[Skip to Content]
Georgetown University NCEMCH | MCH Navigator
Search the Databases

Search
Advanced Search

Site Tools

Partner Projects

MCH Social Media

Bibliography of Materials from MCHLine®

This bibliography of 18 items is drawn from MCHLine®, the MCH Library online catalog. It includes selected materials published in the last ten years on breastfeeding for nursing mothers returning to work as well as breastfeeding promotion in the workplace and in child care settings.

The MCH Library focuses on publications from federal and state agencies, from grantees of federal and state agencies, and from professional and voluntary organizations. It contains unique materials on the history of maternal and child health in the United States, policy papers, reports, conference proceedings, manuals, survey instruments, guidelines, and curricula. The library does not collect materials on clinical medicine. Consumer health materials and commercially published materials are collected very selectively.

Displaying 18 records.
Toggle Details

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office on Women's Health. 2014-. Supporting nursing moms at work: Employer solutions. Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office on Women's Health,

Annotation: This resource provides businesses with cost-effective tips and solutions for any industry setting to support women who are breastfeeding. Users can search by industry or by solutions to find creative options for space and time, as well as options for supporting women in large companies and small businesses. Topics include room amenities, breast pumps, options for handling expressed milk, education and professional support, promoting services to employees, and privacy. Videos are included.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office on Women's Health, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Room 712E, Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (800) 690-7650 Fax: (202) 205-2631 Web Site: http://www.womenshealth.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Business, Employee benefits, Employer initiatives, Multimedia, Parent support programs, Policy development, Working mothers

Toggle Details

2013. Breastfeeding in the workplace and hospitals . Arlington, VA: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials,

Annotation: [in process] rThis web page links to resources and case studies that provide examples of how state health agencies have effectively supported breastfeeding in the workplace and hospitals.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Breastfeeding promotion, Hospitals, State initiatives, Workplace

Toggle Details

Breastfeeding Coalition of Washington. [2012]. My guide to working and breastfeeding: Tips on how to make working and breastfeeding work for you. [Seattle, WA]: Breastfeeding Coalition of Washington, 12 pp.

Annotation: This brochure, which is geared toward working mothers who are breastfeeding, provides information about how to successfully breastfeed while working outside the home. The brochure discusses why it is important to continue breastfeeding after returning to work, introducing a bottle, choosing child care, rights of breastfeeding women, pumping and storing breastmilk at work, creating a back-to-work plan, and overcoming challenges. The brochure is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: Breastfeeding Coalition of Washington, 155 North East 100th Street, #500, Seattle, WA 98125, Telephone: (206) 281-8032 Fax: (206) 270-8891 E-mail: rachels@wihtinreachwa.org Web Site: http://www.breastfeedingwa.org/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Bottle feeding, Breastfeeding, Breastfeeding promotion, Child care, Consumer education materials, Infant health, Parent child relations, Parent rights, Spanish language materials, Women's rights, Working mothers

Toggle Details

NIHCM Foundation. 2011. The business case for breastfeeding: Strategies for health plans. [Washington, DC]: NIHCM Foundation, 9 files.

Annotation: This webinar, held on October 245, 2011, explored ways health plans and businesses can promote breastfeeding. Topics included supporting breastfeeding benefits for everyone, breastfeeding for infants in the neonatal intensive care unit, and promising practices at work. Archived content includes the webinar agenda, speaker biographies and presentations, evaluation, and additional resources. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Institute for Health Care Management Foundation, 1225 19th Street, N.W., Suite 710, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 296-4426 Fax: (202) 296-4319 E-mail: http://www.nihcm.org/contact Web Site: http://www.nihcm.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Breastfeeding promotion, Lactation, Multimedia, Work family issues, Working mothers

Toggle Details

Breastfeeding Coalition of Washington. [2010]. Working and breastfeeding..."It's worth it!". [Seattle, WA]: WithinReach, Breastfeeding Coalition of Washington,

Annotation: This Web site provides information sheets about the importance and benefits of breastfeeding for both mothers and employers. Materials are available in English and Spanish.

