Search the Databases

Search
Advanced Search

Site Tools

Partner Projects

 

Bibliography of Materials from MCHLine®

This bibliography of 18 items is drawn from MCHLine®, the MCH Library online catalog. This bibliography includes selected materials published in the last ten years on proper nutrition during pregnancy for professionals, pregnant women, and pregnant adolescents. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Library. To identify additional materials on this topic, search MCHLine® using our online search form.

The MCH Library focuses on publications from federal and state agencies, from grantees of federal and state agencies, and from professional and voluntary organizations. It contains unique materials on the history of maternal and child health in the United States, policy papers, reports, conference proceedings, manuals, survey instruments, guidelines, and curricula. The library does not collect materials on clinical medicine. Consumer health materials and commercially published materials are collected very selectively.

Displaying 18 records.
Toggle Details

Institute of Medicine; Food and Nutrition Board, Board on Children, Youth, and Families; National Research Council. Division of Behavioral and Social Sciences and Education. 2013. Implementing guidelines on weight gain and pregnancy. Washington, DC: National Academies Press, 20 pp.

Annotation: This booklet for health professionals highlights key points from the new guidelines on weight gain and pregnancy published in 2009 by the Institute of Medicine and the National Research Council. Based on evidence that a woman's health and weight before pregnancy and after delivery are just as important as her health and weight during pregnancy, the booklet explains that beginning pregnancy at a healthy weight is key; that some weight gain during pregnancy (but not too much) is important; and that returning to a healthy weight after pregnancy will help set the stage for a healthy future pregnancy. A list of things that health professionals can do to help their patients achieve a healthy pregnancy is included.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: customer_service@nap.edu Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available from the web site at no charge, after registration; Available in bundles of 10 for $1.00. Document Number: ISBN 978-0-309-27239-1.

Keywords: Body weight, Gestational weight gain, Guidelines, Infant health, Maternal health, Obesity, Pregnancy, Pregnancy outcome, Weight gain, Weight management

Toggle Details

Lorenzo SB. 2012. Nutrition during preconception and pregnancy: Resource brief. Washington, DC: Maternal and Child Health Library, Georgetown University,

Annotation: This resource brief helps consumers and professionals find nutrition assistance and information about good nutrition during pregnancy, including evidence-based guidelines, training materials, food safety, foods to avoid, folic acid, and WIC. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 Fax: (202) 784-9777 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: http://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Bibliographies, Consumer education materials, Electronic publications, Nutrition, Preconceptional nutrition, Pregnancy, Women

Toggle Details

National Healthy Mothers, Healthy Babies Coalition. 2012. Powerhouse nutrients for optimal growth and development: Evidence based guidelines for optimum growth and development. Alexandria, VA: National Healthy Mothers, Healthy Babies Coalition, (Maternal and child health webinar series: Webinar 12)

Annotation: This webinar reviews the importance of major nutrients in pregnancy outcomes and infant cognitive and neurological development. Focusing on three of the major nutrients -- folic acid, vitamin D and omega-3 DHA -- the presenter provides evidence-based guidelines on appropriate levels of intake and identifies the health benefits during pregnancy and lactation and upon infant visual, social, cognitive, and psychomotor development. The presenter discusses the best sources for major nutrients and offers guidelines on food safety for pregnant women.

Contact: National Healthy Mothers, Healthy Babies Coalition, 4401 Ford Avenue, Suite 300, Alexandria, VA 22302, Telephone: (703) 837-4792 Fax: (703) 664-0485 E-mail: info@hmhb.org Web Site: http://www.hmhb.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Guidelines, Infant development, Maternal nutrition, Multimedia, Nutrition education, Nutrition research, Pregnant outcome, Pregnant women

Toggle Details

U.S. Food and Drug Administration. 2012. Food safety for moms-to-be. Rockville, MD: U.S. Food and Drug Administration,

Annotation: This website provides information on food safety and preventing foodborne illness for pregnant women. Advice is provided for women before they get pregnant, during pregnancy, in addition to over a whole life cycle. More contents include a food-by-food guide, revised food handling guidelines, educator tools, resources for professionals, and brochures.

