photo collage
Top Navigational image with links Home About Search
Search the Databases
Advanced Search
MCH Library Resources navigational image with links Bright Futures for Women 3rd Edition Guidelines Distance Learning MCH Group AIM Partners MCHB Final Report Healthy Start MCH History MCH Thesaurus Resource Guides MCH Alert Newsletter Oral Health Resource Center Healthy People 2010/2020 MCH Links MCHB Resources Centers Contact Us Frequently Asked Questions Site Map Bright Futures at Georgetown University MCHB-Funded Projects and Final Reports Children's Bureau Multimedia Resources State MCH-Medicaid Coordination About the Library Databases Sudden Infant Death Resources for Families Knowledge Paths Find Services Non-English Languages How to Use the Site
Home Visiting and Resource Mothers

Bibliography of Materials from MCHLine®

BibliographyThis bibliography of 90 items is drawn from MCHLine®, the MCH Library online catalog. It includes selected materials published in the last ten years that discuss home visiting or resource mothers mentoring programs that support pregnant women and parents. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Library. To identify additional materials on this topic, search MCHLine® using our online search form.

The MCH Library focuses on publications from federal and state agencies, from grantees of federal and state agencies, and from professional and voluntary organizations. It contains unique materials on the history of maternal and child health in the United States, policy papers, reports, conference proceedings, manuals, survey instruments, guidelines, and curricula. The library does not collect materials on clinical medicine. Consumer health materials and commercially published materials are collected very selectively.


AHRQ Health Care Innovations Exchange. Innovation profile: Home visits using reflective approach improve functional health literacy among low-income pregnant women and new parents. [Rockville, MD]: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality. [2009]. 10 pp.

Annotation: This report profiles the LIfe Skills Outcomes program, a home-visitation program serving low-income, ethnically diverse pregnant women and new parents. The program uses a reflective approach and easy-to-understand pregnancy and child care guides to improve functional health literacy. The report focuses on the program's client population, program activities, results, how results were accomplished, resources used and skills needed, and information about replicating and sustaining the program's approach.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality. Office of Communications and Knowledge Transfer, 540 Gaither Road, Suite 2000, Rockville, MD 20850. Telephone: (301) 427-1364. AHRQ Clearinghouse: (800) 358-9295. E-mail: http://info.ahrq.gov. Available at no charge from the Web site.


Allegheny County Health Department, Perinatal Periods of Risk (PPOR) Team, and American Academy of Pediatrics, Pennsylvania Chapter. Educating parents and caregivers about infant safe sleep: A guide for home visitors. Pittsburgh, PA: Allegheny County Health Department. [2007]. 57 pp.

Annotation: This toolkit provides home visitors with guidance on how to provide parents and caregivers with information about infant safe sleep in a sensitive and culturally appropriate way. The toolkit includes questions to use in beginning a conversation about safe sleep. The toolkit also presents some of the most common reasons stated for not following infant safe sleep practices and suggestions for how to respond the these reasons. Illustrations are included.

Contact: Allegheny County Health Department. 3333 Forbes Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15213. Telephone: (412) 687-ACHD. Fax: (412) 578-8325. E-mail: http://www.achd.net/contact.php. Available at no charge from the Web site.


Anderson C. Add Healthy Beginnings Nurse Home Visits to Early Head Start Program: [Final report]. Hastings, NE: Healthy Beginnings Parenting Program, Mary Lanning Memorial Hospital. 2005. 17 pp., plus appendices.

Annotation: This final report focuses on the Add Healthy Beginnings Nurse Home Visits to Early Head Start Program, located in south central Nebraska during the period March 3, 2000, to February 28, 2005. The purpose of the project was to provide nurse home visits to the Early Head Start Program to serve poor and at-risk families in three south central Nebraska counties. Report sections include (1) purpose of project and relationship to Socal Security Act (SSA) Title V maternal and child health programs, (2) goals and objectives, (3) methodology, (4) evaluation, (5) results and outcomes, (6) publications and products, (7) dissemination and utilization of results, (8) future plans and follow-up, and (9) type and amount of resources needed to replicate. The report includes an appendix that contains several forms for record keeping. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: .


Association of State and Territorial Health Officials. Bringing home better birth outcomes. Washington, DC: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials. 2006. 6 pp.

Annotation: This brief examines home visiting as a strategy employed by state health agencies to deliver public health interventions aimed at improving birth outcomes. It provides an overview of home visiting programs; a discussion of goals, target populations, common service components, outcomes, and financing of state level programs; and examples of programs from four states and one territory. Additional topics include benefits and costs and program challenges. Resources and references conclude the brief. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials. 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202. Telephone: (202) 371-9090. Fax: (571) 527-3189. Available at no charge from the Web site.


Astuto J, Allen L. Home visitation and young children: An approach worth investing in?. Social Policy Report. 23(4):1-22. 2009. (Additional URL: policy brief).

Annotation: This report focuses on home visitation as an early childhood intervention strategy in the United States. It discusses the history of home visitation, reviews the literature on the effectiveness of nationally recognized home visitation interventions, and discusses the limitations of the existing empirical base as well as the lessons learned. The report concludes with considerations for practice, research, and policy in the field of home visitation. Comparative descriptions of key national home visiting models; a listing of the components of home visiting that influence treatment adherence; and a discussion of barriers to policy implementation are included.

Contact: Society for Research in Child Development. 2950 South State Street, Suite 401, Ann Arbor, MI 48108. Telephone: (734) 926-0600. Fax: (734) 926-0601. E-mail: info@srcd.org. Available at no charge from the Web site.


Berg S. Family Support After an Infant Loss Home Visit Program: Final report. Rochester, NY: Monroe County Department of Health. 2000. 198 pp.

Annotation: This final report focuses on the Family Support After an Infant Loss Home Visit Program, conducted by the Monroe County Healthy Department in Rochester, New York, during the period October 1, 1994, through September 30, 1998. The purpose of the program was to reduce infant mortality by providing support and preventive services following the death of an infant. The program provided bereavement support and follow-up and targeted educational interventions to address preconceptional health and other family issues that impact the health of mothers and children. The report, which includes an abstract, is divided into the following sections: (1) purpose of project, (2) goals and objectives, (3) methodology, (4) evaluation, (5) results and outcomes, (6) publications and products, (7) dissemination and utilization of results, (8) future plans and follow-up, and (9) support and resources needed to replicate. The report includes seven appendices: (1) Monroe County perinatal indicators, (2) a family-support-program manual, (3) a pre-service survey, (4) focus group findings, (5) satisfaction survey responses, (6) a family support brochure, and (7) a child and family health services brochure. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University. Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272. Telephone: (202) 784-9770. Fax: (202) 784-9777. E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu. Available at no charge from the Web site.


Birmingham Healthy Start. Home visitation. Birmingham, AL: Birmingham Healthy Start. n.d.. 8 pp.

Annotation: This document provides community outreach workers and resource moms with guidance in making home visits to clients. The manual contains resource materials that include: a list of objectives for home visits; preparatory planning tips; procedures for conducting prenatal and postpartum monitoring and tracking visits; a form letter welcoming the client to the Healthy Start program and describing the services; and two sample forms, one for tracking prenatal and postpartum visits and one for infant visits. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Rickey G. Green, L.B.S.W., Birmingham Healthy Start. 3013 27th Street, North, Birmingham, AL 35207. Telephone: (205) 324-4133. Fax: (205) 322-5662. Available at no charge.


Cardone I, Gilkerson L, Wechsler N. Teenagers and their babies: A perinatal home visitor's guide. Washington, DC: Zero to Three. 2008. 163 pp.

Annotation: This book provides home visitors with examples on how to help expectant and new adolescent parents build deep and enduring bonds of attachment with their baby. Methods and strategies based on Community-Based Family Administered Neonatal Activities are discussed in a step-by-step review of how to implement a research-validated, structured intervention plan. Examples from six prenatal and one postnatal home visits describe techniques and activities designed to help build the strong mother-child relationships that prevent child abuse and strengthen the self-confidence and competence of young families. The appendices include resources on pregnancy and newborn infants , as well as information on fetal movement and newborn behavior, hearing, behavioral states, touch, smell and taste, vision, and a postnatal home visiting guide.

Contact: Zero To Three: National Center for Infants, Toddlers, and Families. 2000 M Street, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20036-3307. Telephone: (202) 638-1144. publications: (800) 899-4301. E-mail: 0to3@presswarehouse.com. $29.95, plus shipping and handling. Document number: ISBN 978-1-934019-16-0.


Carrilio TE. Home-visiting strategies: A case-management guide for caregivers. Columbia, SC: University of South Carolina Press. 2007. 153 pp.

Annotation: This book offers information on the development, operation, and evaluation of family support programs and discusses the steps of the case-management process carried out by the home visitor. Chapters one and two address issues of theory, research, and organizational context. Chapters three through nine provide a hands-on guide for home visitors in case management involving home-visiting services and issues surrounding work in teams. Chapter ten introduces ways in which home-visiting and office-based activities can be integrated and setting up documentation systems and managing quality and data collection. References and an index are provided.

Contact: University of South Carolina Press. 718 Devine Street, Columbia, SC Telephone: (800) 768-2500. Fax: (800) 868-0740. $21.95, plus shipping and handling.


Cawthorne A, Arons J. There's no place like home: Home visiting programs can support pregnant women and new parents. [Washington, DC]: Center for American Progress. 2010. 13 pp.

Annotation: This brief focuses on home visiting for parents of infants and young children. It reviews existing programs to illustrate successful elements and to point out areas that need improvement. The brief also examines the effects of poverty on mothers and young children, discusses why home visiting programs are a good investment, and looks at how policymakers and stakeholders can craft effective programs for vulnerable families.

