allergies, 7 Steps to a Smoke-Free Life, and Residential Air Cleaning Devices: Types, Effectiveness and Health Impact. Some publications are available in Spanish. The Web site contains the State Tobacco Cessation Coverage Database, which provides state-by-state information about Medicaid and other cessation coverage and quitlines.

Contact: 61 Broadway, Sixth Floor, New York, NY 10006, Telephone: (212) 315-8700 Secondary Telephone: (800) LUNG-USA Fax: (212) 265-5642 Web Site: http://www.lungusa.org E-mail: info@lungusa.org

Keywords: Asthma, Infants, Public health education, Lung diseases, Prevention, Respiratory distress syndrome, SIDS, Smoking during pregnancy

more information

American Public Health Association (APHA)

Annotation: The American Public Health Association (APHA) is the oldest and largest organization of public health professionals in the world, representing members from a broad array of occupations in public health. APHA brings together researchers, health service providers, administrators, teachers, and other health workers in a multidisciplinary environment of professional exchange, study, and action. APHA is concerned with a broad set of issues affecting personal and environmental health, including federal and state funding for health programs, pollution control, programs and policies related to chronic and infectious diseases, a smoke-free society, and professional education in public health. The association actively serves the public, its members, and the public health profession through its scientific programs, publications, annual meeting, awards program, educational service, and advocacy efforts. Its Web site includes a wide variety of resources, including the Community Solutions to Health Disparities database. Publications include the monthly American Journal of Public Health, manuals, directories, books, pamphlets, and a newspaper, The Nation's Health. Services to consumers include referrals, reference information, and access to searchable databases.

Contact: 800 I Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20001-3710, Telephone: (202) 777-APHA Secondary Telephone: (202) 777-2500 Fax: (202) 777-2534 Web Site: http://www.apha.org E-mail: comments@apha.org

Keywords: Access to health care, Community programs, Consumer education, Environmental health, Guidelines, Health promotion, Information sources, Mental health, Minority health, Model programs, Professional societies, Program evaluation, Public health, Publications, Standards

more information

Association of Occupational and Environmental Clinics (AOEC)

Annotation: The Association of Occupational and Environmental Clinics (AOEC) was established to enhance the practice of occupational and environmental medicine through information sharing, education, and research. AOEC -- which is now a network of more than 60 clinics and 250 individuals -- works with communities to address their environmental health concerns and is a resource for patient referrals from other agencies. It administers the Pediatric Environmental Health Specialty Units Program to address the special needs of children and their families regarding environmental health concerns. It develops curriculum materials in environmental health and sponsors CME programs for clinicians and other health professionals. The Web site offers epidemiology tools, educational resources, training opportunities, and links.

Contact: 1010 Vermont Avenue, N.W., Suite 513, Washington, DC 20005`, Telephone: (202) 347-4976 toll free: (888) 347-2632 Fax: (202) 347-4950 Web Site: http://www.aoec.org E-mail: aoec@aoec.org

Keywords: Child health, Cllinics, Environmental health, Occupational safety and health, Professional societies, Professional training

more information

Association of State and Territorial Health Officials (ASTHO)

Annotation: The Association of State and Territorial Health Officials (ASTHO) is a non-profit association that represents the public health agencies of the U.S. and territories and is engaged in a wide range of legislative, scientific, educational, and programmatic issues and activities on behalf of public health. Its mission is to formulate and influence sound national public health policy and to service state health departments in the development and implementation of programs and policies to promote heath and prevent disease. Program areas include access, infectious disease, preparedness, standards, workforce development, environmental health, public health informatics, state health services, accreditation and performance, and prevention and health promotion. Services to consumers include publications, newsletters (including the electronic Primary Care and Prevention Network News), and reference information. The Web site includes resources on evidence-based public health interventions and links to each state's public health department.

Contact: 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org

Keywords: Access to health care, Advocacy, Conferences, Health promotion, Information services, Information sources, Legislation, Policy development, Program development, Program evaluation, Public Health, Public Policies, Public health infrastructure, Public health programs, Publications, State programs

more information

Campaign for Tobacco-Free Kids

Annotation: The Campaign for Tobacco-Free Kids, an initiative sponsored through partnerships with health, education, medical, civic, corporate, youth, and religious organizations, strives to reduce tobacco addiction and exposure to second hand smoke among children. The campaign's goals are to change public policy regarding tobacco at the federal, state, and local government level; to counter tobacco industry marketing to youth; and to increase the number of organizations and individuals supporting efforts to fight tobacco use. Information is provided on federal, state, and global initiatives aimed at reducing tobacco use. State statistics on tobacco usage and tobacco related deaths, samples of tobacco advertisements and statistics on industry advertising costs, and news reports on tobacco-related studies and legislation are available through the organization's Web site. Fact sheets, special reports, and information on tobacco political action committee contributions are also provided through the campaign's research center.

