[Skip to Content]
Georgetown University NCEMCH | MCH Navigator
Search the Databases

Search
Advanced Search

Site Tools

Partner Projects

MCH Social Media

Bibliography of Materials from MCHLine®

This bibliography of 22 items is drawn from MCHLine®, the MCH Library online catalog. It includes selected materials on breastfeeding for new mothers published in the last ten years. Included are instructional manuals as well as booklets on special topics. Items for professionals are contained in a separate bibliography.

The MCH Library focuses on publications from federal and state agencies, from grantees of federal and state agencies, and from professional and voluntary organizations. It contains unique materials on the history of maternal and child health in the United States, policy papers, reports, conference proceedings, manuals, survey instruments, guidelines, and curricula. The library does not collect materials on clinical medicine. Consumer health materials and commercially published materials are collected very selectively.

Displaying 22 records.
Toggle Details

Nguyen K-P, Mai CT, Santa Clara Valley Breastfeeding Task Force. n.d.. Breastfeeding educational materials in Vietnamese language. [No place, CA: Santa Clara Valley Breastfeeding Task Force], 6 items.

Annotation: This resource provides downloadable breastfeeding-education pamphlets for new mothers. Topics of the pamphlets include breastfeeding, milk quality, how to breastfeed, breast milk expression and storage, taking care of sore nipples and breast engorgement, and what to eat while breastfeeding. Each pamphlet is available in English and Vietnamese.

Contact: University of California, Berkeley, College of Natural Resources, 101 Giannini Hall, Berkeley, CA 94720, Telephone: (510) 642-7171 E-mail: cnrmain@nature.berkeley.edu Web Site: http://nature.berkeley.edu/site/index.php Available from the website.

Keywords: Asian language materials, Breastfeeding, Breastfeeding promotion, Consumer education materials, Infants, Nutrition

Toggle Details

Philadelphia Department of Public Health. n.d.. Why breastfeed? Just listen to what mothers say!. Philadelphia, PA: Philadelphia Department of Public Health, Division of Maternal, Child, and Family Health, 2 pp.

Annotation: This flyer provides quotes from mothers who breastfeed and summarizes why breastfeeding is good for babies, mothers, and families. It is available in Albanian, Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Haitian Creole, Hindi, Indonesian, Khmer, Korean, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, and Vietnamese.

Contact: Philadelphia Department of Public Health, Division of Maternal, Child, and Family Health, 1101 Market Street, Ninth Floor, Philadelphia, PA 19107, Telephone: (215) 685-5225 Fax: (215) 685-5257 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.phila.gov/health/mcfh/

Keywords: Asian language materials, Breastfeeding, Consumer education materials, Non English language materials, Spanish language materials

Toggle Details

Meek JY, ed. 2011. New mother's guide to breastfeeding (2nd ed.). New York, NY: Bantam Books, 254 pp.

Annotation: This handbook answers common questions about breastfeeding. The handbook discusses the choice to breastfeed; explains how breastfeeding works; and provides information about getting ready for a newborn, first feedings, special situations, going home, nutrition, common problems, breastfeeding beyond infancy, separations from the infant, the father's role, and weaning.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 141 Northwest Point Boulevard, Elk Grove Village, IL 60007-1098, Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: http://www.aap.org $15, plus shipping and handling. Document Number: ISBN 978-1-58110-459-2.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Consumer education materials, Fathers, Infant feeding, Infants, Mothers, Newborn infants, Nutrition, Weaning, Young children

Toggle Details

Philadelphia Department of Public Health, Office of Maternal and Child Health. 2011. Philadelphia breastfeeding resource handbook, 2011. Philadelphia, PA: Philadelphia Department of Public Health, 32 pp.

Annotation: This directory provides an extensive array of resources in the Philadelphia area in order to provide guidance and assistance to women in helping them make informed choices about how to feed their baby and where to get information they need to breastfeed successfully. It includes books, videos, organizations, and courses, and covers many different aspects of breastfeeding including equipment, milk banks, and special situations.

