Search the Databases

Search
Advanced Search

Site Tools

Partner Projects

 

Bibliography of Materials from MCHLine®

This bibliography of 50 items is drawn from MCHLine®, the MCH Library online catalog. It includes selected materials published in the last ten years that focus on stages of pregnancy, pregnancy complications, harmful substance avoidance, pregnancy for women with disabilities, and childbirth. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Library. To identify additional materials on this topic, search MCHLine® using our online search form.

The MCH Library focuses on publications from federal and state agencies, from grantees of federal and state agencies, and from professional and voluntary organizations. It contains unique materials on the history of maternal and child health in the United States, policy papers, reports, conference proceedings, manuals, survey instruments, guidelines, and curricula. The library does not collect materials on clinical medicine. Consumer health materials and commercially published materials are collected very selectively.

Displaying 50 records.
Toggle Details

Lorenzo SB. 2012. Preconception and pregnancy: Knowledge path (3rd ed.). Washington, DC: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health,

Annotation: This knowledge path provides a guide to resources about preconception health in women, pregnancy, and prenatal care, including selected electronic resources, databases, publications, and online discussion groups and newsletters available through the World Wide Web, and selected, recent print publications. It is aimed at policymakers, health professionals, and researchers. This electronic document is updated periodically. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 Fax: (202) 784-9777 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: http://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Bibliographies, Electronic publications, Knowledge paths, Preconception care, Pregnancy, Prenatal care

Toggle Details

Lorenzo SB. 2011. Preconception and pregnancy: Resources for families (2nd ed.). Washington, DC: Maternal and Child Health Library, Georgetown University,

Annotation: This resource brief helps families find links to resources about preconception and prenatal care and websites about preconception and pregnancy. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 Fax: (202) 784-9777 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: http://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Bibliographies, Consumer education materials, Electronic publications, Families, Family support services, Preconception care, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Prenatal care

Toggle Details

Vermont Child Health Improvement Program. 2011. Practice toolkit for improving prenatal care. [Burlington, VT]: Vermont Child Health Improvement Program, University of Vermont Department of Pediatrics, var. pp.

Annotation: This toolkit, for health care professionals in Vermont, provides evidence-based care topics for improving the health and prenatal care of pregnant women. It describes the Improving Prenatal Care in Vermont (IPCV) project and identifies "best practice" prenatal guidelines and assists obstetric service providers in incorporating these guidelines in to their office systems. Topics include practice assessment, patient satisfaction, tobacco cessation, nutrition, breastfeeding readiness, gestational diabetes, psychosocial/behavioral, substance abuse, intimate partner violence, depression, preterm labor, infectious disease, environmental exposure, and genetic screening. This is a companion document to the "State Guide for Improving Prenatal Care".

Contact: Vermont Child Health Improvement Program, University of Vermont College of Medicine, St. Josephs 7, UHC Campus, One South Prospect Street, Burlington, VT 05401, Telephone: (802) 656-8210 Fax: (802) 656-8368 Web Site: http://www.med.uvm.edu/vchip Available from the website.

Keywords: Genetic screening, Guidelines, Nutrition, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Prenatal education, Resources for professionals, Sexually transmitted diseases, State programs, Vermont

Toggle Details

Berns SD (ed.). 2010. Toward improving the outcome of pregnancy III: Enhancing perinatal health through quality, safety and performance initiatives. White Plains, NY: March of Dimes, 138 pp.

Annotation: This book explores the elements that are essential to improving quality, safety and performance across the continuum of perinatal care. it covers the importance of consistent data collection and measurement; evidence-based initiatives; adherence to clinical practice guidelines; the life-course perspective; care that is patient- and family-centered, culturally sensitive and linguistically appropriate; policies that support quality perinatal care; and systems change. Each chapter illustrates specific strategies and interventions that incorporate process and systems change that can improve perinatal care, including statewide quality improvement collaboratives. It includes examples of promising and successful initiatives at hospitals and within healthcare systems across the country.

Contact: March of Dimes, 1275 Mamaroneck Avenue, White Plains, NY 10605, Telephone: (914) 997-4488 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: Web Site: http://www.marchofdimes.com Available from the website.

Keywords: Guidelines, Intervention, Model programs, Model programs, Perinatal care, Perinatal health, Program improvement, Safety, State initiatives

Toggle Details

Gross E. 2009. What women need to know: The HIV treatment guidelines for pregnant women. Newark, NJ: National Pediatric and Family HIV Resource Center, 21 pp.

Annotation: Written in a question and answer format, this guide provides information to women with HIV infection who are pregnant. It discusses therapy recommendations from the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention to improve maternal health and reduce perinatal HIV transmission. A short glossary is included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: AIDS Education and Training Centers National Resource Center, University of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey, School of Nursing, Francois-Xavier Bagnoud Center, 30 Bergen Street, Eighth Floor, Newark, NJ 07107, Telephone: (973) 972-6587 Fax: (973) 972-0399 E-mail: info@aidsetc.org Web Site: http://www.aidsetc.org $4.95.

Keywords: Guidelines, HIV, Maternal health, Pamphlets, Perinatal health, Pregnant women, Therapeutics

Toggle Details

Institute of Medicine. 2009. Weight gain during pregnancy: Reexamining the guidelines. [Washington, DC]: Institute of Medicine, 4 pp.

Annotation: This report examines weight gain during pregnancy and uses prepregnancy weight and body mass index to set a range for healthy weight gain. It makes recommendations to federal, state, and local organizations about using these updated guidelines to move women toward healthier pregnancies.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: customer_service@nap.edu Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available from the website.

Keywords: Body weight, Gestational weight gain, Guidelines, Pregnancy, Pregnant women

Toggle Details

Weight-control Information Network. 2009. Fit for two: Tips for pregnancy. Bethesda, MD: National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases, 25 pp. (Healthy eating and physical activity across your lifespan)

Annotation: This Web site, which is geared toward pregnant women, offers information about how to have a healthier pregnancy by eating healthy foods and engaging in physical activity. The information is divided into three main sections: healthy eating, physical activity, and after the baby is born. Each section includes answers to common questions. A list of resources is included, as well.

Contact: Weight-control Information Network, National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases, One Win Way, Bethesda, MD 20892-3665, Telephone: (877) 946-4627 Fax: (202) 828-1028 E-mail: WIN@info.niddk.nih.gov Web Site: http://win.niddk.nih.gov/index.htm Available at no charge; also available from the website. Document Number: NIH Pub no. 06-5130.

