Search the Databases

Search
Advanced Search

Site Tools

Partner Projects

 

Annotated Lists of Organizations on Key Topics in Maternal and Child Health

This list of 24 organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations online database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Library. To identify additional materials on this topic, search the Organizations database using our online search form.

The MCH Organizations Database lists government, professional, and voluntary organizations involved in maternal and child health activities, primarily at a national level. Information available to consumers is indicated where known.

Displaying 24 records.
Toggle Details

American Institutes for Research, Center for Effective Collaboration and Practice (CECP)

Annotation: The Center for Effective Collaboration and Practice (CECP) at the American Institutes for Research supports and promotes a reoriented national preparedness to foster the development and the adjustment of children with or at risk of developing serious emotional disturbance. To achieve that goal, the center has a policy of collaboration at federal, state, and local levels that contributes to and facilitates the production, exchange, and use of knowledge about effective practices. The center is funded by the U.S. Department of Education's Office of Special Education Programs and receives additional support from the Center for Mental Health Services, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. Topics covered by the center include child welfare, cultural competence, families, juvenile justice, mental health, school violence prevention and intervention, and schools and special education. The center provides publications, list service discussions, information about promising practices and prevention programs that work, and links to further information.

Web Site: http://cecp.air.org

Keywords: Adolescent mental health, Affective disorders, Child mental health, Collaboration, Information services, Listservs, Model programs

Toggle Details

Association of Clinicians for the Underserved (ACU)

Annotation: Association of Clinicians for the Underserved (ACU) is a nonprofit, interdisciplinary organization working to improve the health of underserved populations by supporting and enhancing the development of the health care clinicians serving these populations. ACU offers access to information relevant to clinical practice; provides networking and training opportunities; and promotes research to increase understanding of underserved practice.

Web Site: http://www.clinicians.org

Keywords: Underserved communities, Professional societies, Resources for professionals

Toggle Details

Buena Salud Club

Annotation: The Buena Salud Club promotes healthy lifestyles among its members by providing health information. Services include action alerts and referrals to community health services. The club also produces books on heart health and diabetes. Each book defines the health concern, discusses the changes that individuals and families can make to live healthier lives, and provides tools for doing so. The website and publications are available in English and Spanish.

Web Site: http://www.buenasaludclub.org

Keywords: Diabetes, Health promotion, Heart diseases, Hispanic Americans, Information sources, Spanish language materials

Toggle Details

California Endowment

Annotation: The California Endowment is a private, statewide health foundation whose mission is to expand access to affordable, quality health care for underserved individuals and communities, and to promote fundamental improvements in the health status of all Californians. Guiding the endowment's work is a multicultural approach to health, which is defined not only by race and ethnicity, but financial status, cultural beliefs, gender, age, sexual orientation, geographic location, immigration status, and physical or mental abilities. This approach seeks to mobilize the talents, cultures and assets of California's diverse populations to improve the quality of our health systems and to promote health at the level of communities. A wide variety of publications covering topics such as access to care, mental health, cultural competence, and disparities in health can be downloaded in pdf format from the endowment's Web site.

Web Site: http://www.calendow.org

Keywords: Cultural diversity, Underserved communities, . Program improvement, Access to health care, California, Cultural competence, Foundations

Toggle Details

California Pan-Ethnic Health Network (CPEHN)

Annotation: The California Pan-Ethnic Health Network (CPEHN) works to eliminate health disparities by advocating for public policies and sufficient resources to address the health needs of all communities of color in the state of California. The network consists of four organizations representing different ethnic groups—the California Black Health Network, Asian & Pacific Islander American Health Forum, The California Rural Indian Health Board, Inc. and the Latino Coalition for a Healthy California. CPEHN's website provides access to policy briefs, webinars, race and ethnicity data, and a multicultural health library.

