Top Pages

A-Z Index (Resources & Services)

Resource Guides:
All | Families | Professionals | Schools | Non-English | Multimedia

MCH Alert Newsletter

Search

Top Pages
Home  ::  A - Z Index: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z   ::  Search

Immunizations

Bibliography of Materials from MCHLine®

BibliographyThis bibliography of 62 items is drawn from MCHLine®, the MCH Library online catalog. This bibliography includes selected materials published in the last ten years for both professionals and consumers that discuss immunization promotion programs, promotion materials, patient education materials, training materials, and policy. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Library. To identify additional materials on this topic, search MCHLine® using our online search form.

The MCH Library focuses on publications from federal and state agencies, from grantees of federal and state agencies, and from professional and voluntary organizations. It contains unique materials on the history of maternal and child health in the United States, policy papers, reports, conference proceedings, manuals, survey instruments, guidelines, and curricula. The library does not collect materials on clinical medicine. Consumer health materials and commercially published materials are collected very selectively.

Displaying 62 records.

1998. Celebrating innovation: The 1998 AAHP Child/Adolescent and Adult Immunization Awards Program. [Rahway, NJ]: Merck Vaccine Division; [Washington, DC]: American Association of Health Plans, 26 pp.

Annotation: This directory lists the awards for the most innovative approaches used by health maintenance organizations and preferred provider organizations to improve immunization rates to meet the Healthy People 2000 goals. Awards are given for innovative quality improvement in both child/ adolescent immunization and adult immunization and for public private partnerships in child/ adolescent immunization. Each listing includes the background of the problem, the strategy for handling it, and the results.

Contact: America's Health Insurance Plans, 601 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W., South Building, Suite 500, Washington, DC 20004, Telephone: (202) 778-3200 Fax: (202) 331-7487 E-mail: ahip@ahip.org Web Site: http://www.aahp.org Available at no charge. Document Number: 983533(2)-11-VMC.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adults, Awards, Child health, Health maintenance organizations, Healthy People 2000, Immunization, Immunization programs, Preferred provider organizations, Public private partnerships

more information

2001. [Spanish vaccinations card]. [Elk Grove Village, IL: American Academy of Pediatrics], 1 p.

Annotation: This tip card in Spanish outlines the recommendations of the American Academy of Pediatrics' on child vaccinations for the year 2001. The guidelines include primary and follow-up doses and when to administer them to the infant. There is also a space for the parent or health care provider to indicate when the doses were given.

Contact: HRSA Information Center, P.O. Box 2910, Merrifield, VA 22116, Telephone: (888) 275-4772 Secondary Telephone: (877) 489-4772 Fax: (703) 821-2098 E-mail: ask@hrsa.gov Web Site: http://www.ask.hrsa.gov Available at no charge. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHN058.

Keywords: Diphtheria, Hepatitis B, Immunization, Infant health care, Influenza, Meningitis, Poliomyelitis, Rubella, Spanish language materials, Tetanus

more information

All Kids Count. 1998. All Kids Count: Protecting our children through immunization registries. Decatur, GA: All Kids Count, 8 pp.

Annotation: This brochure includes information about the purpose and funding for All Kids Count, a national network of demonstration projects working to develop and implement community-based immunization registries for infants and toddlers. It also includes brief descriptions of individual projects.

Contact: All Kids Count, 750 Commerce Drive, Suite 400, Decatur, GA 30030, Telephone: (800) 874-4338 Fax: (800) 765-7520 E-mail: info@allkidscount.org Web Site: http://www.allkidscount.org Available at no charge.

Keywords: Child health, Demonstration programs, Immunization, Infant health, Prevention programs, Registries

more information

All Kids Count. 1999. Immunization registries: Improving health and health care. Decatur, GA: All Kids Count, 4 pp. (Special report from All Kids Count)

Contact: All Kids Count, 750 Commerce Drive, Suite 400, Decatur, GA 30030, Telephone: (800) 874-4338 Fax: (800) 765-7520 E-mail: info@allkidscount.org Web Site: http://www.allkidscount.org Available at no charge.

Keywords: Immunization, Registries

more information

All Kids Count. 1999-. Snap shots. Decatur, GA: All Kids Count, monthly.

Annotation: This monthly newsletter highlights the progress, best practices, and accomplishments of immunization registries across the country. It is available in print and via electronic mail.

Contact: All Kids Count, 750 Commerce Drive, Suite 400, Decatur, GA 30030, Telephone: (800) 874-4338 Fax: (800) 765-7520 E-mail: info@allkidscount.org Contact E-mail: snapshots@allkidscount.org Web Site: http://www.allkidscount.org Available at no charge.

Keywords: Immunization, Newsletters, Registries

more information

All Kids Count. 1999. Sustaining financial support for immunization registries. Decatur, GA: All Kids Count, 15 pp., exec. summ. (3 pp.). (Policy brief)

Contact: All Kids Count, 750 Commerce Drive, Suite 400, Decatur, GA 30030, Telephone: (800) 874-4338 Fax: (800) 765-7520 E-mail: info@allkidscount.org Web Site: http://www.allkidscount.org Price unknown.

Keywords: Financing, Immunization, Registries

more information

American Academy of Pediatrics. 2004. Childhood Immunization Support Program. Elk Grove Village, IL: American Academy of Pediatrics, 5 items.

Annotation: This folder contains items describing a program to improve immunization delivery in community- and office-based settings, to enable health professionals to communicate with parents about vaccines, and to establish a national network of health professionals promoting best immunization practices within a medical home. Contents include a fact sheet about the American Academy of Pediatrics Childhood Immunization Support Program (CISP), an issue of the Immunization Initiatives newsletter, a poster, a brochure about immunizations, and articles about the measles-mumps-rubella vaccine and autistic spectrum disorder.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 141 Northwest Point Boulevard, Elk Grove Village, IL 60007-1098, Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Secondary Telephone: (800) 433-9016 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: http://www.aap.org Contact for cost information.

Keywords: Autism, Child health, Communication, Communities, Health personnel, Health promotion, Immunization, Immunization programs, Infant health, Medical home, Physicians' offices, Programs, Provider networks

more information

American Academy of Pediatrics. 2006. Recommended childhood and adolescent immunization schedule: United States, 2006. Elk Grove Village, IL: American Academy of Pediatrics, 2 pp.

Annotation: This chart provides the recommended immunizations schedule for children and adolescents. For each vaccine, a range of recommended ages is provided, along with catch-up immunization age ranges and recommendations for preadolescdent assessment.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 141 Northwest Point Boulevard, Elk Grove Village, IL 60007-1098, Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Secondary Telephone: (800) 433-9016 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: http://www.aap.org

Keywords: Adolescent health, Child health, Immunization

more information

American Academy of Pediatrics, Committee on Infectious Diseases. 1991-. Red book: Report of the Committee on Infectious Diseases. 27th ed.. Elk Grove Village, IL: American Academy of Pediatrics, triennial.