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Food habits, Physical activity, Pregnancy, Prenatal education, Women's health

Toggle Details

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. 2008. Safe motherhood: Promoting health for women before, during, and after pregnancy. Atlanta, GA: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 4 pp. (At a glance)

Annotation: This document focuses on promoting health for women before, during, and after pregnancy. Topics include deaths from pregnancy complications; racial, ethnic, and age disparities; and maternal death. CDC's national leadership and state partnership programs in pregnancy mortality and maternal health are described. The final section discusses the importance of conducting research, gathering strong, useful data, and educating and training others in maternal health.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30333, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: cdc@cdcinfo.gov Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Data collection, Health promotion, Maternal health, Maternal mortality, National programs, Population surveillance

Toggle Details

National Alliance for Hispanic Health. 2008. Prenatal care: Helping you have a healthy baby. (2nd ed.). Washington, DC: National Alliance for Hispanic Health, 58 pp.

Annotation: This publication discusses the importance of prenatal care, what to expect during a prenatal care visit, and the tests and exams that pregnant women can expect to receive. It also provides guidelines to prevent or eliminate common discomforts during pregnancy; describes the factors that could complicate pregnancy, and important things to consider after the birth of the baby such as breastfeeding, physical changes during the postpartum period, and family spacing. Each page includes text in both English and Spanish.

Contact: National Alliance for Hispanic Health, 1501 16th Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20036-1401, Telephone: (202) 387-5000 Fax: E-mail: Web Site: http://www.hispanichealth.org/ Available at no charge; also available from the website.

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Guidelines, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Prenatal screening, Spanish language materials

Toggle Details

Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, Emerging Issues Committee, Preconception Care Work Group. 2007. Preconception health and health care. Washington, DC: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 2 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about how pregnancy outcomes are affected by a woman's health before she becomes pregnant. The fact sheets includes recommendations issued by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention in the following areas: (1) individual responsibility across the lifespan, (2) consumer awareness, (3) preventive visits, (4) intervention for identified risks, (5) interconception care, (6) prepregancy checkup, (7) health insurance coverage for women with low incomes, (8) public health programs and strategies, (9) research, and (10) monitoring improvements. The role of maternal and child health is also discussed.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 2030 M Street, N.W., Suite 350, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 775-0061 E-mail: info@amchp.org Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Health insurance, Intervention, Low income groups, MCH services, Preconception care, Pregnancy outcome, Prevention, Programs, Public health, Reproductive health, Research, Uninsured persons, Women's health

Toggle Details

March of Dimes. 2007. Are you ready?. White Plains, NY: March of Dimes, 37 pp.

Annotation: This booklet, for women considering pregnancy or who could become pregnant, offers suggestions for having a healthy pregnancy. Topics include talking with her partner about readiness for a child and care for the baby; getting into healthy habits in diet, exercise, and folic acid supplements; and getting a check up before pregnancy. The booklet is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: March of Dimes, 1275 Mamaroneck Avenue, White Plains, NY 10605, Telephone: (914) 997-4488 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: Web Site: http://www.marchofdimes.com $22.50for package of 10, plus shipping and handling.

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Health planning, Planned pregnancy, Preconception care, Pregnancy, Prenatal care, Prenatal education, Spanish language materials

Toggle Details

Oregon Department of Human Services, Office of Family Health. 2007. A prenatal and newborn resource guide for Oregon families. [Portland, OR]: Oregon Department of Human Services, Office of Family Health, 87 pp.

Annotation: This guide, which is intended for expectant parents, provides health information relevant to the prenatal period as well as to the period following the infant's birth. Topics include important contacts, what pregnant women should think about, preparing the home for the newborn, what to expect in the hospital, coming home, and the infant's first months.

Contact: Oregon Department of Human Services, Office of Family Health, 800 N.E. Oregon Street, Suite 850, Portland, OR 97232, Telephone: (971) 673-0232 Secondary Telephone: (971) 673-0372 Fax: (971) 673-0231 Web Site: http://www.oregon.gov/DHS/ph/ofhs/

Keywords: Childbirth, Consumer education materials, Infant health, Parenting skills, Pregnancy, Prenatal care, Reproductive health, Women's health

Toggle Details

Colorado Community Health Network. [2006] (ca.). Dentistry and the pregnant patient. [Denver, CO]: Colorado Community Health Network, 9 pp.

Annotation: This booklet for oral health professionals in Colorado provides guidance in managing oral health care for pregnant women. Topics include physiologic changes in pregnancy, fetal development milestones for each trimester, key principles to observe, common oral health conditions that may arise during pregnancy, oral health considerations to observe in treating these conditions, and a guide to medication use in pregnancy.

Contact: Colorado Community Health Network, 600 Grant Street, Suite 800, Denver, CO 80203, Telephone: (303) 861-5165 Fax: (303) 861-5315 Web Site: http://www.cchn.org Single copies available at no charge.

Keywords: Dental care, Dentistry, Oral health, Patient care management, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Resources for professionals

Toggle Details

Childbirth Connection. [2006]. The rights of childbearing women. New York, NY: Childbirth Connection, 4 pp.

Annotation: This pamphlet lists 20 rights of childbearing women, and briefly describes each. The rights span a range of topics, including access to and choices about health care, the birth setting, information, privacy, access to records, support, freedom of movement during labor, contact with the newborn, and breastfeeding. The pamphlet also provides a list of problems with maternity care in the United States.

Contact: Childbirth Connection, 260 Madison Avenue, New York, NY 10016, Telephone: (212) 777-5000 Secondary Telephone: (508) 651-2442 Fax: (212) 777-9320 E-mail: info@childbirthconnection.org Web Site: http://www.childbirthconnection.org Available in 50-count bundles for $12 for first bundle, $6 for additional bundles; also available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Breastfeeding, Childbirth, Family support, Health care, Human rights, Information, Medical records, Pregnant women, Social support, Women's rights

Toggle Details

American Institute for Preventive Medicine. 2006. Healthy life: Prenatal self-care guide. (5th ed.). Farmington Hills, MI: American Institute for Preventive Medicine, 96 pp.

Annotation: This self-care guide has two parts: one providing information about pregnancy, labor, and delivery and the other about health problems and common complaints during pregnancy. The sections present the problem or complaint, list the causes, list the treatments, present a list of questions to ask when visiting a health care provider, list symptoms when a health care provider should be called, and list self care tips. The guide ends with a glossary of necessary terms. It is illustrated with drawings.

Contact: American Institute for Preventive Medicine, 30445 Northwestern Highway, Suite 350, Farmington Hills, MI 48334-3102 , Telephone: (800) 345-2476 Secondary Telephone: (810) 539-1800 Fax: (810) 539-1808 E-mail: aipm@healthylife.com Web Site: http://www.healthylife.com/ $5.95, plus shipping and handling.