Contact: WithinReach , 155 North East 100th Street, Suite 500, Seattle, WA 98125, Telephone: (800) 322-2588 Secondary Telephone: (206) 284-2465 Fax: (206) 270-8891 E-mail: info@withinreachwa.org Web Site: http://withinreachwa.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Breastfeeding promotion, Consumer education materials, Employer initiatives, Spanish language materials, Working mothers

Toggle Details

Davis CS, Dhillon J. 2010. The ACA and nursing mothers. [Washington, DC]: National Health Law Program, 7 pp. (Short paper no. 4)

Annotation: This paper describes provisions in the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (ACA) intended to make it easier for women with children under the age of one who participate in the labor force to continue breastfeeding and providing breast milk to their children. The paper provides background information on the benefits of breastfeeding and discusses the disparities that exist in breastfeeding based on maternal education, age, race, ethnicity, and socioeconomic status. It describes Section 4207 of the ACA that requires employers to provide a reasonable amount of time and a place where breastfeeding mothers can express milk. The paper also explains how the new provisions differ from the previous law.

Contact: National Health Law Program, 1441 I Street, N.W., Suite 1105, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 289-7724 E-mail: nhelp@healthlaw.org Web Site: http://www.healthlaw.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Federal legislation, Health care reform, Working mothers

Toggle Details

U.S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division. 2010. Break time for nursing mothers under the FLSA. Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division, 2 pp. (Fact sheet #73)

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information on the break time requirement in the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act for working women who are breastfeeding. Topics include general requirements, time and location of breaks, coverage and compensation, and where to obtain additional information.

Contact: U.S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division, 200 Constitution Avenue, N.W., Washington, DC 20210, Telephone: (866) 4-USWAGE Secondary Telephone: (866) 487-9243 Web Site: http://www.dol.gov/whd/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Breastfeeding promotion, Federal legislation, Regulations, Work family issues, Working mothers, Workplace health promotion

Toggle Details

Slavit WI (Ed.). 2009. Investing in workplace breastfeeding programs and policies: An employer's toolkit. [Rev. ed.]. Washington, DC: National Business Group on Health, 71 pp.

Annotation: This eight-section kit is intended for employers, human resource managers, expectant and new parents, and health professionals interested in encouraging business and public agencies to establish, maintain, and expand lactation-support programs for their employees. The kit is divided into the following sections: (1) the business case for breastfeeding promotion, (2) workplace breastfeeding options, (3) breastfeeding promotion program components (4) employer case studies, (5) getting started, (6) methods of measuring success, (7) other ways to support breastfeeding women, and (8) tools for employers. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Business Group on Health, 20 F Street, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20001-6700, Telephone: (202) 558-3000 Fax: (202) 628-9244 E-mail: info@businessgrouphealth.org Web Site: http://www.businessgrouphealth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Breastfeeding promotion, Working mothers

Toggle Details

Slavit WI, Meinert EA, Tuttle CR, Flood C. 2009. Workplace breastfeeding programs: Employer case studies. Washington, DC: National Business Group on Health, 11 pp. (Issue brief)

Annotation: This issue brief presents case studies of exemplary workplace breastfeeding programs and policies to provide guidance to employers on the development, implementation, and evaluation of workplace breastfeeding programs. Programs profiled include CIGNA Corporation (Philadelphia, Pennsylvania), Corning, Incorporated (Corning, New York), CVS Caremark (Woonsocket, Rhode Island), Occidental Oil and Gas Corporation (Houston, Texas), and Texas Instruments Incorporated (Dallas, Texas).

Contact: National Business Group on Health, 20 F Street, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20001-6700, Telephone: (202) 558-3000 Fax: (202) 628-9244 E-mail: info@businessgrouphealth.org Web Site: http://www.businessgrouphealth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: . Model programs, Breastfeeding, Breastfeeding promotion, Breastfeeding promotion programs, Infant health, Policy development, Women's health, Workplace health promotion

Toggle Details

Every Mother Inc. and Rich Winter Design and Multimedia. 2008, 2012. The business case for breastfeeding: Steps for creating a breastfeeding friendly worksite. Rockville, MD: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, 5 items.