Contact: National Center for Tobacco-Free Kids, 1400 Eye Street, Suite 1200, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 296-5469 Fax: (202) 296-5427 Web Site: http://www.tobaccofreekids.org E-mail: info@tobaccofreekids.org

Keywords: Adolescent health, Child health, Media campaigns, Pubic policies, Statistics, Tobacco use

more information

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)

Annotation: The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), a part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, is the primary Federal agency responsible for conducting and supporting public health activities in the United States, including the prevention and control of infecious and chronic disease. The primary goals of the agency are to reduce health risks during every stage of life; spearhead efforts to improve global health; ensure that the places people live, work, and play have safe, healthy environments; and prepare for emerging health threats from mental health to environmental health. CDC´s top organizational components include the Office of the Director, the National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health, and six coordinating Centers/Offices: The Coordinating Center for Environmental Health and Injury Prevention (CCEHIP), the Coordinating Center for Health Information Service (CCHIS); the Coordinating Center for Health Promotion (CoCHP)); the Coordinating Center for Infectious Diseases (CCID); the Coordinating Office for Global Health (COGH); and the Coordinating Office for Terrorism Preparedness and Emergency Response (COTPER). The Public Inquiries Office responds to inquiries in the areas of preventive medicine, immunization, disease control, and health education. Services to consumers include referrals, publications and reference information. The Web site covers a wide range of health & safety topics, including diseases & conditions, emergency rpeparedness, environmental health, life stages & populations, healthy living, injury and violence; travelers' health, and workplace health and safety. Also included are links to data and statistics, onlineaccess to CDC's journals and other publications; and tools & resources such as an image library, podcasts, and a Body Mass Index (BMI0 calculator. A Spanish-language version of the Web site is available, and some materials are available in Spanish, French, Asian languages and other languages. CDC also sponsors conferences, training seminars and workshops. I

Contact: 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30333, Telephone: (404) 639-3534 Secondary Telephone: (800) 311-3435 Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov E-mail: cdc@cdcinfo.gov

Keywords: Adolescents, Data analysis, Data collection, Disease prevention, Environmental health, Federal agencies, Guidelines, Health education, Health promotion, Immunization, Listservs, Nutrition, Occupational safety and health, Online databases, Population surveillance, Preventive health services, Publications, Safety, Spanish language materials, Standards, Technical assistance, Training

more information

Children's Environmental Health Network (CEHN)

Annotation: The Children's Environmental Health Network (CEHN) is a national non-profit organization dedicated to addressing pediatric environmental health concerns. In its ongoing efforts to promote a healthy environment, and to protect the fetus and child from environmental hazards, CEHN curently focuses on the key areas of chemical-safe policy; global climate change and children's health; education and training (for child care and health care providers, and the general public); and support for pediatric research and protective policies. A variety of materials, including a resource guide, are available on the Web site. Workshops and professional educational modules are available.

Contact: 110 Maryland Avenue, N.E., #505, Washington, DC 20002, Telephone: (202) 543-4033 Fax: (202) 543-8797 Web Site: http://www.cehn.org E-mail: cehn@cehn.org

Keywords: Environmental health, Training

more information

Healthy Child Healthy World

Annotation: Healthy Child Healthy World (formerly the Children's Health Environmental Coalition) is dedicated to protecting the health and well being of children from harmful environmental exposures. The organization works to educate parents, support protective policies, and engage communities in making responsible decisions and well-informed lifestyle improvements to create healthy environments where children and families can flourish. Healthy Child Healthy World provides a variety on online resources, including environmental-safety checklists, articles describing preventive techniques, downloadable reports (many related to organic lifestyle choices), a community action kit, a blog featuring recognized health experts and highlighting news and events, an electronic newsletter, links to searchable databases, and Health eHouse -- an interactive virtual house designed to make it easier for families to identify environmental health hazards in the home.