Contact: Center for American Progress. 1333 H Street, N.W., 10th Floor, Washington, DC 20005. Telephone: (202) 682-1611. Fax: (202) 682-1867. E-mail: progress@AmericanProgress.org. Available at no charge from the Web site.


Center for Law and Social Policy. Detailed summary of home visitation program in the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act. Washington, DC: Center for Law and Social Policy. 2010. 10 pp.

Annotation: This report provides a summary of the home visitation program that is part of the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, which President Barak Obama signed on March 23, 2010. The act includes $1.5 billion in mandatory funding for high-quality, evidence-based, voluntary early childhood home visitation services. The report describes the purpose of the act, statutory authority, federal and state administration, needs assessment, requirements for grant application, eligible entities and families, technical assistance, prioritized service population, benchmarks, outcomes, requirements, criteria for evidence of effectiveness, priority funding, evaluation, research, reports to Congress, payment of grants, grants to tribes and to nonprofits, maintenance of effort, appropriations, reservation and availability of funds, and applications of other provisions of Title V.

Contact: Center for Law and Social Policy. 1200 18th Street, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20036. Telephone: (202) 906-8000. Fax: (202) 842-2885. E-mail: info@clasp.org. Available at no charge from the Web site.


CityMatCH and National Association of County and City Health Officials. Local health department home visitation programs: Improving health outcomes for children and families. Omaha, NE: CityMatCH; Washington, DC: National Association of County and City Health Officials. 2009.

Annotation: This webcast, held on June 18, 2009, focuses on local health department home visiting programs, and in particular the nurse family partnership program. The webcast provides information on (1) general components of the partnership, (2) lesson learned from local health department program development and implementation, (3) strategies for continued evaluation and quality improvement, and (4) identifying potential sources of funding for implementing the program. The presenter was Peggy Hill, director of program development for the Nurse-Family Partnership National Service Office. A recording of the conference and PowerPoint slides are available. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: CityMatCH. University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170. Telephone: (402) 561-7500. Fax: (402) 561-7525. E-mail: citymch@unmc.edu. Available at no charge from the Web site.


Coalition for Evidence-Based Policy. Early childhood home visitation program models: An objective summary of the evidence about which are effective. Washington, DC: Coalition for Evidence-Based Policy. 2009. 8 pp.

Annotation: This paper summarizes the findings from rigorous evaluations of six U.S. home visitation program models: Hawaii Healthy Start, Healthy Families New York, Home Instruction Program for Preschool Youngsters (HIPPY), Nurse Family partnership, Parents as Teachers, and Parent-Child Home Program. The paper includes brief descriptions of each of the home visitation programs and a summary of program evaluation studies and findings based on randomized trials.

Contact: Coalition for Evidence-Based Policy. 1725 I Street, NW, Suite 300, Washington, DC 20006. Telephone: (202) 683-8049. Fax: (202) 349-1137. Available at no charge from the Web site.


Coalition for Evidence-Based Policy. Early childhood home visitation: Effectiveness of a national initiative depends critically on adherence to rigorous evidence about "what works'. Washington, DC: Coalition for Evidence-Based Policy. 2009. 15 pp.

Annotation: This paper updates the Coalition for Evidence-based Policy's earlier evaluation summaries of widely-implemented U.S. home visitation program models. The updated paper provides brief program descriptions and summaries of evaluative studies for each of the following programs: Hawaii Healthy Start, Healthy Families New York, Healthy Families Alaska, Healthy Families San Diego, Home Instruction Program for Preschool Youngsters (HIPPY), Nurse Family Partnership, Parents as Teachers, and Parent-Child Home Program. Also included are the following three Illustrative examples of promising program models in early-childhood home visitation and related areas: (1) Early Start (a New Zealand-based home visitation program); (2) Recovery Coaches for Substance-abusing Parentings; and (3) Triple P (Positive Parenting Program). Suggestions are provided for policy makers who are considering launching a national initiative to fund home visiting programs based on rigorous evidence of what works.

Contact: Coalition for Evidence-Based Policy. 1725 I Street, NW, Suite 300, Washington, DC 20006. Telephone: (202) 683-8049. Fax: (202) 349-1137. Available at no charge from the Web site.


Daro D. Embedding home visitation programs within a system of early childhood services. Chicago, IL: Chapin Hall Center for Children. 2009. 5 pp.

Annotation: This issue brief focuses on developing a knowledge base to guide the process of implementing a policy and research agenda to determine the best way to make use of home visitation to enhance the impact of early childhood intervention. The brief discusses key components of a system of early intervention services, opportunities and challenges to states and localities, and the importance of investing in home visitation.

Contact: Chapin Hall Center for Children. University of Chicago, 1313 East 60th Street, Chicago, IL 60637. Telephone: (773) 753-5900. Fax: (773) 753-5940. Available at no charge from the Web site.


Daro D. Home visitation: Assessing progress, managing expections. Chicago, IL: Chapin Hall Center for Children. 2006. 17 pp.

Annotation: This report provides information about assessing the effectiveness of home visiting programs and managing expectation for what such programs can accomplish. The report provides background information about home visiting programs that are designed for new parents, and it discussees evaluating research and program outcomes, ensuring improved outcomes, and moving forward to increase the effectiveness of home visiting programs and also to promote realistic expectations of what such programs can do. References are included.

Contact: Chapin Hall Center for Children. University of Chicago, 1313 East 60th Street, Chicago, IL 60637. Telephone: (773) 753-5900. Fax: (773) 753-5940. Available at no charge from the Web site.


David and Lucile Packard Foundation. Home visiting: Recent program evaluations. Los Altos, CA: David and Lucile Packard Foundation. 1999. 223 pp., exec. summ. (7 pp.).

Annotation: This issue of "The Future of Children" provides a summary of the results of evaluations of six home visiting programs. The programs are: Nurse Home Visitation Program, New York; Hawaii's Healthy Start; Parents as Teachers, Missouri; Home Instruction Program for Preschool Youngsters; Comprehensive Child Development Program; and Healthy Families America. The analysis provides a discussion of home visiting programs in general and these specific programs; summarizes results of the studies by parents' attitudes, knowledge, and behavior, children's health and development, child abuse and neglect, and mothers' life course; and finally explores the meaning of these findings and provides recommendations.

Contact: Circulation Department, David and Lucile Packard Foundation. 300 Second Street, Los Altos, CA 94022. Telephone: (650) 948-7658. E-mail: inquiries@packard.org. Document number: ISSN 1054-8289.


Del Grosso P, Daro D. Cross-site evaluation of the supporting evidence-based home visiting grantees: Summary of the planning year. [Princeton, NJ]: Mathematica Policy Research. 2009. 49 pp.

Annotation: This report describes planning for a cross-site evaluation of programs of 17 evidence-based home visiting (EBHV) grantees of the U.S. Children's Bureau. It describes the EBHV grantees, the home visiting models they are implementing, and their implementation plans. It then highlights key evaluation activities conducted during the planning year. Finally, it describes lessons learned and parameters for moving forward.

Contact: Mathematica Policy Research. P.O. Box 2393, Princeton, NJ 08543-2393. Telephone: (609) 799-3535. Fax: (609) 799-0005. E-mail: info@mathematica-mpr.com. Available at no charge from the Web site.


Des Moines Healthy Start Project. Best practice manual. Des Moines, ID: Des Moines Healthy Start Project. [2004]. 116 pp.

Annotation: This manual contains policies and procedures important to Healthy Start and Empowerment programs case managers in providing visiting nurse services to pregnant women and families with children to age five. The manual was developed for use in the Des Moines Healthy Start visiting nurse services program. The first section of the manual includes statements on participant rights, resources for case management agencies and a task force directory, program descriptions, a key to terms used, and qualifications and expectations for case managers. Part two details the case management model including key program features, guidelines, components, home visiting, facilitating services, and risk assessment criteria. The third part of the manual provides resource sheets for case managers to refer to when dealing with a variety of situations. Some of these topics include child abuse and neglect, domestic violence, emergency and basic needs, family planning, immunizations, infant home safety, lead poisoning, perinatal depression, preterm labor, subsequent pregnancies, sudden infant death syndrome, and others. The resource sheets provide information and additional print and organizational resources on each topic. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University. Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272. Telephone: (202) 784-9770. Fax: (202) 784-9777. E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu. Available for loan.


DiLauro E. Reaching families where they live: Supporting parents and child development through home visiting. Washington, DC: Zero to Three/National Center for Infants, Toddlers, and Families. 2009. 6 pp.

Annotation: This brief provides recommendations for policymakers to ensure that all families have access to high quality home visiting services as part of a comprehensive and coordinated support system that nurtures their child's healthy development. Contents include descriptions of national home visiting models serving infants, toddlers, and their families and research on the impacts each program has had on children and families.

Contact: Zero To Three: National Center for Infants, Toddlers, and Families. 2000 M Street, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20036-3307. Telephone: (202) 638-1144. publications: (800) 899-4301. E-mail: 0to3@presswarehouse.com. Available at no charge from the Web site.


District of Columbia Department of Health. Addressing infant mortality in DC: Citywide action plan. Washington, DC: District of Columbia Department of Health. 2007. 4 pp.

Annotation: This action plan describes steps by the District of Columbia to address maternal and child health needs and to reduce infant mortality in 2008. Topics include increasing capacity and impact of the home visitation program for pregnancy women, enhancing collaboration between the District of Columbia's health administration initiatives and other sectors of government serving at-risk women and families, and increasing coordination between government and the community to ensure a comprehensive city-wide approach to reducing infant mortality. Charts outline service of initiative strategies, participating agencies, and timeline goals.

