Search the Databases

Search
Advanced Search

Site Tools

Partner Projects

 

Bibliography of Materials from MCHLine®

This bibliography of 16 items is drawn from MCHLine®, the MCH Library online catalog. It includes selected materials published in the last ten years that describe outreach programs and training materials and guidelines for outreach workers, particularly activities in state children's health insurance programs. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Library. To identify additional materials on this topic, search MCHLine® using our online search form.

The MCH Library focuses on publications from federal and state agencies, from grantees of federal and state agencies, and from professional and voluntary organizations. It contains unique materials on the history of maternal and child health in the United States, policy papers, reports, conference proceedings, manuals, survey instruments, guidelines, and curricula. The library does not collect materials on clinical medicine. Consumer health materials and commercially published materials are collected very selectively.

Displaying 16 records.
Toggle Details

Health Outreach Partners. [2012]. National outreach guidelines for underserved populations. Oakland, CA: Health Outreach Partners, 13 pp.

Annotation: The ten guidelines presented in this document are grouped into three broad categories: person-focused, community-focused, and program-focused. Under each guideline, several possible strategies for implementation are suggested. Guideline topics include access to care, health education, outreach-centered case management, behavioral health support, clinical outreach, eligibility assistance, community-based outreach, advocacy, community collaboration, and program planning and evaluation. The guidelines and accompanying strategies are intended to provide direction for how to most effectively use outreach to increase access to and utilization of comprehensive primary health care services in underserved communities.

Contact: Health Outreach Partners, 405 14th Street, Suite 909, Oakland, CA 94612, Telephone: (510) 268-0091 Fax: (510) 268-0093 E-mail: http://outreach-partners.org/contact Web Site: http://outreach-partners.org/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Communities, Community based services, Community health services, Guidelines, Outreach, Underserved communities

Toggle Details

DentaQuest Foundation. 2012. An electronic compendium of resources for building oral health coalitions. Westborough, MA: DentaQuest, 50 pp.

Annotation: This compendium is intended to serve professionals in building community-based coalitions dedicated to improving oral health. The compendium organizes the literature into three broad categories: (1) the role of community-based coalitions in health promotion, (2) how to build a successful coalition, and (3) case studies of successful coalitions. Topics include assessing needs and resources, best practice guidelines, establishing collaborations, communications and conflict, management and leadership, media outreach, planning and implementation, and policy development and research. The citations in the compendium link to free, full-text publications crossing the fields of communication, management practice, oral health, prevention, psychology, public health education, and public policy.

Contact: DentaQuest Institute, 2400 Computer Drive, Westborough, MA 01581, Telephone: (508) 329-2280 Secondary Telephone: (508) 329-2250 E-mail: info@dentaquestinstitute.org Web Site: http://www.dentaquestinstitute.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Case studies, Coalitions, Community role, Health promotion, Manuals, Oral health, Resources for professionals

Toggle Details

Gomez OC, Day L, Artiga S. 2011. Connecting eligible immigrant families to health coverage and care: Key lessons from outreach and enrollment workers. Washington, DC: Kaiser Commission on Medicaid and the Uninsured, 15 pp. (Issue paper)

Annotation: This report identifies the role of Medicaid and the Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP) for immigrant families; describes the key barriers that lawfully-residing immigrant families face in accessing health coverage; and presents community-based strategies that have proven successful in overcoming these barriers. The report is based on findings from four focus groups that were conducted during July and August 2011 with outreach workers who serve immigrant communities in California, the District of Columbia, and Florida.

Contact: Kaiser Commission on Medicaid and the Uninsured, 1330 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 347-5270 Fax: (202) 347-5274 E-mail: http://www.kff.org/about/contact.cfm Web Site: http://www.kff.org/about/kcmu.cfm Available from the website.

Keywords: Health status disparities, Access to health care, Barriers, Children's Health Insurance Program, Community programs, Enrollment, Health care reform, Immigrants, Medicaid

Toggle Details

Dworkin P, Bogin J, Carey M, Duplessis K, Honigfeld L, Hernandez R, Hughes M. 2010. How to develop a statewide system to link families with community resources: A manual for replication of the Help Me Grow System. New York, NY: Commonwealth Fund, 23 pp.

Annotation: This replication manual offers guidance for exploring, creating, and/or enhancing a system to connect children with or without risk for developmental or behavioral problems with community resources. It is based on Connecticut's Help Me Grow initiative to assist families, primary care practices, and other community-based providers in identifying developmental or behavioral concerns in children from birth through age 8. Contents include general guidance on framing the issue; administrative oversight; outreach to primary care practices; the call center, resource inventory, and data collection; community involvement; and evaluation. The manual also provides descriptions of Help Me Grow replication sites. A brief and presentation are also available.