Contact: Philadelphia Department of Public Health, Division of Maternal, Child, and Family Health, 1101 Market Street, Ninth Floor, Philadelphia, PA 19107, Telephone: (215) 685-5225 Contact Phone: (215) 685-6825 Fax: (215) 685-5257 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.phila.gov/health/mcfh/ Available from the web site.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Directories, Lactation, Lactation management, Pennsylvania, Resource centers, Resource materials

Toggle Details

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office on Women's Health. 2011. Your guide to breastfeeding. Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office on Women's Health, 47 pp.

Annotation: This guide, which is written in a way that is easy to understand, provides new mothers with practical information and support to help them breastfeed successfully. The guide explains why breastfeeding is healthy for both mothers and infants and how it can benefit society as a whole and discusses how to support a mother's decision to breastfeed. Illustrations are included.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office on Women's Health, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Room 712E, Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (800) 690-7650 Fax: (202) 205-2631 Web Site: http://www.womenshealth.gov Available from the web site.

Keywords: Breastfeeding: Breastfeeding promotion, Decision making, Educational materials, Infant health, Low literacy materials, Social support, Women's health

Toggle Details

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office on Women's Health. 2011. Your guide to breastfeeding for African American women. Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office on Women's Health, 47 pp.

Annotation: This document provides guidance on breastfeeding for African American women. Topics include the health benefits of breastfeeding for infants and women, finding support and information, how breast milk is made, steps to take before giving birth, learning to breastfeed, common challenges and questions, breastfeeding and special situations, pumping and milk storage, going back to work, nutrition and fitness, and handling stress. Tear-out tools are included.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office on Women's Health, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Room 712E, Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (800) 690-7650 Fax: (202) 205-2631 Web Site: http://www.womenshealth.gov Available from the web site.

Keywords: Blacks, Breastfeeding, Breastfeeding promotion, Educational materials, Families, Infants, Mothers, Women's health

Toggle Details

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. 2009. Novel H1N1 Flu (Swine Flu) and feeding your baby: What parents should know. Atlanta, GA: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention,

Annotation: This fact sheet identifies the H1N1 flu virus, and answers questions about protecting a baby from the virus, feeding a baby when the mother is sick, breastfeeding when the mother or baby is sick, and taking medicine and feeding.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30333, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: cdc@cdcinfo.gov Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Infant nutrition, Infants, Influenza, Mothers

Toggle Details

National SIDS / Infant Death Resource Center. 2009. Safe sleep for your baby around the clock: Birth to 12 months. McLean, VA: National SIDS / Infant Death Resource Center,

Annotation: This pamphlet, which is geared toward families, provides information about how parents can reduce the risk of Sudden Infant Death Syndrome (SIDS) by providing a safe sleep environment for their infant. The pamphlet includes information about where an infant should and should not sleep, what position infants should be in when they sleep, how to make an infant's sleep area safe, bed sharing, and breastfeeding. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 Fax: (202) 784-9777 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: http://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Consumer education materials, Infant health, Infant mortality, Prevention programs, SIDS, Safety, Sleep positions

Toggle Details

WithinReach. 2009. Breastfeeding, baby's best start. [Seattle, WA]: WithinReach, 2 pp.

Annotation: This brochure for consumers provides information about why breastfeeding is important.Information about the benefits of breastfeeding is provided, along with tips for successful breastfeeding. The brochure also offers guidelines for storing breastmilk and a family health hotline number that people may call to find out about breastfeeding resources and to determine if they are eligible for WIC. The brochure is available in English, Spanish, Russian, and Vietnamese.

Contact: WithinReach , 155 North East 100th Street, Suite 500, Seattle, WA 98125, Telephone: (800) 322-2588 Secondary Telephone: (206) 284-2465 Fax: (206) 270-8891 E-mail: info@withinreachwa.org Web Site: http://withinreachwa.org

Keywords: Asian language materials, Breastfeeding, Breastfeeding promotion, Brochures, Consumer education materials, Infant health, Low income groups, Non English language materials, Spanish language materials, WIC

Toggle Details

Philadelphia Department of Public Health, Division of Maternal, Child, and Family Health. 2008. My breastfeeding plan. Philadelphia, PA: Philadelphia Department of Public Health, Division of Maternal, Child, and Family Health, 2 pp.