Contact: 12300 Wilshire Boulevard, Suite 320, Los Angeles, CA 90025, Telephone: (310) 820-2030 Fax: (310) 820-2070 Web Site: http://www.healthychild.org

Keywords: Child health, Environmental health, Household safety, Public awareness campaigns, Teratogens, Teratology, Toxicology

more information

Indoor Air Quality Information Clearinghouse (IAQ INFO)

Annotation: The Indoor Air Quality Information Clearinghouse provides information, referrals, and publications. Topics include asthma molds and moisture, radon, smoke-free homes and cars, environmental-health tools for schools, carbon monoxide, greenbuildings, disaster response, and related areas. Publications can be ordered through the Clearinghouse or downloaded from the Wed site. Some materials are available in Spanish and Asian languages.

Contact: EPA/Office of Radiation and Indoor Air, P.O. Box 37133, Washington, DC 20013-7133, Telephone: (202) 343-9370 Information hotline: (800)438-4318 Fax: 301/604-3408 (ordering) Web Site: http://www.epa.gov/iaq/ E-mail: nscep@bps-LMI.T.com

Keywords: Air pollution, Smoke

more information

Institute for Children's Environmental Health

Annotation: The Institute for Children's Environmental Health (ICEH), founded in 1999, is a nonprofit educational organization working to ensure a healthy, just and sustainable future for all children and the planet. ICEH's primary mission is to foster collaborative initiatives to reduce and ultimately eliminate environmental exposures that can undermine the health of current and future generations. The Web site includes a searchable database of resources, including books, videos, magazines, consumer guides, and websites for researchers, parents, health care providers, lawmakers, consumers and others.

Contact: 1646 Dow Road, Freeland, WA 98249, Telephone: (360) 331-7904 Fax: (360) 331-7908 Web Site: http://www.iceh.org E-mail: iceh@iceh.org

Keywords: Child health, Collaboration, Environmental exposure, Environmental health

more information

March of Dimes (MOD)

Annotation: The March of Dimes (MOD) works to prevent birth defects and infant mortality through research, education, and advocacy programs. MOD's Pregnancy and Newborn Health Education Center provides information and referral services for the general public and professionals on topics such as preconception health, pregnancy, childbirth, genetics, and birth defects. MOD also produces educational materials on these and other topics such as prematurity, baby care, adolescent pregnancy, folic acid, nursing, and bereavement. A publications catalog is available, and some materials are available in Spanish. Anyone can subscribe to MOD's free electronic newsletter. MOD also sponsors the Prematurity Research Initiative, which provides funding for research into the causes of prematurity, and has developed PeriStats -- an online source for maternal, infant, and child health-related data at the state level and for many indicators at the county and national level (available at http://peristats.modimes.org/).

Contact: 1275 Mamaroneck Avenue, White Plains, NY 10605, Telephone: (914) 997-4488 Web Site: http://www.marchofdimes.com

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Advocacy, Childbirth education, Congenital abnormalities, Genetic disorders, Genetics education, Infant mortality, Information services, Medical research, Patient education, Prenatal care, Preterm birth, Professional education, Public awareness materials

more information

Mesothelioma Center

Annotation: The Mesothelioma Center provides information on asbestos, mesothelioma, and other cancers that are associated with asbestos exposure. The center's Web site provides news and information on asbestos issues ranging from occupational exposure to mesothelioma treatment options. The site covers prevention, symptoms, diagnosis, treatment, and legal issues. It includes an overview on the use of asbestos-containing construction materials in schools, including increased risks to children.

Contact: 3208 Colonial Drive, Suite 180, Orlando, FL 32803, Telephone: (407) 965-5755 Fax: (866) 543-2270 Web Site: http://www.asbestos.com/ E-mail: webmaster@asbestos.com

Keywords: Asbestos, Cancer, Child health, Environmental exposure, Environmental health, Hazardous materials, School health

more information

Motherisk

Annotation: The Motherisk Program answers questions from women and health professionals who are concerned about potential reproductive risks from exposure to drugs, chemicals, radiation, and infections during pregnancy and lactation. A telephone service handles questions about uncomplicated exposures. The service primarily receives inquiries from Ontario but will answer those from any center in Canada or the United States. Motherisk also offers three topic specific hotlines: Morning sickness, (800) 436-8477; HIV Healthline and Network, (888) 246-5840; Alcohol and Substance Use Line, (877) 327-I4636. The program also publishes a newsletter.