Contact: Commonwealth Fund, One East 75th Street, New York, NY 10021, Telephone: (212) 606-3800 Fax: (212) 606-3500 E-mail: info@cmwf.org Web Site: http://www.commonwealthfund.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Cognitive development, Community based services, Community coordination, Community health services, Early childhood development, Emotional development, Family support, High risk children, Local programs, Screening, State programs

Toggle Details

Gribble J. 2010. Investing in youth for national development. Washington, DC: Population Reference Bureau, 7 pp.

Annotation: This policy brief considers the demographic significance of youth (ages 15 to 24) in the development of nations and why policymakers need to pay attention to the reproductive health needs of this population. It examines the evidence that expansion of the following three types of programs contribute to healthier youth: (1) Age appropriate sexual and reproductive health educational interventions; (2) youth-friendly health services with community outreach; and (3) comprehensive information campaigns. Included are examples from field-based success stories. The brief also provides recommendations to advance policy and advocacy efforts to respond to the needs of youth around the world as part of national health and development goals. Programs in Tanzania, Namibia, Rwanda, Uganda, Zambia, and Guinea are described.

Contact: Population Reference Bureau, 1875 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Suite 520, Washington, DC 20009, Telephone: (800) 877-9881 Fax: (202) 328-3937 E-mail: popref@prb.org Web Site: http://www.prb.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Africa, International programs, Program evaluation, Program improvement, Public policy, Reproductive health, Youth, Youth development

Toggle Details

Iowa Department of Public Health, Oral Health Bureau. 2010. I-Smile [dental home initiative program materials]. Des Moines, IA: Iowa Department of Public Health, Oral Health Bureau,

Annotation: These materials are part of outreach activities for I-Smile, Iowa’s dental home initiative for children. Contents include brochures and posters (in English and Spanish), and other items. A program description, information about care coordination and support for families and school oral health screening, activity pages for children, tips and tools for parents, and public service announcements (videos) are also available from the website. Some of the materials are available in Spanish.

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272, Telephone: (202) 784-9771 Fax: (202) 784-9777 E-mail: OHRCinfo@georgetown.edu Web Site: http://www.mchoralhealth.org Available for loan.

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Dental care, Dental hygiene, Iowa, Materials for children, Oral health, Parent education, Public awareness campaigns, Spanish language materials, Young children

Toggle Details

Kaiser Commission on Medicaid and the Uninsured. 2010. Wisconsin's BadgerCare Plus program: Moving forward on health reform amid a recession. Washington, DC: Kaiser Commission on Medicaid and the Uninsured, 2 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet provides a brief overview of Wisconsin's BadgerCare Plus Program, a 3-year-old initiative that merged the state's three distinct Medicaid programs for children, parents, and pregnant women into a single comprehensive health coverage program. The fact sheet discusses health coverage in Wisconsin, key components of the program, outreach and enrollment simplification, financing, impact of the economic recession, and lessons for state and national health care reform.

Contact: Kaiser Commission on Medicaid and the Uninsured, 1330 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 347-5270 Fax: (202) 347-5274 E-mail: http://www.kff.org/about/contact.cfm Web Site: http://www.kff.org/about/kcmu.cfm Available from the website.

Keywords: Child health, Enrollment, Financing, Health care reform, Health insurance, Low income groups, Medicaid, Outreach, Parents, Pregnant women, State programs, Wisconsin

Toggle Details

Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services, Oral Health Program. [2009]. Oral health program: 2009 annual report. Jefferson City, MO: Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services, Oral Health Program, 9 pp.

Annotation: This report describes the goals and results of the oral health program in Missouri. Topics include prevention services, surveillance, fluoride mouthrinse services, clinical services, education and outreach, public water fluoridation, activities associated with a grant funded by the Health Resources and Services Administration, state task force and assessment, and network and coalition activity.

Contact: Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services, Oral Health Program, P.O. Box 570, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0570, Telephone: (573) 751-6219 Secondary Telephone: (800) 891-7415 Fax: (573) 522-8146 E-mail: info@dhss.mo.gov Web Site: http://health.mo.gov/living/families/oralhealth/index.php Available from the website.

Keywords: Children, Disease prevention, Fluorides, Health services delivery, Missouri, Oral health, Prevention services, State programs, Surveillance

Toggle Details

Idala D, Roddy T, Milligan C, Sommers A, Boddie-Willis C, Clark A, Dorn S. 2009. Using information from income tax forms to target Medicaid and CHIP outreach: Preliminary results of the Maryland Kids First Act. Princeton, NJ: Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, 8 pp.