Keywords: Childbirth, Exercise, Labor, Nutrition, Pregnancy, Pregnancy complications, Prenatal care, Prenatal development, Prenatal education, Therapeutics

Toggle Details

Cesario SK, Beck C, Creehan P, Watts N, Santa-Donato A. 2006. Compendium of postpartum care. (2nd ed.). Washington, DC: Association of Women's Health, Obstetric and Neonatal Nurses, ca. 120 pp.

Annotation: This compendium provides information for nurses caring for women, infants, and families in any setting: hospital, birthing center, ambulatory care, or home. This revised reference manual provides evidence-based information and guidelines for postpartum care, and addresses the physical, emotional, and psychosocial needs of mothers, newborns, and families for the first three months following birth. Topics include an overview of postpartum care in the hospital, discharge planning and health teaching, early home care of the mother and infant, reorganization of the family unit, and breastfeeding. Also featured are the latest research and practice recommendations for postpartum mood and anxiety disorders, including postpartum obsessive-compulsive disorder, panic disorder, and post-traumatic stress disorder secondary to birth trauma. References and a glossary are provided along with continuing education forms, questions, a participant evaluation form, patient handouts, and a post-text answer key.

Contact: Association of Women's Health, Obstetric and Neonatal Nurses, 2000 L Street, N.W., Suite 740, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 261-2400 Secondary Telephone: (800) 673-8499 Fax: (202) 728-0575 E-mail: customerservice@awhonn.org Web Site: http://www.awhonn.org/awhonn/ $46.95, plus shipping and handling.

Keywords: Home visiting, Infant care, Maternal mental health, Mental health services, Nursing services, Postpartum care, Postpartum depression, Postpartum women, Puerperal disorders, Resources for professionals

Toggle Details

PennWell. 2006. [Template of letters for dentist-physician communication]. Tulsa, OK: PennWell, 2 items.

Annotation: These sample letters are intended for use by oral health professionals in communicating with medical professionals about a mutual client. One letter communicates information about a client who has been diagnosed with periodontal disease and who is contemplating becoming pregnant; this client may benefit from preconception counseling related to the importance of oral health before and during pregnancy. The other letter communicates information about a client who is pregnant and who has been diagnosed with periodontal disease. The letter alerts the medical professional to the potential increased risk for an adverse pregnancy outcome as a result of elevated systemic mediators of inflammation from the client's current periodontal condition. A bibliography of published articles accompanies each letter. These materials, along with a twopage handout titled Helping Patients Understand the Importance of Oral Health Before and During Pregnancy, were developed as implementation tools to accompany the November 2006 issue of Grand Rounds in Oral- Systemic Medicine. The issue focuses on periodontal disease in women of childbearing age.

Contact: PennWell, 1421 S. Sheridan Road, Tulsa, OK 74112, Telephone: (800) 331-4463 Secondary Telephone: (918) 835-3161 E-mail: Headquarters@PennWell.com Web Site: http://www.pennwell.com Available from the website.

Keywords: Dentists, Forms, Oral health, Patient care, Periodontal diseases, Physicians, Pregnant women, Prenatal care

Toggle Details

Wisconsin Association for Perinatal Care. 2006. Becoming a parent: Preconception checklist (2nd ed.). Madison, WI]: Wisconsin Association for Perinatal Care, 10 pp.

Annotation: This checklist includes questions for future parents that can help them prepare for a healthy pregnancy and birth. Questions are divided into the following categores: (1) family medical history, (2) your medical history, (3) reproductive health, (4) nutrition, (5) home, work, and social hazards, and (6) parenting considerations.

Contact: Wisconsin Association for Perinatal Care, McConnell Hall, 1010 Mound Street, Madison, WI 53715, Telephone: (608) 417-6060 Fax: 608/267-6089 E-mail: wapc@perinatalweb.org Web Site: http://www.perinatalweb.org/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Medical history, Nutrition, Parenting, Preconception care, Pregnancy, Questionnaires, Reproductive health

Toggle Details

Wisconsin Association for Perinatal Care, Prenatal Testing Committee. 2006. Laboratory testing during pregnancy: Recommendations of the Prenatal Testing Committee. (3rd ed.). Madison, WI: Wisconsin Association for Perinatal Care, 48 pp.

Annotation: This report, which is geared toward clinicians, offers recommendations on specific laboratory tests that should be considered during the course of prenatal care and describes the circumstances under which the tests should be performed. The report also provides detailed information about a wide range of prenatal screens and tests.

Contact: Wisconsin Association for Perinatal Care, McConnell Hall, 1010 Mound Street, Madison, WI 53715, Telephone: (608) 417-6060 Fax: 608/267-6089 E-mail: wapc@perinatalweb.org Web Site: http://www.perinatalweb.org/ $3.50; also available from the website.

Keywords: Prenatal care, Prenatal screening, Screening tests, Wisconsin

Toggle Details

Genesee County Health Department. [2005]. Give your child a healthy start. Flint, MI: Genesee County Health Department, 1 v.

Annotation: This curriculum for expectant parents enrolled in Healthy Start presents information about pregnancy and childbirth. The curriculum provides information for parents under the following categories: (1) taking care of yourself (easing discomfort, physical changes during pregnancy, depression, food and nutrition, stress, physical activity, care after birth, and family planning), (2) taking care of your infant ( physical development, premature infants, feeding, brain development, bonding, developmental milestones, baby care, crying, and oral health), (3) medical issues (infection and sexually transmitted diseases, alcohol and drug use during pregnancy, low birthweight, and shaken baby syndrome), and (4) safety (domestic abuse and violence, mildew and mold, fire safety, home safety, safe sleep, day care, and care safety). A brochure, a guide to services, and two newsletter issues are included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Genesee County Health Department, 630 South Saginaw Street, Flint, MI 48502, Telephone: (810) 257-3612 Fax: (810) 257-3147 Web Site: http://www.gchd.us/

Keywords: Alcohol use during pregnancy, Bonding, Childbirth, Consumer education materials, Crying, Curricula, Depression, Drug use during pregnancy, Family planning, Healthy Start, Infant development, Infant health, Infection, Low birthweight, Nutrition, Oral health, Physical activity, Pregnancy, Prematurity, Sexually transmitted diseases, Shaken baby syndrome

Toggle Details

Vermont Child Health Improvement Program. [2005]. State guide to improving prenatal care. [Burlington, VT]: Vermont Child Health Improvement Program, University of Vermont Department of Pediatrics, 28 pp.

Annotation: This guide provides an outline for the need to improve prenatal care as well as the mission, goals, methodology, and leanings of the Improving Prenatal Care in Vermont (IPCV) project. The IPCV project identifies "best practice" prenatal guidelines and assists obstetric service providers in incorporating these guidelines in to their office systems. The report outlines topic areas for improvement, introduces the "Practice Toolkit", and outlines the history and issues addressed by the Vermont Child Health Improvement Program (VCHIP) project. A companion document "Practice Toolkit for Improving Prenatal Care" is provided on the Web site.