Annotation: This brochure provides a guide to help a mother get ready to breastfeed. It describes eating and elimination of a healthy term baby, and lists what a mother should do before her baby is born, in the hospital, and after the baby is born. It is available in Albanian, Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Haitian Creole, Hindi, Indonesian, Khmer, Korean, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, and Vietnamese.

Contact: Philadelphia Department of Public Health, Division of Maternal, Child, and Family Health, 1101 Market Street, Ninth Floor, Philadelphia, PA 19107, Telephone: (215) 685-5225 Fax: (215) 685-5257 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.phila.gov/health/mcfh/

Keywords: Asian language materials, Breastfeeding, Consumer education materials, Non English language materials, Spanish language materials

Toggle Details

WithinReach. 2008. Breastmilk: Protection for your baby. [Seattle, WA]: WithinReach, 2 pp.

Annotation: This brochure for consumers provides information about how breastmilk can protect mothers and infants against the harmful effects of some chemicals, including toxic flame retardants (PBDEs). The brochure explains what PBDEs are and where they are found, discusses what PBDEs do, explain why scientists study breastmlk, and discusses why breastfeeding is protective. Other ways to reduce the risk of harm from toxic chemicals are also presented. The brochure is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: WithinReach , 155 North East 100th Street, Suite 500, Seattle, WA 98125, Telephone: (800) 322-2588 Secondary Telephone: (206) 284-2465 Fax: (206) 270-8891 E-mail: info@withinreachwa.org Web Site: http://withinreachwa.org Available at no charge; also available from the website.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Breastfeeding promotion, Brochures, Chemicals, Consumer education materials, Environmental exposure, Infant health, Prevention, Spanish language materials, Women's health

Toggle Details

Allegheny County Health Department. 2006 (ca.). Breastfeeding check list. Pittsburgh, PA: Allegheny County Health Department, 2 pp.

Annotation: This breastfeeding checklist provides a list of points that can help determine whether breastfeeding is going well. Points are divided into the following categories: (1) mom and breastfeeding, (2) positioning, (3) latch on, and (4) baby and breastfeeding.

Contact: Allegheny County Health Department, Bureau of Policy Development and Assessment, 3333 Forbes Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15213, Telephone: (412) 687-ACHD Fax: (412) 578-8325 Web Site: http://www.achd.net/pda/index.html Available from the website.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Consumer education materials, Infant health, Mothers

Toggle Details

Ryan RS, Auletta D. 2006. Breastfeeding: Your priceless gift to your baby and yourself. Prescott, AZ: Hohm Press, ca. 60 pp. (Family health series)

Annotation: This book provides information about why breastfeeding is the healthiest way to feed infants—for both infants and mothers. The book provides 20 reasons that support breastfeeding. Each reason is presented in brief, easy-to-understand text and is accompanied by a color or black-and-white photos of infants breastfeeding in various different settings. Mothers and babies of different races and cultures are shown. The book is also available on CD-ROM in Englsh and Spanish.

Contact: Hohm Press, P.O. Box 2501, Prescott, AZ 86302, Telephone: (800) 381-2700 Fax: (928) 717-1779 E-mail: Elyse_April@yahoo.com Web Site: http://www.HohmPress.com First copy available at no charge; additional copies (2-44) available at $5.97 plus shipping and handling; quantity discounts also available. Document Number: ISBN 1-890772-59-3.

Keywords: Breastfeeding promotion, CD-ROMs, Infant health, Parent child relations, Spanish language materials, Women's health

Toggle Details

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office on Women's Health. 2006. An easy guide to breastfeeding. Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office on Women's Health, 24 pp.