Contact: District of Columbia Department of Health. 825 North Capitol Street, N.E., Washington, DC 20002. Telephone: (202) 671-5000. Fax: (202) 442-4795. E-mail: doh@dc.gov. Available at no charge from the Web site.


District of Columbia Healthy Start Project. Resource parents' home visiting guide. Washington, DC: District of Columbia Healthy Start Project. n.d.. 22 pp.

Annotation: This reference document is supplementary to the formal class training a resource mother receives in preparation for the job. It is intended as an organizer and a reminder of information to be covered for each monthly home visit. Each monthly section contains the following: a list of goals for the visit; materials needed; a sample dialogue; step-by-step guide; and follow-up steps. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Librarian, National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health. Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272. Telephone: (202) 784-9770. Fax: (202) 784-9777. E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu. Photocopy available at no charge.


Early Head Start National Resource Center. A parent's guide to the Head Start home-based program option. Washington, DC: U.S. Head Start Bureau. 2004. 24 pp.

Annotation: This guide introduces parents to Head Start's home-based program. The guide is divided into three parts. Part 1 describes what a home-based program is and what to expect. Part 2 explores how parents and Head Start home visitors can work together to best support a child's development. Part 3 offers ideas for how parents can help their child learn day by day, using objects and materials available at home.

Contact: Early Childhood Learning and Knowledge Center. U.S. Administration for Children & Families, Office of Head Start, Telephone: (866) 763-6481. E-mail: askus@headstartinfo.org. Available at no charge; also available at no charge from the Web site.


Early Head Start National Resource Center. Home visitor's handbook for the Head Start home-based program option. Washington, DC: U.S. Head Start Bureau. 2004. 55 pp.

Annotation: This handbook provides tools to help Head Start home visitors perform their jobs effectively. It (1) provides the context for home visiting to help home visitors understand why home visiting is a successful strategy for delivering services and how to determine whether home visiting is the right option for families, (2) answers frequently asked questions, (3) discusses the relationship-building process with families as well as what is actually done during home visits, and (4) addresses how home visitors can get the support needed to perform their jobs well.

Contact: Early Childhood Learning and Knowledge Center. U.S. Administration for Children & Families, Office of Head Start, Telephone: (866) 763-6481. E-mail: askus@headstartinfo.org. Available at no charge; also available at no charge from the Web site.


Early Head Start National Resource Center. Program administrator's checklist for the Head Start home-based program option. Washington, DC: U.S. Head Start Bureau. 2004. 6 pp.

Annotation: This tool was developed to help program administrators evaluate whether the Head Start home-based program option is right for their community. It described the community assessment and how it provides information to help administrators determine the best program option, explains what the home-based program entails, provides some questions to answer for administrators considering implementing a home-based program, and describes what makes a home-based program effective.

Contact: Early Childhood Learning and Knowledge Center. U.S. Administration for Children & Families, Office of Head Start, Telephone: (866) 763-6481. E-mail: askus@headstartinfo.org. Available at no charge; also available at no charge from the Web site.


Early Head Start National Resource Center. Supervisor's manual for the Head Start home-based program option. Washington, DC: U.S. Head Start Bureau. 2004. 58 pp.

Annotation: This manual provides information, materials, and strategies to support supervisors of Head Start home-based programs in their work with home visitors. It includes an overview of the program, information on supervising home visitors, a discussion of supporting child and family development services, and a discussion of program management and continuous improvement. Eight appendices include a home-based supervisor self-assessment, a sample home visitor job description, a sample home visitor applicant interview, and more.

Contact: Early Childhood Learning and Knowledge Center. U.S. Administration for Children & Families, Office of Head Start, Telephone: (866) 763-6481. E-mail: askus@headstartinfo.org. Available at no charge; also available at no charge from the Web site.


[Early Head Start National Resource Center]. Home visiting play materials and EHS/infants and toddlers. [Washington, DC: Early Head Start National Resource Center]. 2009. 3 pp.

Annotation: This tip sheet, which is intended to provide a basis for dialogue, clarification, and problem solving among Head Start personnel, technical assistance consultants, and grantees, offers information on what types of play materials can be used from the home to create a purposeful learning experience for infants and young children during a home visit. The tip sheet discusses considerations for materials that support discovery and learning and supporting development through commercial materials, lists questions to consider for planning and programming, and provides relevant Head Start performance standards.

Contact: Early Head Start National Resource Center. ZERO to THREE, 2000 M Street, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20036. Telephone: (202) 638-1144. Fax: (202) 638-0851. E-mail: ehsnrcinfo@zerotothree.org. Available at no charge from the Web site.


[Early Head Start National Resource Center]. Home visits and families with multiple EHS children. [Washington, DC: Early Head Start National Resource Center]. 2009. 2 pp.

Annotation: This tip sheet, which is intended to provide a basis for dialogue, clarification, and problem solving among Head Start personnel, technical assistance consultants, and grantees, offers information on whether home visits are required for each child for families with more than one child enrolled in the Early Head Start home-based program. The tip sheet provides questions to consider for planning and programming, and relevant Head Start performance standards.

Contact: Early Head Start National Resource Center. ZERO to THREE, 2000 M Street, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20036. Telephone: (202) 638-1144. Fax: (202) 638-0851. E-mail: ehsnrcinfo@zerotothree.org. Available at no charge from the Web site.


Elliston MS. Building a system of home visiting in New Mexico: The next three years 2009 - 2012. Santa Fe, NM: New Mexico Children, Youth and Families Department. 2008. 39 pp.

Annotation: This report contains the recommendations for the home visiting system recommended by a workgroup that met in 2007-2008 to conduct a systematic review of scientific evidence concerning the effectiveness of early childhood home visitation, review the models present in New Mexico and in other states, establish standards and outcomes for effective home visitation in New Mexico, and develop the roadmap for a statewide system that offers easy access to comprehensive home visiting services to all families starting before birth and continuing up to age 3 based on families' preferences, strengths, needs, and risk factors. Recommendations cover expected outcomes, identification of families served, home visiting as part of the maternal and child health system, investment in and financing of programs, minimum standards, and evaluation.

Contact: New Mexico Early Childhood Action Network. NM


Family Violence Prevention Fund. Realizing the promise of home visitation: Addressing domestic violence and child maltreatment—A guide for policymakers. San Francisco, CA: Family Violence Prevention Fund. 2010. 27 pp.

Annotation: This issue brief is intended to help policymakers and advocates build a strong national policy framework to maximize the effectiveness and reach of early childhood home-visiting programs. More specifically, it is meant to ensure that federal home-visiting policies directly address the needs of mothers and children who are experiencing or at risk of experiencing domestic violence, the link between domestic violence and child abuse and neglect, and the impact of domestic violence on the health and well-being of children and families. The brief also provides an overview of home visiting and presents promising home-visiting programs.

Contact: Family Violence Prevention Fund. 383 Rhode Island Street, Suite 304, San Francisco, CA 94103-5133. Telephone: (415) 252-8900. TTY: (800) 595-4889. Fax: (415) 252-8991. E-mail: info@endabuse.org. Available at no charge from the Web site.


Florida State University Center for Prevention and Early Intervention Policy. Home visiting as an intervention in infant mental health. Tallahassee, FL: Florida State University Center for Prevention and Early Intervention Policy. 2006. 2 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information on home visiting and how effective it is at improving infant mental health. The fact sheet provides background about home visiting and discusses research on the effects of home visiting on parenting behavior and attitudes, maternal education, child abuse, child cognitive outcomes.

Contact: Florida State University Center for Prevention and Early Intervention Policy. 1339 East Lafayette Street, Tallahassee, FL 32301. Telephone: (850) 922-1300. Fax: (850) 922-1352. E-mail: cpeip@fsu.edu. Available at no charge from the Web site.


Galbraith L. Proactive funding strategies for home visitation: A resource for counties. Washington, DC: National Association of Counties. [2003]. 19 pp.

Annotation: This primer aims to provide home visitation advocates with strategies to attain long-term funding for programs. The primer addresses the following issues: (1) How do I make a financial argument for home visitation? (2) What else should I know about making an investment in home visitation? (3) What are my home visit options? (4) What are the costs associated with home visitation? (5) What are the sources of funding utilized by home visitation programs? (6) state funding, and (7) county funding. Three appendices include information on how to contact home visitation programs, resources for locating federal funding, and funding sources. The report concludes with a list of endnotes.

Contact: National Association of Counties. 25 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Washington, DC 20001. Telephone: (202) 393-6226. Available at no charge from the Web site.


Gavin N, Lissy K. Cost-effectiveness of case management and home visiting: A review of the literature. Washington, DC: Maternal and Child Health Information Resource Center. 2000. 42 pp.

Annotation: This literature review focuses on the cost-effectiveness of case management and home visiting for promoting well child care services to high-risk pregnant women and infants. The review provides background, offers a review of evaluation of case management and home visiting interventions for pregnant women and infants, and includes a discussion. References are provided separately for the background section and the literature review section. One appendix, which is in tabular form, lists the studies reviewed. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Information Resource Center. Health Systems Research, 1200 18th Street, N.W., Suite 700, Washington, DC 20036. Telephone: (202) 842-2000. Fax: (202) 728-9469. E-mail: mchirc@hsrnet.com. Available at no charge from the Web site.


Gomby D. Home visitation in 2005: Outcomes for children and parents. Washington, DC: Invest in Kids Working Group, Committee for Economic Development. 2005. 88 pp.