Contact: c/o Hospital for Sick Children, 555 University Avenue, Toronto, Ontario, Canada M5G 1X8, Telephone: (416) 813-6780 Web Site: http://www.motherisk.org

Keywords: Alcohol abuse, Canada, Drug use during pregnancy, Gynecology, High risk pregnancy, Hotlines, Lactation, Maternal fetal exchange, Nausea, Obstetrics, Occupational safety and health, Pregnancy, Public health, Publications, Reproductive hazards, Reproductive health, Substance abuse, Teratogens, Teratology, Vomiting

more information

National Association of County and City Health Officials (NACCHO)

Annotation: The National Association of County and City Health Officials (NACCHO) is a national nonprofit organization representing local health departments. NACCHO supports efforts that protect and improve the health of all people and all communities by promoting national policy, developing resources and programs, seeking health equity, and supporting effective local public health practice and systems. Supported by numerous federal agencies, as well as private foundations, NACCHO provides education, information, research, and technical assistance to local, state, and federal agencies in order to promote and strengthen public health. Programs and activities focus on community health (including maternal and child health, mental health, and chronic disease), environmental health (including community-based environmental halth assessments), infectious disease, public health infrastructure sand systems, and public health preparedness. NACCHO supports a number of demonstration sites; provides information on funding opportunities; develops referral networks; promotes health equity and social justice; and provides workforce development and training services. Services are provided primarily to members, and include newsletters and numerous other publications,, an annual conference, legislative updates, and listservs on topics such as immunization, community health, and maternal and child health. A model practices database lists model and promising programs around the country.

Contact: 1100 17th Street, N.W., Second Floor, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 783-5550 Fax: (202) 783-1583 Web Site: http://www.naccho.org E-mail: info@naccho.org

Keywords: Counties, Federal agencies, Health officials, Health promotion, Information services, Information sources, Leadership training, Listservs, Local initiatives, Program descriptions, Public health, Public private partnerships, Publications, Research, State agencies, Technical assistance

more information

National Cancer Institute (NCI)

Annotation: The National Cancer Institute's (NCI's) Web site Cancer.gov provides accurate, up-to-date information on many types of cancer, information on clinical trials, resources for people dealing with cancer, and information for researchers and health professionals. NCI offers referrals, inquiry responses, publications (including fact sheets, news updates, a journal, and an online catalog), reference information, searchable databases, and training seminars. Some materials are available in Spanish and Asian languages.

Contact: 6116 Executive Boulevard, MSC 8322, Room 3036A, Bethesda, MD 20892-8322, Telephone: (800) 422-6237 TTY: (800) 332-8615 Fax: (301) 402-0555 Web Site: http://www.cancer.gov

Keywords: Cancer, Government financing, Medical research, Online databases

more information

National Center for Environmental Health (NCEH)

Annotation: The National Center for Environmental Health (NCEH), a component of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), strives to promote health and quality of life by preventing or controlling those diseases or deaths that result from interactions between people and their environment. Programs and campaigns include vessel sanitation, healthy places, poisoning prevention, and air pollution and resipratory health. Information is also provided on asthma and emergency response. Services to consumers include referrals, reference information and publications, including a newsletter. The center also sponsor conferences and training seminars and workshops. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Contact: 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30333, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 TTY: (888) 232-6348 Fax: (770) 488-7015 Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/nceh E-mail: cdcinfo@cdc.gov

Keywords: Congenital abnormalities, Data, Developmental disabilities, Environmental health, Environmental influences, Government financing, Hazardous materials, Injury prevention, Lead poisoning, Medical research, Reproductive hazards, Teratology

more information

National Center for Healthy Housing (NCHH)

Annotation: The National Center for Healthy Housing (NCHH), formerly the National Center for Lead-Safe Housing, develops and promotes methods to protect children from residential environmental hazards while preserving the supply of affordable housing. The center not only works to reduce children's risk of lead poisoning, but also aims to decrease children's exposure to other hazards in the home, including allergens and irritants associated with asthma. NCHH sponsors research on methods to reduce residential environmental hazards and seeks to find scientifically valid and practical strategies that make homes safe from these hazards. The center offers technical assistance and training to individuals, government agencies, nonprofit organizations, and others interested in lead poisoning prevention and methods for lead hazard control. NCHH publishes a free quarterly e-newsletter and has developed a variety of downloadable publications on topics related to healthy housing, including lead hazard control and prevention. Through its National Healthy Housing Clearinghouse, the Center maintains a searchable database of over 600 documents on lead and healthy housing topics.