Annotation: This booklet, which is geared toward new or expectant mothers, provides breastfeeding information and encourages women to breastfeed. The booklet explains the benefits of breastfeeding for mothers, infants, and society, and also provides frequently asked questions and answers about breastfeeding. This booklet is available in English, Spanish, and Chinese. Companion items are available for Afican American women and American Indian and Alaska Native families.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office on Women's Health, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Room 712E, Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (800) 690-7650 Fax: (202) 205-2631 Web Site: http://www.womenshealth.gov Available from the web site.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Health promotion, Infant health, Non English language materials, Spanish language materials

Toggle Details

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office on Women's Health. 2006. An easy guide to breastfeeding for American Indians and Alaska Native families. Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office on Women's Health, 27 pp.

Annotation: This guide, which is geared toward Alaska Native and Native American women, deals with the following breastfeeding-related issues: (1) benefits of breastfeeding, (2) risks associated with not breastfeeding, (3) answers to breastfeeding questions, (4) where to go for help, and (5) tips for breastfeeding success. The booklet includes charts and tables.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office on Women's Health, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Room 712E, Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (800) 690-7650 Fax: (202) 205-2631 Web Site: http://www.womenshealth.gov Available from the web site.

Keywords: Alaska natives, American Indians, Breastfeeding, Consumer education materials, Families, Infants, Mothers

Toggle Details

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office on Women's Health. 2006. An easy guide to breastfeeding for American Indians and Alaska Native families. Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office on Women's Health, 27 pp.

Annotation: This guide, which is geared toward Alaska Native and Native American women, deals with the following breastfeeding-related issues: (1) benefits of breastfeeding, (2) risks associated with not breastfeeding, (3) answers to breastfeeding questions, (4) where to go for help, and (5) tips for breastfeeding success. The booklet includes charts and tables.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office on Women's Health, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Room 712E, Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (800) 690-7650 Fax: (202) 205-2631 Web Site: http://www.womenshealth.gov Available from the web site.

Keywords: Alaska natives, American Indians, Breastfeeding, Consumer education materials, Families, Infants, Mothers

Toggle Details

Barber K. 2005. The black woman's guide to breastfeeding: The definitive guide to nursing for African American mothers. Naperville, Il: Sourcebooks, 256 pp.

Annotation: This book for ocnsumers focuses on the importance of breastfeeding for the African American mother and her infant. Chapter topics include the benefits of breastfeeding, barriers such as beliefs and other interpersonal issues, tips for successful breastfeeding, including the father in the experience, stress and going back to work, the truth about breastfeeding myths, the African American breastfeeding heritage, issues in self-empowerment, and breastfeeding culture and politics. Additional sections provide information on resources for further support and state laws on breastfeeding . A bibliography and an index are also provided.

Contact: Sourcebooks, 1935 Brookdale Road, Suite 139, Naperville, IL 60563, Telephone: (630) 961-3900 Secondary Telephone: (800) 432-7444 Fax: (630) 961-2168 E-mail: info@sourcebooks.com Web Site: http://www.sourcebooks.com $12.95, plus shipping and handling. Document Number: ISBN 1-4022-0345-4.

Keywords: Advocacy, Barriers, Blacks, Breastfeeding, Child health, Consumer education materials, Health promotion, Infant nutrition, Infants, Maternal health, Maternal nutrition

Toggle Details

National Women's Health Information Center. 2004. Breastfeeding: Best for baby, best for mom. Fairfax, VA: National Women's Health Information Center, 41 pp.

Annotation: This document, which is geared toward new mothers, provides practical information about why breastfeeding is important for mothers and infants and about how to breastfeed successfully. The document answers common questions about breastfeeding, discusses the benefits of breastfeeding, explains how breast milk is produced and how lifestyle affects breast milk, discusses proper positioning for breastfeeding, offers suggestions for coping with breastfeeding challenges, and talks about human milk banks. The fact sheets are available in English, Spanish, and Chinese.

Contact: National Women's Health Information Center, 8270 Willow Oaks Corporate Drive, Fairfax, VA 22031, Telephone: (800) 994-9662 Secondary Telephone: (888) 220-5446 Fax: (703) 560-6598 Web Site: http://www.womenshealth.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Asian language materials, Breast engorgement, Breast infections, Breast pumps, Breastfeeding, Breastfeeding promotion, Breastfeeding promotion programs, Infant health, Maternal health, Spanish language materials

Toggle Details

Torgus J, Gotsch G. 2004. The womanly art of breastfeeding. (7th rev. ed.). New York, NY: Plume/Penguin Group, 463 pp.

