Search the Databases

Search
Advanced Search

Site Tools

Partner Projects

 

Bibliography of Materials from MCHLine®

This bibliography of 13 items is drawn from MCHLine®, the MCH Library online catalog. It includes selected materials published in the last ten years that focus on the HIV virus and pregnant women. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Library. To identify additional materials on this topic, search MCHLine® using our online search form.

The MCH Library focuses on publications from federal and state agencies, from grantees of federal and state agencies, and from professional and voluntary organizations. It contains unique materials on the history of maternal and child health in the United States, policy papers, reports, conference proceedings, manuals, survey instruments, guidelines, and curricula. The library does not collect materials on clinical medicine. Consumer health materials and commercially published materials are collected very selectively.

Displaying 13 records.
Toggle Details

March of Dimes Birth Defects Foundation. 2010. HIV and AIDS in pregnancy. [White Plains, NY]: March of Dimes, (Preconception risk reduction)

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about HIV and AIDS during pregnancy. The fact sheet offers background information and answers questions about HIV and AIDS during pregnancy, included who should be tested, what types of treatment are available, symptoms of AIDS in infants, and steps women can take to remain uninfected. References are included.

Contact: March of Dimes, 1275 Mamaroneck Avenue, White Plains, NY 10605, Telephone: (914) 997-4488 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: Web Site: http://www.marchofdimes.com Available from the website.

Keywords: AIDS, HIV, Pediatric AIDS, Pregnancy, Prevention, Screening tests, Treatment

Toggle Details

Panel on Treatment of HIV-Infected Pregnant Women and Prevention of Perinatal Transmission. 2010. Recommendahions for use of antiretroviral drugs in pregnant HIV-1-infected women for maternal health and interventions to reduce perinatal HIV transmission in the United States. Rockville, MD: AIDSinfo, 156 pp.

Annotation: These guidelines provide health professionals with information for discussion with HIV-infected pregnant women to enable the patient-health professional team to make informed decisions about the use of antiretroviral drugs during pregnancy and the use of elective Cesarean delivery to reduce perinatal HIV transmission. The recommendations in the guidelines are accompanied by discussion of various circumstances that commonly occur in clinical practice and the factors influencing treatment considerations. Topics include (1) lessons learns from clinical trials of antiretroviral interventions to reduce perinatal transmission of HIV, (2) preconception counseling and care for HIV-infected women of childbearing age, (3) antepartum care, (4) intrapartum care, (5) postpartum care, and (6) neonatal postnatal care.

Contact: AIDSinfo, P.O. Box 6303, Rockville, MD 20849-6303, Telephone: (800) 448-0440 Secondary Telephone: (888) 480-3739 Fax: (301) 315-2818 E-mail: ContactUs@aidsinfo.nih.gov Web Site: http://aidsinfo.nih.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Cesarean section, Counseling, Disease transmission, Guidelines, HIV infected patients, Pediatric HIV, Physician patient relations, Postnatal care, Postpartum care, Preconception care, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Prevention, Treatment

Toggle Details

Britton K, Yager A, Welsh TL, Pankow M (Eds.). 2009. HIV testing: Pregnant women and newborns. New York, NY: HIV Law Project, 5 pp.

Annotation: This report analyzes legislated HIV testing systems for pregnant women and newborns focusing on the currently popular opt-out model recommended by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and pursued by most states. Specifically, it debates the claims of testing success with the opt-out model, how mandatory testing violates individual rights, and why opt-out testing is inherently problematic. The report makes brief recommendations to improve the HIV testing system.

Contact: HIV Law Project, 15 Maiden Lane, 18th Floor, New York, NY 10038, Telephone: (212) 577-3001 Fax: (212) 577-3192 E-mail: info@hivlawproject.org Web Site: http://www.hivlawproject.org Available from the website.

Keywords: HIV, HIV screening, Infants, Perinatal care, Pregnant women, Prenatal care

Toggle Details

Gross E. 2009. What women need to know: The HIV treatment guidelines for pregnant women. Newark, NJ: National Pediatric and Family HIV Resource Center, 21 pp.

