Search the Databases

Search
Advanced Search

Site Tools

Partner Projects

 

Bibliography of Materials from MCHLine®

This bibliography of 74 items is drawn from MCHLine®, the MCH Library online catalog. This bibliography includes selected materials published in the last ten years that focus specifically on adolescent pregnancy prevention. Materials on abstinence-only education and sexuality education are covered in separate bibliographies. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Library. To identify additional materials on this topic, search MCHLine® using our online search form.

The MCH Library focuses on publications from federal and state agencies, from grantees of federal and state agencies, and from professional and voluntary organizations. It contains unique materials on the history of maternal and child health in the United States, policy papers, reports, conference proceedings, manuals, survey instruments, guidelines, and curricula. The library does not collect materials on clinical medicine. Consumer health materials and commercially published materials are collected very selectively.

Displaying 74 records.
Toggle Details

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. 2013. Reducing teen pregnancy in the United States. Atlanta, GA: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1 video (60 min.). (Public health grand rounds)

Annotation: This webcast focuses on reducing adolescent pregnancy in the United States. The speakers discuss ramifications of adolescent pregnancy and ways of preventing it and the roles of public health programs, parents, and health professionals in the effort. Progress in reducing adolescent pregnancy rates worldwide as well as the Centers of Disease Control and Prevention's efforts are discussed. The speakers also provide statistics related to adolescent pregnancy in the United States.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30333, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: cdc@cdcinfo.gov Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescent parents, Adolescent pregnancy, Communication, Contraception, Costs, Education, High risk adolescents, Low income groups, Parent child relations, Prevention, Programs, Public health, Statistical data

Toggle Details

Colman S, Dee TS, Joyce TJ. 2013. Do parental involvement laws deter risky teen sex?. Cambridge, MA: National Bureau of Economic Research, 43 pp.

Annotation: This paper addresses the question of whether laws requiring that physicians notify or obtain consent from a parent of a minor seeking an abortion before performing the procedure deter risky adolescent sexual behavior. Drawing on multiple data sources, the paper seeks to reconcile the disparate findings in the existing literature and to provide new and comprehensive evidence on the association between parental involvement (PI) laws and rates of sexually transmitted infections (STIs) in adolescents. Topics include abortion access and risky sexual activity among adolescents, data and samples, methods, and estimated impacts of PI laws on STIs.

Contact: National Bureau of Economic Research, 1050 Massachusetts Avenue, Cambridge, MA 02138-5398, Telephone: (617) 868-3900 Fax: (617) 868-2742 E-mail: info@nber.org Web Site: http://www.nber.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Abortion, Access to health care, Adolescent behavior, Adolescent sexuality, Consent, Health services, Parents, Legislation, Prevention, Risk taking, Sexually transmitted diseases, Statistical data

Toggle Details

Kirby D, Coyle K, Alton F, Rolleri L, Robin L. 2011. Reducing adolescent sexual risk: A theoretical guide for developing and adapting curriculum-based programs. Scotts Valley, CA: ETR Associates, 149 pp.

Annotation: This book is designed to help reproductive health professionals, educators, and others design, adapt, and select curricula that focus on risk and protective factors related to sexual risk behavior while using instructional principles most likely to improve health outcomes. The book is structured around risk and protective factors most likely to be changed by a curriculum­based program. Each chapter focuses on a different risk or protective factor, summarizing the available evidence showing how the factor affects sexual behavior and discussing relevant behavior change theory and instructional principles for improving the factor. The book describes how to create logic models and learning objectives, how to increase knowledge. improve perceptions of risk, address attitudes, values, and beliefs, and increase parent-child communication about sex. The examples in this book come from activities used primarily with middle or high school­aged youth.

Contact: ETR Associates, 4 Carbonero Way, Scotts Valley, CA 95066-4200, Telephone: (831) 438-4060 Secondary Telephone: (800) 321-4407 Fax: (800) 435-8433 E-mail: customerservic@eta.org Web Site: http://www.etr.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent sexuality, Curricula, Curriculum development, Prevention, Risk factors, Sexual behavior, Sexual health, Sexuality education

Toggle Details

Lorenzo SB. 2011. Teen pregnancy prevention: Resources for families. (Upd. ed.). Washington, DC: Maternal and Child Health Library, Georgetown University,

Annotation: This resource brief helps families find resources about health care for teens and websites for parents, caregivers, and teens about teen pregnancy prevention. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 Fax: (202) 784-9777 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: http://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Abstinence, Adolescent health, Adolescent pregnancy, Bibliographies, Contraception, Electronic publications, Families, Pregnant adolescents, Prevention, Sexuality education, Unplanned pregnancy

Toggle Details

Manlove J, Welti K, McCoy-Roth M, Berger A, Malm K. 2011. Teen parents in foster care: Risk factors and outcomes for teens and their children. Washington, DC: Child Trends, 9 pp. (Research brief)

Annotation: This report reviews the existing research literature on adolescents in foster care to assess the extent to which adolescents in foster care are at risk of adolescent pregnancy and parenting. The report highlights the various risk factors and identifies the challenges faced in efforts to reduce rates of adolescent pregnancy and childbearing and to prevent negative outcomes among adolescent parents in foster care and their children.