Annotation: This paper explores the extent to which research indicates that home visitation produces benefits for parents and children. The paper focuses on primary prevention programs that send individuals into the home of families with pregnant women, newborns, or children under age 5 on an ongoing basis and that seek to improve the lives of children by encouraging changes in the attitudes, knowledge, and/or behaviors of the parents. Topics include commonalities and differences across programs, benefits by outcome, long-term outcomes, delivering home visiting in combination with other services, costs and cost-benefit analyses, and the importance of quality services.

Contact: Partnership for America's Economic Success. 1025 F Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20004. Telephone: (202) 552-2000. E-mail: info@partnershipforsuccess.org.


Gomby DS. Building school readiness through home visitation. Sacramento, CA: California Children and Families Commission, First 5 California. 2003. ca. 200 pp.

Annotation: This report explores the extent to which research indicates that home visitation can be used as a school readiness strategy. The paper describes the relationship between home visiting and the school readiness goals of the First 5 California Children and Families Commission and includes suggestions for program planners. The report includes the following sections: (1) executive summary, (2) introduction and main points, (3) background, (4) do home visitation programs build school readiness? (5) delivering home visits in combination with other services, (6) the drive for quality, (7) suggestions for program planners, and (8) conclusions. Some information is presented in tables and boxes. The report includes endnotes.

Contact: California Children and Families Commission. 2389 Gateway Oaks Drive, Suite 260, Sacramento, CA 95833. Telephone: (916) 263-1050. (800) KIDS-025. Fax: (916) 263-1360. E-mail: info@ccfc.ca.gov. Available at no charge from the Web site.


Goodman A. The story of David Olds and the Nurse Home Visiting Program. Princeton, NJ: Robert Wood Johnson Foundation. 2006. 20 pp.

Annotation: This report focuses on David Olds, who began developing a nurse home-visitation model in 1977 designed to help low-income, first-time mothers take better care of themselves and their infants. His model eventually grew into the Nurse-Family Partnership, a nonprofit organization serving more than 20,000 mothers in 20 states.The report provides background about Olds and how his model originated and discusses putting the model to the test, rolling out the program, and growing the program.

Contact: Robert Wood Johnson Foundation. Route One and College Road, East, P.O. Box 2316, Princeton, NJ 08543. Telephone: (888) 631-9989. (877) 843-7953. Available at no charge from the Web site.


Graham M, Sparling J, Chiricos C, White B, Powell A, Stabile I. Partners for a healthy baby: Handouts for new families—Baby's months 7-12. Tallahassee, FL: Florida State University Center for Prevention and Early Intervention Policy. 2000. 188 pp.

Annotation: This packet, part of a home visiting curriculum, provides handouts with information for new parents. It includes information on caring for babies 7 - 12 months of age, on infant development, and on topics for parents such as time and money management. It is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University. Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272. Telephone: (202) 784-9770. Fax: (202) 784-9777. E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu. Available for loan. Document number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCH00098 (English), MCH00099 (Spanish).


Growing Great Kids. Growing Great Kids for preschoolers: Curriculum and training seminars. Altadena, CA: Growing Great Kids. [2009].

Annotation: This Web site describes an interactive curriculum geared toward optimizing developmental outcomes for preschool children (ages 3-5). The curriculum provides parents, home visitors, and preschool teachers with the knowledge and skills needed to support children in forming strong self-esteem, critical and creative thinking capabilities, cooperative peer relationships, age-appropriate impulse control, habits foundational to healthy lifestyles, and social and academic building blocks for school success. The curriculum can be used with groups of children in center- or home-based programs, with parents and children during home visits, in parent-education groups, and for training preschool teachers and child care providers. The curriculum includes a manual with 24 parent- and teacher-education modules, a manual with child development activities for 3-year-olds, and a manual with child-development activities for 4- and 5-year-olds. Curriculum training is also provided.

Contact: Great Kids Inc.. 752 Millard Canyon Road, Altadena, CA 91001. Telephone: 800-906-5581. 626-345-0684. E-mail: betsyd@greatkidsinc.org. Contact for cost information.


Growing Great Kids. Growing Great Kids: Prenantal to 36 months—An interactive parenting and child development curriculum and a staff development program. Altadena, CA: Growing Great Kids. [2009].

Annotation: This Web site offers an interactive, family-support, parenting, and child-development curriculum. The curriculum is intended for home-visiting programs for parents of young children, community organizations and businesses offering parenting classes, faith-based organizations, health organizations, and child care providers. The curriculum supports the development of nurturing and empathetic parent-child relationships for infants and children from birth through age 3. It focuses on child development and health, provision of care, parenting concerns, and dynamics of parent-child and family relationships. Modules address basic care, social and emotional development, cues and communication, physical and brain development, and play and stimulation. The curriculum includes handouts for parents (available in English and Spanish), unit certificates of completion for parents, and documentation records specific to each module. Curriculum training is also provided.

Contact: Great Kids Inc.. 752 Millard Canyon Road, Altadena, CA 91001. Telephone: 800-906-5581. 626-345-0684. E-mail: betsyd@greatkidsinc.org. Contact for cost information.


Guernsey L. What's next in expansion of home visitation. Washington, DC: New America Foundation. 2010.

Annotation: This Webcast features a conversation with a policy consultant from Zero to Three, a nonprofit organization dedicated to children's earliest years. The Webcast focused on the latest research on the impact of home visiting programs and how they will be scaled up under the new health reform bill, which includes $1.5 billion to be dispersed over the next 5 years to fund such programs.

Contact: New America Foundation. 1899 L Street, N.W., Suite 400, Washington, DC 20036. Telephone: (202) 986-2700. Fax: (202) 986-3696. Available at no charge from the Web site.


Haksins R, Paxson C, Brooks-Gunn J. Social science rising: A tale of evidence shaping public policy. Princeton, NJ: The Future of Children, Princeton University. 2009. 7 pp.

Annotation: This policy brief discusses how rigorous social science evaluations of home-visiting programs can help policy makers make informed funding decisions based on evidence-based models. The brief discusses the evolution of the home-visitation legislation drafted under the Obama administration; lobbying efforts to expand the legislation to include funding for programs other than the Nurse-Family Partnership programs and other nurse home visiting models; and the potential challenges in selecting a single form of evaluation such as randomized clinical trials (RCTs) to determine which home visiting programs should receive federal funding. The brief discusses various types of home-visiting programs that serve children and families; how evidence of program effectiveness can be applied to public policy; and how lobbying efforts can present the possibilities for constructive compromise. It concludes by highlighting key issues related to the populations who will be served as a result of home-visiting program expansion.

Contact: The Future of Children. Woodrow Wilson School of Public and International Affairs, Princeton University, Robertson Hall, Princeton, NJ 08544-1013. Telephone: (609) 258-2493. E-mail: http://www.futureofchildren.org/feedback2822/feedback.htm. Available at no charge from the Web site.


Hargreaves M, Paulsell D. Evaluating systems change efforts to support evidence-based home visiting: Concepts and methods. [Princeton, NJ]: Mathematica Policy Research. 2009. 18 pp.

Annotation: This report summarizes evaluation concepts and methods planned by recipients of 17 U.S. Children's Bureau-sponsored cooperative agreements to support the infrastructure needed for the high-quality implementation of existing evidence-based home visiting (EBHV) programs to prevent child maltreatment. It discusses the system-based evaluation approach and theory of change, EBHV infrastructure concepts, and system-based evaluation methods.

Contact: Mathematica Policy Research. P.O. Box 2393, Princeton, NJ 08543-2393. Telephone: (609) 799-3535. Fax: (609) 799-0005. E-mail: info@mathematica-mpr.com. Available at no charge from the Web site.


Hegland S, Hughes K. Ten evidence-based practices for home visiting programs. [Ames, IA]: Department of Human Development and Family Studies, Iowa State University. [2005]. 4 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet lists ten strategies: program match, home visitor qualifications, preservice and inservice training, supervision, home visitor retention, family recruitment, cultural sensitivity, family engagement, parenting focus, and program intensity and duration, and specific recommendations that follow these strategies along with research that supports each strategy.

Contact: Early Childhood Iowa. IA Telephone: (515) 281-4926. E-mail: jhodges@idph.state.ia.us. Available at no charge from the Web site.


Hoffman E, Perrin TC. Extending home visiting to kinship caregivers and family, friend, and neighbor caregivers. Washington, DC: Center for Law and Social Policy. 2009. 27 pp.

Annotation: This report explores how home visiting can be responsive to children who spend significant time either in the care of kinship caregivers (i.e. grandparents and other relatives) when their parents are unable to provide care, or when family, friends, or neighbor (FFN) caregivers provide care for children so that their parents can work, go to school, or pursue other educational or training opportunities. The report (1) presents findings from interviews conducted by the Center for Law and Social Policy (CLASP) with representatives from national home visiting models, as well as stake holders and experts in the field at the state and local level; (2) explores considerations and opportunities for using home visiting to serve children in kinship care or with FFN caregivers; and (3) highlights promising models for serving these populations. The report also offers recommendations for state and federal policymakers.

Contact: Center for Law and Social Policy. 1200 18th Street, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20036. Telephone: (202) 906-8000. Fax: (202) 842-2885. E-mail: info@clasp.org. Available at no charge from the Web site.


Illback RJ, Sanders D, Pennington M, Sanders D, Kilmer A. Health Access Nurturing Development Services (HANDS): Kentucky's home visiting program for first time parents—Program evaluation findings. Louisville, KY: REACH of Louisville. 2008. 34 pp.

Annotation: This report is a compilation of the evaluation research conducted for The Healthy Access Nurturing Development Services program, Kentucky's home-visiting program for first-time parents. Findings from multiple studies, occurring since the program's inception in 1999, are summarized. The report includes a program description and discussions of recipient demographics and service delivery, program outcomes, and comparisons based on home visitor pre-service education.