Annotation: Written in a question and answer format, this guide provides information to women with HIV infection who are pregnant. It discusses therapy recommendations from the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention to improve maternal health and reduce perinatal HIV transmission. A short glossary is included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: AIDS Education and Training Centers National Resource Center, University of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey, School of Nursing, Francois-Xavier Bagnoud Center, 30 Bergen Street, Eighth Floor, Newark, NJ 07107, Telephone: (973) 972-6587 Fax: (973) 972-0399 E-mail: info@aidsetc.org Web Site: http://www.aidsetc.org $4.95.

Keywords: Guidelines, HIV, Maternal health, Pamphlets, Perinatal health, Pregnant women, Therapeutics

Toggle Details

Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs. 2007. Toward universal HIV screening for pregnant women. Washington, DC: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 2 pp. (Policy brief)

Annotation: This policy brief focuses on progress toward making HIV screening universal for pregnant women. The brief discusses policy milestons related to achieving this goal, the role of maternal and child health, and recommendations. Endnotes are included.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 2030 M Street, N.W., Suite 350, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 775-0061 E-mail: info@amchp.org Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

Keywords: Child health, HIV screening, Pregnant women, Public policy, Women's health

Toggle Details

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. 2007. Mother-to-child (perinatal) HIV transmission and prevention. Atlanta, GA: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 5 pp. (CDC HIV/AIDS fact sheet)

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about mother-to-child transmission of HIV, and how to prevent such transmission. The fact sheet provides an overview of the issue and discusses statistics, risk factors and barriers to prevention, and prevention. Statistical information is presented in figures. References are included.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30333, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: cdc@cdcinfo.gov Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Disease transmission, HIV, Infant health, Pediatric HIV, Prevention

Toggle Details

Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs. 2005. Perinatal HIV Prevention Action Learning Lab: Lessons learned. Washington, DC: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 12 pp.

Annotation: This report summarizes the experiences of state teams that participated in the the Association of Maternal and Child Health Program's Action Learning Lab (ALL) to reduce HIV transmission from mother to child. The purpose of the ALL is to promote collaboration among diverse state programs to address a public health issue. The report presents the experience of ALLs held in several different states. For each state, the following information is provided: a project overview, expected results, a list of key partners, accomplishments, lessons learned, what worked, what didn't work, and what the team would do differently in the future. Contact information is also supplied.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 2030 M Street, N.W., Suite 350, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 775-0061 E-mail: info@amchp.org Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

Keywords: Collaboration, Community programs, Disease transmission, HIV, Infant health, Model programs, Public health, State programs, Women's health

Toggle Details

Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs. 2005. Perinatal HIV prevention action learning lab: Lessons learned. Washington, DC: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 11 pp. (AMCHP report)

Annotation: This report discusses the Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs (AMCHP) -sponsored Action Learning Labs (ALL) to develop action plans to reduce HIV transmission from mother to child. The report records ALL team members' subjective experiences of their projects. Information is presented for ALLs in eight states: Florida, Illinois, New York, North Carolina, Pennsylvania, Texas, Utah, and Virginia. For each state, the following topics are addressed: (1) project overview, (2) expected results, (3) key partners, (4) accomplishments, (5) lessons learned, (6) what worked, (7) what didn't, and (8) what would the team do differently in the future. Contact information is also provided. The report concludes with AMCHP observations, results, conclusions, and public health implications.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 2030 M Street, N.W., Suite 350, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 775-0061 E-mail: info@amchp.org Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

Keywords: Florida, HIV, Illinois, Infants, New York, North Carolina, Pediatric HIV, Pennsylvania, Perinatal care, Pregnant women, Prevention, Public health, State MCH programs, Texas, Utah, Virginia

Toggle Details

CityMatCH. 2005. Preventing perinatal transmission of HIV AIDS. Omaha, NE: CityMatCH, (Emerging issues in maternal and child health)

