Search the Databases

Search
Advanced Search

Site Tools

Partner Projects

 

Bibliography of Materials from MCHLine®

This bibliography of 18 items is drawn from MCHLine®, the MCH Library online catalog. It includes selected materials published in the last ten years that focus on promoting women's health through good nutrition and physical activity. It does not cover nutrition and physical activity during pregnancy (see separate bibliography). Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Library. To identify additional materials on this topic, search MCHLine® using our online search form.

The MCH Library focuses on publications from federal and state agencies, from grantees of federal and state agencies, and from professional and voluntary organizations. It contains unique materials on the history of maternal and child health in the United States, policy papers, reports, conference proceedings, manuals, survey instruments, guidelines, and curricula. The library does not collect materials on clinical medicine. Consumer health materials and commercially published materials are collected very selectively.

Displaying 18 records.
Toggle Details

U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, Office of Women's Health. 2013. Counseling support tool: BFWHW guide for adolescent girls and young women. (Upd. ed.). [Rockville, MD]: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, Office of Women's Health, 3 pp.

Annotation: This support tool helps providers make physical activity and healthy eating recommendations to adolescent girls and young women based on their answers to the “Getting Started” questionnaire in the guide My Bright Future: Physical Activity and Health Eating for Adolescent Girls and Young Women. It provides a set of questions that assess current behaviors on a typical day, based on the general recommendations and guidelines from the Physical Activity Guidelines for Americans, 2008 and the Dietary Guidelines for Americans, 2010. The support tool refers to the guide and the wallet card for additional information.

Contact: HRSA Information Center, P.O. Box 2910, Merrifield, VA 22116, Telephone: (888) 275-4772 Secondary Telephone: (877) 489-4772 Fax: (703) 821-2098 E-mail: ask@hrsa.gov Web Site: http://www.ask.hrsa.gov Available from the web site. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. OWH00426.

Keywords: Adolescent females, Guidelines, Nutrition, Physical activity, Young women

Toggle Details

U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, Office of Women's Health. 2013. Counseling support tool: BFWHW guide for adult women. (Upd. ed.). [Rockville, MD]: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, Office of Women's Health, 3 pp.

Annotation: This support tool helps providers make physical activity and healthy eating recommendations to adult women based on their answers to the “Getting Started” questionnaire in the guide My Bright Future: Physical Activity and Health Eating for Adult Women. It provides a set of questions, assessing current behaviors on a typical day, based on the general recommendations and guidelines from the Physical Activity Guidelines for Americans, 2008 and the Dietary Guidelines for Americans, 2010. The support tool refers to the guide and the wallet card for additional information.

Contact: HRSA Information Center, P.O. Box 2910, Merrifield, VA 22116, Telephone: (888) 275-4772 Secondary Telephone: (877) 489-4772 Fax: (703) 821-2098 E-mail: ask@hrsa.gov Web Site: http://www.ask.hrsa.gov Available from the web site. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. OWH00424.

Keywords: Guidelines, Nutrition, Physical activity, Women's health

Toggle Details

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office on Women's Health. 2011. A lifetime of good health: Your guide to staying healthy. Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office on Women's Health, 67 pp.

Annotation: This guide offers a plan for women's health at all stages of life. It outlines healthy behaviors to prevent and manage many health conditions that can affect women, and specifically addresses pregnancy, breastfeeding, healthy eating, physical activity, menopause, and breast cancer. Topics include risk factors, screening tests and immunizations, and talking with a health professional. The guide is available in English, Spanish, and Chinese.

Contact: National Women's Health Information Center, 8270 Willow Oaks Corporate Drive, Fairfax, VA 22031, Telephone: (800) 994-9662 Secondary Telephone: (888) 220-5446 Fax: (703) 560-6598 Web Site: http://www.womenshealth.gov Available at no charge; also available from the website.

Keywords: , Disease management, Educational materials, Health behavior, Health promotion, Non English language materials, Oral Health, Preventive health services, Spanish language materials, Women

Toggle Details

U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, Office of Women's Health. 2008. My bright future: Physical activity and healthy eating for adult women. Rockville, MD: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, Office of Women's Health, (Bright futures for women's health and wellness)

Annotation: This booklet is designed to help women learn more about the importance of physical activity and healthy eating in their daily lives. It also offers advice to help women set healthy goals and to talk with their health care providers about nutrition and exercise. The booklet can be viewed online or downloaded along with companion tip sheets related to healthy weight, eating out, grocery shopping, understanding nutrition facts on food labels, getting enough calcium and iron, and reaching physical activity goals.

Contact: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, Office of Women's Health, Parklawn Building, Room 18-46, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-8664 Fax: (301) 443-8587 E-mail: smatoff-stepp@hrsa.gov Web Site: http://www.hrsa.gov/WomensHealth/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Nutrition, Physical activity, Women's health

Toggle Details

Bright Futures for Women's Health and Wellness. [2007]. Administrator's handbook: Training and implementation of BFWHW physical activity and healthy eating guidelines. Washington, DC: Office on Women's Health, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 10 pp.