Annotation: This book contains guidelines developed by the American Academy of Pediatrics for the management and prevention of infectious diseases in children. The book focuses on active and passive immunization; guidelines for care of children in special circumstances including breastfeeding, out-of-home child care, hospitalized children, and internationally adopted children; over 100 infectious diseases; and antimicrobial therapies. These recommendations were derived from consensus among representatives from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, the Food and Drug Administration, the National Institutes of Health, the National Vaccine Programs, and the Canadian Paediatric Society. The 2006 edition is available as a package, called Red Book Plus, which includes the hardcover print edition, online access to updates, and a desktop CD-ROM that includes the 2006 edition searchable text cross-linked to a visual library.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 141 Northwest Point Boulevard, Elk Grove Village, IL 60007-1098, Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Secondary Telephone: (800) 433-9016 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: http://www.aap.org $109.95 for non members, plus shipping and handling. Document Number: ISBN 978-1-58110-194-2.

Keywords: CD-ROMs, Child health, Communicable diseases, Guidelines, Immunization, Infant health

more information

American Association of Health Plans. ca. 1997. Childhood immunization program awards. Washington, DC: American Association of Health Plans, 14 pp.

Annotation: This pamphlet list the results of the Celebrating Innovation Immunization Awards Program of the American Association of Health Plans. Award categories were innovative quality improvement and private/public partnerships. The pamphlet lists the winners and briefly describes the strategies used and results obtained. The strategies are characterized as replicable in other HMO or PPO programs.

Contact: America's Health Insurance Plans, 601 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W., South Building, Suite 500, Washington, DC 20004, Telephone: (202) 778-3200 Contact Phone: (202) 778-8471 Fax: (202) 331-7487 E-mail: ahip@ahip.org Web Site: http://www.aahp.org Price unknown.

Keywords: Awards, Child health services, Immunization programs

more information

Arc of Illinois, Family-to-Family Health Information and Education Center. 2007. Tools for schools: Related services and accommodations for children with special needs. Homewood, IL: Arc of Illinois, Family-to-Family Health Information and Education Center, 4 pp.

Annotation: This document provides guidance for families with a child or adolescent with special health care needs about health and oral health examinations required for students entering kindergarten, fifth grade, and ninth grade, as well as for students enrolling in Illinois schools for the first time. Topics include transportation, toileting, and school lunch accommodations; administration of medications and medical treatments during the school day; therapies and adaptive equipment; and assistive technology. Resources on immunizations and health insurance are provided.

Contact: ARC of Illinois, Family to Family Health Information and Education Center, 20901 LaGrange Road, Suite 209, Frantfort, IL 60423, Telephone: (815) 464-1832 Fax: (815) 464-5292 E-mail: info@thearcofil.org Web Site: http://www.thearcofil.org/familytofamily/index.asp Available at no charge from the Web site.

Keywords: Adolescents with special health care needs, Children with special health care needs, Health examinations, Illinois, Oral health, School age children, School readiness

more information

Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs. 2007. The HPV vaccine: Background, coverage, and benefits. Washington, DC: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 3 pp. (AMCHP fact sheet)

Annotation: This fact sheet discusses the background behind the need for an HPV (human papillomavirus) vaccine to prevent cervical cancer. It discusses the method of delivery, age recommendations for receiving the vaccine and reasons for the recommendations, costs of the vaccine, state financing and access initiatives for the vaccine, an outline of school mandates, and added benefits. Endnotes conclude the fact sheet.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 2030 M Street, N.W., Suite 350, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 775-0061 Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available at no charge from the Web site.

Keywords: Adolescent females, Adolescent health, Cervical cancer, Human papillomavirus, Immunization, Prevention, Sexually transmitted diseases, Vaccines, Women's health, Young women

more information

Association of State and Territorial Directors of Health Promotion and Public Health Education. 1998. Addressing infectious disease threats: Essential information for health professionals. [Washington, DC]: Association of State and Territorial Directors of Health Promotion and Public Health Education, 4 pp.

Annotation: This newsletter insert defines infectious diseases, their threat, their financial impact, emerging diseases, and reemerging diseases. Infectious disease control and prevention including hand washing, cleaning and disinfecting, safe food handling, immunization, use of antibiotics, and animal safety are discussed. The role of health education professionals and communicating about disease risk are also discussed.

Contact: Directors of Health Promotion and Education, 1015 18th Street N.W., Third Floor, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 659-2230 Contact Phone: (800) 319-1111 Fax: (202) 659-2339 E-mail: director@dhpe.org Contact E-mail: Matu102w@cdc.gov Web Site: http://www.dhpe.org

Keywords: Animals, Antibiotics, Communicable diseases, Communication, Disease prevention, Disease transmission, Disinfection, Food handling, Handwashing, Health education, Immunization

more information

Atkinson WL, Pickering LK, Schwartz B, Weniger BG, Iskander JK, Watson JC. 2002. General recommendations on immunization: Recommendations of the Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices (ACIP) and the American Academy of Family Physicians. Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Reports: Recommendations and Reports. 51(RR-2):1-36. February 8, 2002,

Annotation: This report provides technical guidance regarding common immunization concerns for healthcare providers who administer vaccines to children, adolescents, and adults. It updates the 1994 statement by the Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices (ACIP). Topics include timing and spacing of immunobiologics; vaccine administration; storage and handling of immunobiologics; special situations such as antimicrobial agents and vaccines, tuberculosis, severe allergy reactions, the vaccination of premature infants, breastfeeding mothers, and during pregnancy; vaccination records; and reporting adverse events. Additional resources are provided on vaccination programs and vaccine information sources. Abbreviations, term definitions, and tables are used in the final section of this report to illustrate the vaccination recommendations.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30333, Telephone: (404) 639-3534 Secondary Telephone: (800) 311-3435 E-mail: cdc@cdcinfo.gov Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available at no charge from the Web site.

Keywords: Adverse effects, Allergy and immunology, Child health, Guidelines, Health promotion, Immunization, Immunization programs, Infant health promotion, Information sources, Medical records, Preventive medicine, Vaccination effects

more information

Boyer-Chu L, Wooley SF. 2008. Give it a shot!: Toolkit for nurses and other immunization champions working with secondary schools. (2nd ed). Kent, OH: American School Health Association, 62 pp.

Annotation: This manual provides information about vaccine-preventable diseases, ways to market immunizations, ways to provide immunizations in schools, and specific vaccines, including new ones. It is part of a toolkit for school and public health nurses who work with adolescents. Contents include the importance of adolescents receiving immunizations, collaborating with key health providers, partnering with other youth organizations, educating and motivating adolescents and their parents, strategies and tools, striving for compliance, vaccinating at the school site, and media attention. Additional information is provided on diseases and vaccinations for adolescents, resources for more information as well as continuing-education-unit self-study questions that nurses and certified health education specialists may complete and submit for credit. Companion materials on CD-ROM and DVD are available for purchase on the Web site.