Annotation: This issue brief highlights Maryland's early efforts to use income tax returns to identify children who are potentially eligible for Medicaid or the Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP) but who are not enrolled in the programs. The brief examines the benefits and drawbacks of this strategy as well as mechanisms for maximizing its effectiveness. Topics include Maryland's Kids First Act (legislation directing the Maryland Department of Health and Mental Hygiene to use the state's personal income tax system to target outreach efforts to children who might be eligible for Medicaid or CHIP); preliminary efforts; data-sharing issues; Kids First and federal action; and lessons learned.

Contact: Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, Route One and College Road, East, P.O. Box 2316, Princeton, NJ 08543, Telephone: (877) 843-7953 Fax: Web Site: http://www.rwjf.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Child health, Eligibility, Enrollment, Family income, Federal programs, Legislation, Low income groups, Maryland, Medicaid, Outreach, State Children's Health Insurance Program, State programs, State programs, Taxes

Toggle Details

Isaacs SL, Colby DC, eds. 2009. To improve health and health care, Volume XII: The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation anthology. San Francisco, CA: Jossey-Bass Publishers, 252 pp.

Annotation: This book provides information about the programs funded by the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation. In particular, the book focuses on the foundation's work to expand health insurance coverage and to impact philanthropy and public policy more generally. Other topics include research on health insurance, Medicaid and the State Children's Health Insurance Program, the Catholic Social Services outreach project, improving health care in rural America, community-based dental education, helping former prisoners re-enter society, and pediatric asthma.

Contact: Jossey-Bass Publishers, John Wiley & Sons, Inc. Corporate Headquarters, 111 River Street, Hoboken, NJ 07030, Telephone: (201) 748-6000 Contact Phone: (415) 433-1740 Fax: (201) 748-6088 E-mail: info@wiley.com Web Site: http://www.JosseyBass.com $21.00. Document Number: ISBN 978-0-470-32506-3.

Keywords: Asthma, Child health, Community programs, Education, Foundations, Health insurance, Medicaid, Oral health, Prisoners, Public policy, Rural health, State Children's Health Insurance Program

Toggle Details

Simpson L, Fairbrother G, Touschner J, Guyer J. 2009. Implementation choices for the Children's Health Insurance Program Reauthorization Act of 2009. New York, NY: Commonwealth Fund, 33 pp.

Annotation: This paper provides information about the process of implementing the Children's Health Insurance Program Reauthorization Act of 2009 (CHIPRA). The paper focuses on two areas: (1) outreach and enrollment and (2) quality of care; and makes recommendations for each. Topic include opportunities in CHIPRA, overview, and implementation choices for CHIPRA providers.

Contact: Commonwealth Fund, One East 75th Street, New York, NY 10021, Telephone: (212) 606-3800 Fax: (212) 606-3500 E-mail: info@cmwf.org Web Site: http://www.commonwealthfund.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Child health, Enrollment, Health care delivery, Low income groups, Outreach, State Children's Health Insurance Program

Toggle Details

U.S. Congress, Senate, Committee on Health, Education, Labor, and Pensions. 2009. Newborn Screening Saves Lives Act of 2007: Report. Washington, DC: U.S. Government Printing Office,

Annotation: This document from the U.S. Senate Committee on Health, Education, Labor, and Pensions, reports on the hearing and deliberations of Senate Bill S.1858, the Newborn Screening Saves Lives Act of 2007, to amend the Public Health Service Act to establish grant programs to provide for education and outreach on newborn screening and coordinated followup care once newborn screening has been conducted, to reauthorize programs under part A of title XI of such Act, and for other purposes. Contents include the purpose and need for the legislation, a summary, a history of the legislation and votes in the Committee, explanations of the bill and Committee views, provides a cost estimate, reviews the application of law to the Legislative Branch, provides a regulatory impact statement and a section-by-section analysis, and changes in existing law. Related information on the bill's summary and status and full-text are also provided on the Web site.