Contact: Great Kids Inc.. 752 Millard Canyon Road, Altadena, CA 91001. Telephone: 800-906-5581. 626-345-0684. E-mail: betsyd@greatkidsinc.org. Available at no charge from the Web site.


Isaacs J. Nurse home visiting. Washington, DC: Brookings Institution, Center on Children and Families and First Focus. 2008. 6 pp.

Annotation: This research brief, which is one in a series on early childhood programs, focuses on nurse home visiting to low-income, first-time mothers between pregnancy and the child's second birthday. The brief discusses what nurse home visiting is, what is its impact on children and mothers, how impacts vary, how strong is the evidence base for nurse home visiting, whether nurse home visiting is generally viewed as effective, and what federal legislative action lies ahead for nurse home visiting.

Contact: Brookings Institution, Center on Children and Families. 1775 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Washington, DC 20036. Telephone: (202) 797-6058. Fax: (202) 797-2968. E-mail: ccf@brookings.edu. Available at no charge from the Web site.


Isaacs JB. Cost-effective investments in children. Washington, DC: Brookings Institution. 2007. 40 pp.

Annotation: This paper reviews cost-benefit evidence to identify four areas of investment that merit expanded federal funding. The four areas are (1) high-quality early childhood education programs for 3- and 4-year-olds, (2) nurse home-visiting programs to promote prenatal care and infant and early childhood development, (3) school reform with an emphasis on programs in high-poverty elementary schools that improve the acquisition of basic skills for all students, and (4) programs that reduce the incidence of adolescent pregnancy. The paper includes a summary as well as a detailed discussion of each of these areas. Endnotes are included. Statistical information is presented in tables throughout the paper. The paper includes one appendix: a detailed descripiton of reforms to improve teacher quality.

Contact: Brookings Institution. 1775 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Washington, DC 20036. Telephone: (202) 797-6000. Fax: (202) 797-6004. E-mail: communications@brookings.edu. Available at no charge from the Web site.


Isaacs JB. Impacts of early childhood programs. Washington, DC: Brookings Institution, Center on Children and Families and First Focus. 2007. 29 pp.

Annotation: This set of research briefs provides policymakers with a summary of evidence on several early childhood interventions and their impact on children and families. The briefs discuss (1) state pre-kindergarten programs, (2) Head Start, (3) Early Head Start, (4) model early childhood programs (Abededarian project, High Scope/Perry Preschool, and Chicago Child-Parent Centers), and (5) nurse home visiting. For each, the brief explains what the intervention is, what is its impact, and how impacts vary.

Contact: Brookings Institution. 1775 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Washington, DC 20036. Telephone: (202) 797-6000. Fax: (202) 797-6004. E-mail: communications@brookings.edu. Available at no charge from the Web site.


Johnson K. No place like home: State home visiting policies and programs. New York, NY: Commonwealth Fund. 2001. 76 pp.

Annotation: This report summarizes the results of a survey of state home visiting programs targeting low-income families with young children. It includes a description of the study purpose and methods, the survey findings, conclusions, and recommendations. Appendices include brief summaries of each state program in the study, more detailed case studies of selected programs, contact information for state programs, and references.

Contact: Commonwealth Fund. One East 75th Street, New York, NY 10021. Telephone: (212) 606-3800. Fax: (212) 606-3500. E-mail: info@cmwf.org. Available at no charge; also available at no charge from the Web site.


Johnson K. State-based home visiting: Strengthening programs through state leadership. New York, NY: National Center for Children in Poverty. 2009. 27 pp.

Annotation: This report examines whether states are investing in home visiting in ways that promote better outcomes for young children and whether they meet the needs of children facing the greatest social and developmental risks. The report describes the results of a National Center for Children in Poverty survey and a roundtable discussion, each designed to increase knowledge about state-based home visiting programs.

Contact: National Center for Children in Poverty. 215 West 125th Street, Third Floor, New York, NY 10027. Telephone: (646) 284-9600. Fax: (646) 284-9623. E-mail: info@nccp.org. Available at no charge from the Web site.


Kahn J, Moore KA. What works for home visiting programs: Lessons from experimental evaluations of programs and interventions. Washington, DC: Child Trends. 2010. 33 pp.

Annotation: This literature review synthesizes findings from 66 studies that implemented random assignment intent-to-treat experimental evaluations of programs that include home visiting as a program component. It identifies programs that work as well as the intervention strategies that contribute to program success. Short descriptions of evaluated programs are provided and whether they were found to work, were not proven to work, or had mixed findings.

Contact: Child Trends. 4301 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Suite 350, Washington, DC 20008. Telephone: (202) 572-6000. Fax: (202) 362-8420. Available at no charge from the Web site.


Knoke D. Early childhood home visiting programs. Toronto, ON, Canada: Centres of Excellence for Children's Well-Being. 2009. 5 pp.

Annotation: This information sheet describes the goals of early childhood home visiting programs and examines their effects on parents, parenting, child development and child maltreatment. It explains why healthy development is important, what services home visitors provide, who receives early childhood home visiting services, whether these services improve parental and child outcomes, and factors that influence the effectiveness of the programs.

Contact: Centre of Excellence for Child Welfare. University of Toronto Faculty of Social Work, 246 Bloor Street West, Toronto, Ontario, Cananda M5S 1A1. Available at no charge from the Web site.


Koball H, Zaveri H, Boller K, Daro D, Knab J, Paulsell D, Hargreaves M, Strong DA, Malone L, Del Grosso P, Xue Y. Cross-site evaluation of the supporting evidence-based home visiting grantee cluster: Evaluation design-Volume 1. [Princeton, NJ]: Mathematica Policy Research. 2009. ca 160 pp.

Annotation: This report describes the cross-site evaluation design to identify successful strategies for adopting, implementing, and sustaining high-quality home visiting programs to prevent child maltreatment. It focuses on domains central to the implementation and monitoring of home visiting programs: systems change, fidelity to the evidence-based model, costs of home visiting programs, and family and child outcomes. It analyzes the process that each grantee uses to implement the grant; uses data from local evaluations and crosssite research to assess participant, program, and systems outcomes; and describes the infrastructure supports for and the implementation fidelity of the home visiting programs as well as detailed information about data collection and analysis plans. The programs discussed were funded by the Children's Bureau, U.S. Administration for Children and Families.

Contact: Mathematica Policy Research. P.O. Box 2393, Princeton, NJ 08543-2393. Telephone: (609) 799-3535. Fax: (609) 799-0005. E-mail: info@mathematica-mpr.com. Available at no charge from the Web site.


Koball H, Zaveri H, Boller K, Daro D, Knab J, Paulsell D, Hargreaves M, Strong DA, Malone L, Del Grosso P, Xue Y. Supporting evidence-based home visiting to prevent child maltreatment: Overview of the cross-site evaluation. [Princeton, NJ]: Mathematica Policy Research. 2009. 14 pp.

Annotation: This report summarizes a cross-site evaluation design of 17 evidence-based home visiting (EBHV) programs, funded by the Children's Bureau, U.S. Administration for Children and Families, in 13 states to identify successful strategies for adopting, implementing, and sustaining high-quality home visiting programs to prevent child maltreatment. It provides an overview of the EBHV grantees and their selected program models. Five domains are identified and studied including (1) systems change, (2) fidelity to the evidence-based model, (3) costs of home visiting programs, (4) family and child outcomes, and (5) process study. Additional contents include a description of the analytic approach, evaluation technical assistance, and utilization-focused reporting and dissemination.

Contact: Mathematica Policy Research. P.O. Box 2393, Princeton, NJ 08543-2393. Telephone: (609) 799-3535. Fax: (609) 799-0005. E-mail: info@mathematica-mpr.com. Available at no charge from the Web site.


Lieu T. "BABE: The Birth and Beyond Experiences Study" Home Versus Group Visits After Early Postpartum Discharge: [Final report]. Oakland, CA: Kaiser Permanente Medical Care Program. 2001. 30 pp.

Annotation: The purpose of this project was to test the hypothesis that low-risk mothers and newborns will be at reduced risk of adverse health outcome if assigned to receive a home visit rather than a group clinic visit on the third postpartum day. Low-risk mothers and newborns were identified prior to hospital discharge. These study subjects were enrolled, interviewed, and randomized to a home visit (intervention) or a group clinic visit (usual care) on the third postpartum day. Outcome data were obtained from telephone interviews with mothers from computerized utilization databases at Kaiser Permanente. An adverse health outcome was defined as any of the following during the first 14 postpartum days: an urgent clinic visit by the newborn or mother, breastfeeding discontinuation, maternal depressive symptoms, or rehospitalization of the newborn and/or the mother. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service. U.S. Department of Commerce, 5285 Port Royal Road, Springfield, VA 22161. Telephone: (703) 605-6050. (888) 584-8332. E-mail: customerservice@ntis.gov. Document number: NTIS PB2002-101952.


Margie, N. G., Phillips, D. A., (Eds.), and Board on Children, Youth, and Families. Revisiting home visiting: Summary of a workshop. Washington, DC: National Academy Press. 1999. 31 pp.

Annotation: This report summarizes a workshop for practitioners, policymakers, and researchers that discussed recent evaluation evidence of the effectiveness of home visitation programs. The report begins by examining the policy context of home visits. It describes characteristics of home visits, the role of research, and challenges faced by home visiting programs including how to engage the family, staffing, cultural and ethnic factors, domestic violence, maternal depression, and substance abuse. The final chapters present new ways of thinking about home visits including a community context, team approaches, and forging links to child care. The workshop agenda is included as an appendix.