Contact: American School Health Association, 7263 State Route 43, P.O. Box 708, Kent, OH 44240-0708, Telephone: (330) 678-1601 Fax: (330) 678-4526 E-mail: asha@ashaweb.org Web Site: http://www.ashaweb.org Available at no charge from the Web site.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Immunization, Manuals, Public health nurses, School health services, School nurses

more information

Bumpers B, Hearne SA, Segal DN, Unruh PJ, Pisani A, Zavolinsky J. 2004. Closing the vaccination gap: A shot in the arm for childhood immunization programs. Washington, DC: Trust for America's Health, 27 pp. (Issue report)

Annotation: This report focuses on the need to ensure that all preschool-age children have access to the full series of immunizations in a timely manner. The report discusses the importance of childhood immunization, immunization rates, and factors contributing to the fact that 20 percent of preschool-age children in the United States are not receiving needed immunizations. Recommendations are also included. Statistical information is presented in figures and tables throughout the report. The report includes three case studies. The report concludes with a list of endnotes.

Contact: Trust for America's Health, 1707 H Street, N.W., Seventh Floor, Washington, DC 20006, Telephone: (202) 223-9870 Fax: (202) 223-9871 E-mail: info@tfah.org Web Site: http://healthyamericans.org Available at no charge; also available at no charge from the Web site.

Keywords: Child health, Community programs, Disease prevention, Economic factors, Ethnic factors, Immunization, Preschool children, Racial factors

more information

California Children and Families Partnership. [2007]. You can keep your baby healthy: Your healthy baby. [Sacramento, CA]: California Children and Families Commission, 13 pp.

Annotation: This brochure for new parents provides steps to take to keep a baby healthy. Topics include immunizations/vaccines, oral health, secondhand smoke, Sudden Infant Death Syndrome (SIDS), and overexposure to sun. Contact information is provided for sources in California for dentists, state health insurance, state nutrition assistance, smoking cessation, and SIDS.

Contact: California Children and Families Commission, 2389 Gateway Oaks Drive, Suite 260, Sacramento, CA 95833, Telephone: (916) 263-1050 Secondary Telephone: (800) KIDS-025 Fax: (916) 263-1360 E-mail: info@ccfc.ca.gov Web Site: http://www.ccfc.ca.gov Available at no charge from the Web site.

Keywords: Brochures, California, Consumer education materials, Immunizations, Infant health, Infant nutrition, Maternal nutrition, Oral health, SIDS, Smoking, Vaccines

more information

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. 2009. Get the picture: Childhood Immunizations. Atlanta, GA: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Online video (6 min. 27 sec.)

Annotation: This video features a group of mothers discussing vaccines with an expert from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. The Web site includes a full transcript, plus instructions for downloading or sharing the video via Facebook, Google and other sites.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30333, Telephone: (404) 639-3534 Secondary Telephone: (800) 311-3435 E-mail: cdc@cdcinfo.gov Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available at no charge from the Web site.

Keywords: Immunization, Child health, Consumer education materials, Vaccination effects, Vaccines, Videotapes

more information

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. 2007. Human papillomavirus: HPV information for clinicians. [Atlanta, GA]: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 17 pp.

Annotation: This booklet, which is geared toward clinicians, provides information about the human papillomavirus (HPV). Main topics include genital HPV infection, cervical cancer prevention, and genital warts. References are included, as well as charts and photographs. It is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30333, Telephone: (404) 639-3534 Secondary Telephone: (800) 311-3435 E-mail: cdc@cdcinfo.gov Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available at no charge from the Web site.

Keywords: Cervical cancer, Human papillomavirus, Prevention, Spanish language materials, Treatment

more information

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. [2007]. What parents of preteens/adolescents should know about the HPV vaccine. [Atlanta, GA]: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 2 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet, which is geared toward parents of adolescents and pre-adolescents, provides information about the human papillomavirus (HPV) vaccine. The fact sheet explains HPV and its health effects and answers questions about who should be vaccinated, the vaccine's effectiveness. how the vaccine is administered, cost, and other ways to prevent HPV and related diseases. The fact sheet is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30333, Telephone: (404) 639-3534 Secondary Telephone: (800) 311-3435 E-mail: cdc@cdcinfo.gov Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available at no charge from the Web site.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescent sexuality, Cervical cancer, Costs, Human papillomavirus, Prevention, Spanish language materials, Vaccines

more information

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices. 2006. Guidelines for vaccinating pregnant women. [Upd. ed.]. [Atlanta, GA]: National Immunization Program, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 7 pp.

Annotation: This booklet discusses guidelines for vaccinating pregnant women and weighing the benefits against any risks to the fetus. A quick chart outlines the recommendations for 23 types of vaccine, whether the vaccines should be considered or are contraindicated during pregnancy, and any special or conditional recommendations. Additional information is provided for prenatal serologic screening and vaccinating women who are breastfeeding

Contact: National Center for Immunization and Respiratory Diseases, 1600 Clifton Road, N.E., Mailstop E05, Atlanta, GA 30333, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: (770) 488-4760 Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/vaccines Available at no charge from the Web site.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Consumer education materials, Immunizations, Infant health, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Risk factors, Vaccine effects, Vaccines

more information

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, National Immunization Program. [2007]. Common questions parents ask about infant immunizations. [Atlanta, GA]: National Immunization Program, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1 p.

Annotation: This fact sheet lists eight commonly asked questions from parents about vaccinating their newborn infants. It provides information on vaccination safety, the continued need for vaccination of the population, autism risks, and where to find more information.

Contact: National Center for Immunization and Respiratory Diseases, 1600 Clifton Road, N.E., Mailstop E05, Atlanta, GA 30333, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: (770) 488-4760 Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/vaccines Available at no charge from the Web site.

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Immunizations, Infant health, Parent education, Vaccine effects, Vaccines

more information

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, National Immunization Program. 2007. Parents' guide to childhood immunizations. [Atlanta, GA]: National Immunization Program, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 68 pp.

Annotation: This illustrated publication for parents discusses the importance of vaccinating children against preventable diseases, how the vaccines work, and their safety. It outlines thirteen diseases, why vaccinations are provided, and what side effects and precautions should be considered. The appendix offers information on the childhood immunization schedule, a diseases summary, questions and answers, what to do if there is a reaction, other vaccines, immunization trivia, a glossary, sources for more information, and an index.

Contact: National Center for Immunization and Respiratory Diseases, 1600 Clifton Road, N.E., Mailstop E05, Atlanta, GA 30333, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: (770) 488-4760 Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/vaccines Available at no charge; also available at no charge from the Web site. Document Number: ISBN 0-16-050801.

