Search the Databases

Search
Advanced Search

Site Tools

Partner Projects

 

Bibliography of Materials from MCHLine®

This bibliography of 17 items is drawn from MCHLine®, the MCH Library online catalog. It includes selected materials published in the last ten years that focus on the problems associated with smoking during pregnancy and also on prevention. Publications for both professionals and consumers are included. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Library. To identify additional materials on this topic, search MCHLine® using our online search form.

The MCH Library focuses on publications from federal and state agencies, from grantees of federal and state agencies, and from professional and voluntary organizations. It contains unique materials on the history of maternal and child health in the United States, policy papers, reports, conference proceedings, manuals, survey instruments, guidelines, and curricula. The library does not collect materials on clinical medicine. Consumer health materials and commercially published materials are collected very selectively.

Displaying 17 records.
Toggle Details

American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists. 2011. Smoking cessation during pregnancy: A clinician's guide to helping pregnant women quit smoking. Washington, DC: American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, 33 pp.

Annotation: This document comprises an educational program that provides the background and tools necessary for clinicians to implement an effective behavioral intervention to help their patient quit smoking. Topics covered include continuing medical education (CME) information; an introduction to the program, evidence-based guidelines, a quick-reference guide, steps to implementation, and postpartum relapse. CME credits are available for those who complete the program.

Contact: American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, 409 12th Street S.W., P.O. Box 96920, Washington, DC 20090-6920, Telephone: (202) 638-5577 Secondary Telephone: (202) 863-2518 E-mail: resources@acog.org Web Site: http://www.acog.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Behavior, Educational programs, Infant health, Intervention, Postpartum women, Pregnant women, Smoking cessation, Smoking during pregnancy, Women's health

Toggle Details

Greaves L, Poole N, Okoli CTC, Hemsing N, Qu A, Bialystok L, O'Leary R. 2011. Expecting to quit: A best-practices review of smoking cessation intervention for pregnant and postpartum girls and women. (2nd. ed.). Vancouver, BC: British Columbia Centre of Excellence for Women's Health, 104 pp.

Annotation: This report examines interventions designed to reduce or eliminate smoking during pregnancy. Using a systematic review methodology from the National Institute of Health and Clinical Excellence (NICE) combined with a "better practices" methodology developed in 2002, the report identifies components of interventions and programs for pregnant smokers that commonly appear in the effective interventions. These components include counseling, peer support, quit guides, partner counseling, information/education, nicotine replacement therapies, incentives, feedback about biological changes, group support, and various forms of follow up. Based on evidence for their effectiveness and methodological strength, the authors recommend 14 interventions and classify 27 others as “showing promise.”

Contact: British Columbia Centre of Excellence for Women's Health, E311 - 4500 Oak Street, Box 48, Vancouver, BC, CANADA V6H 3N1, Telephone: (604) 875-2633 Secondary Telephone: (888) 300-3088 x2633 Fax: (604) 875-3716 E-mail: bccewh@cw.bc.ca Web Site: http://www.bccewh.bc.ca/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Interventions, Pregnant women, Program improvement, Research reviews, Smoking cessation

Toggle Details

Sudden Infant Death Services (SIDS) of Illinois. [2010] (ca.). Did you know that when dad smokes, mom and baby smoke too?. [Naperville, IL]: Sudden Infant Death Services (SIDS) of Illinois, 1 poster (24" x 10"). (Closing the gap on infant mortality)

Annotation: This poster explains how second hand smoking can cause low birthweight babies; greater risk for preterm labor; an increase in the risk for SIDS; and a high chance of breathing problems in infants. It displays images of a father smoking a cigarette and an expectant mother. Smokers are invited to contact the Illinois Tobacco Quit Line for assistance in quitting smoking. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Sudden Infant Death Services (SIDS) of Illinois, 6010 Route 53, Suite A, Lisle , IL 60532, Telephone: (630) 541-3901 Secondary Telephone: (800) 432-SIDS Fax: (630) 541-8246 E-mail: http://www.sidsillinois.org/#!__contact-us Web Site: http://www.sidsillinois.org $2.50 .