Contact: Vermont Child Health Improvement Program, University of Vermont College of Medicine, St. Josephs 7, UHC Campus, One South Prospect Street, Burlington, VT 05401, Telephone: (802) 656-8210 Fax: (802) 656-8368 Web Site: http://www.med.uvm.edu/vchip Available from the website.

Keywords: Guidelines, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Prenatal education, Resources for professionals, Screening, State programs, Vermont

Toggle Details

American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists. 2005. Your pregnancy and birth (4th ed.). Washington, DC: American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, 386 pp.

Annotation: This book, which is geared toward pregnant women, answers common questions that women ask their obstetrician-gynocologist before, during, and after pregnancy. Topics covered include (1) pregnancy, (2) labor, delivery, and postpartum, (3) special care (genetic disorders and birth defects, managing medical problems, complications during pregnancy, pregnancy loss, and infections during pregnancy), and (4) staying healthy. Also included are a pregnancy diary, growth charts, a list of resources, a glossary, and an index. The book is extensively illustrated with black and white photos and line drawings and also includes a variety of charts, checklists, and tables. The book is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, 409 12th Street S.W., P.O. Box 96920, Washington, DC 20090-6920, Telephone: (202) 638-5577 Secondary Telephone: (202) 863-2518 E-mail: resources@acog.org Web Site: http://www.acog.org $12.11, for English; $10.95 for Spanish, plus shipping and handling. Document Number: ISBN 0-696-22591-3.

Keywords: Childbirth education, Consumer education materials, Postpartum women, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Spanish language materials, Women's health

Toggle Details

Chou R, Smits AK, Huffman LH, Korthuis PT. 2005. Screening for human immunodeficiency virus in pregnant women: Evidence synthesis. Rockville, MD: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 90 pp.

Annotation: This evidence synthesis focuses on screening for unsuspected human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) using HIV antibody tests in pregnant women, including adolescents. Although this report reviews the overall body of evidence on screening for HIV infection in pregnant women, it focuses on more recent data on the efficacy of combination antiretroviral regimens in prevention of mother-to-child transmission, harms associated with receipt of antiretrovirals in pregnancy, and the accuracy and acceptability of rapid testing. The report, which includes an abstract, discusses the study methods and results and offers a discussion. Statistical information is presented in figures and tables throughout the report. The report includes six appendices: (1) search strategies, (2) inclusion and exclusion criteria by key question, (3) quality rating criteria, (4) search and selection of literature, (5) statistical methods used for outcome tables, and (6) reviewers. References are included.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 540 Gaither Road, Suite 2000, Rockville, MD 20850, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (800) 358-9295 E-mail: http://info.ahrq.gov Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Drug therapies, HIV, HIV screening, Literature reviews, MCH research, Pregnant adolescents, Pregnant women

Toggle Details

Kansas Head Start Association. 2005. Teeth for two: Oral health education tools for pregnant women and new families. Shawnee, KS: Kansas Head Start Association, 3 items.

Annotation: This kit is intended to provide a framework that parent educators, including home visitors from Early Head Start and other organizations, can use to design oral-health-education and training experiences for pregnant women. Contents include a brochure; a flip chart with text, illustrations, and color photographs; and a curriculum. The brochure highlights basic oral health activities for pregnancy. The flip chart is formatted to cover a specific oral health topic for pregnant women on one side of each page, with topic-related anticipatory guidance and facts for the oral health educator on the other. The curriculum provides presentation slides and seven training modules, which address the following topics: (1) effects of the mother's oral health on the fetus and the newborn, (2) effects of pregnancy on oral health, (3) oral health care during pregnancy, (4) gingivitis and periodontitis, (5) oral hygiene habits, (6) action steps to a healthier mouth, and (7) nutrition. The brochure and flip chart are available in English and Spanish. Also available are a mirror cling to encourage daily oral hygiene, care cards about toothbrushing and healthy eating and drinking for young children, a list of books and activities for young children, and a tutorial for non-oral-health professionals who work with infants, children, and adults with disabilities.

Contact: Kansas Head Start Association, 925 Vermont, Lawrence, KS 66044, Telephone: (785) 856-3132 Fax: (785) 824-2087 E-mail: khsa@kc.rr.com Web Site: http://www.ksheadstart.org Available for loan; also available from the website.

Keywords: Spanish language materials, Curricula, Dental care, Dental hygiene, Early Head Start, Health education, Home visiting, Oral health, Parent education, Pregnant women

Toggle Details

National Healthy Mothers, Healthy Babies Coalition. 2005. Baby your oral health: What you need to know about oral health and pregnancy. [Alexandria, VA: National Healthy Mothers, Healthy Babies Coalition], 6 pp. (Fast facts for families)

Annotation: This brochure discusses the importance of good oral health during pregnancy. Topics include the effects of poor oral health and periodontal disease on the risk for premature birth or low birthweight infants, visiting the dentist while pregnant, risks associated with having dental work performed during pregnancy, and oral health tips. Internet resources are provided along with brief facts about periodontal disease during pregnancy and risks to the fetus.

Contact: National Healthy Mothers, Healthy Babies Coalition, 4401 Ford Avenue, Suite 300, Alexandria, VA 22302, Telephone: (703) 837-4792 Fax: (703) 664-0485 E-mail: info@hmhb.org Web Site: http://www.hmhb.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Educational materials, Infants, Low birthweight, Oral health, Periodontal diseases, Pregnancy, Pregnancy outcome, Pregnant women, Pregnant women, Premature infants, Risk factors

Toggle Details

Regenstein M, Cummings L, Huang J. 2005. Barriers to prenatal care: Findings from a survey of low-income and uninsured women who deliver at safety net hospitals. Washington, DC: National Public Health and Hospital Institute, 52 pp.

Annotation: This report presents findings from a survey of women who delivered at large, urban, public hospitals. The purpose of the survey was to determine the extent to which these women encounter or perceive barriers to accessing prenatal care services. The paper, which includes an executive summary, discusses national prental care trends, the study methodology, the survey and sample response rates, and findings. A discussion and policy implications are presented. Statistical information is presented in figures and tables throughout the report. Endnotes are included.

Contact: National Public Health and Hospital Institute, 1301 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W., Suite 950, Washington, DC 20004, Telephone: (202) 585-0135 Fax: (202) 585-0101 Web Site: http://www.naph.org/nphhi.cfm?CFID=3225787&CFTOKEN=16150052 Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, Infant mortality, Low income groups, Poverty, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Reproductive health, Surveys

Toggle Details

What to Expect Foundation. [2004] (ca.). The baby basics program: Curriculum and user's guide. New York, NY: What to Expect Foundation, 57 pp.