Web Site: http://www.cpehn.org/

Keywords: Advocacy, California, Health care reform, Minority groups, State organizations

Toggle Details

Center for Healthy Families and Cultural Diversity (CHFCD )

Annotation: The Center for Healthy Families and Cultural Diversity (CHFCD) is dedicated to leadership, advocacy, and excellence in promoting culturally-responsive, quality health care for diverse populations. The center has evolved from a program focused primarily on multicultural education and training for health professionals, to an expanded and growing resource for technical assistance, consultation, and research/evaluation services. CHFCD sponsors conferences and disseminates information through publications, Web sites, videos, and CD-ROMs, and more than 200 presentations have been given on the subject of culturally and linguistically appropriate services delivery.

Web Site: http://www2.umdnj.edu/fmedweb/chfcd/index.htm

Keywords: Cultural competence, Cultural diversity, Culturally competent services, Health education, Health promotion, Linguistic competence, Service delivery, Technical assistance, Training

Toggle Details

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Office of Minority Health and Health Equities (CDC OMHHE)

Annotation: CDC;s Office of Minority Health and Health Equity (formerly the Office of Minority Health and Health Disparities) aims to accelerate CDC’s health impact in the U.S population and to eliminate health disparities for vulnerable populations as defined by race/ethnicity, socio-economic status, geography, gender, age, disability status, risk status related to sex and gender, and among other populations identified as at-risk for health disparities.

Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/omhd/default.htm

Keywords: Minority health, Federal agencies, Health policy, Health programs, Information services, Minority groups, Technical assistance

Toggle Details

CLAS Institute (CLAS)

Annotation: The CLAS Institute identifies, evaluates, and promotes effective and appropriate early intervention and preschool practices that are sensitive and respectful to children and families from culturally and linguistically diverse backgrounds. The Web site includes a searchable database of culturally and linguistically appropriate materials produced by child education and multicultural experts for use by early childhood/special education practitioners and administrators. The Institute reviews and acquires materals from various national, regional, state and local organizations, grant-funded projects, national, state and local programs, and publishers. The Web site is maintained by the Early Childhood and Parenting Collaborative at the University of Illinois.

Web Site: http://clas.uiuc.edu

Keywords: Cultural competence, Early childhood education, Linguistic competence, Spanish language materials

Toggle Details

Council on American-Islamic Relations (CAIR)

Annotation: The Council on American-Islamic Relations (CAIR) is a non-profit, membership organization dedicated to presenting an Islamic perspective on public issues. The CAIR Research Center conducts research on the American Muslim experience.

Web Site: http://www.cair.com/Home.aspx

Keywords: Muslims, Religious organizations

Toggle Details

Cross Cultural Health Care Program (CCHCP)

Annotation: The Cross Cultural Health Care Program (CCHCP) serves as a bridge between communities and health care institutions to help ensure access to quality health care that is culturally and linguistically appropriate. CCHCP collaborates with institutions in outreach efforts to ethnic communities; maintains a center for cultural competence; undertakes and supports community-based research; provides training programs for interpreters and health care providers; and offers support and advocacy to help underserved communities achieve self-directed access and use of health care resources. CCHCP also has a resource center which provides reference services, publishes a newsletter, maintains an online library catalog, and loans materials to borrowers in the Seattle area;. Materials include videos and publications on immigrant communities in the United States and bilingual medical glossaries in these languages: Amharic, Cambodian, Chinese, Korean, Lao, Russian, Somali, Spanish, Tigrignia, and Vietnamese. Community profiles of specific population groups can be downloaded from the Web site.

Web Site: http://www.xculture.org/

Keywords: Cultural diversity, Asian language materials, Cultural sensitivity, Culturally competent services, Foreign language materials, Spanish language materials

Toggle Details

Diversity Rx

Annotation: The Diversity Rx Web site serves as a clearinghouse of information on model programs, policies, and legal issues related to cross cultural health, in collaboration with the National Conference of State Legislatures, Resources for Cross Cultural Health Care, and the Kaiser Family Foundation. Diversity Rx sponsors conferences, produces reports, and hosts an email discussion group for those interested in cross-cultural healthcare news.