Contact: 10320 Little Patuxent Parkway, Suite 500, Columbia, MD 21044, Telephone: (410) 992-0712 Secondary Telephone: (877) 312-3046 Fax: (443) 539-4150 Web Site: http://www.centerforhealthyhousing.org E-mail: rmorley@centerforhealthyhousing.org

Keywords: Asthma, Chemicals, Environmental health, Lead poisoning, Preventive health services, Public health, Research, Technical assistance

more information

National Children's Study

Annotation: The National Children's Study is a federal collaboration to examine the effects of environmental influences on the health and development of more than 100,000 children across the United States, following them from before birth until age 21. The study is national in scope -- including children and families from different areas of the country, from varied backgrounds, and of different family types to allow investigation of issues important to the diverse U.S. population. The study defines “environment” broadly and will take a number of issues into account, including natural and man-made environment factors, biological and chemical factors, physical surroundings, social factors, genetics, and geography. The Web site provides progress updates and meeting announcements, links to related publications and adjunct studies, details of the study (including research methodology), and a list of study centers. The ultimate goal of the study is to improve the health and well-being of children. Participating government agencies include the National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (NICHD), the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), and the National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences (NIEHS)

Contact: 6100 Executive Boulevard, Room 5C01, Rockville, MD 20892-7510, Telephone: (301) 594-9147 Fax: (301) 480-1222 Web Site: http://www.nationalchildrensstudy.gov E-mail: NCS@mail.nih.gov

Keywords: Collaboration, Research, Child health, Data collection, Environmental health, Federal programs

more information

National Environmental Health Association (NEHA)

Annotation: The National Environmental Health Association (NEHA) is a professional society for environmental health practitioners. NEHA sponsors a viarety of national credential programs; conducts conferences and workshops; supports professional continuing education; and distributes a variety of educational materials related to environmental health. The association publishes the Journal of Environmental Health, issued 10 times annually.

Contact: 720 South Colorado Boulevard, Suite 1000-N, Denver, CO 80246, Telephone: (303) 756-9090 Fax: (303) 691-9490 Web Site: http://www.neha.org E-mail: staff@ncha.org

Keywords: Environmental health, Professional societies

more information

National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute Health Information Center (NHLBI)

Annotation: The National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute (NHLBI) Health Information Center is a federal information and referral resource that responds to inquiries and disseminates information and publications on cholesterol, high blood pressure, asthma, heart disease, exercise, obesity, sleep disorders, stroke, sarcoidosis, and Raynaud's phenomenon. Some materials are available in Spanish. Clinical practice guidelines for health professionals are available on high blood cholesterol, high blood pressure, asthma, and obesity. Serial publications include HeartMemo, which provides program updates for health professionals about cholesterol, high blood pressure, and heart attack, and AsthmaMemo, which describes the activities of the National Asthma Education and Prevention Program. Publications can be accessed using the online catalog or ordered from NHLB in print format.

Contact: P.O. Box 30105, Bethesda, MD 20824-0105, Telephone: (301) 592-8573 TTY: (240) 629-3255 Fax: (301) 592-8563 Web Site: http://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health/infoctr/index.htm E-mail: NHLBIinfo@nhlbi.nih.gov

Keywords: Asthma, Blood and lymphatic diseases, Blood pressure disorders, Cardiovascular diseases, Heart diseases, Hematologic diseases, Hypertension, Information dissemination, Lung diseases, Respiratory diseases, Smoking

more information

National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH)

Annotation: The National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH) is the federal agency responsible for conducting research and making recommendations for the prevention of work-related injury and illness. NIOSH responds to inquiries from consumers for referrals and reference information and provides technical assistance for its research programs. Publications include an electronic newsletter, a science blog, and a variety of downloadable brochures and other documents (many materials are available in Spanish). The Institute also maintains a listserv and sponsors conferences, workshops, and training seminars.