Annotation: This curriculum provides a guide to the Baby Basics program, a collaboration between prenatal care/prenatal education programs and adult literacy education providers that is designed to provide prenatal health literacy classes for low income populations. The program aims to foster healthier pregnancies and safer deliveries, effective communication and partnership between providers and their patients, and literate parents who can read to their children. The curriculum discusses the importance of literacy, the content of the Baby Basics book and other program materials, using the program to fulfill Medicaid prenatal care requirements, health literacy strategies during checkups, readings and activities for other professionals (outreach workers, WIC counselors, literacy providers, etc.). The curriculum concludes with sources for more information.

Contact: What to Expect Foundation, 144 W. 80th Street, No. 5, New York, NY 10024, Telephone: (212) 712-9764 E-mail: info@whattoexpect.org Web Site: http://www.whattoexpect.org Contact for cost information.

Keywords: Childbirth, Curricula, Guidelines, Health literacy, Literacy education, Nutrition, Postnatal care, Postpartum care, Pregnancy, Prenatal care

Toggle Details

Aizer A, Lleras-Muney A, Stabile M. 2004. Access to care, provider choice, and racial disparities in infant mortality. Cambridge, MA: National Bureau of Economic Research, 51 pp. (NBER working paper series no. 10445)

Annotation: This paper explores the issue of whether consumer choice of health professionals explains any of the differences in birth outcomes between children born to poor parents in the United States and those born to non-poor parents, and, if it does, why poor women choose different health professionals than their non-poor counterparts. The paper, which includes an abstract, also discusses the data, California's Disproportionate Share Program, trends in hospital choice, and specification checks. An interpretation and implications are also provided. Statistical information is presented in figures and tables grouped together at the end of the report. The report includes references.

Contact: National Bureau of Economic Research, 1050 Massachusetts Avenue, Cambridge, MA 02138-5398, Telephone: (617) 868-3900 Fax: (617) 868-2742 E-mail: info@nber.org Web Site: http://www.nber.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to prenatal care, California, Hospitals, Infant health, Infant mortality, Medicaid, Mothers, Parents, Poverty, Pregnancy outcome, Racial factors, Research

Toggle Details

Handler A. 2004. The effect of welfare reform on low-income pregnant women's insurance status and prenatal care utilization: Final report. Chicago, IL: University of Illinois School of Public Health, Community Health Sciences, 72 pp.

Annotation: This report describes a study using data from the Pregnancy Risk Assessment Monitoring System (PRAMS) from 1994-1996 and 1998-2000 in eight states to examine the impact of welfare reform on the insurance coverage and prenatal care utilization of women receiving public assistance as well as low-income women who are not recipients of public assistance. Report contents include an executive summary, introduction into the nature and scope of the research problem, a review of the literature, the study design and methods, details on the study groups, a presentation of findings, sections on discussion of findings and conclusions, as well as a list of products produced during the study and references. The appendix includes a sample PRAMS questionnaire. Statistics are presented throughout the report in tables and figures. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 Fax: (202) 784-9777 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: http://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Final reports, Health care utilization, Health insurance, Low income groups, MCH research, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Questionnaires, Welfare reform

Toggle Details

March of Dimes. 2004. Mama: Your guide to a healthy pregnancy. White Plains, NY: March of Dimes, annual.

Annotation: The articles in this annual magazine for pregnant women and their partners provide information on pregnancy-related topics such as planning, nutrition, prenatal health, sex, labor and delivery, breastfeeding, and the postpartum period. Information is presented in both narrative and question and answer formats, and the issue is illustrated with color photographs.

Contact: March of Dimes, 1275 Mamaroneck Avenue, White Plains, NY 10605, Telephone: (914) 997-4488 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: Web Site: http://www.marchofdimes.com Available at no charge.

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Pregnancy, Prenatal care, Prenatal nutrition

Toggle Details

National Institute of Child Health and Human Development. 2004. Managing gestational diabetes: A patient's guide to a healthy pregnancy. Bethesda, MD: National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, 45 pp.

Annotation: This guide provides general guidelines for pregnant women with gestational diabetes for keeping healthy during pregnancy and for promoting the best outcome for the baby. It describes gestational diabetes, its causes and its features, includes a general treatment plan to help control the condition in making informed decisions about care with their health care providers, dietitians, and family members. Appendices provide information on high-fiber foods, a sample menu, and sample record sheets for monitoring glucose, food, and physical activity.

Contact: Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, P.O. Box 3006, Rockville, MD 20847, Telephone: (800) 370-2943 Secondary Telephone: (888) 320-6942 Fax: (866) 760-5947 E-mail: NICHDInformationResourceCenter@mail.nih.gov Web Site: http://www.nichd.nih.gov Available at no charge; also available from the website. Document Number: NIH Pub. No. 04-2788.

Keywords: Blood glucose self monitoring, Gestational diabetes, Nutrition, Patient education materials, Physical activity, Pregnancy complications, Pregnant women, Prenatal care

Toggle Details

Shah MA (Ed.). 2004. Transcultural aspects of perinatal health care: A resource guide. [2nd ed.]. Tampa, FL: National Perinatal Association, 313 pp.

Annotation: This resource guide, written for health practitioners, public health departments, academic centers, and libraries, contains information about women's perinatal health care issues of various cultures including African American, Amish (Old Order), Cambodian, Chinese, Cuban, Hmong, Jamaican, Japanese, Jewish, Korean, Mexican, Mormon, Native American, Pakistani, and Seventh-Day Adventist. Each section contains information and history about the culture, health and illness, pregnancy and prenatal care, labor and delivery, postpartum and newborn care, family planning, death and burial rites, and perinatal health care issues highlighted for each of these topics, and references. Charts offered in the preface provide statistical data on infant mortality and recommended standards. The guide concludes with an index.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 141 Northwest Point Boulevard, Elk Grove Village, IL 60007-1098, Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: http://www.aap.org $49.95, plus shipping and handling. Document Number: ISBN 0-58110-097-3.

Keywords: Childbirth, Cultural diversity, Cultural factors, Ethnic factors, Family planning, Infant death, Labor, Perinatal care, Perinatal health, Postpartum care, Pregnancy, Religion

Toggle Details

Braveman P, Marchi K, Sarnoff R, Egerter S, Rittenhouse D, Salganicoff A. 2003. Promoting access to prenatal care: Lessons from the California experience. Washington, DC: Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, 69 pp.

Annotation: This report discusses the importance of prenatal care and explores the impact of the Medicaid eligibility expansions and systems improvements on early prenatal coverage and access to care in California over the past two decades. Chapter topics include an overview and background of the importance of obtaining prenatal care, trends of prenatal care use and coverage in California during 1980-1999, a survey of California's maternity population, improving early access to Medicaid coverage in California, a review of non-insurance barriers to early prenatal care, and conclusions and policy recommendations for improving access to prenatal care. A reference list and technical appendix providing a general description of the data sources, study samples, variables, and analysis plans used are provided. Statistical data are provided in chart formats throughout the report.