Contact: Board on Children, Youth, and Families. National Research Council, Division of Behavioral and Social Sciences and Education, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20001. Telephone: (202) 334-1935. Fax: (202) 334-3584. E-mail: bocyf@nas.edu. Price unknown.


McConnochie KM. The in-home hospital-level care experiment: In Rochester, New York. Rochester, NY: Department of Pediatrics, University of Rochester Medical Center. 2003. 6 pp.

Annotation: The purpose of this study is to evaluate the home nursing program in Monroe County, New York. The issues addressed are as follows: (1) the potential for implementing home nurse enhancement of primary care (HNEPC) on a community-wide basis, (2) the acceptance of HNEPC by families and providers, (3) the net impact of HNEPC on both hospitalization of episodes eligible for randomization and on overall community hospitalization rates, (4) the cost of care for episodes randomized to different groups, and (5) comparison of quality of care for illness episodes in the treatment group and in the control group. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University. Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272. Telephone: (202) 784-9770. Fax: (202) 784-9777. E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu. Available at no charge from the Web site.


Minnesota Department of Health. Minnesota family home visiting 2008 Community Health Board plan report. [St. Paul, MN]: Minnesota Department of Health. 2008. 13 pp.

Annotation: This report summarizes the family home visiting plans that were submitted to the Commissioner of Health in March, 2008 by Minnesota's 53 community health boards. The report describes: (a) the clients, programs, and staffing of Family Home Visiting programs; (b) how the programs address diversity issues; c) the identification and outreach strategies, the screening and assessment tools, and the curricula( used; (d) the documentation systems used and the evaluation outcomes measured; (e) the home visitor and supervisor training needs identified; (f) how the programs are funded; as well as (g) the types of relationships they have with their community partners.

Contact: Minnesota Department of Health. P. O. Box 64975, St. Paul, MN 55164. Telephone: (651) 201-5000. Toll Free in MN: (888) 345-0823. Available at no charge from the Web site.


Minnesota Department of Health, Commissioner's Office. Family Home Visiting Program: Report to the Minnesota Legislature 2010. St. Paul, MN: Minnesota Department of Health. 2010. 46 pp.

Annotation: This report highlights the activities and accomplishments of the state of Minnesota's Family Home Visiting Program during 2008-2009. it describes the statutory requirements and goals of the state program and its development in the areas of targeted home visiting plans, training, and technical assistance. Also included are a description of the evaluation plan and framework; data collection and preliminary evaluation results; promotion of community partnerships and collaborations; target populations; and outcome and performance measures. The appendices include the full text of the revised 2007 Minnesota Family Home Visiting Program Statute; a summary of Tribal government family home visiting plans; community partnerships; training and technical assistance activities; a summary of populations served; and a data collection form.

Contact: Minnesota Department of Health. P. O. Box 64975, St. Paul, MN 55164. Telephone: (651) 201-5000. Toll Free in MN: (888) 345-0823. Available at no charge from the Web site.


Minnesota Department of Health, Maternal and Child Health Section. Family home visiting guidelines. (Rev. ed.). St. Paul, MN: Maternal and Child Health Section, Minnesota Department of Health. 2005. 20 pp. (Additional URL: Revised May 2006).

Annotation: These guidelines, which update an earlier version, are designed to help community health boards and tribal governments in Minnesota in the provision of family home visiting (FHV) services funded with Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) dollars and to provide guidance on the use of three Local Public Health Act funding sources for FHV services: State General Fund dollars, MCH Block Grant dollars, and TANF dollars. The guidelines discuss participant eligibility, public health nurse waivers, and out-of-state travel reimbursement policies. A list of definitions and terms is provided, as are federal poverty guidelines, and a checklist to determine whether participants are U.S. citizens. Interventions to prevent adolescent pregnancy are also discussed.

Contact: Minnesota Department of Health, Maternal and Child Health Section. P.O. Box 64882, 85 East Seventh Place, Suite 400, St. Paul, MN 55164-0882. Telephone: (651) 201-3760. Available at no charge from the Web site.


Minnesota Department of Health, Maternal and Child Health Section. Home visitor training manual: Minnesota training partnership. St. Paul, MN]: Minnesota Department of Health, Maternal and Child Health Section. 2001. ca. 190 pp.

Annotation: This manual is designed to train home visitors in the use of strength-based approaches that recognize both the assets and potential risks in working with individual families. Topics addressed in the manual include (1) history and philosophy of home visiting; (2) strength-based approaches to working with families; (3) knowledge and skills needed for effective home visits; (4) knowledge and skills necessary for working with families and children; and (5) culture and cultural context of home visiting. The manual is based on initial work done by the Minnesota Home Visitor Training Partnership, an interdisciplinary group of collaborating organizations that convened to develop a statewide, multi-disciplinary training system that would be based on a core set of competencies needed by all home visitors. The manual emphasizes respect for diversity and interdisciplinary collaboration.

Contact: Minnesota Department of Health, Maternal and Child Health Section. P.O. Box 64882, 85 East Seventh Place, Suite 400, St. Paul, MN 55164-0882. Telephone: (651) 201-3760. Available at no charge from the Web site.


National Human Services Assembly, Family Strengthening Policy Center. Home visiting: Strengthening families by promoting parenting success. Washington, DC: National Human Services Assembly, Family Strengthening Policy Center. 2007. 18 pp.

Annotation: This policy brief focuses on early childhood home visiting as a place-based family-strengthening strategy that supports parents and caregivers as a key influence on the lives of young children. (In this context, place-based family strenghthening means that children do better when their families are strong, and families do better when they live in communities that help them succeed.) The brief provides an overview of the purpose of home visiting programs, a cost analysis of such programs, information on improving home visiting services, and recommendations. A conclusion, a list of resources, and endnotes are included.

Contact: National Human Services Assembly, Family Strengthening Policy Center. 1319 F Street, N.W., Suite 402, Washington, DC 20004. Telephone: (202) 347-2080. Fax: (202) 393-4517. E-mail: fspc@nassembly.org. Available at no charge from the Web site.


New Mexico Children, Youth and Families Department. Home visiting service manual. [Santa Fe, NM]: University of New Mexico Center for Development and Disability. 44 pp.

Annotation: This manual describes the underlying philosophical principles and defines practice parameters, standards, and reporting activities for all home visiting programs funded through New Mexico's Children, Youth and Families Department (CYFD). The manual also provides an overview of CYFD home visiting programs, defines home visiting, and discusses the target population, eligibility criteria, service and evaluation components, staffing requirements, safety and risk reduction, staff supervision, service requirements and core components, and documentation and file maintenance.

Contact: University of New Mexico Center for Development and Disability. 2300 Menaul Boulevard, NE, Albuquerque, NM 87107. Telephone: (505) 272-3000. Fax: (505) 272-5280. E-mail: cdd@unm.edu. Available at no charge from the Web site.


NPC Research. Healthy Start evaluation manual. Salem, OR: Oregon Commission on Children and Families. 2008. ca. 100 pp.

Annotation: This manual serves as a tool for collecting data on the effectiveness of Oregon’s Healthy Start program, a statewide home visiting program designed to prevent child maltreatment using the Healthy Families of America program model. The manual provides an overview of the program and describes the Healthy Start data collection and evaluation system required by the Oregon legislation. It includes an overview of data collection procedures and screening and assessment tools and provides directions on how to fill out and submit the necessary intake forms, surveys, and HOME (Home Observation for Measurement of the Environment) Inventory.

Contact: Oregon Commission on Children and Families. 530 Center Street, NE, Suite 405, Salem, OR 97301. Telephone: (503) 373-1283. Fax: (503) 378-8395. E-mail: OCCF.Mail@class.oregonvos.net. Available at no charge from the Web site.


Nurse-Family Partnership. Nurse-Family Partnership: Helping first-time parents succeed. Denver, CO: Nurse-Family Partnership. 2005. 2 items.

Annotation: This brochure and fact sheet describes an evidence-based program of home visitation where nurses work with low-income, first-time mothers during pregnancy and the first two years of the child’s life. Three goals are outlined: (1) improve pregnancy outcomes, (2) improve child health and development, and (3) improve families’ economic self-sufficiency. The fact sheet provides additional topics on the evidence of program effects; growing national and international attention; key program elements and rationale; planning, consultation, and professional development and costs for program implementation, and contact information for additional program information. The brochure discusses program successes, experiences, and strengths; eligibility and enrollment, and other program information.

Contact: Nurse-Family Partnership. 1900 Grant Street, Suite 400, Denver, CO 80203. Telephone: (303) 327-4240. (866) 864-5226. Fax: (303) 327-4260. E-mail: info@nursefamilypartnership.org. Available at no charge.


Ohio Department of Health, Bureau of Early Intervention Services. Help Me Grow. Columbus, OH: Ohio Department of Health, Bureau of Early Intervention Services. 2010.

Annotation: This web site provides information for professionals and for clients of Ohio's Help Me Grow program, which provides health and developmental services for pregnant women and young children so children start school healthy and ready to learn. Parent and caregiver resources include topics on wellness, nutrition, children with special needs, the infant hearing program, school readiness, and safety. Resources include a parents index, information packets, county resources, a glossary of terms, frequently asked questions about the program, parents rights, and links for more information. Professional resources on the web site include training and development; program announcements; the infant hearing program; laws, regulations, and policies, the Early Track Data System, and frequently asked questions. Additional information is provided on grants, county program providers, and the early intervention systems of payment. A section for policies is available on a range of topics including those relevant for all, Part C, and home visitation. An online form is available for submitting information to obtain program referrals for those living in Ohio.

Contact: Ohio Department of Health. 246 North High Street, Columbus, OH 43215. Telephone: (614) 466-3543. Available at no charge from the Web site.