Contact: Patriots Plaza Building, 395 East Street, S.W., Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 TTY: 888-232-6348 Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/niosh/homepage.html E-mail: cdcinfo@cdc.org

Keywords: Agricultural injuries, Data, Environmental exposure, Federal initiatives, Injury prevention, Occupational safety and health, Prenatal care, Public education, Regulations, Reproductive hazards, Reproductive health, Resources for professionals, Women's health, Workplace health promotion

more information

National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences (NIEHS)

Annotation: The National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences (NIEHS) works to reduce the burden of human illness and disability by understanding how the environment nfluences the development and proression of human disease. NIEHS publishes the peer-reviewed journal Environmental Health Perspectives and provides online access to downloadable resources such as studies and eports. The NIEHS Library maintains a searchable online catalog and provides links to consumer health materials and resources for researchers. Some materials are available in Spanish and Chinese.

Contact: P.O. Box 12233 , MD NH-10, Research Triangle Park, NC 27709, Telephone: (919)541-3345 Fax: (919)541-4395 Web Site: http://www.niehs.nih.gov/

Keywords: Chemicals, Environmental health, Information services, Lead poisoning, Medical research, Public health, Toxicology

more information

National Library of Medicine, Toxicology and Environmental Health Information Program (TEHIP)

Annotation: The National Library of Medicine'sToxicology and Environmental Health Information Program (TEHIP) maintains an environmental health Web site that provides access to resources produced by TEHIP as well as other governrment agencies and organizations. The Web site includes links to databases, bibliographies, tutorials, and other scientific and consumer-oriented resources. Via the TEHIP site, users can also access TOXNET, an integrated system of toxicology and environmental health databases available for searching free-of-charge. Other toxicology and environmental health-related web resources available from TEHIP include the Households Products Database, HazMap (an occupational toxicology database), ToxMap (which uses U.S. maps to show the location of toxic chemicals), and Tox Town -- an interactive guide to commonly encountered toxic substances, your health, and the environment. Online reference tools guide users through the various components of the TEHIP site.

Contact: Specialized Information Services, 6707 Democracy Plaza, MSC 5467, Bethesda, MD 20892-5467, Telephone: (301) 496-1131 Secondary Telephone: (888) FINDNLM Fax: (301) 480-3537 Web Site: http://sis.nlm.nih.gov/enviro.html E-mail: tehip@teh.nlm.nih.gov

Keywords: Environmental exposure, Environmental health, Environmental influences, Environmental pollution, Hazardous materials, Health sciences libraries, Information dissemination, Information services, Information sources, Online databases, Toxicology

more information

National Safety Council (NSC)

Annotation: Founded in 1913, the National Safety Council (NSC) is a federally chartered nonprofit organization whose mission is to protect life and promote health. NSC sponsors many conferences which address safety and health issues in the workplace, at home, on the road, in schools, and through both work and leisure activities. The National Safety Council works with public and private sectors, providing training programs that focus on first aid and occupational health and safety, outreach and educational activities, public service efforts and consulting, and through educational materials including Safety and Health and Family Safety & Health magazines and The Journal of Safety Research. NSC maintains a library and provides materials for educators, professionals, children, and the general public covering topics such as air quality, climate change, hazardous chemicals, radioactive waste, and children's environmental health.

Contact: 1121 Spring Lake Drive, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 285-1121 Secondary Telephone: (800) 621-7619 Fax: (630) 285-1315 Web Site: http://www.nsc.org E-mail: info@nsc.org

Keywords: Health promotion, Injury prevention, Occupational safety and health, Traffic safety, Transportation injuries

more information

National Toxicology Program (NTP)

Annotation: The National Toxicology Program (NTP) is a federal interagency program whose mission is to evaluate agents of public health concern by developing and applying tools of modern toxicology and molecular biology. The program maintains an objective, science-based approach in dealing with critical issues in toxicology and is committed to using the best science available to prioritize, design, conduct, and interpret its studies. The Web site provides information on the testing status of agents at NTP, study results, public health reports, and current areas of research.

Contact: National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences, P.O. Box 12233, MD EC-31, Research Triangle Park, NC 27709, Telephone: (919) 541-0530 Web Site: http://ntp.niehs.nih.gov

Keywords: Environmental health, Federal programs, Public health, Toxicology

more information

NTP Center for the Evaluation of Risks to Human Reproduction (CERHR)

Annotation: The NTP Center for the Evaluation of Risks to Human Reproduction was created in 1998 to serve as an environmental health resource to the public and to regulatory and health agencies. It was established by the National Toxicology Program and the National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences. The Center provides scientifically-based, uniform assessments of the potential for adverse effects on reproduction and development caused by agents to which humans may be exposed. This is accomplished through rigorous evaluations of the scientific literature by independent panels of scientists.