Contact: Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, Washington, DC Office/Public Affairs Center, 1330 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 347-5270 Fax: (202) 347-5274 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.kff.org/about/bjcc/bjcc_floor.cfm Available at no charge; also available from the website.

Keywords: Access to prenatal care, Barriers, California, Health insurance, Medicaid, Pilot projects, Prenatal care, Program descriptions, State surveys, Statistical data

Toggle Details

Brody S, Harris RP, Whitener BL, Krasnov C, Lux LJ, Sutton SF, Lohr KN. 2003. Screening for gestational diabetes mellitus. Rockville, MD: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 82 pp. (Systematic evidence review; no. 26)

Annotation: This evidence synthesis systematically reviews the evidence about the benefits and harms of screening pregnant women for gestational diabetes mellitus. The report, which includes an abstract, discusses the study methods and results and offers a discussion. Statistical information is presented in figures and tables throughout the report. The report includes two appendices: (1) acknowledgments and (2) evidence tables. References are included.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 540 Gaither Road, Suite 2000, Rockville, MD 20850, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (800) 358-9295 E-mail: http://info.ahrq.gov Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Diabetes mellitus, Gestational diabetes, Literature reviews, MCH research, Pregnant women, Screening

Toggle Details

Jones J, Ranta V, Corbett D. 2003. Improving adherence in HIV positive women. Lawrenceville, NJ: Center for Health Care Strategies, 10 pp.

Annotation: This resource paper evaluates the effectiveness of a program to use various peer counseling strategies in female HIV positive members of MetroPlus Health Plan, Inc., a subsidiary of the New York City Health and Hospitals Corporation. It describes the model comprehensive care management program for HIV positive women that uses a peer counselor to respond to the clinical and social needs of these enrollees in maintaining contact with health care providers and adhering to medication regimens. The paper outlines the study, describes the situation, identifies challenges to address, presents potential solutions, and offers next steps. Statistical information is presented in figures throughout the paper.

Contact: Center for Health Care Strategies, 200 American Metro Boulevard, Suite 119, Hamilton, NJ 08619, Telephone: (609) 528-8400 Fax: (609) 586-3679 E-mail: programs@chcs.org Web Site: http://www.chcs.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Compliance, Comprehensive health care, HIV, HIV infected patients, Model programs, New York, Patient care management, Peer counseling, Women's health

Toggle Details

Korenbrot CC. 2003. Assessment of enhanced prenatal services by women of diverse ethnic groups in Medicaid managed care: Final report. San Francisco, CA: University of California San Francisco, Institute for Health Policy Studies and Department of Obstetrics, Gynecology and Reproductive Medicine, 1 v.

Annotation: The aims of this study are to determine whether enhanced prenatal services that include nutrition, psychosocial and health education services are associated with measurable benefits as perceived by women enrolled in Medicaid managed care plans, and whether those benefits differ for African-American, Hispanic, and white (non-Hispanic) pregnant women in Medicaid managed care plans assess their care in order to: 1) compare the quality of provider-patient interactions and of prenatal care advice given by providers who are certified to provide enhanced prenatal services and those who are not certified; 2) compare the outcomes of patient satisfaction and behavioral compliance with prenatal care advice given by providers; 3) determine whether any differences in outcomes are explained by differences in the quality of care; and 4) determine whether there are differences in the quality of enhanced prenatal care or outcomes assessed by ethnically diverse women. The method used is a consumer survey instrument with reliable and validated measures for quality of interpersonal care, quality of prenatal care advice, patient satisfaction, and behavioral compliance with prenatal care advice. The findings of this study will be useful to policymakers and Medicaid managed care plan officials in deciding whether to provide incentives for more prenatal care providers to become certified providers of the enhanced services, or to improve the way nutrition, psychosocial and health education services are provided to low income, ethnically diverse women. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 Fax: (202) 784-9777 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: http://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Cultural Diversity, Final report, MCH Research, Medicaid Managed Care, Pregnant Women, Prenatal Care, Quality Assurance, Research

Toggle Details

Mattison DR, Wilson S, Coussens C, Gilbert D (Eds.) and Board on Health Sciences Policy, Roundtable on Environmental Health Sciences, Research, and Medicine. 2003. The role of environmental hazards in premature birth: Workshop summary. Washington, DC: National Academies Press, 127 pp.

Annotation: This book summarizes a workshop convened on October 2-3, 2001, to look at issues surrounding the impact of environmental exposure on the fetus in the uterus, risks of premature birth, as well as child health and well-being throughout life. In addition the role of social and behavioral factors such as stress, anxiety, depression, drug use, alcohol use, and tobacco smoking is discussed. Chapters include: (1) preterm birth and its consequences, (2) labor and delivery, (3) preterm birth and a brief summary of biological pathways, (4) preterm birth and gene-environment interactions, (5) the social implications of preterm birth, and (6) future directions for research. The book also contains abstracts of 18 relevant articles and references. Three appendices contain the workshop agenda, a list of speakers and panelists, and a list of workshop participants.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: customer_service@nap.edu Web Site: http://www.nap.edu $35.00, plus shipping and handling. Document Number: ISBN 0-309-09065-2.

Keywords: Childbirth, Conferences, Environment, Environmental exposure, Environmental influences, Genes, Labor, Maternal fetal exchange, Maternal health, Maternal mental health, Prematurity, Preterm birth, Research, Substance abusing mothers, Substance abusing pregnant women

Toggle Details

Moore ML, Moos MK, Wieczorek RR (Ed.). 2003. Cultural competence in the care of childbearing families. White Plains, NY: March of Dimes, 124 pp. (March of Dimes nursing module)

Annotation: This learning module for nurses and nurse-midwives focuses learning about and respecting the cultural beliefs of childbearing women and their families. Introductory materials describe the module format, evaluation, continuing education credit, independent study, facilitated study, cognitive objectives, and expected practice outcomes. Key concepts, pre- and postinstructional measurement sections are also included. Thirteen cultural profiles are profiled including perspectives from African Americans, Amish, Applachian, Catholic, Cherokee, Chinese, Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints, Filipino, Hmong, Japanese, Jewish, Mexican, and Muslim cultures. Additional sections include clinical applications, group discussion items, an independent study test, an independent study application, references, and other supplementary materials. The module has been approved for continuing education credits for registered nurses in New York and California.

Contact: March of Dimes, 1275 Mamaroneck Avenue, White Plains, NY 10605, Telephone: (914) 997-4488 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: Web Site: http://www.marchofdimes.com $20.00, plus shipping and handling of $3.40. Document Number: ISBN 0-86525-084-7.