Keywords: Child health, Consumer education materials, Federal initiatives, Immunizations, Parent education, Prevention programs, Vaccine effects, Vaccines

more information

Child Trends DataBank. 2007. Immunization. Washington, DC: Child Trends, 9 pp.

Annotation: This report provides information on immunization against vaccine-preventable diseases. The report discusses the important of immunization; trends; differences by race and ethnicity, poverty status, and type of immunization; state and local estimates; international estimates; and national goals. Definitions of vaccine-related terms are provided. Data sources and endnotes are included. Statistical information is presented in figures and tables.

Contact: Child Trends, 4301 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Suite 350, Washington, DC 20008, Telephone: (202) 572-6000 Fax: (202) 362-8420 Web Site: http://www.childtrends.org Available at no charge from the Web site.

Keywords: Ethnic factors, Immunization, Income factors, Poverty, Racial factors, Trends

more information

Childhood Influenza Immunization Coalition. 2008. Improving childhood influenza immunization rates to protect our nation's children. [New York, NY]: Childhood Influenza Immunization Coalition, 5 pp.

Annotation: This report summarizes information from a meeting of public health, medical, patient, and parent organizations interested in reducing the burden of influenza in children by increasing immunization rates. The meeting was held on May 23, 2007, in Washington, DC. Participants discussed the importance of protecting children from influenza and outlined ways to help health professionals administer vaccines to more infants, children, adolescents, and their close contacts annually. The report discusses the impact of influenza on children, approaches to increase immunization rates, and additional benefits to society of vaccinating children against influenza.

Contact: Childhood Influenza Immunization Coalition, 139 Fifth Avenue, Floor 3, New York, NY 10010, Telephone: (212) 866-2277 E-mail: CIIC@nfid.org Web Site: http://www.preventchildhoodinfluenza.org

Keywords: Adolescent health, Child health, Immunization, Infant health, Influenza, Prevention

more information

Cordero, J. F., Guerra, F. A., and Saarlas, K. N. (Eds.). Developing immunization registries: Experiences from the All Kids Count Program. American Journal of Preventive Medicine. 13(2) Supplement: 1-128. March/April 1997,

Annotation: The articles in this supplement describe recent experiences in preschool monitoring and follow-up projects in the All Kids Count Program initiated by the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation to monitor immunization of preschool children in the United States. The articles describe how the grantees met the challenge to be innovative in trying a variety of approaches to learn what does and does not work in tracking children during the early years of life. Gathered in this supplement are some of the lessons learned by those developing systems to reach the goal of 90 per cent coverage by the year 2000 given the many differences inherent in the heterogeneous medical, social, and cultural conditions that characterize our country.

Contact: American Journal of Preventive Medicine, University of California, San Diego, 9500 Gilman Drive, DEPT 0811, La Jolla, CA 92093-0811, Telephone: 858-457-7292 Fax: 858-655-1463 E-mail: eajpm@ucsd.edu Web Site: http://www.ajpm-online.net $44.00 includes shipping and handling.

Keywords: Immunization programs, Preschool children, Registries

more information

Council of State Governments, Healthy States Initiative. 2007. Policy overview: Immunization tool kit. Lexington, KY: Council of State Governments, Healthy States Initiatives, ca. 45 pp.

Annotation: This tool kit, which is geared toward legislators, is designed to help readers make decisions about issues surrounding the cost of, safety of, and access to immunizations. The tool kit includes policy briefs on strategies to prevent infectious diseases through immunization, vaccine safety, reducing adult immunization disparities, and exemptions from school immunization requirements; talking points on adult immunizations, adolescent immunizations, health care worker influenza immunizations, and exemptions to school immunization requirements; a resource guide; and a list of recommended vaccinations for children, adolescents, and adults.

Contact: Council of State Governments, 2760 Research Park Drive, P. O. Box 11910, Lexington, KY 40578-1910, Telephone: (859) 244-8000 Secondary Telephone: (800) 800-1910 Fax: (859) 244-8001 E-mail: csg@csg.org Web Site: http://www.csg.org Available at no charge from the Web site.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adult health, Child health, Cost, Immunization, Legislation, Prevention, Public policy, Safety, Vaccines

more information

Donlin JM. 2004. Immunizations: A snapshot for state legislators. Denver, CO: National Conference of State Legislatures, 20 pp.

Annotation: This booklet is intended to help state legislators and legislative staff understand their role in developing immunization policy. The booklet discusses child care, Head Start, and school vaccination requirements for children; financing childhood immunization; vaccine safety, adult immunization, and immunization registries for children. A list of additional resources is included.

Contact: National Conference of State Legislatures, 7700 East First Place, Denver, CO 80230, Telephone: (303) 364-7700 Secondary Telephone: (303) 364-7812 Fax: (303) 364-7800 E-mail: ncslnet-admin@ncsl.org Web Site: http://www.ncsl.org $15.00, plus shipping and handling. Document Number: ISBN 1-58024-348-7.

Keywords: Child care, Costs, Financing, Head Start, Immunization, Public policy, Schools, Vaccines

more information

Grantmakers In Health. 2000. Victims of our own success: Will immunization remain the paradigm of effective prevention?. Washington, DC: Grantmakers In Health, 18 pp. (Issue brief; no. 4)

Contact: Grantmakers In Health, 1100 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Suite 1200, Washington, DC 20036-4101, Telephone: (202) 452-8331 Fax: (202) 452-8340 E-mail: http://www.gih.org/feedback2666/feedback.htm Web Site: http://www.gih.org Available at no charge.

Keywords: Child health, Immunization, Infant health

more information

Harris KM, Martin LT, Lurie N. 2009. Strategies and models for promoting adolescent vaccination for low-income populations. Santa Monica, CA: Rand, 65 pp.

Annotation: This briefing, which is intended for public health officials, school administrators, and health professionals, presents the results of an assessment of the current climate for adolescent immunization in the United States, to recommend broad strategies for immunizing adolescents from families with low incomes and to identify promising practices consistent with the proposed strategic framework. The brief includes the study approach, findings, recommendations, and a summary and next steps.

Contact: Rand Corporation, 1776 Main Street, Santa Monica, CA 90407-3208, Telephone: (310) 393-0411 Fax: 310-393-4818 E-mail: correspondence@rand.org Web Site: http://www.rand.org Available at no charge from the Web site.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescents, Immunization, Immunization programs, Low income groups, Prevention

more information

Hastings TM. n.d.. On the frontier: All Kids Count—Phase I: Developing immunization registries, 1992-1997. Decatur, GA: All Kids Count, 41 pp.

Annotation: This report is a history of All Kids Count, an immunization registry project funded by the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation. It includes a description of the project planning, challenges to the project, program evaluation, a list of supporters, registry pioneers, and a look at the future.

Contact: All Kids Count, 750 Commerce Drive, Suite 400, Decatur, GA 30030, Telephone: (800) 874-4338 Fax: (800) 765-7520 E-mail: info@allkidscount.org Web Site: http://www.allkidscount.org Price unknown.