Olds, D., Gomby, D., and McCroskey, J. Home visitation: Does it work?. CII Forum. No volume (No number): 1-5. Spring 2000. 5 pp.

Annotation:

Contact: Children's Institute International. 711 South New Hampshire Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 90005. Telephone: (213) 385-5100. Fax: (213) 382-1820. E-mail: help@childrensinstitute.org. Available at no charge from the Web site.


Pacey PL, St. Jean L, Lehan AV. Nurse home visitor program: Performance audit. Boulder, CO: Pacey Economics Group. 2006. 40 pp.

Annotation: This report contains the results of a performance audit of the Nurse Home Visitor Program within the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment. The program offers home visits by specially trained nurses to first-time, low-income mothers during pregnancy and through the child's second birthday. The report focuses on program costs and eligibility, including the following specific areas: service costs, caseload, client attribution, administrative costs, cost information, Medicaid reimbursement, reimbursement rates, oversight of Medicaid billing process, eligibility determination/income verification, and local site monitoring.

Contact: Colorado Office of the State Auditor. 200 East 14th Avenue, Denver, CO 80203. Telephone: (303) 869-2800. Fax: (303) 869-3060. Available at no charge from the Web site. Document number: Report control number 1744.


Panhandle Healthy Start Initiative. Partners for a Healthy Baby mentoring and supervision curriculum. Tallahassee, FL: Panhandle Healthy Start Initiative. n.d.. 9 pp.

Annotation: This document is an outline of the content and methodology of the mentoring and supervision curriculum used to train leadership individuals in home visiting. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Florida Panhandle Healthy Start. 1339 East Lafayette Street, Tallahassee, FL 32301. Telephone: (850) 922-1300. Fax: (850) 922-1352. E-mail: mgraham@mailer.fsu.edu. Price unknown.


Parents as Teachers National Center. Parents as teachers: Good beginnings for all children. St. Louis, MI: Parents as Teachers National Center. 2003. 14 items.

Annotation: This information package is about the Parents as Teachers program which promotes teaching adolescent parents how to be effective as parents. Contents include several brochures about program services and membership (one in Spanish), a magnetic card and a brochure of tips for parents in times of trauma, a 44-page booklet on how to implement a Parent as Teachers program, an organizational summary report, and a catalog of training materials which can be ordered from the organization.

Contact: Karen H. Hoelker, Parents as Teachers National Center. 2228 Ball Drive, St. Louis, MO 63146. Telephone: (314) 432-4330. (866) 728-4968. Fax: (314) 432-8963. E-mail: info@parentsasteachers.org. Available at no charge.


Paulsell D, Mekos D, Del Grosso P, Banghart P, Nogales R. Reaching out to kith and kin caregivers in Early Head Start. Princeton, NJ: Mathematica Policy Research. 2006. 4 pp.

Annotation: This issue brief describes the early implementation experience of Early Head Start pilot projects that arrange home visits to caregivers, organize support and training events, and give or lend materials such as age-appropriate books and toys and home safety items. The brief is based on visits to sites after one year of operation, as well as on information on the characteristics of enrolled children, families, and caregivers. The brief discusses use of kith and kin (families, friends, and neighbors) care; looks at pilot sites, families, and caregivers; discusses service delivery, and talks about next steps. General information about home visitation in the United States and about Early Head Start home visits is also included.

Contact: Mathematica Policy Research. P.O. Box 2393, Princeton, NJ 08543-2393. Telephone: (609) 799-3535. Fax: (609) 799-0005. E-mail: info@mathematica-mpr.com. Available at no charge from the Web site.


Paulsell D, Mekos D, Del Grosso P, Banghart P, Nogales R. The Enhanced Home Visiting pilot project: How Early Head Start programs are reaching out to kith and kin caregivers—Final interim report. Princeton, NJ: Mathematica Policy Research. 2006. 82 pp. (Additional URL: issue brief).

Annotation: This interim report descibes the early implementation experiences of Early Head Start Enhanced Home Visiting pilot projects. The report is based on site visits to participating programs after approximately 1 year of pilot operation, as well as on information collected by programs on the characteristics of children, families, and caregivers enrolled in the pilot. The report, which includes an executive summary, also discusses pilot program design; characteristics of children, families, and caregivers; delivery of services during the first year of implementation; and early implementation lessons. References are included. Statistical information is presented in tables throughout the report.

Contact: Mathematica Policy Research. P.O. Box 2393, Princeton, NJ 08543-2393. Telephone: (609) 799-3535. Fax: (609) 799-0005. E-mail: info@mathematica-mpr.com. Available at no charge from the Web site.


Paulsell D, Mekos D, Del Grosso P, Rowand C, Banghart P. Strategies for supporting quality in kith and kin child care: Findings from the Early Head Start Enhanced Home Visiting Pilot evaluation. Princeton, NJ: Mathematica Policy Research. 2006. 119 pp.

Annotation: This final report describes the experiences of the Early Head Start Enhanced Home Visiting Pilot Project, an initiative designed to support the quality of care that kith and kin caregivers provide to infants and young children enrolled in Early Head Start. The report focuses on the project's first 2 years of implementation. Topics include pilot overview (design, staffing, and target population); delivery of services to caregivers; Characteristics of caregiving arrangements; sustainability and potential replication of pilot models; and implementation progress, challenges, and lessons for replication.

Contact: Mathematica Policy Research. P.O. Box 2393, Princeton, NJ 08543-2393. Telephone: (609) 799-3535. Fax: (609) 799-0005. E-mail: info@mathematica-mpr.com. Available at no charge from the Web site.


Pew Center on the States. The case for home visiting: Strong families start with a solid foundation. Washington, DC: Pew Center on the States. 2010. 4 pp.

Annotation: This brief describes the benefits of a home visiting program in providing information and services to new parents and families throughout pregnancy and their child's first three years. Topics include the importance of prenatal care, safe and stable housing, counseling for tobacco or substance abuse, domestic violence prevention, as well as advice on building positive, loving relationships with their children.

Contact: Pew Center on the States. 901 E Street, N.W., 10th Floor, Washington, DC 20004. Telephone: (202) 552-2000. Fax: (202) 552-2299. Available at no charge from the Web site.


Pew Charitable Trusts, Pew Center on the States. Federal home visiting funding: Implications for state home visiting investments and initiatives. [Philadelphia, PA]: Pew Charitable Trusts, Pew Center on the States. 2010. 28 pp.

Annotation: These printed PowerPoint presentation slides are from an April 13, 2010 webinar introducing the Pew home visiting campaign, whose goal is to foster smart state investments in quality, voluntary home-based programs for new and expectant families. It reviews the current state of state home visiting investments, provides a brief overview of the federal home visiting provisions in Public Law No. 111-148, assesses states’ concerns and issues to inform/influence the federal regulatory process of the new program, and explores possible technical support needs of states to compete successfully for federal home visiting funds.

Contact: Pew Charitable Trusts. One Commerce Square, 2005 Market Street, Suite 1700, Philadelphia, PA 19103-7077. Telephone: (215) 575-9050. Fax: (215) 575-4924. E-mail: info@pewtrusts.org. Available at no charge from the Web site.


Regel CA. Healthy Tomorrows Partnership for Children Program: Follow the Child—Final report. Missoula, MO: Missoula City/County Health Department. 2009. 47 pp.

Annotation: This final report provides information about the Follow the Child project, which integrates foster children in Missoula County, Montana, into existing public health systems for preventive health care, including home visits, and and sets up consultations with foster parents and social workers. Contents include a description of the purpose of the project, goals and objectives, methodology, evaluation, results and outcomes, publications and products, dissemination and utilization of results, future plans and follow-up. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University. Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272. Telephone: (202) 784-9770. Fax: (202) 784-9777. E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu.


Schreiber L. Key components of a successful early childhood home visitation system: A self-assessment tool for states. Washington, DC: Zero To Three: National Center for Infants, Toddlers, and Families. 2010. 12 pp.

Annotation: This tool is designed to help states define the home visiting system, assess capacity, and prioritize areas for improvement. The document provides a series of templates for conducting an inventory of existing programs; identifying service gaps; collecting, analyzing, and monitoring data; ensuring model fidelity and a high-quality system of services; maintaining a skilled and competent work force and providing technical assistance; partnering and collaborating with other early childhood services; creating public and political will; administering and funding the home visitation system; and sustaining support. Templates for adding state-specific components and determining priority areas for improvement are included. Tips for the using the tool are also provided.

Contact: Zero To Three: National Center for Infants, Toddlers, and Families. 2000 M Street, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20036-3307. Telephone: (202) 638-1144. publications: (800) 899-4301. E-mail: 0to3@presswarehouse.com. Available at no charge from the Web site.


Smart Start Oklahoma. Home visitation issue brief. Oklahoma, City, OK: Smart Start Oklahoma. 2008. 12 pp.

Annotation: This brochure reviews the quality of life and financial impact that five Oklahoma based home visitation programs have on school readiness health for children. Listed for each program is its name, area of oversight, state funding for fiscal year 2008, geographic area served, enrollment criteria, number served, services provided, and outcomes. The brochure also reviews the strengths and challenges of the system and describes opportunities to further strengthen the system.

Contact: Smart Start Oklahoma. 421 N.W. 13th Street, Suite 270, Oklahoma City, OK 73103. Telephone: (405) 278-6978. (866) 283-0987. E-mail: http://www.smartstartok.org/about_us/contact_us. Available at no charge from the Web site.


Smith D, Robinson J. Guidelines and training manual for the Prenatal-5 Nurse Home Visiting Program. [Salt Lake City, UT]: Utah Department of Health, Child, Adolescent and School Health Program. 2002. 96 pp.