Annotation: This handbook contains information for administrators, trainers, consumers, and health professionals on the My Bright Futures Physical Activity and Eating Guides and other materials related to the Health Resources and Services Administration's Bright Futures for Women's Health and Wellness Initiative (BFWHW). The handbook also contains information on how to train health professionals to implement the guides in clinical settings, using a PowerPoint presentation. In addition, the handbook discusses using BFWHW materials (and provides a recommended protocol for doing so) and offers tips for setting up and implementing training sessons.

Contact: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, Parklawn Building, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (888) 275-4772 Secondary Telephone: (877) 464-4772 Fax: (301) 443-1246 E-mail: ask@hrsa.gov Web Site: http://www.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Bright Futures, Consumer education materials, Initiatives, Manuals, Nutrition, Physical activity, Training, Women's health

Toggle Details

Sandmaier M. 2007. The healthy heart handbook for women. (Rev. ed.). Bethesda, MD: National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute, 122 pp.

Annotation: This book provides information to women about cardiovascular disease prevention. Contents include a summary of the new edition, heart disease prevention promotion and risk factors, patient and physician communication and partnership, major risk factors for cardiovascular disease, other risk factors, taking control and health planning, tips for women with heart disease, getting help for a heart attack, and how to estimate risk. Additional Web site resources are provided for further information.

Contact: National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute Health Information Center, P.O. Box 30105, Bethesda, MD 20824-0105, Telephone: (301) 592-8573 Secondary Telephone: (240) 629-3255 Fax: (301) 592-8563 E-mail: NHLBIinfo@nhlbi.nih.gov Web Site: http://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health/infoctr/index.htm Available from the website. Document Number: NIH 07-2720.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Cardiovascular diseases, Health promotion, Heart diseases, Maternal health, Nutrition, Nutrition education, Patient education, Physician patient relations, Prevention programs, Women's health

Toggle Details

Kent H, Skala J, Desmaris J. 2006. Promoting healthy weight among women of reproductive age. Washington, DC: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs; Omaha, NE: CityMatCH, 21 pp.

Annotation: This document outlines factors that influence weight, demographics of weight among women of reproductive age, and the impact of overweight and obesity on perinatal outcomes. The paper was produced by the Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs and CityMatCH Women's Health Partnership, a project to build state and local capacity to promote safe motherhood and enhance women's health before, during, and after pregnancy. A description of the theoretical frameworks underpinning the AMCHP/CityMaTCH project efforts are presented, along with resources and community-based interventions for assisting women of reproductive age to maintain a healthy weight. Several charts illustrate frameworks for the importance of weight management of women of reproductive age. References are also provided. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 2030 M Street, N.W., Suite 350, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 775-0061 E-mail: info@amchp.org Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Guidelines, Health promotion, Models, Nutrition, Perinatal health, Physical activity, Weight management, Women's health

Toggle Details

Bright Futures for Women's Health and Wellness Initiative. [2005]. Healthy women build healthy communities toolkit: For physical activity and healthy eating. [Rockville, MD]: Bright Futures for Women's Health and Wellness Initiative, 77 pp.

Annotation: This tool kit is geared toward women who want to improve the health of their communities by helping people become more physically active and eat healthier foods. The tool kit is divided into the following sections: (1) where to start, (2) what to do, (3) who can help, (4) when to do it, (5) how to do it, (6) how to get the word out, (7) how did it go, (8) what to use, (9) where to go for more help, and (10) what is your story. The sections include checklists and sample letters, timelines, fliers, posters, news releases, and public service announcements, as well as many tips and suggestions for planning a successful program.

Contact: HRSA Information Center, P.O. Box 2910, Merrifield, VA 22116, Telephone: (888) 275-4772 Secondary Telephone: (877) 489-4772 Fax: (703) 821-2098 E-mail: ask@hrsa.gov Web Site: http://www.ask.hrsa.gov Available from the website. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCH00164.

Keywords: Communities, Community programs, Consumer education materials, Health, Nutrition, Physical activity, Women

Toggle Details

National Heart Lung and Blood Institute. 2005. We Can! (Ways to Enhance Children's Activity and Nutrition): Energize our families—Curriculum for parents and caregivers. Bethesda, MD: National Heart Lung and Blood Institute, 165 pp.

Annotation: This curriculum, which is designed for parents and caregivers, consists of six lessons that provide activities to help parents and caregivers encourage a healthy weight in their family. The lessons focus on helping participants learn essential skills that can help their families increase access and availability of healthy foods and make healthful food choices, become more physically active, and reduce recreational screen time.