Keywords: Immunization programs, Preschool children, Program evaluation, Registries

more information

Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation. 2008. HPV vaccine: Implementation and financing policy in the U. S.. Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, 2 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about the human papillomavirus (HPV) vaccine. Information is provided on HPV and cervical cancer, Gardisil (the new HPV vaccine), vaccine financing, and implementation challenges. Endnotes are included. One figure illustrates the health insurance coverage status of females ages 9-26.

Contact: Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, 2400 Sand Hill Road, Menlo Park, CA 94025, Telephone: (650) 854-9400 Fax: (650) 854-4800 E-mail: webmaster@kff.org Web Site: http://www.kff.org Available at no charge from the Web site.

Keywords: Cervical cancer, Financing, Health insurance, Human papillomavirus, Vaccines, Women's health

more information

HMA Associates. 1998. Mother's heart. Washington, DC: HMA Associates, 30 pp.

Annotation: This 1999 immunization pocketbook calendar illustrated by Latino artists is design to help Hispanic mothers keep their infants on schedule with their vaccinations. Each page has an artist's interpretation of a mother's love for her child with an inspirational message and gentle reminder, "vaccinate on time, every time." The calendar is bilingual in English and Spanish.

Contact: HMA Associates, 1101 17 Street, N.W., Suite 1102, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 342-0676, ext. 37 Fax: (202) 388-0086 E-mail: info@hmaassociates.com Web Site: http://www.hmaassociates.com Available at no charge, postage and handling is charged.

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Hispanic Americans, Immunization, Infants, Mothers, Spanish language materials, Vaccines

more information

Hsiao A, Ranji U, Salganicoff A. 2006. HPV, cervical cancer, and the new vaccine. [Upd. ed.]. Menlo Park, CA: Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, 5 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information on the human papillomavirus (HPV), cervical cancer, and a new vaccine that protects against certain strains of HPV. The fact sheet provides basic information about the transmission of HPV and its relationship to cervical cancer, vaccination recommendations, implementation, and costs, attitudes toward the vaccine, and discussion questions. Endnotes are included.

Contact: Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, 2400 Sand Hill Road, Menlo Park, CA 94025, Telephone: (650) 854-9400 Fax: (650) 854-4800 E-mail: webmaster@kff.org Web Site: http://www.kff.org Available at no charge from the Web site.

Keywords: Attitudes, Cervical cancer, Costs, Human papillomavirus, Prevention, Vaccines, Women's health

more information

Immunization Action Coalition. 2008. Immunizations for babies: A guide for parents. St. Paul, MN: Immunization Action Coalition, 1 p.

Annotation: This document, which is intended for parents, comprises a chart indicating which vaccinations infants (from birth through age 12 months or older) need, and at what ages. A list of diseases against which vaccinations protect and a brief description of each disease are included.

Contact: Immunization Action Coalition, 1573 Selby Avenue, Suite 234, Saint Paul, MN 55104, Telephone: (651) 647-9009 Fax: (651) 647-9131 E-mail: admin@immunize.org Web Site: http://www.immunize.org Available at no charge; also available at no charge from the Web site.

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Immunization, Infant health, Vaccines

more information

Immunization Action Coalition. 2008. Questions parents ask about baby shots. St. Paul, MN: Immunization Action Coalition, 2 pp

Annotation: This brochure, which is intended for parents, provides information about infant vaccinations. Topics covered include when infants need vaccinations, what happens if a vaccine dose is missed, how to keep track of vaccinations, what happens if an older child hasn't received vaccinations, and how to get free or low-cost vaccinations.

Contact: Immunization Action Coalition, 1573 Selby Avenue, Suite 234, Saint Paul, MN 55104, Telephone: (651) 647-9009 Fax: (651) 647-9131 E-mail: admin@immunize.org Web Site: http://www.immunize.org Available at no charge; also available at no charge from the Web site.

Keywords: Child health, Consumer education materials, Immunization, Infant health, Vaccines

more information

Immunization Action Coalition. 2007. Reliable sources of immunization information: Where to go to find answers. St. Paul, MN: Immunization Action Coalition, 1 p.

Annotation: This fact sheet provides lists of resources on immunization information, including Web sites, phone numbers, books for parents, and videotapes. A brief description of each resource is included, along with contact information.

Contact: Immunization Action Coalition, 1573 Selby Avenue, Suite 234, Saint Paul, MN 55104, Telephone: (651) 647-9009 Fax: (651) 647-9131 E-mail: admin@immunize.org Web Site: http://www.immunize.org Available at no charge from the Web site.

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Immunization, Infant health, Vaccines

more information

Immunization Action Coalition. 2008. When do children and teens need vaccinations?. St. Paul, MN: Immunization Action Coalition, 1 p.

Annotation: This document, which is intended for parents, comprises a chart indicating which vaccinations infants, children, and adolescents (from birth through age 18) need, and at what ages. Supplemental notes provide additional information about special circumstances.

Contact: Immunization Action Coalition, 1573 Selby Avenue, Suite 234, Saint Paul, MN 55104, Telephone: (651) 647-9009 Fax: (651) 647-9131 E-mail: admin@immunize.org Web Site: http://www.immunize.org Available at no charge; also available at no charge from the Web site.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Child health, Consumer education materials, Immunization, Infant health, Vaccines

more information

Institute of Medicine, Committee on Immunization Finance Policies and Practices. 2000. Calling the shots: Immunization finance policies and practices. Washington, DC: National Academy Press, 308 pp., summ. (8 pp.).

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Lockbox 285, Washington, DC 20055, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: bkline@nap.edu Web Site: http://www.nap.edu $49.95 plus shipping and handling. Document Number: ISBN 0-309-07029-5.

Keywords: Access to health care, Health care financing, Health policy, Immunization

more information

Kagan J. 1999. Immunizations and Title V: State MCH programs promoting comprehensive care through immunizations: A report on a 1998 AMCHP immunization survey. Washington, DC: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 55 pp.

Annotation: This report focuses on state immunization programs funded by Title V. State program officials completed a Center for Disease Prevention and Control (CDC) survey and the results are the basis of this report. The report subjects are as follows: Child Health Improvement Project (CHIP) outreach in immunization programs; Title V as expert collaborator and service coordinator; monitoring, assessment and standard setting; linkages with other agencies; the role of categorical immunization programs; and services for immigrants. Numerous tables of statistical data support the analysis. Appendices contain profiles of major federal agencies or offices responsible for vaccine and immunization-related activities, lists of current CDC immunization initiatives and outreach consultants, and a copy of the CDC survey used for this report.

Contact: HRSA Information Center, P.O. Box 2910, Merrifield, VA 22116, Telephone: (888) 275-4772 Secondary Telephone: (877) 489-4772 Fax: (703) 821-2098 E-mail: ask@hrsa.gov Web Site: http://www.ask.hrsa.gov Available at no charge. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHL070.