Web Site: http://www.DiversityRx.org

Keywords: Languages, Cultural competence, Clearinghouses. , Cultural diversity, Cultural sensitivity, Culturally competent services, Health education, Linguistic competence, Model programs, Program development, Technical assistance, Training

Toggle Details

EthnoMed

Annotation: EthnoMed is an ethnic medicine website related to cross-cultural and refuge health topics, including (but are not restricted to) health screening, cultural competence, breastfeeding, domestic violence, mental health, nutrition, oral health, women's health, and infant/child care The site includes cultural profiles and clinical information for health providers, along with patient education materials. EthnoMed is a joint program of the University of Washington Health Sciences Libraries and the Harborview Medical Center.

Web Site: http://ethnomed.org

Keywords: Cultural competence, Immigrants, Minority health, Non English language materials, Patient education materials, Refugees, Resources for professionals

Toggle Details

International Child Resource Institute (ICRI)

Annotation: The mission of International Child Resource Institute (ICRI) is to improve the lives of children and families throughout the world, enabling them to survive and succeed. ICRI provides services for families and children locally and around the world through technical assistance and consultation to a wide variety of national and international organizations, businesses, governments, non-profits and others interested in such children's issues as child care, child abuse prevention, child survival, maternal and child health, placement alternatives for abandoned and traumatized children and the promotion of children's rights. ICRI's projects include Around the World Kid to Kid, which aims to increase access, understanding, and connections between children in developed and developing countries, and the Multiethnic Education Program (see http://www.multiethniceducation.org), which provides educators and families culturally competent resources and strategies to help mixed-heritage children thrive in an increasingly diverse society. Services to consumers include referrals and reference information. Some materials are available in Spanish. The organization publishes a newsletter and has co-sponsored conferences and training seminars.

Web Site: http://www.icrichild.org

Keywords: Child care, Adoption, Child abuse prevention, Child health, Cultural competence, Developing countries, Development, Early childhood education, Information services, Maternal health

Toggle Details

National Association of School Psychologists (NASP)

Annotation: The National Association of School Psychologists is a professional association representing over 23,000 members. The NASP mission is to promote educationally and psychologically healthy environments for all children and youth by implementing research-based, effective programs that prevent problems, enhance independence, and promote optimal learning. This is accomplished through state-of-the-art research training, advocacy, ongoing program evaluation, and caring professional service. The association offers a wide range of resources related to the administration of culturallly competent services. Services to consumers include publications and reference information. Some materials are available in Spanish. The organization publishes a catalog, newsletter, and journal, and sponsors conferences.

Web Site: http://www.nasponline.org

Keywords: Professional societies, School psychologists

Toggle Details

National Center for Cultural Competence (NCCC)

Annotation: The purpose of the National Center for Cultural Competence (NCCC) is to increase the capacity of health and mental health programs to design, implement, and evaluate culturally and linguistically competent service delivery systems. The center's current work scope includes the Children & Youth with Special Health Care Needs (CYSHCN) Project and the Sudden Infant Death Syndrome and Other Infant Death program (both of these projects are funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration). In addition, the Center's Division of Research, Training and Education (DRTE) Project aims to increase the capacity of the Maternal and Child Health Bureau's DRTE-funded programs to incorporate principles and practices of cultural and linguistic competency in all aspects of leadership training. The Center provides networking opportunities and information exchange; offers training, technical assistance and consultation; maintains a pool of consultants; and develops products such as guidelines and assessments. The center's Web site includes promising practices and a Spanish language portal for families.