Annotation: This book for consumers from the La Leche League International promotes breastfeeding as the best feeding alternative for infants and their mothers. It discusses why to choose breastfeeding; planning for breastfeeding including birth issues, support networks, and what to wear; early months with the baby, the first feeding, how milk is produced and delivered, leaving the hospital and going home, caring for baby and mother, and common concerns in breastfeeding. Additional sections of the book focus on going back to work, life as a family, milestones in baby's development, special situations, why breast is best, and mothers helping mothers. Appendices include further resources for breastfeeding information, equipment, organizations, Web sites, the Marmet technique of manual expression, and selected references. An index is also provided,

Contact: Penguin Group Inc. , 375 Hudson Street, New York, NY 10014, Telephone: (212) 366-2000 Web Site: http://us.penguingroup.com $18.00. plus shipping and handling. Document Number: ISBN 0-452-28580-1.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Breastfeeding promotion, Child development, Consumer education materials, Infant development, Infant health, Infant nutrition, Lactation, Maternal health, Support groups

Toggle Details

U.S. Food and Nutrition Service. [2003]. Food stamps make America stronger. [Alexandria, VA]: U.S. Food and Nutrition Service, 32 items.

Annotation: This information package contains a variety of materials about the Food Stamp Program (FSP). The package is intended to facilitate communication efforts to reach out to people who may be eligible for enrollment in the FSP but are not yet participating. Materials include information sheets about the FSP; brochures and booklets about the FSP related issues such as breastfeeding, healthy snacks, and nutrition during pregnancy; and posters. Some of the materials are available in Spanish.

Contact: U.S. Food and Nutrition Service, 3101 Park Center Drive, Alexandria, VA 22302, Web Site: http://www.fns.usda.gov/fns Available at no charge.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Eligibility, Enrollment, Food Stamp Program, Low income groups, Needy families, Nutrition, Outreach, Pregnancy, Snacks, Spanish language materials

Toggle Details

United States Breastfeeding Committee. 2003. State breastfeeding legislation. Raleigh, NC: United States Breastfeeding Committee, 8 pp.

Annotation: This report discusses legislation that can play a role in promotion breastfeeding. The following topics are discussed: (1) breastfeeding in public, (2) employment issues, (3) jury duty, (4) family law situations, (5) mothers in prison, (6) education, training, and licensure, (7) milk banks, (8) international code of marketing breastmilk substitutes, and (9) breastfeeding equipment and supplies. The report includes a conclusion and endnotes. The report concludes with a state-by-state list of enacted breastfeeding legislation as of January 29, 2003. Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: United States Breastfeeding Committee, 2025 M Street, N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 367-1132 Fax: (202) 367-2132 E-mail: office@usbreastfeeding.org Web Site: http://www.usbreastfeeding.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Breast pumps, Breastfeeding, Breastfeeding promotion, Education, Employment, Families, Infant formula, Infant health, Legislation, Licensing, Training, Women's health

Toggle Details

California Department of Public Health. Breastfeeding and healthy living: Resources for breastfeeding promotion among the African American community. Sacramento, CA: California Department of Public Health,

Annotation: This Web site hosts text, links, and multimedia resources on breastfeeding benefits, methods, myths and facts, as well as breastfeeding advocacy materials, materials for fathers, and links to similar organizations. Materials include brochures for families, a rap DVD and other videos available for purchase, and free videos and materials from the WIC program.

Contact: California Department of Public Health, Sacramento, CA Telephone: (916) 558-1784 Web Site: http://www.cdph.ca.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Advocacy, Audiovisual materials, Blacks, Breastfeeding, Breastfeeding promotion programs, Consumer education materials, Infant nutrition, Infants, Information networks, Multimedia

Return to Previous Page | Go To Cross-Database Search | Advanced MCHLine® Search