Search the Databases

Search
Advanced Search

Site Tools

Partner Projects

 

Annotated Lists of Organizations on Key Topics in Maternal and Child Health

This list of 9 organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations online database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Library. To identify additional materials on this topic, search the Organizations database using our online search form.

The MCH Organizations Database lists government, professional, and voluntary organizations involved in maternal and child health activities, primarily at a national level. Information available to consumers is indicated where known.

Displaying 9 records.
Toggle Details

Academy for Eating Disorders (AED)

Annotation: The Academy for Eating Disorders (AED) is a multidisciplinary professional organization that promotes excellence in research, treatment, and prevention of eating disorders, including anorexa nervosa, bulimia nervosa, and binge eating disorder. Founded in 1993, AED provides education, training, and a forum for collaboration and dialogue. The academy sponsors conferences, produces a quarterly newsletter, assists in the development of professional guidelines, and identifies and rewards outstanding achievement in the field.

Web Site: http://www.aedweb.org

Keywords: Anorexia nervosa, Bulimia, Eating disorders, Health promotion, Preventive health services, Professional societies

Toggle Details

Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics (AND)

Annotation: The Academy of Nutrition of Dietetics (AND) is the advocate of the dietetics profession serving the public through the promotion of optimal nutrition, health, and well being. The association is involved in the credentialing of competent nutrition and dietetic professionals and provides continuing education for nearly 70,000 members. Key areas of interest include obesity and overweight (with a focus on children); healthy aging; nutrigenetics and nutrigenomics; Integrative medicine (including supplements and alternative medicine; and safe, sustainable, and nutritious food supply. Through its Knowledge Center, ADA provides current food and nutrition information for consumers, health professionals, and ADA members. Until 2012 it was known as the American Dietetic Association (ADA)

Web Site: http://www.eatright.org

Keywords: Nutrition, Child nutrition, Consumer education, Dietetic technicians, Health promotion, Hotlines, Information sources, Maternal nutrition, Professional societies, Public health nutrition, Publications, Spanish language materials

Toggle Details

Eating Disorders Coalition for Research, Policy, and Action (EDC)

Annotation: The Eating Disorders Coalition for Research, Policy, and Action (EDC) works to advance federal recognition of eating disorders as a public health priority. EDC promotes federal support for improved access to care and additional resources for research, education, prevention, and treatment of eating disorders.

Web Site: http://www.eatingdisorderscoalition.org

Keywords: Advocacy, Anorexia nervosa, Bulimia, Coalitions, Eating disorders

Toggle Details

Harris Center ( )

Annotation: The Harris Center (formerly the Harvard Eating Disorders Center) advances the understanding, prevention, and treatment of eating disorders through research, education, and outreach. The center awards summer research fellowships, conducts and participates in training forums and symposia, and publishes an annual newsletter designed to keep the community and the public at large updated on HEDC's research, education, and advocacy programs. Recent statistics, clinical definitions, a list of medical complications, consumer information, and research findings are posted on the Web site.

Web Site: http://www.harriscentermgh.org/

Keywords: Anorexia nervosa, Bulimia, Eating disorders, Medical research

Toggle Details

National Association of Anorexia Nervosa and Associated Disorders (ANAD)

Annotation: The National Association of Anorexia Nervosa and Associated Disorders (ANAD) offers assistance to individuals suffering from bulimia and anorexia nervosa, as well as to their families. Services to consumers include publications, reference information, and referrals to self-help groups and to health professionals. The association also conducts research, publishes a newsletter and educational materials, and sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Web Site: http://www.anad.org

Keywords: Anorexia nervosa, Bulimia, Eating disorders, Information services, Support groups

Toggle Details

National Eating Disorder Information Centre (NEDIC)

Annotation: The National Eating Disorder Information Centre (NEDIC) is a nonprofit organization mandated by the Mental Health Programmes and Services division of the Ontario Ministry of Health to provide information and resources on eating disorders and weight preoccupation. NEDIC promotes healthy lifestyles, including both healthy eating and appropriate, enjoyable exercise, and believes that dieting is intrinsically harmful to individuals. Services provided include a telephone support line, publications (including a bulletin and a newsletter), and assistance in the development of information materials. NEDIC also sponsors National Eating Disorder Awareness Week and the annual International No Diet Day on May 6.