Contact: National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences, NIEHS- EC-32, P. O. Box 12233, MD K2-04, Research Triangle Park, NC 27709, Telephone: (919) 541-5021 Fax: (919) 316-4511 Web Site: http://cerhr.niehs.nih.gov E-mail: shelby@niehs.nih.gov

Keywords: Congenital abnormalities, Environmental exposure, Infertility, Reproductive hazards, Reproductive health

more information

Partnership for Children's Health and the Environment

Annotation: The Partnership for Children's Health and the Environment -- a project of the Insitute for Children's Environmental Health -- is a North American coalition with over 275 individual and organizational members representing government, medical, academic, and community-based groups committed to building a strong, sustainable movement to protect current and future generations from harmful environmental exposures. The partnership seeks to highlight environmental health initiatives, encourage collaboration, and prevent duplication of efforts. The partnership has drafted and adopted the Guilding Principles for Children's Environmental Health, which are posted on the Web site along with consensus statements and other collaborative initiatives. The Partnership Web site posts biweekly news bulletins, provides summaries of children's environmental health news, and maintains a searchable database of members.

Contact: Institute for Children's Environmental Health, 1646 Dow Road, Freeland, WA 98249, Telephone: (360) 331-7904 Fax: (360) 331-7908 Web Site: http://www.partnersforchildren.org/ E-mail: emiller@iceh.org

Keywords: Child health, Coalitions, Environmental health

more information

Physicians for Social Responsibility (PSR)

Annotation: Physicians for Social Responsibility (PSR) is a public policy organization representing the medical and public health professions and concerned citizens working for a healthful environment. PSR uses medical data to inform public policy on the topics of nuclear weapons, air pollution, children's environmental health, global warming, safe drinking water, toxics and health, and chronic disease and the environment.

Contact: 1875 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Suite 1012, Washington, DC 20009, Telephone: (202) 667-4260 Fax: (202) 667-4201 Web Site: http://www.psr.org E-mail: psrnatl@psr.org

Keywords: Chemicals, Environmental health, Gun violence, Hazardoud materials, Public policies, Weapons

more information

Reproductive Toxicology Center (RTC)

Annotation: The Reproductive Toxicology Center (RTC), a nonprofit foundation, collects and disseminates information on the impact of drugs, chemical and physical agents, or other environmental factors on human fertility, pregnancy, and development. Unlimited access to our computerized database REPROTOX is available with an annual membership. Members can access REPROTOX on the Internet at http://reprotox.org and can download the database to their handheld devices.

Contact: 2710 Daniel Road, Chevy Chase, MD 20815-3151, Telephone: (301) 514-3081 Fax: (301) 907-6827 Web Site: http://reprotox.org E-mail: reprotox@reprotox.org

Keywords: Drug use during pregnancy, Environmental exposures, Fertility, Information services, Nonprescription drugs, Prescription drugs, Radiation, Recreational drug use, Teratogens, Teratology, Toxicology

more information

Teratology Society

Annotation: The Teratology Society supports researchers in the emerging field of teratology through conferences, symposia, and publications. The Society produces Birth Defects Reserch (formerly known asTeratology), a monthly international journal of abnormal development. The Society offers education courses, symposia, and workshops during the annual meeting held in June each year.

Contact: 1821Michael Farraday Drive, Suite 300, Reston, VA 20190, Telephone: (703) 438-3104 Fax: (703) 438-3113 Web Site: http://www.teratology.org E-mail: tshq@teratology.org

Keywords: Developmental disabilities, Teratogens, Teratology

more information

Trust for America's Health

Annotation: The Trust for America's Health is a national nonprofit organization whose mission is to protect the health and safety of communities from current and emerging health threats by strengthening the fundamentals of public health protective measures. The trust advocates for policies that ensure vigorous prevention and intervention of diseases for all communities; develops tools to help reduce current health threats, and works to ensure better access to the information needed to understand and fight the nation's health threats. The trust offers state-specific health tracking tools along with fact sheets, reports, surveys, case studies, legislation, and testimony related to today's environmental health issues. The trust publishes an occasional newsletter, sends e-mail updates, and posts a variety of Web resources.