Web Site: http://nccc.georgetown.edu

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Cultural diversity, Cultural sensitivity, Culturally competent services, Guidelines, Infant care, Information networks, Information sources, Linguistic competence, National MCH resource center, Networking, Program development, Program evaluation, Publications, Resource centers, SIDS, Spanish language materials, Title V programs, Training

Toggle Details

National Center on Cultural and Linguistic Responsiveness (NCCLR)

Annotation: The National Center on Cultural and Linguistic Responsiveness provides the Head Start community with research-based information, practices, and strategies to ensure optimal academic and social progress for linguistically and culturally diverse children and their families. Young children who are dual language learners (DLL) are the largest growing segment of the U.S. population; therefore, the National Center on Cultural and Linguistic Responsiveness provides culturally responsive, user-friendly materials and training for staff and families to use to promote strong language and literacy skills in children’s home language and in English. It is one of six national centers funded by the U.S. Office of Head Start.

Web Site: http://eclkc.ohs.acf.hhs.gov/hslc/tta-system/cultural-linguistic

Keywords: Cultural competence, Early childhood education, Head Start, Linguistic competence

Toggle Details

National Council on Interpreting in Health Care (NCIHC)

Annotation: The National Council on Interpreting in Health Care is a multidisciplinary organization based in the United States whose mission is to promote culturally competent professional health care interpreting as a means to support equal access to health care for individuals with limited English proficiency. The NCIHC’s goals include: (1) establishing a framework that promotes culturally competent health care interpreting, including standards for the provision of interpreter services in health care settings and acode of ethics for interpreters in health care; (2) developing and monitoring policies, research, and model practices; (3) sponsoring a national dialogue of diverse voices and interests on related issues; and (4) collecting, disseminating and acting as a clearinghouse on programs and policies to improve language access to health care for limited-English-proficient (LEP) patients.

Web Site: http://www.ncihc.org

Keywords: Access tohealth care, Culturally competent services, Limited English speakers, Translations

Toggle Details

National Institute on Minority Health and Health Disparities (NCMHD)

Annotation: The National Institute on Minority Health and Health Disparities (NIMHD), a part of the National Institutes of Health, promotes minority health; conducts and supports research, training, and research infrastructure; fosters emerging programs; disseminates information; and reaches out to minority and other health disparity communities. Priorities for the institute are the social determinants of health, patient-centered outcomes research; faith-based approaches to health disparities; and improving the participation of health disparity populations in clinical trials.

Web Site: http://www.ncmhd.nih.gov

Keywords: Access to health care, Ethnic factors, Federal grants, Government programs, Health promotion, Information dissemination, Minority health, Model programs, Racial discrimination, Racial factors, Research, Sociocultural factors

Toggle Details

National MultiCultural Institute (NMCI)

Annotation: Founded in 1983, the National MultiCultural Institute (NMCI) is a private, nonprofit organization established to increase communication, understanding, and respect among people of different racial and cultural backgrounds, and to promote a positive vision for our multicultural society. The institute designs, develops, and delivers diversity training programs; conducts conferences and workshops; provides consultation and assessment services, and produces books, training manuals, and videotapes useful for educators, social services, and mental health professionals.

Web Site: http://www.nmci.org

Keywords: Counseling, Cultural diversity, Training

Toggle Details

National Resource Center for Family Centered Practice (NRC/FCP)

Annotation: The National Resource Center for Family Centered Practice (NRC/FCP) works to promote culturally responsive family centered services through research and evaluation, training and technical assistance, and information dissemination. It receives funding from federal grants, foundations, public and private agency contracts, and trade association grants for special projects. The NRC/FCP's Research and Evaluation Division works extensively with state and local agencies to design evaluations, identify outcome measures, and conduct evaluations of family centered programs. Training is developed in partnership with agency staff and is based on assessmet of the agency's needs and desired outcomes. The center provides technical assistance in the areas of program/policy development, community involvement and collaboration, cultural competence, and evaluation. Publications include a semi-annual serial, Prevention Report which describes new practice approaches and research findings and reviews new books and materials.