Keywords: Assessment, Collaboration, Enrollment, Health care delivery, Home visiting, Immunization programs, Monitoring, Service coordination, Standards, State MCH programs, Statistics, Surveys, Title V programs

more information

KidsHealth. 2006. Your child's immunizations. [Wilmington, DE]: KidsHealth, Nemours Foundation,

Annotation: This resource discusses the importance of child vaccinations and lists ten recommended vaccinations along with information on scheduling, possible risks, when to delay or avoid an immunization, care after the immunization, and when to call the doctor

Contact: KidsHealth, Nemours Center for Children's Health Media, E-mail: comments@KidsHealth.org Web Site: http://www.kidshealth.org Available at no charge from the Web site.

Keywords: Child health, Consumer education materials, Immunizations, Infant health, Preventive health services, Preventive medicine

more information

McCauley MM, Fishbein DB, Santoli JM, Freed GL, Irwin CE (Eds.) . 2008. Strengthening the delivery of new vaccines for adolescents. Pediatrics. 121(1) Supplement 1: S1-S87. January 2008,

Annotation: This supplement summarizes the etiology, pathogenesis, clinical manifestations, and epidemiology of the diseases that are newly preventable by vaccines for adolescents and describes the key features of each of the recommended vaccines. Additional articles address questions about the readiness of adolescents' medical homes to deliver these vaccines and the possible effects on the delivery of other preventive health care services, whether the new vaccines will increase adolescent visits and other preventive health care use, sample strategies at the practice level, vaccinating adolescents outside the medical home, lessons learned for delivering vaccines to youth in high-risk settings, projected cost effectiveness of new vaccines for adolescents in the United States, the basis for vaccine school-entry requirements, and a summary of the status of consent laws. Each article contains an abstract and references. Statistical data are provided in charts throughout the supplement.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 141 Northwest Point Boulevard, Elk Grove Village, IL 60007-1098, Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Secondary Telephone: (800) 433-9016 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: http://www.aap.org

Keywords: Adolescents, Consent, Immunization, Medical home, Preventive health services, School health education, Statistical data

more information

Murkoff H, Mazel S. 2008. What to Expect guide to to immunizations: What you need to know about your child's vaccinations. New York, NY: What to Expect Foundation, 17 pp. (English), 20 pp. (Spanish)

Annotation: This guide for consumers provides information about immunizations recommended for infants and young children through age 6; answers to questions about their safety, efficacy, and importance; combination shots; and tips on how to prepare the child to receive a shot; and an immunization visit planner. The guide is also available in Spanish, and a 2 minute 16 second video is available from the publisher.

Contact: What to Expect Foundation, 144 W. 80th Street, No. 5, New York, NY 10024, Telephone: (212) 712-9764 E-mail: info@whattoexpect.org Web Site: http://www.whattoexpect.org Available at no charge from the Web site.

Keywords: Child health, Consumer education materials, Immunization, Infant health, Preventive medicine, Spanish language materials, Vaccination effects, Vaccines

more information

National Alliance for Hispanic Health. 2001. Demuestra tu carino: Vacuna a tu bebe! = Show your love: Immunize your baby. Washington, DC: National Alliance for Hispanic Health, 1 videotape.

Annotation: This videotape, narrated in Spanish by a doctor and parents, and with English subtitles, explains the basics about childhood vaccines in a casual, easy-to-understand manner. The videotape discusses (1) what vaccines are, (2) which vaccines children need, and why, (3) how vaccines work, (4) when vaccines should be administered, (5) possible side effects of vaccines, (6) how to obtain vaccines free of charge, (7) what to do if parents are unable to communicate with clinic personnel because of language barriers, (8) how to get an interpreter, (9) the importance of keeping vaccination records, and (10) what type of documentation clinics require.

Contact: National Alliance for Hispanic Health, 1501 16th Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20036-1401, Telephone: (202) 387-5000 Fax: (202) 797-4353 E-mail: alliance@hispanichealth.org Contact E-mail: alliance@hispanichealth.org Web Site: http://www.hispanichealth.org/ Contact for cost information.

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Children, Consumer education materials, Immunization, Language barriers, Medical records, Spanish language materials, Vaccines, Videotapes

more information

National Alliance for Hispanic Health. 2002. Vacunate ya!: Lo que todo adulto deberia saber... = Vaccines: We all need them!: What every adult should know. Washington, DC: National Alliance for Hispanic Health, 36 pp.

Annotation: This booklet provides information for families about immunizations that are recommended for adults. It is written in English and Spanish.

Contact: National Alliance for Hispanic Health, 1501 16th Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20036-1401, Telephone: (202) 387-5000 Fax: (202) 797-4353 E-mail: alliance@hispanichealth.org Web Site: http://www.hispanichealth.org/ One copy available at no charge.

Keywords: Adults, Consumer education materials, Immunization, Materials for parents, Spanish language materials

more information

National Center for Immunization and Respiratory Diseases. 2007. Vaccines and preventable diseases: HPV vaccine - Questions and answers for the public about the safety and effectiveness of the Human Papillomavirus Vaccine. [Atlanta, GA]: National Center for Immunization and Respiratory Diseases, 4 pp.

Annotation: This document outlines frequently asked questions about the Human Papillomavirus (HPV) vaccine, the prevalence of HPV and its role in cervical cancer. Additional questions are discussed about the safety and efficacy of the vaccine, how the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention monitor vaccine safety, possible side effects; whether pregnant women should receive the vaccine, and other questions.

Contact: National Center for Immunization and Respiratory Diseases, 1600 Clifton Road, N.E., Mailstop E05, Atlanta, GA 30333, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: (770) 488-4760 Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/vaccines Available at no charge from the Web site.

Keywords: Human papillomavirus, Immunization, Sexually transmitted diseases, Vaccination effects

more information

National Conference of State Legislatures. 2007. HPV vaccine. Denver, CO: National Conference of State Legislatures, 11 pp.

Annotation: This Web-based fact sheet outlines the history of the debate on vaccination of girls and young women for human papillomavirus (HPV), whether it should be required by the state for school entry, and the role of states in setting any requirement. Contents also include other resources for more information as well as a state-by-state chart of legislation relating to the HPV vaccine with links to the full text of each bill and law cited. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Conference of State Legislatures, 7700 East First Place, Denver, CO 80230, Telephone: (303) 364-7700 Secondary Telephone: (303) 364-7812 Fax: (303) 364-7800 E-mail: ncslnet-admin@ncsl.org Web Site: http://www.ncsl.org Available at no charge from the Web site.

Keywords: Adolescent females, Human papillomavirus, Immunization, Sexually transmitted diseases, State legislation

more information

National Foundation for Infectious Diseases. 2002. A report on reaching underserved ethnic and minority populations to improve pediatric immunization rates. Bethesda, MD: National Foundation for Infectious Diseases, 23 pp.

