Top Pages

A-Z Index (Resources & Services)

Resource Guides:
All | Families | Professionals | Schools | Non-English | Multimedia

MCH Alert Newsletter

Search

Top Pages
Home  ::  A - Z Index: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z   ::  Search

Breastfeeding

Annotated Lists of Organizations on Key Topics in Maternal and Child Health

OrganizationsThis list of 13 organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations online database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Library. To identify additional materials on this topic, search the Organizations database using our online search form.

The MCH Organizations Database lists government, professional, and voluntary organizations involved in maternal and child health activities, primarily at a national level. Information available to consumers is indicated where known.

Displaying 13 records.

Academy of Breastfeeding Medicine

Annotation: The Academy of Breastfeeding Medicine (ABM) is an international multi-specialty physician organization, with more than 400 members from more than 25 countries. The Academy has developed a basic physician-training course on breastfeeding, (presented each year at the ABM conference); publishes a newsletter and a peer-reviewed medical journal (Breastfeeding Medicine); and continues to actively develop and share its evidence-based protocols on clinical lactation management. Members of ABM are invited to participate in the international exchange of ideas, teaching methods, and experiences on the ABM Listserv.

Contact: 140 Huguenot Street, Third Floor, New York, NY 10801, Telephone: (800) 990-4ABM Secondary Telephone: (914) 740-2115 Fax: (914) 740-2101 Web Site: http://www.bfmed.org E-mail: abm@bfmed.org

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Lactation management, Professional societies

more information

Baby Friendly Hospital Initiative (BFHI)

Annotation: The Baby-Friendly Hospital Initiative (BFHI) is a global program sponsored by the World Health Organization and the United Nations Children’s Fund to encourage and recognize hospitals and birthing centers that offer an optimal level of care for lactation. The BFHI assists hospitals in giving breastfeeding mothers the information, confidence, and skills needed to successfully initiate and continue breastfeeding their babies and gives special recognition to hospitals that have done so.

Contact: Baby Friendly USA, 327 Quaker Meeting House Road, East Sandwich, MA 02537, Telephone: (508) 888-8092 Fax: (508) 888-8050 Web Site: http://www.babyfriendlyusa.org E-mail: info@babyfriendlyusa.org

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Breastfeeding promotion programs, Lactation

more information

Center for Breastfeeding Information (CBI)

Annotation: The Center for Breastfeeding Information (CBI), part of La Leche League International, was established in 1989. CBI maintains a collection of about 40,000 articles on breastfeeding which can be searched at no charge using an online database. The center also provides bibliographies and links to breastfeeding information for consumers and professionals.

Contact: La Leche League International, P.O. Box 4079, Schaumburg, IL 60168-4079, Telephone: 847-592-7557 Voice: 847-519-7730, Ext 245 Fax: (847) 969-0460 Web Site: http://www.lalecheleague.org/cbi/cbi.html E-mail: klebbing@llli.org

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Infant nutrition, Lactation, Mothers

more information

Human Milk Banking Association of North America

Annotation: The Human Milk Banking Association of North America consists of 11 member milk banks that provide more than 409,000 ounces of human donor milk in the United States and Canada. The association's milk banks not only provide milk to client hospitals but also serve many infants in the home who need milk because of medical conditions such as formula intolerance or feeding issues related to prematurity. Links to related resources are provided on the Web site and publications on establishing and operating donor human milk banks, as well as information on pumping, storing, and handling human milk can be purchased for a fee.

Contact: 1500 Sunday Drive, Suite 102, Raleigh, NC 27607, Telephone: (919) 861-4530 Web Site: http://www.hmbana.org E-mail: abergevin@firstpointresources.com

Keywords: Associations, Breastfeeding, Infant nutrition, Lactation, Milk banks

more information

International Baby Food Action Network (IBFAN)

Annotation: The International Baby Food Action Network (IBFAN) consists of public interest groups working around the world to reduce infant and young child morbidity and mortality. IBFAN aims to improve the health and well being of babies and young children, their mothers and their families through the protection, promotion and support of breastfeeding and optimal infant feeding practices. Information and publications are available online through IBFAN's Resource Center. Materials are available in English, French, German, Spanish, and Portuguese.

Contact: INFACT Canada, 6 Trinity Square, Ontario, CA M5G 1B1, Fax: (416) 591-9355 Web Site: http://www.ibfan.org E-mail: info@infactcanada.ca

Keywords: Associations, Breastfeeding, Breastfeeding promotion, Child health, Health promotion, Infant feeding. Infant health, International health

more information

International Board of Lactation Consultant Examiners (IBLCE)

Annotation: The International Board of Lactation Consultant Examiners (IBLCE) is a non-profit organization established to develop and administer the certification examination for lactation consultants. IBLCE sets standards that protect mothers and babies; motivates health professionals to broaden their breastfeeding expertise; works to raise the standards of care in lactation management; and protects, promotes and supports breastfeeding worldwide. The organization distributes publications to inform the public, health care professionals, educators, potential candidates, and current IBCLCs about issues governing credentials for certification. Information on continuing education opportunities is also available on the Web site

Contact: 7245 Arlington Boulevard, Suite 200, Arlington, VA 22042-3217, Telephone: (703) 560-7330 Fax: (703) 560-7332 Web Site: http://www.iblce.org E-mail: iblc@iblc.org

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Certification, Consultants, Lactation, Professional societies

more information

International Lactation Consultant Association (ILCA)

Annotation: The International Lactation Consultant Association (ILCA) promotes the professional development, advancement, and recognition of International Board Certified Lactation Consultants (IBCLC) worldwide for the benefit of breastfeeding women, infants, and children. ILCA publishes a newsletter and a journal, sponsors workshops and conferences, and provides referrals, publications, database access, and inquiry responses for consumers.