Annotation: This webcast on the prevention of the perinatal transition of HIV AIDS was held on February 17, 2005. The webcast featured three presenters: (1) Margaret Lampe, from the Division of HIV/AIDS Prevention-Epidemiology, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, who discussed Rapid HIV-1 testing for women in labor with unknown HIV status; (2) Ana Rua-Dobles, from the HUG-Me Program in Orlando, FL, who presented on the perinatal nurse's role in the prevention of HIV vertical transmission; and (3) Jackie Nash, Regional HIV/AIDS Prevention Coordinator, Duval County Health Dept. in Jacksonville, FL, who talked about Florida's Targeted Outreach for Pregnant Women Act Program (TOPWA). The complete audio recording, along with all three powerpoint presentations, are available online. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170, Telephone: (402) 552-9500 E-mail: citymch@unmc.edu Web Site: http://www.citymatch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Multimedia, AIDS, Disease prevention, Disease transmission, Florida, HIV, HIV screening, Infant health, Maternal health, Perinatal influences, Pregnancy complications, Prenatal care, State programs

Toggle Details

Hitti JE, Melvin AJ, Taylor P, Goldman DC, O'Brien-Abel N (Eds.). 2005. Screening and management of maternal HIV infection: Implications for mother and infant. (Rev. ed.). Seattle, WA: University of Washington, Northwest Regional Perinatal Program and Department of Pediatrics; Olympia, WA: Washington State Department of Health, 65 pp.

Annotation: This handbook describes best practices to help with the continuing effort to prevent HIV infection in women and infants. Topics include HIV counseling and testing during pregnancy; perinatal transmission risk; diagnostic tests; Centers for Disease Control and Prevention's classification of disease; HIV reporting requirements; medications and treatment during pregnancy, labor, delivery and postpartum; newborn treatment; and consultation and referral information. Four appendices provide a resource directory, a listing of local health jurisdictions in Washington state, free regional and national telephone consultation resources, and Web sites. References conclude the handbook.

Contact: Washington State Department of Health, P.O. Box 47890, Olympia, WA 98504-7890, Telephone: (800) 525-0127 Secondary Telephone: (360) 236-4030 Web Site: http://www.doh.wa.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Childbirth, Consultation, Counseling, Diagnostic tests, HIV, HIV screening, Labor, Medicine, Newborns, Perinatal care, Postpartum care, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Referral, Resource materials, Women's health

Toggle Details

Peck MG, Abreasch CJ, Simpson PS (Eds.). 2005. Profiles of perinatal HIV prevention: Urban communities share their efforts to prevention mother-to-child transmission of HIV. Omaha, NE: CityMatCH, 44 pp.

Annotation: This publication, which is designed for use by communities as a starting point to implement local systems to prevent perinatal HIV transmission, introduces the Urban Prevention Collaborative (UPC) and the Urban Learning Network, both of which work toward prevention of perinatal HIV transmission. Themes and recommendations from the UPC are presented, along with commentary from City MatCH. A table of prevention strategies is included, and descriptions of programs run by health departments in several states are presented. The publication includes one appendix: a CityMatCH mapping AIDS prevention strategies overview.

Contact: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170, Telephone: (402) 552-9500 E-mail: citymch@unmc.edu Web Site: http://www.citymatch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Community programs, Disease transmission, HIV, Perinatal influences, Prevention, Urban MCH programs

Toggle Details

Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs. 2004. Perinatal HIV prevention: A survey of the states. Washington, DC: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 4 pp. (AMCHP report)

Annotation: This report discusses a survey of state Title V directors conducted by the Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs on perinatal HIV prevention, funding and partnerships, primary prevention strategies, barriers and challenges, and technical assistance needs. The report discusses the survey methodology, results, and limitations, and provides conclusions and recommendations. Endnotes are included.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 2030 M Street, N.W., Suite 350, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 775-0061 E-mail: info@amchp.org Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

Keywords: Barriers, Financing, HIV, Infants, Pediatric HIV, Perinatal care, Pregnant women, Prevention, State MCH programs, Surveys, Title V programs

Toggle Details

Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs. 2004. Preventing HIV transmission from mother to child. Washington, DC: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 2 pp. (AMCHP fact sheet)

Annotation: This fact sheet explores the issues involved in eliminating HIV transmission from mother to child, during pregnancy, childbirth, or breastfeeding. Topics include strategies for preventing perinatal HIV transmission, promising new technology in rapid HIV testing, and how the Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs is working with others.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 2030 M Street, N.W., Suite 350, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 775-0061 E-mail: info@amchp.org Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

Keywords: Disease prevention, HIV, HIV screening, Infant health, Maternal health, Perinatal health, Pregnancy

Return to Previous Page | Go To Cross-Database Search | Advanced MCHLine® Search