Contact: U.S. Food and Drug Administration, 10903 New Hampshire Ave., Silver Spring, MD 20993, Telephone: (888) 463-6332 Fax: (301) 443-3100 Web Site: http://www.fda.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Disease prevention, Food safety, Maternal nutrition, Preconceptional nutrition, Pregnant women, Resources for professionals

Toggle Details

Ohio State University Extension and Colorado State University Extension. 2011. Healthy baby, healthy me: A curriculum on safe food handling for pregnant women. Columbus, OH: Ohio State University Extension,

Annotation: This curriculum on safe food handling for pregnant women includes four lesson plans, handouts, a teachers0' guide, evaluation forms, and slides that can be projected or used as flip charts. Lesson one explains why pregnant women are at increased risk for foodborne illness; lesson two provides information about Toxoplasma gondii and how to prevent infection by this parasite; lesson three is about the foods that can be contaminated with Salmonella; and lesson four talks about using thermometers to take the temperatures of cooked foods to prevent Camplyobacter. Also included are marketing materials to promote the course and a certificate of completion.

Contact: Ohio State University Extension, 2120 Fyffe Rd., Room 3 Ag Admin, Columbus, OH 43210, Telephone: 614-292-6181 Fax: 618-688-3807 Web Site: http://extension.osu.edu

Keywords: Curricula, Educational materials, Food handling, Pregnant women, Safety

Toggle Details

Ohio State University Extension and Colorado State University Extension. 2011. Healthy baby, healthy me: A curriculum on safe food handling for pregnant women. Columbus, OH: Ohio State University Extension,

Annotation: This curriculum on safe food handling for pregnant women includes four lesson plans, handouts, a teachers guide, evaluation forms, and slides that can be projected or used as flip charts. Lesson one explains why pregnant women are at increased risk for foodborne illness; lesson two provides information about Toxoplasma gondii and how to prevent infection by this parasite; lesson three is about the foods that can be contaminated with salmonella; and lesson four talks about using thermometers to take the temperatures of cooked foods to prevent Camplyobacter. Also included are marketing materials to promote the course and a certificate of completion for the course.

Contact: Ohio State University Extension, 2120 Fyffe Rd., Room 3 Ag Admin, Columbus, OH 43210, Telephone: 614-292-6181 Fax: 618-688-3807 Web Site: http://extension.osu.edu

Keywords: Curricula, Food handling, Food safety, Pregnant women, Prenatal care

Toggle Details

U.S. Department of Agriculture. 2010. MyPyramid for pregnancy and breastfeeding. Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Agriculture,

Annotation: This Web site is designed to help pregnant women and their babies stay healthy. It offers advice on nutrition, dietary supplements, healthy weight gain, special health needs (whether food allergies or a medical condition), and breastfeeding. The site includes MyPyramid Plan for Moms -- an online nutritional calculator for expecting women and links to other federal sources of information related to pregnancy and breastfeeding.

Contact: U.S. Department of Agriculture, 1400 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20250, Telephone: (202) 720-2791 Fax: E-mail: Web Site: http://www.usda.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Federal programs, Nutrition, Pregnant women, Special health care needs, Supplements, Weight gain

Toggle Details

U.S. Food and Nutrition Information Center. 2010. Nutrition during pregnancy resource list. Beltsville, MD: U.S. Food and Nutrition Information Center, 11 pp.

Annotation: This publication is a collection of resources on nutrition during pregnancy. Topics covered include general nutrition during pregnancy, folic acid, food safety, and gestational or preexisting diabetes. Pamphlets, booklets, Web sites, audiovisual materials, and books published in 2008 or later are included in the resource list. Resource descriptions, ordering information, and electronic links (where available) are provided.

Contact: U.S. Food and Nutrition Information Center, National Agricultural Library, 10301 Baltimore Avenue, Room 105, Beltsville, MD 20705-2351, Telephone: (301) 504-5719 Secondary Telephone: (301) 504-5248 Fax: (301) 504-6409 E-mail: fnic@nal.usda.gov Web Site: http://fnic.nal.usda.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Bibliographies, Nutrition, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Prenatal nutrition, Resource materials

Toggle Details

Hoynes HW, Page ME, Stevens AH. 2009. Is a WIC Start a better start?: Evaluating WIC's impact on infant health using program introduction. Cambridge, MA: National Bureau of Economic Research, 40 pp. (NBER working paper series no. 15589)

Annotation: This working paper evaluates how the introduction of WIC (the Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants and Children) across U.S. counties has impacted the health of infants. Since a major goal of the WIC program is to improve the nutritional well-being and health of low income families, the study focused largely on changes in the birth weight of infants in counties that have implemented WIC. Significant findings are summarized in the study.