Contact: U.S. Government Printing Office, 732 North Capitol Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20401, Telephone: (202) 512-1800 Secondary Telephone: (866) 512-1800 Fax: (202) 512-2104 E-mail: contactcenter@gpo.gov Web Site: http://www.gpo.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Congressional committees, Costs, Federal legislation, Neonatal screening, Newborn infants

Toggle Details

U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau. 2009. Folic acid outreach: Reaching Hispanic populations. Rockville, MD: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau,

Annotation: This webcast, held on February 19, 2007, focuses on folic acid outreach for Hispanic populations. Topics include (1) health communications research on how to communicate effectively with Hispanic women and (2) how to reach this population. Speakers included Johannie Escarne, public health analyst; Adriana K Griffen, Director of Health Promotions and Partnerships, National Council on Folic Acid; Alina L. Flores, Health Education Specialist, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, National Center on Birth Defects and Developmental Disabilities; and Emilia Gianfortoni, Coordinator, National Council of La Raza, Institute for Hispanic Health. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, Parklawn Building, Room 18-05, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2170 Secondary Telephone: (800) 311-BABY (311-2229) Web Site: http://www.mchb.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Communication, Cultural competence, Folic acid, Hispanic Americans, Outreach, Prevention, Reproductive health, Women's health

Toggle Details

Family Voices. 2005. Building community using community liasions/brokers. Albuquerque, NM: Family Voices, 18 pp.

Annotation: The purpose of this booklet is to provide information on building relationships among families from different backgrounds in the communities where these families live. The booklet summarizes a portion of responses to a questionnaire distributed between December 2004 and March 2005. The booklet addresses the following questions: (1) what is a community liaison/broker?, (2) how do community liaisons/brokers help gain entry into communities?, (3) what communities are being served?, (4) what are the benefits or working with community liaisons/brokers?, (5) how are relationships with community liaisons/brokers estabished?, and (6) how are relationships with community liaisons/brokers maintained?. The booklet includes the questionnaire, definitions of family-centered care and cultural competence, and a list of references and sources. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Family Voices, 3701 San Mateo Boulevard, N.E., Suite 103, Albuquerque, NM 87110, Telephone: (505) 872-4774 Secondary Telephone: (888) 835-5669 Fax: (505) 872-4780 E-mail: kidshealth@familyvoices.org Web Site: http://www.familyvoices.org

Keywords: Communities, Cultural competence, Cultural factors, Families, Family centered care, Outreach, Questionnaires, Relationships

Toggle Details

Council for Chief State School Officers. 2002. Building bridges to healthy kids and better students: An action guide—School-based outreach and enrollment for Medicaid and the State Children's Health Insurance Program (SCHIP). Washington, DC: Council of Chief State School Officers, 2 guides, 1 CD-ROM.

Annotation: This information packet includes two documents: "Building a Solid Foundation for Student Success Includes Health Insurance: Policymaker's Guide" and "Building Bridges to Healthy Kids and Better Students: An Action Guide." The action guide includes activities for schools and community groups, reaching parents and families, and resources for Medicaid and the State Children's Health Insurance Program (SCHIP) information. A CD-ROM includes electronic versions of each section of the kit, a PowerPoint presentation, outreach materials (ads, posters, photos with Spanish translations) and other resource materials, with Web links).

Contact: Council of Chief State School Officers, One Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Suite 700, Washington, DC 20001-1431, Telephone: (202) 336-7000 Fax: (202) 408-8072 E-mail: info@ccsso.org Web Site: http://www.ccsso.org $15.00, plus shipping and handling.

Keywords: CD-ROMs, Child health, Health insurance, Health policy, Outreach, Spanish language materials, Students

Toggle Details

Pavetti L, Maloy K, Schott L. 2002. Promoting Medicaid and food stamp participation: Establishing eligibility procedures that support participation and meet families' needs—Final report. Washington, DC: Mathematica Policy Research, 148 pp.

Annotation: This report, geared primarily toward policymakers, describes a study conducted to (1) identify state and local strategies for increasing participation in the Food Stamp Program, Medicaid, and the State Children's Heath Insurance Program (SCHIP), (2) examine the ways in which the procedures used to determine eligibility support or impede access to benefits, and (3) identify the challenges faced by organizations charged with administering these programs at the state and local levels. The report synthesizes findings from visits to 15 sites in 12 states. Statistics are presented in tables throughout the report. The report concludes with a list of references.

Contact: Mathematica Policy Research, P.O. Box 2393, Princeton, NJ 08543-2393, Telephone: (609) 799-3535 Fax: (609) 799-0005 E-mail: info@mathematica-mpr.com Web Site: http://www.mathematica-mpr.com $10.50, plus shipping and handling of $1.80; also available from the website.

Keywords: Eligibility, Families, Food stamp program, Low income groups, Medicaid, Outreach, Participation, Public policy, State children's health insurance program, Statistics

Return to Previous Page | Go To Cross-Database Search | Advanced MCHLine® Search