Annotation: This five-section kit is intended for employers, human resource managers, expectant and new parents, and health professionals interested in encouraging business and public agencies to establish, maintain, and expand lactation-support programs for their employees. The kit is divided into the following sections: (1) the business case for breastfeeding, (2) easy steps for supporting breastfeeding employees, (3) tool kit, (4) employee's guide to breastfeeding and working, and (5) outreach marketing guide. The sections include booklets and handouts; the tool kit includes a CD-ROM. A Spanish version is available.

Contact: National Women's Health Information Center, 8270 Willow Oaks Corporate Drive, Fairfax, VA 22031, Telephone: (800) 994-9662 Secondary Telephone: (888) 220-5446 Fax: (703) 560-6598 Web Site: http://www.womenshealth.gov Available at no charge. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCH00254 (English); MCH00419 (Spanish).

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Breastfeeding promotion, Spanish language materials, Working mothers

Toggle Details

International Lactation Consultant Association. 2007. Position paper on breastfeeding and work. Raleigh, NC: International Lactation Consultant Association, 6 pp.

Annotation: In this position paper, the International Lactation Consultant Association (ILCA) expresses its endorsement for women's right to receive support for breastfeeding in the context of their paid and unpaid work. The paper also spells out the role of the Association and International Board Certified Lactation Consultants in reducing the barriers that mothers face as they seek to harmonize breastfeeding and work. The paper provides an introduction to the issue; discusses research on breastfeeding; and presents the ILCA's position regarding affirmation, recommendations, and actions. Notes and references are included.

Contact: International Lactation Consultant Association, 2501 Aerial Center Parkway, Suite 103, Morrisville, NC 27560, Telephone: (919) 861-5577 Fax: (919) 459-2075 E-mail: info@ilca.org Web Site: http://www.ilca.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Breastfeeding support, Infant health, Research, Women's health, Working parents, Working women

Toggle Details

Oregon Department of Human Services-Health Services, Breastfeeding Mother Friend Employer Project. 2006. How to become a breastfeeding mother friendly employer. Portland, OR: Breastfeeding Mother Friend Employer Project, Oregon Department of Human Services-Health Services, 10 pp.

Annotation: This brochure outlines the steps for creating a breastfeeding mother friendly worksite and provides facts on why breastfeeding makes good business sense. A sample workplace breastfeeding policy and application to receive designation as a "breastfeeding mother friendly employer" are also provided.

Contact: Oregon Department of Human Services, Public Health Division, 800 North East Oregon Street, Portland, OR 97232, Telephone: (971) 673-1222 Secondary Telephone: (971) 673-0372 Fax: (971) 673-1299 Web Site: http://www.oregon.gov/DHS/ph/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Employer initiatives, Oregon, Working mothers

Toggle Details

Jacknowitz A. 2005. An investigation of the factors influencing breastfeeding patterns. Santa Monica, CA: Rand, 115 pp.

Annotation: This document summarizes a dissertation on breastfeeding rates, policies, and disparities. Topics include changing demographics, welfare work requirements and child well-being: evidence from the effects on breastfeeding, and the role of workplace characteristics in breastfeeding practices. Numerous tables throughout the document offer statistics on research data and methodology. References are also provided.

Contact: Rand Corporation, 1776 Main Street, Santa Monica, CA 90407-3208, Telephone: (310) 393-0411 Fax: 310-393-4818 E-mail: correspondence@rand.org Web Site: http://www.rand.org Available at no charge; also available from the website.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Cultural factors, Educational factors, Ethnic factors, Socioeconomic factors, Statistics, Trends, Welfare reform, Work family issues, Working mothers

Toggle Details

Kimbro R. 2005. On-the-job moms: Work and breastfeeding duration. Princeton, NJ: Princeton University, Bendheim-Thoman Center for Research on Child Wellbeing, 4 pp. (Fragile families research brief; no. 31)

Annotation: This brief examines two questions regarding the relationship between maternal employment and breastfeeding: (1) whether a mother's plans to return to work after a birth affect her decision to breastfeed her child, and (2) whether returning to work shortens the duration of breastfeeding, and if so, by how much. Contents include an introductory background, data and methods, results, conclusion and policy implications.