Annotation: This report summarizes discussions from a roundtable of experts convened to review barriers in the United States and Canada that give rise to vaccination disparities and to identify strategies to achieve full vaccination. Topics include immunization and health disparity issues; potential barriers to full immunizations; issues relevant to African American, Latino, and Asian American children; the role of the healthcare provider; and innovative and simpler ways to vaccinate. The report also contains a summary of key issues, selected readings on immunization disparities and references. Statistical information is presented in tables throughout the report.

Contact: National Foundation for Infectious Diseases, 4733 Bethesda Avenue, Suite 750, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (301) 656-0003 Fax: (301) 907-0878 E-mail: info@nfid.org Web Site: http://www.nfid.org Available at no charge from the Web site.

Keywords: Access to health care, Asian Americans, Blacks, Ethnic groups, Health personnel, Hispanic Americans, Immunization, Immunization programs, Infection, Low income groups, Minority groups, Public policy, Underserved communities, Vaccination

more information

National Foundation for Infectious Diseases. 2003. Increasing influenza immunization rates in infants and children: Putting recommendations into practice—Strategies to help pediatric and family practices implement immunization recommendations. Bethesda, MD: National Foundation for Infectious Diseases, 24 pp.

Annotation: This consensus report, which focuses on influenza vaccination, presents strategies that have been shown to increase immunization rates and suggests ways to implement them in a variety of pediatric practices. The report is divided into two main parts. Part I discusses the importance of influenza vaccination in healthy and high-risk children, and Part II presents models for increasing pediatric vaccination rates. Statistical information is presented in tables and figures throughout the report. The report concludes with a reference list.

Contact: National Foundation for Infectious Diseases, 4733 Bethesda Avenue, Suite 750, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (301) 656-0003 Fax: (301) 907-0878 E-mail: info@nfid.org Web Site: http://www.nfid.org Available at no charge from the Web site.

Keywords: Children, Immunization, Infants, Influenza, Pediatric care, Risk factors

more information

National Healthy Mothers, Healthy Babies Coalition. [2005]. How to develop easy reading immunization materials. [2nd ed.]. Alexandria, VA: National Healthy Mothers, Healthy Babies Coalition, 20 pp.

Annotation: These guidelines explain how to develop low literacy materials about immunizations. Topics covered are (1) defining the target audience, (2) developing a concept for the material, (3) determining the reading level, and (4) pretesting the material before publication. A glossary and references are included.

Contact: National Healthy Mothers, Healthy Babies Coalition, 2000 North Beauregard Street, Sixth Floor, Alexandria, VA 22311-1748, Telephone: (703) 837-4792 Fax: (703) 684-5968 E-mail: info@hmhb.org Web Site: http://www.hmhb.org Single copies available at no charge.

Keywords: Guidelines, Health education, Immunization, Low literacy materials

more information

National Healthy Mothers, Healthy Babies Coalition. 2005. What you need to know about immunization and pregnancy. Alexandria, VA: National Healthy Mothers, Healthy Babies Coalition, 8 pp. (Fast facts for families)

Annotation: This brochure, which is geared toward families, provides facts about immunization and pregnancy. The brochure discusses the importance of immunizations, which immunizations are safe to receive during pregnancy, which should be avoided during pregnancy, and how to plan for a trip overseas during pregnancy. A table showing which vaccines are safe, which are not recommended, and which may be considered during pregnancy is included. A list of fast facts is also included.

Contact: National Healthy Mothers, Healthy Babies Coalition, 2000 North Beauregard Street, Sixth Floor, Alexandria, VA 22311-1748, Telephone: (703) 837-4792 Fax: (703) 684-5968 E-mail: info@hmhb.org Web Site: http://www.hmhb.org Single copies available at no charge, bulk copies $10 for 50.

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Immunization, Pregnancy

more information

National Network for Immunization Information. [2002]. Communicating with patients about immunization: A resource kit. Galveston, TX: National Network for Immunization Information,

Annotation: This electronic resource kit, which is geared toward health professionals, is available online and is updated periodically. The kit is divided into several main sections: (1) pediatric visit-specific information, (2) childhood vaccine-specific information, (3) adult vaccine-specific information, (4) common questions, (5) background, and (6) additional resources. The sections include information sheets that can be used as talking points or patient handouts, resources, frequently asked questions, and other materials. A bibliography and a feedback form are included. The Web site that presents this kit has additional materials on the topics covered in this resource that are updated often.

Contact: National Network for Immunization Information, 301 University Boulevard, Galveston, TX 77555-0351, Telephone: (409) 772-0199 Fax: (409) 747-4995 E-mail: nnii@i4ph.org Web Site: http://www.immunizationinfo.org Available at no charge from the Web site.

Keywords: Adult health, Child health, Consumer education materials, Immunization, Resource materials, Vaccines

more information

National Partnership for Immunization. 2001. Are you up-to-date?: Vaccinate—August is National Immunization Awareness Month. [Alexandria, VA]: National Partnership for Immunization, 20 items.

Annotation: This folder contains promotional information for National Immunization Awareness Month. Contents include: a newsletter, sample press release, letters of support, sample fact sheets, an evaluation form, promotional brochures, bookmarks, stickers, and an introductory letter. National Immunization Awareness Month is sponsored by the National Partnership for Immunization, a joint program of the National Healthy Mothers, Healthy Babies Coalition and the National Foundation for Infectious Diseases.

Contact: National Partnership for Immunization, 121 North Washington Street, Suite 300, Alexandria, VA 22314, Telephone: (703) 836-6110 Fax: (703) 836-3470 E-mail: npi@hmhb.org

Keywords: Child health promotion, Consumer education materials, Immunization, Immunization programs, Public awareness campaigns, Public awareness materials

more information

National Vaccine Advisory Committee. 1999. Development of community- and state-based immunization registries. Atlanta, GA: National Immunization Program, ca. 100 pp., exec. summ.(7 pp.).

Contact: National Center for Immunization and Respiratory Diseases, 1600 Clifton Road, N.E., Mailstop E05, Atlanta, GA 30333, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: (770) 488-4760 Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/vaccines Available at no charge from the Web site.

Keywords: Community based services, Immunization, Registries, State programs

more information

National Vaccine Injury Compensation Program. 2004. National Vaccine Injury Compensation Program: Fact sheet. Rockville, MD: National Vaccine Injury Compensation Program, 4 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet describes the Vaccine Injury Compensation Program, including background, overview, and how to file a claim. It also provides a table of vaccines, adverse events associated with them, and time periods during which the injury may develop. The fact sheet is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: HRSA Information Center, P.O. Box 2910, Merrifield, VA 22116, Telephone: (888) 275-4772 Secondary Telephone: (877) 489-4772 Fax: (703) 821-2098 E-mail: ask@hrsa.gov Web Site: http://www.ask.hrsa.gov Available at no charge from the Web site. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. BHP00203 (English), BHP00192 (Spanish).