Contact: 1707 H Street, N.W., Seventh Floor, Washington, DC 20006, Telephone: (202) 223-9870 Fax: (202) 223-9871 Web Site: http://healthyamericans.org E-mail: info@tfah.org

Keywords: Advocacy, Data, Environmental health, Health promotion, Information dissemination, Legislation, Prevention, Public health

more information

U.S. Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry (ATSDR)

Annotation: The Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry (ATSDR) is the federal agency responsible for preventing exposure to, and adverse human health effects and diminished quality of life associated with exposure to, hazardous substances from waste sites, unplanned releases, and other sources of pollution present in the environment. ATSDR is directed by Congressional mandate to perform specific functions concerning the effect on public health of hazardous substances in the environment. These functions include public health assessments of waste sites, health consultations concerning specific hazardous substances, health surveillance and registries, response to emergency releases of hazardous substances, applied research in support of public health assessments, information development and dissemination, and education and training concerning hazardous substances. The agency publishes fact sheets and toxicological profiles on numerous hazardous substances. Their Web site includes materials about children living near hazardous waste sites and an extensive glossary of terms related to hazardous materials; a Spanish language version of the Web site is available.

Contact: 4770 Buford Hwy., NE, Mailstop F-61, Atlanta, GA 30341, Telephone: (888) 232-6348 CDC Info: (800) 232-4636 Fax: (770) 488-3377 Web Site: http://www.atsdr.cdc.gov E-mail: atsdric@cdc.gov

Keywords: Environmental health, Environmental pollution, Hazardous materials, Spanish language materials

more information

U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development, Office of Healthy Homes and Lead Hazard Control (OHHLHC)

Annotation: The Office of Healthy Homes and Lead Hazard Control (OHHLHC) was established in 1991 by the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development in a concerted effort to eliminate lead-based paint hazards in America's privately-owned and low-income housing. Since then, the initiative has expanded to address equally hazardous household conditions. HHLHC operates a Healthy Homes program that focuses on research and demonstration projects addressing multiple housing-related problems affecting the health of children and families; offers technical assistance, evaluation, and outreach programs; and develops regulations, guidelines, and policies. Program information is disseminated via print and broadcast media, conferences and exhibits, and the Internet.

Contact: 451 Seventh Street, S.W., Washington, DC 20410, Telephone: (202) 708-1112 TTY: (202) 708-1455 Web Site: http://www.hud.gov/offices/lead

Keywords: Environmental health, Housing, Lead poisoning, Prevention programs

more information

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)

Annotation: The Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) works to protect the natural environment -- air, water, and land -- and to preserve human health in the process. The EPA develops and enforces regulations, offers financial assistance to state environmental programs, conducts research, and sponsors voluntary partnerships and programs through its regional offices. Through its Office of Environmental Education, EPA works to advance and support educational efforts and to develop an environmentally conscious and responsible public. EPA also supports a variety of libraries, hotlines, and clearinghouses that respond to information requests from the public; they can be identified on the EPA Web site. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Contact: Ariel Rios Building, 1200 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W., Washington, DC 20460, Telephone: (202) 272-0167 Web Site: http://www.epa.gov

Keywords: Air pollution, Asbestos, Environmental exposure, Environmental health, Hazardous materials, Insecticides, Regulations, Water pollution

more information

World Health Organization (WHO)

Annotation: The maternal and child health activities of the World Health Organization (WHO) are coordinated by the Department of Reproductive Health and Research. The Web side provides links to WHO projects, initiatives, activities, information products (including databases), and contacts, organized by health and developmental topic. In 2005 WHO initiated a Global Observatory for eHealth, which provides information and guidance on effective practices, policies, and standards in the use of information and communication technologies for health. WHO also provides a Global Health Library that points to resources around the world on many health topics.

Contact: Avenue Appia 20, Geneva, Switzerland Telephone: (+ 41 22) 791 21 11 Fax: (+ 41 22) 791 3111 Web Site: http://www.who.int/en E-mail: info@who.int

Keywords: Computers, Child health, Communication, Environmental health HELP, Information networks, International health, Maternal health, Overseas organization, Professional societies

more information

Return to Previous Page | Go To Cross-Database Search | Advanced MCHLine® Search

Share |