Keywords: Cultural beliefs, Cultural competence, Cultural factors, Cultural sensitivity, Educational materials, Ethnic factors, Nurse midwives, Nursing, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Professional education

Toggle Details

Moos M. 2003. Preconception health promotion: A focus for women's wellness. White Plains, NY: March of Dimes, 80 pp. (March of Dimes nursing module)

Annotation: This continuing education module addresses the importance of nurses in promoting preconception wellness, updates information and research on specific health promotion content, and explores opportunities for reaching prospective parents with health information in a timely and sensitive manner. The module explores the rationale behind the movement to encourage pre-pregnancy health, provides guidance on areas appropriate for preconception risk identification and counseling, and outlines three approaches to promoting preconception wellness. Topics include glycemic control, folic acid supplementation, contraceptive decisions, medical and reproductive history, dental care, medication exposures, herbal therapies and dietary supplements, nutrition, and social and lifestyle issues. The module includes three appendices that include resource lists on reproductive risks, patient care, and March of Dimes professional development. Statistical information is presented in figures and tables throughout the module.

Contact: March of Dimes, 1275 Mamaroneck Avenue, White Plains, NY 10605, Telephone: (914) 997-4488 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: Web Site: http://www.marchofdimes.com $20.00, plus shipping and handling of $3.40. Document Number: ISBN 0-86525-094-4.

Keywords: Educational materials, Health promotion, Nursing education, Preconception care, Preconceptional nutrition, Reproductive health, Resources for professionals, Screening, Women's health

Toggle Details

Chez RA, Andres RL, Chazotte C, Ling FW. [2002]. Illicit drug abuse and dependence in women. Washington, DC: American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, 64 pp., 1 CD-ROM.

Annotation: This guidebook and CD-ROM contain a slide presentation on issues pertaining to women's dependence on illicit drugs. Topics include addiction and treatment; prevalence and incidence; physician barriers in identifying addiction; patient barriers to obtaining treatment; diagnostic criteria; the role of the obstetrician/gynecologist in screening, identifying, and counseling; treatment and prevention; an overview of common illicit drugs and their effect on prenatal care and fetal development; and an outline of ethical issues on pregnancy. The final section describes organizational and Internet resources, along with a bibliography.

Contact: American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, 409 12th Street S.W., P.O. Box 96920, Washington, DC 20090-6920, Telephone: (202) 638-5577 Secondary Telephone: (202) 863-2518 E-mail: resources@acog.org Web Site: http://www.acog.org Contact for cost information.

Keywords: Barriers, CD-ROMs, Drug use during pregnancy, Illicit drugs, Pregnant women, Substance abuse, Substance abuse prevention, Substance abuse treatment, Women's health

Toggle Details

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. 2002-. Safe motherhood: Continuing to invest in the health of women—National Summit on Safe Motherhood. Atlanta, GA: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, annual.

Annotation: This document focuses on promoting health for women before, during, and after pregnancy. Topics include deaths from pregnancy complications; racial, ethnic, and age disparities; and maternal death. CDC's national leadership and state partnership programs in pregnancy mortality and maternal health are described. The final section discusses the importance of conducting research, gathering strong, useful data, and educating and training others in maternal health.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30333, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: cdc@cdcinfo.gov Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available at no charge.

Keywords: Data collection, Health promotion, Maternal health, Maternal mortality, National programs, Population surveillance

Toggle Details

Declercq ER, Sakala C, Corry MP, Applebaum S, Risher P. 2002. Listening to mothers: Report of the first national U.S. survey of women's childbearing experiences. New York, NY: Maternity Center Association, 59 pp.

Annotation: This report provides survey highlights, major findings, and recommendations of the first national survey of women and their childbirth experiences. Topics include women's experiences with prepregnancy and prenatal care, women's experiences of birth, after the baby is born, important variations in experience, and attitudes about birth and understanding maternity rights. Four appendices include information on the national advisory council, a demographic overview of survey participants, methodology of the survey, and comparing study results and federal vital and health statistics. The Web site also provides a Spanish translation of the recommendations.

Contact: Childbirth Connection, 260 Madison Avenue, New York, NY 10016, Telephone: (212) 777-5000 Secondary Telephone: (508) 651-2442 Fax: (212) 777-9320 E-mail: info@childbirthconnection.org Web Site: http://www.childbirthconnection.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Childbirth, Labor, Maternal health, Postpartum women, Prenatal care, Spanish language materials, Surveys, Women's health

Toggle Details

Freda MC. 2002. Perinatal patient education: A practical guide with education handouts for patients. Philadelphia, PA: Lippincott, Williams, and Wilkins, 229 pp.

Annotation: This book is written for nurses, offering reproducible resources for prenatal, intrapartum, and postpartum patient health education materials. Part one is designed to help working nurses learn the basics of effective patient health education. Topics include: basic principles and goals of patient education; adult learning and behavior change principles; readability, literacy, and low literacy; cultural competence and informed consent; methods of providing patient education; the development and evaluation of health education materials; and documenting patient education. Part two offers both English and general Spanish one-page handouts, written between 6th and 8th grade readability levels by nurse practitioners for use by nurses to customize and provide to help the average woman learn about pregnancy. The book provides references and concludes with an index. A CD-ROM, license agreement, a list of minimum system requirements, and operation instructions are included.

Contact: Wolters Kluwer Health, Lippincott Williams and Wilkins, PO Box 1620, Hagerstown, MD 21741, Telephone: (800) 638-3030 Secondary Telephone: (301) 223-23000 Fax: (301) 223-2400 E-mail: customerservice@lww.com Web Site: http://www.lww.com/index.html $49.95; plus shipping and handling. Document Number: ISBN 0-7817-3233-6.

Keywords: CD-ROMS, Patient education, Patient education materials, Perinatal health, Pregnancy, Resources for professionals, Spanish language materials

Toggle Details

Kaestner R, Dubay L, Kenney G. 2002. Medicaid managed care and infant health: A national evaluation. Cambridge, MA: National Bureau of Economic Research, 47 pp. (NBER working paper series no. 8936)

Annotation: This paper describes a study conducted to examine the effects of Medicaid managed care on prenatal care utilization and infant health. Topics include estimating the effect of primary care case management (PCCM) managed care programs and health maintenance organization (HMO) managed care plans on prenatal care utilization, birth weight, and cesarean section. The paper includes sections discussing previous research; the empirical model and statistical methodology used in the study, the data, and results; and a final section reviewing study findings. Statistical information is presented in tables throughout the paper and in the appendix. A reference list is provided.