Web Site: http://www.nedic.ca

Keywords: Anorexia nervosa, Bulimia, Eating disorders, Health promotion, Information services, Preventive health services

Toggle Details

National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH)

Annotation: The National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH), a component of the National Institutes of Health, conducts and supports research that seeks to understand, treat, and prevent mental illness. The Institute's public inquiries line is staffed with information specialists who respond to requests from the lay public, clinicians, and the scientific community with a variety of publications. These include printed materials on such subjects as basic behavioral research, neuroscience of mental health, rural mental health, children's mental disorders, schizophrenia, depression, bipolar disorder, attention deficit hyperactivity disorder, eating disorders, autism, Alzheimer's disease, and panic disorder, obsessive-compulsive disorder, post-traumatic stress disorder, social phobia and other anxiety disorders. Information on NIMH-sponsored meetings, workshops, and symposia, and a list of NIMH publications, including several in Spanish, is available on the institute's Web site. The public can subscribe to the NIMH E-News listserv on the Web site for periodic updates on NIMH activities, programs, and publications.

Web Site: http://www.nimh.nih.gov

Keywords: Mental health, Education, Health promotion, Listservs, Mental disorders

Toggle Details

National Institutes of Health (NIH)

Annotation: The National Institutes of Health (NIH) is the principal medical research arm of the federal government. Its programs focus on basic and applied research on the causes, diagnosis, prevention, treatment, and rehabilitation of human diseases and disabilities; the fundamental biological process of growth, development, and aging; and the biological effects of the environment. NIH conducts research in its own laboratories and supports research in universities, hospitals, and other institutions across the country; it also supports the training of career researchers, and promotes effective ways to communicate biomedical information to scientists, health practitioners, and the public. NIH is organized into 27 components, including 19 research institutes. It also encompasses the National Library of Medicine, the Warren Grant Magnuson Clinical Center, the John E. Fogarty International Center for Advanced Study in the Health Sciences, and the National Center for Research Resources. Services to consumers include publications and reference information. Publications include a catalog and Almanac. Some materials are available in Spanish. An A-Z index of NIH health resources, clinical trials, health hotlines, MEDLINEplus, and drug information is posted on the NIH Web site. A data tool, RePORT, provides access to reports, data, and analyses of NIH research activities.

Web Site: http://www.nih.gov

Keywords: Medical research, Disabilities, Diseases, Nutrition, Public health

Toggle Details

U.S. Center for Mental Health Services (CMHS)

Annotation: The U.S. Center for Mental Health Services (CMHS) is part of the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration in the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. CMHS, in partnership with states, communities, and other organizations, provides national leadership and funding to improve the delivery and financing of prevention, treatment, and rehabilitation services for all Americans with mental illness and their families. It also supports innovative programs and communicates important information about those programs to care providers, administrators, consumers, family members, and policymakers nationwide. Information campaigns help reduce the barriers of stigma and empower consumers and families to make informed mental health decisions and participate in the systems of care. Through its National Mental Health Information Center (formerly known as the National Mental Health Services Knowledge Exchange Network (KEN)), CMHS provides easy access to information about mental health. Information on topics including addiction, anxiety, depression, and eating disorders is available from the Information Center. CHMS also sponsors the CARING FOR EVERY CHILD'S MENTAL HEALTH: Communities Together campaign, which develops and disseminates educational materials and activities to improve the public's ability to protect and nurture the mental health of young people, encourage early, appropriate treatments, and diminish the stigma associated with mental health problems. The center also funds the National Suicide Prevention Hotline(1-800-273-TALK), a network of local crisis centers located in communities across the country that are committed to suicide prevention.

Web Site: http://mentalhealth.samhsa.gov/

Keywords: AIDS, Adolescents, Children, HIV, Mental disorders, Mental health programs, Mental health services

Return to Previous Page | Go To Cross-Database Search | Advanced MCHLine® Search