Keywords: Adverse effects, Federal programs, Immunization, Legal processes, Patient rights, Spanish language materials, Vaccination effects

more information

Rapid Public Health Policy Response Center. 2007. HPV vaccine: Should it be recommended or required?. Washington, DC: School of Public Health and Health Services, George Washington University, 8 pp.

Annotation: This paper reviews some of the scientific, legal, ethical, and financial issues surrounding the human papillomavirus (HPV) vaccine and compulsory vaccinations. The paper providees basic information about the HPV vaccine and discusses the problems causes by HPV, how the vaccination can protect against HPV infection, protecting the target audience, whether the vaccine should be mandatory, and the cost of the vaccine. Conclusions are offered, and a list of notes on sources is included.

Contact: George Washington University, Center for Health Services Research and Policy, 2021 K Street, N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20006, Telephone: (202) 296-6922 Fax: (202) 296-0025 E-mail: info@gwhealthpolicy.org Web Site: http://www.gwumc.edu/sphhs/institutescenters/center_for_health_services_research_and_policy.cfm Available at no charge from the Web site.

Keywords: Adolescent females, Adolescent health, Cervical cancer, Costs, Human papillomavirus, Immunization, Prevention, Sexually transmitted diseases, Vaccines, Women's health, Young women

more information

Rotbart HA. 2007. Germ proof your kids: The complete guide to protecting (without overprotecting) your family from infections. Washington, DC: American Society for Microbiology Press, 394 pp.

Annotation: This book, which is geared toward parents, provides information about how to protect children from infection. The book is divided into four main parts. Part I introduces germs and explains how infection is transmitted. Part II describe children's natural immunity to infection, as well as the tools doctors and scientists have amassed to combat germs: antibiotics, antiviral medicines, antifungal medicines, antiparasitics, insecticides, and vaccines. Part III discusses how traditional remedies jibe with modern medicine. Part IV discusses how to be prudent, but not overprotective, in protecting children from infection. The book includes one appendix: names and usages of drugs and vaccines.

Contact: American Society for Microbiology, 1752 N Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 737-3600 Web Site: http://www.asm.org $29.95, plus shipping and handling. Document Number: ISBN 978-1-55581-427-4.

Keywords: Child health, Consumer education materials, Infection control, Infections, Prevention, Vaccination

more information

Smith DR, Miller W, Kuttner H, Roper WL (Eds.). Financing immunization program policies and practices. American Journal of Preventive Medicine: 19(3S):1-116. October 2000,

Contact: Elsevier, Health Sciences Division, 1600 John F. Kennedy Boulevard, Suite 1800, Philadelphia, PA 19103-2899, Telephone: (215) 239-3900 Fax: (215) 239-3990 Web Site: http://www.us.elsevierhealth.com/ $48.00 includes shipping and handling.

Keywords: Access to health care, Health care financing, Health policy, Immunization

more information

Stratton K, Almario DA, Wizemann TM, McCorkick MC (Eds.) and Board on Health Promotion and Disease Prevention, Immunization Safety Review Committee. 2003. Immunization safety review: Vaccinations and sudden unexpected death in infancy. Washington, DC: National Academies Press, 184 pp.

Annotation: This book describes conclusions and recommendations of a committee convened by the Institute of Medicine to provide timely and objective assistance to the Department of Health and Human Services in reviewing emerging immunization concerns, focusing on the relationship (if one exists) between vaccinations and sudden unexpected death in infancy. The book describes the study process including the framework for scientific and significance assessment and recommendations for public health response. Four appendices include committee recommendations and conclusions from previous reports, a meeting agenda, a chronology of important events regarding vaccine safety, and a list of acronyms. References are also provided.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Lockbox 285, Washington, DC 20055, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: bkline@nap.edu Web Site: http://www.nap.edu $27.50, plus shipping and handling of $4.50. Document Number: ISBN 0-309-08886-0.

Keywords: Adverse effects, Immunization, Infant health, Infant mortality, Neonatal death, Research, SIDS, Safety, Vaccination effects

more information

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office on Women's Health. 2007. General screenings and immunizations for women. Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office on Women's Health, 3 pp.

Annotation: This document comprises a chart that provides guidelines on what types of screenings and immunizations women should receive at the following ages: 18-39, 40-49, 50-64, and 65 and older. Guidelines are provided in the following categories: general health, heart health, bone health, diabetes, breast health, reproductive health, mental health, eye and ear health, skin health, oral health, and immunizations. Citations are included.

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272, Telephone: (202) 784-9771 Fax: (202) 784-9777 E-mail: OHRCinfo@georgetown.edu Web Site: http://www.mchoralhealth.org Single photocopies available at no charge.

Keywords: Bone diseases, Breast diseases, Ear diseases, Eye diseases, Guidelines, Heart diseases, Immunizations, Mental health, Oral health, Reproductive health, Screening tests, Skin diseases, Women's health

more information

U.S. Food and Drug Administration. 2010. A parent's guide to kids' vaccines. Rockville, MD: U.S. Food and Drug Administration,

Annotation: This Web site offers information for parents on the benefits and risks of vaccines; the various types of vaccines available; a summary of the vaccines commonly provided for children; and recommended steps for parents to take after their child has been vaccinated. The Web site provides access to a searchable database of consumer updates along with links to immunization schedules, adverse effects, the National Immunization Program conducted by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), and a complete list of vaccines licensed for use in the United States. The Web site can be viewed in English or Spanish.

Contact: U.S. Food and Drug Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857-0001, Telephone: (888) 463-6332 Fax: (301) 443-3100 Web Site: http://www.fda.gov Available at no charge from the Web site.

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Disease prevention, Immunizations, Spanish language materials

more information

Washington State Department of Health. 2008. Plain talk about childhood immunization. (6th ed.). [Olympia, WA]: Washington State Department of Health, 52 pp.

Annotation: This booklet for parents provides information about immunizations and the diseases they prevent,balances the benefits and risks of immunization to help parents make informed decisions, and discusses the safety and effectiveness of vaccines. Topics include information about the decline in vaccine-preventable diseases since childhood vaccination began, facts about vaccine-preventable diseases, how vaccines work, vaccine safety, specific vaccinations, legal requirements, decisions about when to vaccinate, vaccinating adolescents, evaluating information on the Internet, and personal stories.

Contact: Washington State Department of Health, P.O. Box 47890, Olympia, WA 98504-7890, Telephone: (800) 525-0127 Secondary Telephone: (360) 236- 4501 Web Site: http://www.doh.wa.gov Available at no charge; also available at no charge from the Web site.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Child health, Consumer education materials, Immunization, Infant health, Legislation, Safety, Vaccination effects, Vaccines

more information

Return to Previous Page | Go To Cross-Database Search | Advanced MCHLine® Search

Share |