Annotation: This manual provides step-by-step guidelines for nurses conducting home visits within the Prenatal-5 Nurse Home Visiting Program, which strives to enhance the health and well-being of children and families and foster their healthy growth, increase access to and appropriate use of preventive and primary health care services, and reduce the incidence of vaccine-preventable infections among children and the incidence of childhood injuries. Topics include implementing the program, initial and follow-up home visits, services provided during follow-up home visits, child abuse and domestic violence reporting, and community resources.

Contact: Utah Department of Health. Cannon Health Building, 288 North 1460 West, Salt Lake City, UT Telephone: (801) 538-6111. Fax: (801) 538-6306.


Stabile I, Graham M, Powell A, Chiricos C. Partners for a healthy baby: Home visiting curriculum for expectant families—Before baby arrives. Tallahassee, FL: Florida State University Center for Prevention and Early Intervention Policy. 1999. ca. 250 pp.

Annotation: This book provides a curriculum for health professionals in home visitation programs. It describes how home visiting programs assist expectant families with the physical and emotional changes that occur with pregnancy, prepare for parenthood, enhance their self-esteem, and lead a healthy lifestyle. The curriculum guides home visitors through each month of pregnancy, describes issues that expectant parents will face, and gives resources for handling these issues. Appendices include lists of handouts and resources, and an index. References are included. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: HRSA Information Center. P.O. Box 2910, Merrifield, VA 22116. Telephone: (888) 275-4772. TTY: (877) 489-4772. Fax: (703) 821-2098. E-mail: ask@hrsa.gov. Available at no charge. Document number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCH00105 (2003), MCH00095 (1999).


Stavrakos JC, Summerville G, Johnson LE. Growing what works: Lessons learned from Pennsylvania's Nurse-Family Partnership Initiative. Philadelphia, PA: Public/Private Ventures. 2009. 42 pp.

Annotation: This report, which focuses on the Pennsylvania Nurse-Family Partnership Initiative, provides lessons for policymakers and funders interested in bringing proven models of home visiting to a statewide scale. The report emphasizes the importance of capitalizing on the unique advantage of geographic proximity to build a network of sites. Topic include (1) reasons to replicate the nurse family partnership, (2) bringing the nurse-family partnership to scale in Pennsylvania, and (3) lessons learned.

Contact: Public/Private Ventures. 2000 Market Street, Suite 600, Philadelphia, PA 19103. Telephone: (215) 557-4400. Publications line: (215) 557-4411. Fax: (215) 557-4469. E-mail: publications@ppv.org. Available at no charge from the Web site.


Stoltzfus E, Lynch KE. Home visitation for families with young children. [Washington, DC]: Congressional Research Service. 2009. 55 pp.

Annotation: This report examines home visiting as a service strategy for families with young children or those who are expecting children. It provides an overview of current practices and initiatives in home visiting, including a review of selected home visiting models; a discussion of home visiting program implementation by states; and a summary of the current home visiting initiative of the Administration for Children and Families (ACF). The report also discusses existing federal, state, and local funding streams for home visiting; current methods used for evaluating program models; and research findings according to desired program outcomes. Administration and Congressional proposals to support home visiting are also provided. Tables include (1) an overview of six home visiting models; (2) the number of home visiting sites by selected program model and state; and (3) examples of how federal funding streams from different federal agencies might be used to support early childhood home visiting programs. The appendices include (1) selected federal programs that provide or support home visitation and (2) federal initiatives related to coordination of early childhood programs and services.

Contact: Library of Congress, Congressional Research Service. 101 Independence Avenue, S.E., Washington, DC 20540-7500. Available at no charge from the Web site.


Thompson L, Kropenske V, Heinicke CM, Gomby DS, Halfon N. Home visiting: A service strategy to deliver Proposition 10 results. Los Angeles, CA: UCLA Center for Healthier Children, Families and Communities. 2001. 51 pp. (Additional URL: executive summary).

Annotation: This report lists definitions and theoretical frameworks of home visiting as a service delivery strategy for comprehensive services for families with young children and describes a number of program models. It also provides a review of the evidence about the effectiveness of different types of home visiting programs. Appendices describe local best practices.

Contact: UCLA Center for Healthier Children, Families and Communities. University of California, Los Angeles, 10990 Wilshire Boulevard, Suite 900, Los Angeles, CA 90024. Telephone: (310) 794-2583. Fax: (310) 794-2728. E-mail: chcfc@ucla.edu. $5.00; also available at no charge from the Web site.


U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau. Promoting health literacy through case management. [Rockville,MD]: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau. 2009.

Annotation: This webinar, held on October 20, 2009, discusses ways to promote health literacy among parents of young children using case managers and other home visitors. The webinar presents a case study of the Enterprise Community Healthy Start program in rural Georgia. The site includes meeting materials, speaker presentations, and a video of the webinar. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau. Health Resources and Services Administration, Parklawn Building, Room 18-05, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857. Telephone: (301) 443-2170. prenatal care hotline: (800) 311-2229= (800) 311-BABY. Fax: (301) 443-1797. E-mail: ctibbs@hrsa.gov. Available at no charge from the Web site.


University of Wisconsin-Extension, Family Living Programs. Comprehensive home visitation programs for families with young children: Resource materials. [Madison, WI]: University of Wisconsin-Extension, Family Living Programs. 2006. 21 pp.

Annotation: This guide provides a list of tools and resources to use in home visiting programs for families with young children. Resources cover program development tools to help start a home visiting program; resources on home visiting program models, training opportunities, curricula to use in home visiting programs, assessment and evaluation tools, additional resources, and additional programs that serve young children and their families. For each tool or resource, the guide offers a general description, describes specific features, and includes contact information.

Contact: University of Wisconsin-Extension, Family Living Programs, Home Visitation Programs. 432 North Lake Street, Room 305, Madison, WI 53706-1498. Telephone: (608) 262-9962. Fax: (608) 265-0787. Available at no charge from the Web site.


VanLandeghem K. The benefits and financing of home visiting programs. Washington, DC: National Governors Association Center for Best Pracftices. 2002. 5 pp.

Annotation: This issue brief provides information about the benefits of financing home visiting programs. The brief offers basic information about home visiting and the benefits resulting from such efforts, which include (1) providing important services, social supports, and referrals, (2) improving the quality of services and evaluating programs, (3) integrating home visiting with other programs and supports, and (4) maximizing federal funding streams. Endnotes are included, and selected Web site for further information are provided. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Governors Association, Center for Best Practices. Hall of the States, 444 North Capitol Street, Suite 267, Washington, DC 20001-1512. Telephone: (202) 624-5300. E-mail: webmaster@nga.org. Available at no charge from the Web site.


Wasserman M. Implementation of home visitation programs: Stories from the states. Chicago, IL: Chapin Hall. 2006. 10 pp.

Annotation: This brief provides an overview of selected state home visitation programs supporting healthy infant and child development. Topics include development of the programs, sustaining adequate sources of funding, demonstrating program efficacy, ensuring quality in replicated programs, and future growth and development.

Contact: Chapin Hall Center for Children. University of Chicago, 1313 East 60th Street, Chicago, IL 60637. Telephone: (773) 753-5900. Fax: (773) 753-5940. Available at no charge from the Web site after free registration.


Woodrow Wilson School of Public and International Affairs and Brookings Institution. Preventing child maltreatment. Princeton, NJ: Woodrow Wilson School of Public and International Affairs; Washington, DC: Brookings Institution. 2009. 210 pp.

Annotation: This journal issue explores policies and programs on how to prevent child abuse and neglect. Articles discuss the importance of an investment-driven prevention approach; characteristics of families associated with elevated risk for maltreatment; community-wide, parenting, and home-visiting prevention programs; preventing abuse and neglect by parents with drug or alcohol problems and preventing sexual abuse; and the present and future roles of the child protection system in preventing abuse.

Contact: Brookings Institution. 1775 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Washington, DC 20036. Telephone: (202) 797-6000. Fax: (202) 797-6004. E-mail: communications@brookings.edu. Available at no charge from the Web site. Document number: ISBN 978-0-9814705-3-5.


Young T, Noel S. Family care center home network [Final report]. Lexington, KY: Lexington-Fayette Urban County Government. [ca. 2003]. 24 pp.

Annotation: This final report, from the Healthy Tomorrows program, describes a home-based program providing early intervention designed to promote health child development, prenatal health, and enhance family functioning in overburdened families, including promoting parent-child bonding and attachment and decreasing maternal depression and child abuse. Contents include a project summary; a narrative including the project purpose, goals and objectives, methodology, evaluation, results and outcomes, a list of publications and products, summaries of dissemination and utilization of results, future plans and follow up, and support and resources needed to replicate. Also provided are lists of Home Network Advisory Board consumer and community, and family care center representatives. A copy of the 2002 Home Network participant satisfaction survey and newsletter are attached. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Irene Gooding, Lexington-Fayette County Health Department. 650 Newton Pike, Lexington, KY 40508. Telephone: (859) 252-2371. Fax: (859) 288-2359.


Zero to Three Policy Center. Home visiting: Supporting babies and families where they live. Washington, DC: Zero to Three. 2005. 3 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet provides policy recommendations and research into the effectiveness of home visiting for delivering services to families in their home including health care, parenting education, child abuse prevention, and early intervention for young children with disabilities. Three home visit programs are discussed: the Nurse-Family Partnership, the Parents as Teachers Program, and Healthy Families Arizona. Endnotes conclude the fact sheet.

Contact: Zero To Three: National Center for Infants, Toddlers, and Families. 2000 M Street, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20036-3307. Telephone: (202) 638-1144. publications: (800) 899-4301. E-mail: 0to3@presswarehouse.com. Available at no charge from the Web site.