Contact: 1500 Sunday Drive, Suite 102, Raleigh, NC 27607, Telephone: (919) 861-5577 Fax: (919) 787-4916 Web Site: http://www.ilca.org E-mail: info@ilca.org

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Infant nutrition, Information dissemination, Lactation

more information

La Leche League International (LLLI)

Annotation: La Leche League International offers a variety of services for parents and professionals. Monthly support group meetings are available for pregnant women and nursing mothers and babies. A phone line, 800 LA LECHE, helps callers find ttheir local La Leche Leader who can answer questions and provide meeting information. International conferences, lactation specialist workshops, physicians' seminars, and area conferences are available. Products include books, pamphlets, nursing supplies, gifts, and more. Non-English language materials are available. Membership is available to mothers, families, and health professionals. The Center for Breastfeeding Information (CBI) provides research help on lactation topics. Peer counselor training is available and independent study modules for at-home professional learning. Subscriptions to member publications are available as well. LLLI's Web site provides information about services and contact information for groups all over the world.

Contact: 957 N. Plum Grove Road, Schaumburg, IL 60173, Telephone: (847) 519-7730 Secondary Telephone: (800) 525-3243 Fax: (847) 969-0460 Web Site: http://www.lalecheleague.org/

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Infant nutrition, Lactation, Mothers

more information

Lactation Education Resources

Annotation: Lactation Education Resources strives to raise the standard of practice of certified lactation consultants by offering quality training programs and innovative educational materials for those who desire to become certified lactation consultants and continuing education for those who are certified. This program provides information on both on-site and online training opportunities, incuding Web links to self-learning modules, power-point presentations, and counseling protocols. Clinical updates and parent handouts can be downloaded from the Web site.The program is a contuation of the National Capitol Lactation Center at Georgetown University, which was dissolved in 1997.

Contact: 5614 Dover St., Churchton, MD 20733, Telephone: (703) 587-7705 Fax: (443) 607-8898 Web Site: http://www.leron-line.com/

Keywords: Breastfeeding. Consultants, Continuing education, Lactation specialists, Parent materials, Professional training, Training materials

more information

National Alliance for Breastfeeding Advocacy (NABA)

Annotation: The National Alliance for Breastfeeding Advocacy (NABA) is dedicated to the protection, promotion and support of breastfeeding as an integral part of a vision of wellness for the United States of America. It was formed to be the advocate who endeavors to link and facilitate those involved in national maternal/child health into a cohesive network to this end. NABA's mission is to coordinate efforts by organizations, agencies, institutions, and individuals towards the development of strategic plans, policies, and goals for breastfeeding reform in the USA. NABA provides promotional materials, publications, and a newsletter. Its Web site includes a directory of breastfeeding resources by state and a list of formula recalls.

Contact: 9684 Oak Hill Drive, Ellicott City, MD 21042-6321, Telephone: (410) 995-3726 Web Site: http://naba-breastfeeding.org E-mail: Barbara@naba-breastfeeding.org

Keywords: Advocacy, Breastfeeding promotion, Infant nutrition

more information

U. S. Breastfeeding Committee (USBC)

Annotation: The U.S. Breastfeeding Committee is a collaborative partnership of organizations whose mission is to protect, promote, and support breastfeeding in the United States. News and information, along with position statements on breastfeeding and issue papers on the benefits of breastfeeding, legislative acitivity, and workplace accommodations, can be downloaded from the Web site.

Contact: 2025 M Street, N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 367-1132 Fax: (202) 367-2132 Web Site: http://www.usbreastfeeding.org E-mail: info@usbreastfeeding.org

Keywords: Advocacy, Breastfeeding promotion, Infant nutrition

more information

U.S. Food and Nutrition Service, Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants and Children (WIC)

Annotation: The Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants, and Children - better known as the WIC Program - serves to safeguard the health of low-income women, infants, & children up to age 5 who are at nutritional risk by providing nutritious foods to supplement diets, information on healthy eating, and referrals to health care. The WIC program provides numerous educational materials for consumers and studies and reports for professionals. Materials are available in Arabic, Cambodian, Chinese, Haitian Creole, Croatian, Dakota, English, French, Hmong, Khmer, Korean, Laotian, Mandarin Chinese, Russian, Serbian, Somali, Spanish, Tagalog, Thai, and Vietnamese. Topics include breastfeeding, infant and child nutrition and health, childhood overweight and obesity, counseling and education, dietary guidance, food buying and preparation, food safety, fruits and vegetables, medical and nutritional risk assessment, multicultural audiences, oral health, outreach and marketing, physical activity, pregnancy, and vitamins and minerals.

Contact: Washington, DC 20250, Telephone: (202) 720-7327 TDD: (202) 720-1127 Web Site: http://www.fns.usda.gov/wic/

Keywords: Child nutrition, Federal agencies, Infant nutrition, Maternal nutrition

more information

Wellstart International

Annotation: Wellstart International strives to advance the knowledge, skills, and ability of health care providers regarding the promotion, protection, and support of optimal infant and maternal health and nutrition from conception through the completion of weaning. The Web site provides access to a wide variety of lactation management teaching tools for health are providers and a list of manuals, reports, parent education materials, and other print publications that can be purchased from Wellstart.

Contact: P.O. Box 80877, San Diego, CA 92138-0877, Telephone: (619) 295-5192 Fax: (619) 574-8159 Web Site: http://www.wellstart.org E-mail: info@wellstart.org

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Educational materials, Health education, Infant health, Maternal health, Nutrition, Parent education, Professional education

more information

Return to Previous Page | Go To Cross-Database Search | Advanced MCHLine® Search

Share |