Contact: National Bureau of Economic Research, 1050 Massachusetts Avenue, Cambridge, MA 02138-5398, Telephone: (617) 868-3900 Fax: (617) 868-2742 E-mail: info@nber.org Web Site: http://www.nber.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Infant health, Low income groups, Nutrition programs, Pregnancy outcome , Program evaluation, WIC program

Toggle Details

Oliveira V, FrazÄo E. 2009. The WIC program: Background, trends, and economic issues. Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Agriculture, Economic Research Service, 82 pp. (Economic research report, no. 27)

Annotation: This report presents background information on the Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants, and Children (WIC), including how it works, its history, program trends, and the characteristics of the population it serves. It also examines issues related to program outcomes and administration.

Contact: U.S. Department of Agriculture, Economic Research Service, 1800 M Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20036-5831, Telephone: (202) 694-5050 E-mail: infocenterers.usda.gov Web Site: http://www.ers.usda.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Children, Infants, Mothers, Nutrition, Pregnant women, Program descriptions, WIC Program

Toggle Details

Weight-control Information Network. 2009. Fit for two: Tips for pregnancy. Bethesda, MD: National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases, 25 pp. (Healthy eating and physical activity across your lifespan)

Annotation: This Web site, which is geared toward pregnant women, offers information about how to have a healthier pregnancy by eating healthy foods and engaging in physical activity. The information is divided into three main sections: healthy eating, physical activity, and after the baby is born. Each section includes answers to common questions. A list of resources is included, as well.

Contact: Weight-control Information Network, National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases, One Win Way, Bethesda, MD 20892-3665, Telephone: (877) 946-4627 Fax: (202) 828-1028 E-mail: WIN@info.niddk.nih.gov Web Site: http://win.niddk.nih.gov/index.htm Available at no charge; also available from the website. Document Number: NIH Pub no. 06-5130.

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Food habits, Physical activity, Pregnancy, Prenatal education, Women's health

Toggle Details

Finegold K, Kramer FD, Saloner B, Parnes J. 2008. The role of the Commodity Supplemental Food Program (CSFP) in nutritional assistance to mothers, infants, children, and seniors. Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Agriculture, Economic Research Service, 71 pp. (Contractor and cooperator report no. 48)

Annotation: This report looks at how the Commodity Supplemental Food Program (which provides supplemental food packages to about half a million low-income pregnant and postpartum women) operates, who participates in it, how it fits into the overall food assistance landscape, and what are states' expectations for its future use, in relation to other food assistance programs and target populations. Program eligibility and participation are also addressed.

Contact: U.S. Department of Agriculture, Economic Research Service, 1800 M Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20036-5831, Telephone: (202) 694-5050 E-mail: infocenterers.usda.gov Web Site: http://www.ers.usda.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Commodity Supplemental Food Program, Eligibility, Enrollment, Federal programs, Low income groups, Nutrition, Postpartum women, Pregnant women

Toggle Details

Minnesota Department of Health, Environmental Impacts Analysis Unit - Birth Defects. 2008. Minnesota's folic acid guidelines for the prevention of neural tube defects (NTDs). St. Paul, MN: Minnesota Department of Health, 2 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet recommends that all women of childbearing age maintain a proper level of folic acid since statistics indicate that folic acid can prevent 50 to 70 percent of neural tube defects (NTD's) and that 50 percent of pregnancies are unplanned. The fact sheet offers general recommendations on the amount of folic acid women need based on their health history and provides answers to commonly asked questions about folic acid supplementation.

Contact: Minnesota Department of Health, P.O. Box 64975, St. Paul, MN 55164-0975, Telephone: (651) 201-5000 Secondary Telephone: (888) 345-0823 Web Site: http://www.health.state.mn.us Available from the website.