Contact: National Bureau of Economic Research, 1050 Massachusetts Avenue, Cambridge, MA 02138-5398, Telephone: (617) 868-3900 Fax: (617) 868-2742 E-mail: info@nber.org Web Site: http://www.nber.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Case management, Cesarean section, Evaluation, Health care delivery, Health care utilization, Health maintenance organizations, Infant health, Low birthweight, Medicaid managed care, Prenatal care, Primary care

Toggle Details

Kitzinger S. 2002. Birth your way. (Rev. ed.). London, UK: Dorling Kindersley, 208 pp.

Annotation: This book offers information for pregnant women considering an out-of-hospital birth. It discusses safe home births, arranging for home births, midwives, the birth partner, meeting challenges of a home birth, and the first month with the new baby.

Contact: DK Publishing, 375 Hudson Street, New York, NY 10014, Telephone: 800 631 8571 Fax: 201 256 0000 E-mail: ecommerce@us.penguingroup.com Web Site: http://us.dk.com $17.95, plus shipping and handling. Document Number: ISBN 0-7894-8440-4.

Keywords: Alternative birth styles, Childbirth, Consumer education materials, Home childbirth, Midwives

Toggle Details

Schrag S, Gorwitz R, Fultz-Butts K, Schuchat A. 2002. Prevention of perinatal group B streptococcal disease: Revised guidelines from CDC. MMWR Recommendations and Reports 51(RR-11):1-24,

Annotation: This issue of Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report provides revised guidelines on the prevention of perinatal group B streptococcal disease, a leading cause of neonatal infection. Report sections include an introduction and background, impact and implementation of the 1996 guidelines, maximizing prevention by chemoprophylaxis, adverse effects and unintended consequences of chemoprophylaxis, clinical challenges, future prevention technology, research priorities, and tools to aid prevention. The report concludes with recommendations and references.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30333, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: cdc@cdcinfo.gov Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available at no charge; also available from the website.

Keywords: Early intervention, Guidelines, Infants, Infection prevention, Newborn infants, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Prenatal screening, Resources for professionals, Strep infections

Toggle Details

Sterk HM, Hay CH, Kehoe AB, Ratcliffe K, VandeVusse LG. 2002. Who's having this baby?: Perspectives on birthing. East Lansing, MI: Michigan State University Press, 177 pp.

Annotation: This book is a collection of articles based on the premise that significant policy changes are needed in the way birthing is typically conducted in America, having women, rather than medical institutions, control the birth experience. The authors present the case for these changes in the first five chapters, which are (1) childbirth in America: a historical perspective; (2) bearing witness to birth: a literary perspective; (3) communication, care, and control: a communication perspective; (4) birthing on the reservation: an anthropological perspective; and (5) control versus reciprocity: a nurse-midwife perspective. The conclusion of the book focuses on recommendations for changing the birth experience to accommodate the mother's wishes.

Contact: Michigan State University Press, Manley Miles Building, 1405 South Harrison Road, Suite 25, East Lansing, MI 48823, Telephone: (517) 355-9543 Secondary Telephone: (800) 678-2120 Fax: (517) 432-2611 E-mail: msupress@msu.edu Web Site: http://www.msupress.msu.edu $22.95, plus shipping and handling. Document Number: ISBN .

Keywords: Childbirth, Health care delivery, Social change, Women's health services, Women's rights

Toggle Details

Strobino DM, Koontz A, Silver GB, Allston A. 2002. The roles local health departments play in the organization and provision of perinatal services. Baltimore, MD: Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Women's and Children's Health Policy Center, 8 pp.

Annotation: This brief describes the features and components of perinatal health systems in local communities and, more specifically, the roles local health departments play in ensuring these components for pregnant women and newborns. The findings describe five essential public health functions for pregnant women and infants: (1) promoting access to or provisions of services to clients; (2) promoting collaborations and partnerships; (3) policy formation; (4) ensuring the capacity and competency of the perinatal health workforce; and (5) informing and educating the public. Charts, tables, and graphs provide statistical information throughout the report. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: HRSA Information Center, P.O. Box 2910, Merrifield, VA 22116, Telephone: (888) 275-4772 Secondary Telephone: (877) 489-4772 Fax: (703) 821-2098 E-mail: ask@hrsa.gov Web Site: http://www.ask.hrsa.gov Available at no charge; also available from the website. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCH00010.

Keywords: Access to health care, Health agencies, Health care delivery, Local MCH programs, Local initiatives, Newborn infants, Perinatal health, Perinatal services, Pregnant women

Toggle Details

Strombino DM, Koontz A, Silver GB, Allston AA, Grason HA. 2002. Accountability and quality improvement for perinatal health. Baltimore, MD: Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Women's and Children's Health Policy Center, 8 pp.

Annotation: The purpose of this report is to describe accountability and quality improvement functions undertaken by local health departments. Topics include four essential public health functions for pregnant women and infants: (1) assessing and monitoring health status to identify and address problems; (2)ensuring public accountability for pregnant women's and infants' well-being; (3) ensuring the capacity and competency of the perinatal health work force; and (4) ensuring access to comprehensive, quality systems of care. Statistical information is provided in map and chart formats. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: HRSA Information Center, P.O. Box 2910, Merrifield, VA 22116, Telephone: (888) 275-4772 Secondary Telephone: (877) 489-4772 Fax: (703) 821-2098 E-mail: ask@hrsa.gov Web Site: http://www.ask.hrsa.gov Available at no charge; also available from the website. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCH00069.

Keywords: Access to health care, City health agencies, County health agencies, Local government, MCH services, Perinatal health, Personnel, Quality assurance, Statistical data, Women's health

Toggle Details

Wheeler L. 2002. Nurse-midwifery handbook: A practical guide to prenatal and postpartum care. (2nd ed.). Philadelphia, PA: Lippincott, Williams, and Wilkins, 443 pp.

Annotation: This book addresses care by nurses and midwives in the preconception, prenatal, and postpartum stages and offers suggestions on the addition of holistic care. Topics include health education, nutrition, physical examinations, laboratory and diagnostic tests, the transition to parenthood, breastfeeding, contraception, and general health issues for women. Patient education materials, sample forms and charts, and guidelines for providing culturally competent care are included in the appendices. An index concludes the book.

Contact: Wolters Kluwer Health, Lippincott Williams and Wilkins, PO Box 1620, Hagerstown, MD 21741, Telephone: (800) 638-3030 Secondary Telephone: (301) 223-23000 Fax: (301) 223-2400 E-mail: customerservice@lww.com Web Site: http://www.lww.com/index.html $36.95, plus shipping and handling. Document Number: ISBN 0-7817-2929-7.

Keywords: Educational materials, Manuals, Midwifery, Nursing education, Nursing specialties, Obstetrical nursing, Postpartum care, Preconception care, Prenatal care

Return to Previous Page | Go To Cross-Database Search | Advanced MCHLine® Search