Contact: National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute Health Information Center, P.O. Box 30105, Bethesda, MD 20824-0105, Telephone: (301) 592-8573 Secondary Telephone: (240) 629-3255 Fax: (301) 592-8563 E-mail: NHLBIinfo@nhlbi.nih.gov Web Site: http://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health/infoctr/index.htm Available from the website.

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Children, Curricula, Families, Nutrition, Obesity, Physical activity

Toggle Details

National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute. 2005. We Can! (Ways to Enhance Children's Activity and Nutrition): Families finding the balance—A parent handbook. Bethesda, MD: National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute, 26 pp.

Annotation: This handbook for parents provides information about overweight in children and offers strategies for enhancing parents' and children's activity and nutrition. Topics covered include (1) why should we care about our weight, (2) what can my family and I do to encourage a healthy weight? (3) energy balance: the heart of the matter, (4) energy in: focusing on food choices and portion sizes, and (5) energy out: physical activity and screen time. Also included are estimated calorie requirements, a table of foods to encourage and foods to avoid, a table showing how portion sizes have grown over the past 20 years, and a guide to calories burned in common activities. The handbook concludes with a list of resources.

Contact: National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute Health Information Center, P.O. Box 30105, Bethesda, MD 20824-0105, Telephone: (301) 592-8573 Secondary Telephone: (240) 629-3255 Fax: (301) 592-8563 E-mail: NHLBIinfo@nhlbi.nih.gov Web Site: http://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health/infoctr/index.htm Available at no charge; also available from the website. Document Number: NIH pub. no. 05-5273.

Keywords: Body weight, Calories, Children, Consumer education materials, Nutrition, Obesity, Parents, Physical activity, Weight management

Toggle Details

National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion. 2004. Wisewoman: A crosscutting program to improve the health of uninsured women. Atlanta, GA: National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, 4 pp. (At a glance)

Annotation: This document describes the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention's WISEWOMAN (Well-Integrated Screening and Evaluation for Women Across the Nation) program, which provides the opportunity for underserved women to be assessed for cardiovascular disease risk factors and receive support for making needed changes in their diets, physical activity, and smoking behaviors.

Contact: National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 4770 Buford Highway, N.E., Mailstop K-40, Atlanta, GA 30341-3717, Telephone: (404) 498-1515 Secondary Telephone: (800) 232-4636 E-mail: cdcinfo@cdc.gov Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/nccdphp Available from the website.

Keywords: Cardiovascular diseases, Health screening, Low income groups, Nutrition, Physical activity, Risk factors, Smoking, Women's health

Toggle Details

U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration. 2004. My bright future: Physical activity and healthy eating—For young women. [Rockville, MD]: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, 26 pp. (Bright futures for women's health and wellness)

Annotation: This booklet, which is geared toward young women, is designed to help readers learn about physical activity and healthy eating. The booklet is divided into the following sections: (1) questions to answer on your own and talk about with your health care provider, (2) ideas on how to start a conversation with your health care provider and examples of questions you can ask, (3) section for your health care provider to fill out during your health care visit, (4) charts for setting goals with your health care provider (or on your own), and (5) information and ideas to help you reach your goals. A small wallet card provides tips on healthy eating, physical activity, important nutrients, and sources of more information.

Contact: HRSA Information Center, P.O. Box 2910, Merrifield, VA 22116, Telephone: (888) 275-4772 Secondary Telephone: (877) 489-4772 Fax: (703) 821-2098 E-mail: ask@hrsa.gov Web Site: http://www.ask.hrsa.gov Available from the website. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCH00270 (Spanish).

Keywords: Adolescent health, Consumer education materials, Food habits, Goals, Nutrition, Physical activity, Weight management, Women's health

Toggle Details

National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases. 2003. Cómo alimentarse y mantenerse activeo durante toda la vida: Como mejorar su salud—Consejos para la futura mama. Bethesda, MD: National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases, 30 pp.

Annotation: This booklet in Spanish gives advice for pregnant women on maintaining their health through good nutrition and physical activity. It lists tips on adapting recipes to make them more healthy and additional sources of information. A summary tip sheet for keeping yourself healthy is provided in English and Spanish.

Contact: National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases, Building 31, Room 9A06, 31 Center Drive, MSC 2560, Bethesda, MD 20892-2560, Telephone: (301) 496-3583 Fax: E-mail: singerb@extra.niddk.nih.gov Web Site: http://www2.niddk.nih.gov/ Available at no charge; also available from the website. Document Number: NIH Pub. No. 02-5130s.

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Nutrition, Physical activity, Pregnant women, Spanish language materials, Women's health

Toggle Details

Public Access Journalism. 2003. The shape we're in: Community action guide. Crownsville, MD: Public Access Journalism, 35 pp.