Keywords: Folic acid, Guidelines, Minnesota, Pregnancy, Prenatal care, Prenatal nutrition, Prevention programs, State initiatives, Women's health

Toggle Details

Illinois Department of Public Health, Division of Oral Health. [2007]. Dental health during pregnancy. Springfield, IL: Illinois Department of Public Health, Division of Oral Health, 2 pp. (Fact sheet)

Annotation: This fact sheet presents messages designed to help women maintain or improve their oral health before and during pregnancy. Oral health problems that women may experience during pregnancy are discussed, including problems that may result from hormonal changes, poor diet and nutrition, or lack of oral health care. Guidance on establishing and maintaining oral hygiene practices (toothbrushing and flossing) and oral health care (routine and emergency visits, oral x-rays, and prescriptions) is given.

Contact: Illinois Department of Public Health, Division of Oral Health, 535 West Jefferson Street, Second Floor, Springfield, IL 62761, Telephone: (217) 782-4977 Secondary Telephone: (800) 547-0466 Fax: (217) 782-3987 Web Site: http://www.idph.state.il.us/HealthWellness/oralhlth/home.htm Available from the website.

Keywords: Nutrition, Consumer education materials, Dental care, Dental hygiene, Diet, Disease prevention, Gingivitis, Oral health, Pregnant women

Toggle Details

U.S. Food and Nutrition Service. 2007. How WIC helps: Eating for you and your unborn baby [Rev. ed.]. [Alexandria, VA]: U.S. Food and Nutrition Service, 13 pp.

Annotation: This pamphlet describes how WIC functions to help mothers and children, why it is important for the health of mother and child, how some important nutrients work to promote health, foods available from WIC, the benefits of breastfeeding to mother and child, how to eat healthy during pregnancy and breastfeeding, how alcohol, tobacco and drugs harm the baby, and where to get more help. The pamphlet is also available in Spanish.

Contact: U.S. Food and Nutrition Service, 3101 Park Center Drive, Alexandria, VA 22302, Web Site: http://www.fns.usda.gov/fns Available at no charge. Document Number: PA1198 (English); PA1198s (Spanish).

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Consumer education materials, Federal programs, Infant health, Maternal health, Maternal nutrition, Nutrition education, WIC Program

Toggle Details

Healthy Smile Happy Child. [2006]. Oral health and pregnancy. [Carson City, NV]: Nevada State Health Division, Oral Health Initiative, 2 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet outlines the importance of good oral hygiene and proper nutrition during pregnancy. It discusses gingivitis, premature and underweight infants, tooth decay, dental treatment, and dental visits. The fact sheet is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: Nevada State Health Division, Oral Health Initiative, 4150 Technology Way, Suite 210, Carson City, NV 89706, Telephone: (775) 684-4285 Web Site: http://health.nv.gov/CC_OralHealth.htm Available from the website.

Keywords: Dental hygiene, Educational materials, Low birthweight, Nutrition, Oral health, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Prematurity, Spanish language materials

Toggle Details

March of Dimes. 2004. Mama: Your guide to a healthy pregnancy. White Plains, NY: March of Dimes, annual.

Annotation: The articles in this annual magazine for pregnant women and their partners provide information on pregnancy-related topics such as planning, nutrition, prenatal health, sex, labor and delivery, breastfeeding, and the postpartum period. Information is presented in both narrative and question and answer formats, and the issue is illustrated with color photographs.

Contact: March of Dimes, 1275 Mamaroneck Avenue, White Plains, NY 10605, Telephone: (914) 997-4488 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: Web Site: http://www.marchofdimes.com Available at no charge.

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Pregnancy, Prenatal care, Prenatal nutrition

Toggle Details

Paige D. Lactose intolerance in African-American pregnant wome [Final report]. Baltimore, MD: Johns Hopkins University , 57 pp.

Annotation: The objective of this investigation was to study lactose (milk sugar) digestion and milk tolerance and its association with dietary patterns and pregnancy outcome in pregnant black women. This study examined two broad areas of interest. The first explored lactose digestion and changes that may occur during pregnancy, and the effect of pregnancy on usual levels of milk consumption. The second area involved the association between lactose digestion status and dietary patterns and practices. Data obtained from the study permitted more appropriately targeted health care, nutrition recommendations, food supplementation, education, and counseling to high-risk women prenatally. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: customerservice@ntis.gov Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov/Index.aspx Document Number: NTIS PB99-109217.

Keywords: Blacks, Lactose Intolerance, MCH Research, Nutrition, Pregnant Women, Prenatal Care, Research

Return to Previous Page | Go To Cross-Database Search | Advanced MCHLine® Search