Keywords: Infant health, Low birthweight infants, Passive smoking, Posters , SIDS, Smoking cessation

Toggle Details

Sudden Infant Death Services (SIDS) of Illinois. [2010] (ca.). Did you know that when mom smokes, her baby smokes too?. [Naperville, IL]: Sudden Infant Death Services (SIDS) of Illinois, 1 poster (24" x 10"). (Closing the gap on infant mortality)

Annotation: This poster explains how smoking can lead to greater risk for preterm labor; low birthweight babies; a high chance of breathing problems in infants; and an increase in the risk for SIDS. It displays an image of a pregnant woman smoking while holding an ashtray full of cigeratte butts. Smokers are invited to contact the Illinois Tobacco Quit Line for assistance in quitting smoking. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Sudden Infant Death Services (SIDS) of Illinois, 6010 Route 53, Suite A, Lisle , IL 60532, Telephone: (630) 541-3901 Secondary Telephone: (800) 432-SIDS Fax: (630) 541-8246 E-mail: http://www.sidsillinois.org/#!__contact-us Web Site: http://www.sidsillinois.org $2.50 .

Keywords: Infant health, Low birthweight infants, Posters, Risk factors, SIDS, Smoking cessation, Smoking during pregnancy, Tobacco use

Toggle Details

Joyce TJ, Racine AD, Yunzal-Butler C. 2009. Maternal smoking and the timing of WIC enrollment. Cambridge, MA: National Bureau of Economic Research, 38 pp. (NBER working paper series no. 14728)

Annotation: This paper investigates the association between the timing of enrollment in WIC and smoking among prenatal WIC participants across ethnicity and socioeconomic status. Data comes from Pregnancy Nutrition Surveillance System interviews taken from WIC participants in eight states.

Contact: National Bureau of Economic Research, 1050 Massachusetts Avenue, Cambridge, MA 02138-5398, Telephone: (617) 868-3900 Fax: (617) 868-2742 E-mail: info@nber.org Web Site: http://www.nber.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Data, Maternal health, Smoking cessation, Smoking during pregnancy, WIC program

Toggle Details

CItyMatCH and National Association of County and City Health Officials . 2008. Prevention of tobacco use and secondhand smoke exposure before, during, and after pregnancy. Washington, DC: National Association of County and City Health Officials ,

Annotation: This site provides access to a June 19, 2008 webcast that highlights national, state, and local initiatives that address tobacco use and exposure and the health of MCH populations. Systems level approaches to smoking cessation among pregnant and parenting women, as well as the connection between environmental tobacco smoke and infant health were discussed. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Association of County and City Health Officials , 1100 17th Street, N.W., Seventh Floor, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 783-5550 Fax: (202) 783-1583 E-mail: info@naccho.org Web Site: http://www.naccho.org Available from the website after registration.

Keywords: Child health, Environmental exposure, Infant health, Local initiatives, National initiatives, Passive smoking, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Prevention, Smoking cessation, Smoking during pregnancy, State initiatives, Tobacco use

Toggle Details

Campaign for Tobacco-Free Kids. 2007. Women's health and smoking. Washington, DC: Campaign for Tobacco-Free Kids, 5 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about the health risks for women associated with cigarette smoking. The following topics are discussed: mortality, cardiovascular disease, lung cancer, other cancers, smoking and pregnancy, other health risks, and the benefits of quitting. Endnotes are included.

Contact: Campaign for Tobacco-Free Kids, National Center for Tobacco-Free Kids, 1400 Eye Street, Suite 1200, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 296-5469 Fax: (202) 296-5427 Web Site: http://www.tobaccofreekids.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Cancer, Lung cancer, Mortality, Smoking, Smoking cessation, Smoking during pregnancy, Women's health

Toggle Details

National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion. 2007. Preventing smoking and exposure to secondhand smoke before, during, and after pregnancy. Atlanta, GA: National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, 2 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about smoking and exposure to secondhand smoke before, during, and after pregnancy. The fact sheet offers facts about the consequences of smoking before and during pregnancy, the prevalence of smoking during the last 3 months of pregnancy,and the risks from exposure to secondhand smoke. Recommended strategies and policies are provided.

Contact: National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 4770 Buford Highway, N.E., Mailstop K-40, Atlanta, GA 30341-3717, Telephone: (404) 498-1515 Secondary Telephone: (800) 232-4636 E-mail: cdcinfo@cdc.gov Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/nccdphp Available from the website.

Keywords: Infant health, Passive smoking, Public policy, Smoking, Smoking cessation, Smoking during pregnancy, Women's health

Toggle Details

U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, Office of Applied Studies. 2007. Cigarette use among pregnant women and recent mothers. Rockville, MD: U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, 4 pp. (NSDUH report)

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about cigarette use among pregnant women and women who recently gave birth. The fact sheet is based on the National Survey on Drug Use and Health, which asks female respondents ages 12-44 whether they are currently pregnant and how many months pregnant they are; it also asks respondents about their past-month use of cigarettes. This fact sheet examines cigarette use amoung three categories of women: (1) pregnant women, (2) women who recently gave birth, and (3) women who were not pregnant and did not recently give birth. The report discusses prevalence of cigarette use; past-month use, by demographic characteristics; and prevalence of cigarette use, by trimester. Findings in brief are included. Endnotes conlude the fact sheet.