Contact: Princeton University, Bendheim-Thoman Center for Research on Child Wellbeing, Wallace Hall, Princeton, NJ 08544, Telephone: (609) 258-5894 Fax: (609) 258-5804 E-mail: crcw@opr.princeton.edu Web Site: http://crcw.princeton.edu Available at no charge; also available from the website.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Employment, Surveys, Work family issues, Working mothers

Toggle Details

Ross Laboratories and Working Mother Media. [2004]. Business backs breastfeeding: A flexible workplace program for breastfeeding mothers. [Columbus, OH: Ross Laboratories], 31 pp.

Annotation: This resource kit provides instructions, tips, and template materials to help employers support mothers who choose to continue breastfeeding after returning to work. The report discusses the benefits of breastfeeding for mothers and infants, the benefits to business of supporting workplace breastfeeding, the essential elements of a successful workplace breastfeeding program, and other ways to encourage breastfeeding. A list of resource materials is included. The kit also includes a list of references.

Contact: Ross Laboratories, Consumer Relations, 625 Cleveland Avenue, Columbus, OH 43215-1724, Telephone: (800) 227-5767 Secondary Telephone: (614) 624-7485 Web Site: http://www.ross.com Available at no charge; also available from the website.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Breastfeeding promotion, Infant health, Infants, Mothers, Women's health, Working mothers, Workplace health promotion

Toggle Details

Chatterji P, Frick K. 2003. Does returning to work after childbirth affect breastfeeding practices?. Cambridge, MA: National Bureau of Economic Research, 36 pp. (NBER working paper series no. 9630)

Annotation: This paper examines the effect of the timing and intensity of returning to work after childbirth on the probability of initiating breastfeeding and the number of weeks of breastfeeding. The paper includes an abstract, an introduction, a description of the background, a discussion of the theoretical motivation, a methods section, a description of the data, a discussion of the descriptive statistics, an estimation results section, and conclusions. The paper concludes with a reference list. Statistics are presented in tables and figures grouped together at the end of the paper.

Contact: National Bureau of Economic Research, 1050 Massachusetts Avenue, Cambridge, MA 02138-5398, Telephone: (617) 868-3900 Fax: (617) 868-2742 E-mail: info@nber.org Web Site: http://www.nber.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Working mothers

Toggle Details

Ohio Department of Health, Breastfeeding Promotion Committee and Bureau of Nutrition Services/WIC Program. 2003. Policies and programs for breastfeeding moms returning to work: A guide for employers. Columbus, OH: Breastfeeding Promotion Committee and Bureau of Nutrition Services / WIC Program, Ohio Department of Health, 8 pp.

Annotation: This guide provides employers with policies and programs for breastfeeding mothers who are returning to work. The guide discusses how a breastfeeding policy benefits the workplace, specific economic benefits, how an employer can help working mothers continue to breastfeed, and other ways to support breastfeeding. Contacts for additional information are included.

Contact: Ohio Department of Health, 246 North High Street, Columbus, OH 43215, Telephone: (614) 466-3543 Web Site: http://www.odh.ohio.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Breastfeeding promotion, Working mothers, Workplace

Toggle Details

United States Breastfeeding Committee. 2003. Accommodations for breastfeeding in the workplace. Raleigh, NC: United States Breastfeeding Committee, 2 pp.

Annotation: This form, which is intended as a guide for employers and employees considering ways to support breastfeeding as a health behavior, lists several components of breastfeeding support in the workplace. Items on the list are divided into two categories: facilities and written company policy. Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: United States Breastfeeding Committee, 2025 M Street, N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 367-1132 Fax: (202) 367-2132 E-mail: office@usbreastfeeding.org Web Site: http://www.usbreastfeeding.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Breastfeeding promotion, Employment, Infant health, Women's health, Working mothers

Return to Previous Page | Go To Cross-Database Search | Advanced MCHLine® Search