Annotation: This guide describes ways to involve newspapers in The Shape We're In, a national public education initiative that places a media spotlight on physical activity and obesity to promote public awareness of these topics and to spark dialogue and action across the country. The guide offers suggested strategies for recruiting newspapers to run The Shape We're In series, which was distributed free to newspapers on June 2, 2003. The guide also includes media tools, community-based activities, and support materials.

Contact: Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, Route One and College Road, East, P.O. Box 2316, Princeton, NJ 08543, Telephone: (877) 843-7953 Fax: Web Site: http://www.rwjf.org Available at no charge; also available from the website.

Keywords: Community action, Consumer education, Initiatives, Media campaigns, Multimedia, Newspapers, Obesity, Physical activity, Public awareness campaigns, Public awareness materials

Toggle Details

Basiotis PP, Lino M. 2002. Food insufficiency and prevalence of overweight among adult women. Alexandria, VA: U.S. Department of Agriculture, Center for Nutrition Policy and Promotion, 2 pp. (Nutrition insight; 26)

Annotation: This fact sheet describes a study conducted to examine the association between food insufficiency and overweight by adult women. The authors of the study used data from the 1988-94 National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES III) and also examined women's overall diet quality as gauged by the Healthy Eating Index and its components. The fact sheet concludes with references.

Contact: U.S. Center for Nutrition Policy and Promotion, U.S. Department of Agriculture, 3101 Park Center Drive, Room 1034, Alexandria, VA 22302-1594, Telephone: (703) 305-7600 Fax: (703) 305-3300 E-mail: infocnpp@cnpp.usda.gov Web Site: http://www.cnpp.usda.gov Available at no charge; also available from the website.

Keywords: Data analysis, Diet, Food habits, Food supply, Obesity, Women's health

Toggle Details

Mixon HH. 2002. Moving people and communities! Applying Bright Futures in Practice: Physical Activity. Knoxville, TN: University of Tennessee, Department of Nutrition, 6 items.

Annotation: These materials are a 6-hour train-the-trainer module designed to introduce and help public health personnel incorporate physical activity in their work with children and adolescents, their families, and the communities in which they live. It was produced as part of the Region IV public health nutrition continuing education program by the University of Tennessee and the University of North Carolina Chapel Hill. Materials include: a training curriculum, a set of camera ready masters of PowerPoint slides, forms for participants to use during the training, a CD-ROM containing the materials for use by health agencies in making additional copies of materials, an evaluation form for participants to use in evaluating the training, and a letter from the project developer explaining the evaluation form. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: University of Tennessee, Department of Nutrition, Jessie Harris Building, Room 229, 1215 W. Cumberland Avenue, Knoxville, TN 37996-1920, Telephone: (865) 974-5445 Contact Phone: (865) 974-6267 Fax: (865) 974-3491 Contact Fax: (865) 974-3491 E-mail: nutrition@utk.edu Contact E-mail: haughton@utk.edu Web Site: http://nutrition.utk.edu Contact for cost information.

Keywords: Curricula, Educational materials, Health professionals, Physical activity, Training materials

Toggle Details

National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases. 2002. Cómo alimentarse y mantenerse activeo durante toda la vida: Como mejorar su salud—Consejos para adultos. Bethesda, MD: National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases, 30 pp.

Annotation: This booklet in Spanish gives advice for adults on maintaining their health throughout their lives through good nutrition and physical activity. It discusses healthy weight, the body mass index, what causes weight gain, healthy eating and cooking, being physically active, and how to lose weight. It lists tips on adapting recipes to make them more healthy and additional sources of information. A summary tip sheet for keeping yourself healthy is provided in English and Spanish.

Contact: National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases, Building 31, Room 9A06, 31 Center Drive, MSC 2560, Bethesda, MD 20892-2560, Telephone: (301) 496-3583 Fax: E-mail: singerb@extra.niddk.nih.gov Web Site: http://www2.niddk.nih.gov/ Available from the website. Document Number: NIH Pub. No. 02-5130s.

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Nutrition, Physical activity, Spanish language materials, Women's health

Toggle Details

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of the Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation. 2002. Physical activity fundamental to preventing disease. Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of the Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation, 19 pp.

Annotation: This report discusses the need to encourage a more active lifestyle among Americans of all ages. Topics include the role of physical activity being fundamental in preventing disease; the economic consequences of inactivity; the promotion of good mental health through physical activity; and the associated risks of not maintaining a healthy weight. References are provided and statistical data are presented in charts and graphs throughout the report.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of the Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation, Hubert H. Humphrey Building, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Room 415 F, Washington, DC 20201, Web Site: http://aspe.hhs.gov/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Disease prevention, Health promotion, Health statistics, Mental health, Obesity, Physical activity, Physical fitness

Return to Previous Page | Go To Cross-Database Search | Advanced MCHLine® Search