Contact: U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, Office of Applied Studies, 1 Choke Cherry Road, Room 7-1044, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (240) 276-1212 Web Site: http://www.oas.samhsa.gov/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Mothers, Smoking, Smoking during pregnancy, Women's health

Toggle Details

Robert Wood Johnson Foundation. 2006. Smoke-free families: State of the Science Capstone Meeting — conference report. [Princeton, NJ]: Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, 16 pp.

Annotation: This report presents the key points discussed at the State of the Science Capstone Meeting, held on October 18-29, 2006, at the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation (RWJF). The meeting was part of the RWJF national program, Smoke-Free Families: Innovations to Stop Smoking During and Beyond Pregnancy. The purpose of the conference was to convene the researchers, practitioners, and advisors involved in Smoke-Free Families for reviews of the program's accomplishments, presentations of recent research findings, and discussions of future directions. The paper presents research findings, research questions that still need answers, and funding options that might support such research. A summary is included.

Contact: Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, Route One and College Road, East, P.O. Box 2316, Princeton, NJ 08543, Telephone: (877) 843-7953 Fax: Web Site: http://www.rwjf.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Families, Financing, National programs, Research, Smoking cessation, Smoking during pregnancy

Toggle Details

U.S. Office of the Surgeon General. 2006. The health consequences of involuntary exposure to tobacco smoke: A report of the Surgeon General. Rockville, MD: U.S. Office of the Surgeon General, 709 pp.

Annotation: This report documents the adverse health effects of involuntary exposure to tobacco smoke in adults, children, and infants. Contents include the toxicology of secondhand smoke, assessment and prevalence of exposure, reproductive and developmental effects from exposure to secondhand smoke, respiratory effects in children, cancer among adults, cardiovascular diseases and respiratory effects in adults, control of secondhand smoke exposure, and a vision for the future.

Contact: U.S. Office of the Surgeon General, 5600 Fishers Lane, Room 18-66, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-4000 Fax: (301) 443-3574 Web Site: http://www.surgeongeneral.gov/index.html $49.00; also available from the website. Document Number: GPO # 017-024-01685-3.

Keywords: Adults, Adverse effects, Child development, Child health, Children, Passive smoking, Smoking, Spanish language materials, Tobacco use

Toggle Details

Partnership for Smoke-Free Families. [2003]. Implementation of pregnancy-specific practice guidelines for smoking cessation. [Birmingham, AL]: Partnership for Smoke-Free Families, 87 pp., exec. summ. (4 pp.).

Annotation: This manual outlines the development and implementation of a focused program in San Diego, CA, on smoking cessation for pregnant women and reduction of environmental tobacco smoke exposure among infants and young children. Contents include lessons learned, recommendations for program implementation, and samples of program materials. Contents include the prenatal and postnatal program components; elements of program launch; program recruitment, training, and retention; database development, management, and output; program budget and staffing; and program outcomes. The final sections include publications, presentations, and recognition; summary and future directions; and references.

Contact: Partnership for Smoke-Free Families, National Program Office, 725 Martin Luther Kind Blvd., Chapel Hill, NC 27599, Telephone: 919.843.7663 Fax: 919.966.5764 E-mail: feedback@helppregnantsmokersquit.org Web Site: http://www.smokefreefamilies.org Available from the website.

Keywords: California, Case studies, Child health, Community programs, Infant health, Passive smoking, Pregnant women, Program descriptions, Resources for professionals, Smoking cessation, Smoking during pregnancy, Tobacco use, Young children

Toggle Details

Mattison DR, Wilson S, Coussens C, Gilbert D (Eds.) and Board on Health Sciences Policy, Roundtable on Environmental Health Sciences, Research, and Medicine. 2003. The role of environmental hazards in premature birth: Workshop summary. Washington, DC: National Academies Press, 127 pp.

Annotation: This book summarizes a workshop convened on October 2-3, 2001, to look at issues surrounding the impact of environmental exposure on the fetus in the uterus, risks of premature birth, as well as child health and well-being throughout life. In addition the role of social and behavioral factors such as stress, anxiety, depression, drug use, alcohol use, and tobacco smoking is discussed. Chapters include: (1) preterm birth and its consequences, (2) labor and delivery, (3) preterm birth and a brief summary of biological pathways, (4) preterm birth and gene-environment interactions, (5) the social implications of preterm birth, and (6) future directions for research. The book also contains abstracts of 18 relevant articles and references. Three appendices contain the workshop agenda, a list of speakers and panelists, and a list of workshop participants.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: customer_service@nap.edu Web Site: http://www.nap.edu $35.00, plus shipping and handling. Document Number: ISBN 0-309-09065-2.