Web Site: http://www.uiowa.edu/~nrcfcp

Keywords: Child health, Child abuse, Child neglect, Child welfare, Families, Family centered services, Family support, Information services, Resource centers

Toggle Details

U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)

Annotation: The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) supports research designed to improve the quality of health care, reduce its cost, and broaden access to essential services. AHRQ supports the National Guideline Clearinghouse, a public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines; the National Quality Measures Clearinghouse, a public resource for evidence-based quality measures and measure sets; the Patient Safety Network, a collection of patient safety news, literature, tools, and resources; and the Effective Health Care Program, a collection of research centers working to provide evidence on health care interventions.

Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov

Keywords: Health care delivery, Safety, Clearinghouses, Clinical medicine, Foreign language materials, Guidelines, Health disparities , Health policy, Medical technology, Patient care management, Program evaluation, Referrals, Research, Research, Service delivery, Spanish language materials, State Children's Health Insurance Program, Training, Treatment outcomes

Toggle Details

U.S. Bureau of Primary Health Care (BPHC)

Annotation: The Bureau of Primary Health Care (BPHC) provides leadership in promoting access to primary health care for medically underserved populations including those with special needs such as the homeless, migrants and farmworkers, and people with or at risk for HIV infection. Bureau programs include community-based health centers, the National Hansen's Disease Program, and the Free Clinics Medical Malpractice Program. The Web site provides access to searchable databases, statistics, employment opportunities, document archives, and publications.

Web Site: http://www.hrsa.gov/about/organization/bureaus/bphc/index.html

Keywords: HIV, Homeless persons, Immunization, Migrant health, Primary health care, Public health programs, Public health services, Public housing, Underserved communities

Toggle Details

U.S. Indian Health Service (IHS)

Annotation: The Indian Health Service (IHS) is responsible for providing federal health services to American Indians and Alaska Natives. The IHS provides a comprehensive health service delivery system for American Indians and Alaska Natives who belong to federally recognized tribes. The Web site provides an A-to-Z guide to IHS divisions, programs, tools, and health topics, along with information on IHS staff, area offices and facilities, jobs and student opportunities, initiatives and collaborations, legal and policy issues, training opportunities, conferences and events, and councils and workgroups. Information on medical programs, information technology, jobs and student opportunities, support (non-Medical) programs, and area offices and facilities is also provided.

Web Site: http://www.ihs.gov

Keywords: Access to health care, Alaska Natives, American Indians, Contract services, Federal agencies, Health promotion, Online databases, Preventive health services, Work force

Toggle Details

U.S. Office of Minority Health Resource Center (OMHRC)

Annotation: The Office of Minority Health Resource Center (OMHRC) serves as a repository of information on health issues specific to African Americans, American Indians and Alaska Natives, Asian Americans, Hispanic Americans, Native Hawaiians, and Pacific Islanders. The resource center collects and distributes information on a wide variety of health topics, including cardiovascular disease and stroke, diabetes, homicide, suicide, unintentional injuries, HIV/AIDS, infant mortality, and substance abuse. OMHRC offers customized responses to telephone, e-mail and mail inquiries. The resource center can provide database searches, funding searches, and current data and statistics on a variety of health conditions and issues affecting racial and ethnic minorities. The center also disseminates targeted publications, and provides referrals to local, state and national organizations.

Web Site: http://minorityhealth.hhs.gov/templates/browse.aspx?lvl=1&lvlID=8

Keywords: Minority groups, AIDS, Access to health care, Asian Americans, Blacks, Cancer, Cardiovascular diseases, Diabetes, Ethnic groups, Hispanic Americans, Homicide, Infant mortality, Information sources, Injury prevention, Minority health, Native Americans, Pacific Islanders, Publications, Spanish language materials, Substance dependence, Suicide, Violence prevention

Return to Previous Page | Go To Cross-Database Search | Advanced MCHLine® Search