Keywords: Childbirth, Conferences, Environment, Environmental exposure, Environmental influences, Genes, Labor, Maternal fetal exchange, Maternal health, Maternal mental health, Prematurity, Preterm birth, Research, Substance abusing mothers, Substance abusing pregnant women

Toggle Details

American Legacy Foundation. [2002]. The state of pregnancy and smoking in the United States. [Washington, DC]: American Legacy Foundation, 13 pp.

Annotation: This booklet provides facts and statistics about smoking during pregnancy according to women's age group, racial/ethnic group, and education level, as well as information about the health risks for both mothers and their infants of smoking during pregnancy. It also details the costs of tobacco use in the United States. Finally, the Great Start national media campaign is described. Information in the booklet is presented in text and tables.

Contact: American Legacy Foundation, 1724 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 454-5555 Web Site: http://www.americanlegacy.org Available at no charge.

Keywords: Media campaigns, Smoking cessation, Smoking during pregnancy, Statistics, Tobacco use

Toggle Details

Bailey D, Taylor P, Zaichkin J (Eds.). 2002. Smoking cessation during pregnancy: Guidelines for intervention. Olympia, WA: Maternal and Child Health, Washington State Department of Health, 56 pp.

Annotation: This booklet provides clinicians with information about how to conduct a brief (5-15 minute) intervention with pregnant women to help women stop smoking, if they are ready to quit. The goals of the intervention described in the booklet are to understand the woman's position on smoking during pregnancy, the importance she places on quitting, and her confidence in her ability to succeed. The booklet also provides information on resources that clinicians can offer to women who want to quit smoking as well as information on use and prescription of smoking-cessation pharmaceutical aids during pregnancy. Topics discussed in the booklet include (1) stages of change and motivational interviewing, (2) provider scripts for motivating the client, (3) anticipating and managing problems, (4) provider script for managing relapse, and (5) pharmacotherapy. The booklet includes four appendices (1) Medicaid smoking cessation counseling benefit, (2) the 5 Rs (relevance, risks, rewards, roadblocks, repetition), (3) tobacco cessation resources, and (4) additional reading.

Contact: Washington State Department of Health, Office of Maternal and Child Health, P.O. Box 47835, Olympia, WA 98504-7835, Telephone: (360) 236-3502 Fax: (360) 236-2323 E-mail: mch.support@doh.wa.gov Web Site: Available at no charge; also available from the website.

Keywords: Infant health, Intervention, Motivation, Prescription drugs, Smoking cessation, Smoking during pregnancy, Women's health

Toggle Details

National Partnership to Help Pregnant Smokers Quit. 2002. Action plan. Chapel Hill, NC: National Partnership to Help Pregnant Smokers Quit, 34 pp.

Annotation: This action plan is developed by a coalition of 40 health, business, and government organizations committed to drastically reduce the number of women who smoke during pregnancy. The plan outlines a clinical and community-based intervention program for every pregnant smoker that involves health care providers, worksites, communities, state and federal government agencies, and the research community. The contents include an introduction and overview of the plan; consequences, challenges, and opportunities of preventing maternal smoking; aims and strategies of the action plan involving the health care system, using the media effectively; harnessing resources in communities and worksites; capitalizing on state and federal funding and policies; and promoting research, evaluation, and surveillance. The publication concludes with acknowledgments, references, and resources.

Contact: National Partnership to Help Pregnant Smokers Quit, 725 Martin Luther King Jr Boulevard, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-7590, Telephone: (919) 843-7663 Fax: (919) 966-5764 E-mail: feedback@helppregnantsmokersquit.org Web Site: http://www.helppregnantsmokersquit.org/ Available at no charge.

Keywords: Pregnancy complications, Prenatal education, Prevention programs, Smoking cessation, Smoking during pregnancy

Toggle Details

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. BeTobaccoFree.gov. Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services,

Annotation: This website consolidates tobacco-related information and resources from U.S. Department of Health and Human Services' (HHS') agencies including information for young people on avoiding or ending tobacco use. The website contains general information on tobacco, federal and state laws and policies, health statistics, and evidence-based methods on how to quit. A social media dashboard provides real time updates from HHS tobacco-related social media accounts including Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, infographics, podcasts, and Tumblr.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (202) 619-0257 Secondary Telephone: (877) 696-6775 Web Site: http://www.hhs.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Multimedia, Pregnant women, Smoking cessation, Tobacco

Return to Previous Page | Go To Cross-Database Search | Advanced MCHLine® Search