Contact: Child Trends, 7315 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1200W, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (240) 223-9200 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.childtrends.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent mothers, Adolescent pregnancy, Data analysis, Foster children, Research reviews, Risk factors

Toggle Details

National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, Division of Reproductive Health. 2011. Preventing teen pregnancy in the U.S.. Atlanta, GA: National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, Division of Reproductive Health, 4 pp. (CDC vital signs)

Annotation: This fact sheet about preventing and reducing adolescent pregnancy in the United States provides an introduction to the issue; presents the latest findings on adolescent pregnancy prevention; discusses who is at the highest risk; provides information about adolescent birthrates by state; explains what the government is doing to address the problem, what parents can do, and what adolescents can do; and provides code that allows users to place Centers for Disease Control and Prevention buttons to web pages.

Contact: National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, Division of Reproductive Health, 4770 Buford Highway, N.E., MS K-20, Atlanta, GA 30341-3717, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: (770) 488-4760 E-mail: http://www.cdc.gov/reproductivehealth/ContactUs.htm Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/reproductivehealth Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent attitudes, Adolescent behavior, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent sexuality, High risk groups, Mass media, Parents, Prevention, Research

Toggle Details

National Campaign to Prevent Teen Pregnancy. [2010]. Talking back: Ten things teens want parents to know about teen pregnancy. Washington, DC: National Campaign to Prevent Teen Pregnancy, 16 pp.

Annotation: This brochure, aimed at parents, lists ten important tips regarding what adolescents want parents to know about how to help them prevent adolescent pregnancy. Also included in this brochure are references for adolescent sexuality and communication-related resources. This publication is available in both English and Spanish.

Contact: National Campaign to Prevent Teen and Unplanned Pregnancy, 1776 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 478-8500 Fax: (202) 478-8588 E-mail: campaign@teenpregnancy.org Web Site: http://www.thenationalcampaign.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent sexuality, Parent education, Prevention programs, Spanish language materials

Toggle Details

National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, Division of Reproductive Health. [2010]. Preventing teen pregnancy 2010-2015. [Atlanta, GA]: National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, Division of Reproductive Health, 4 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet provides an overview of teen pregnancy in the United States and discusses the importance of prevention due to the substantial social and economic costs and the impact on teen parents and children over time. The fact sheet provides statistics on pregnancy, birth, and abortion rates among young women for the years 1991-2008, and provides data on teen birth rates for by race and ethnicity for the period 2005-2008. The fact sheet also lists a set of protective factors typically addressed in evidence-based teen pregnancy prevention programs.

Contact: National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, Division of Reproductive Health, 4770 Buford Highway, N.E., MS K-20, Atlanta, GA 30341-3717, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: (770) 488-4760 E-mail: http://www.cdc.gov/reproductivehealth/ContactUs.htm Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/reproductivehealth Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Data, Prevention, Prevention programs, Statistics, Trends

Toggle Details

Fuentes L, Bayetti Flores V, Gonzalez-Rojas J. 2010. Removing stigma: Towards a complete understanding of young Latinas' sexual health. New York, NY: National Latina Institute for Reproductive Health, 10 pp.

Annotation: This report reviews recent research on adolescent sexuality and reproductive health, sets forth a reproductive justice framework for advancing the sexual health of Latina adolescents, and describes policy approaches that make healthy decisions possible and rewarding, so Latinas and all women can have healthy adolescent years, avoid pregnancy and birth when they want to, and have healthy pregnancies and children when and if they choose to become mothers.

Contact: National Latina Institute for Reproductive Health, 50 Broad Street, Suite 1825, New York, NY 10004, Telephone: (212) 422-2553 Fax: (212) 422-2556 E-mail: NLIRH@LatinaInstitute.org Web Site: http://www.latinainstitute.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent females, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescents, Female children, Hispanic Americans, Pregnancy prevention, Reproductive health, Sexual health, Young women

Toggle Details

National Campaign to Prevent Teen Pregnancy. 2010. What works: Curriculum-based programs that prevent teen pregnancy. Washington, DC: National Campaign to Prevent Teen Pregnancy, 26 pp.

Annotation: This document provides a list of programs that have been evaluated and found to be successful in changing adolescent sexual behavior, including delaying sexual initiation, improving contraceptive use, and reducing adolescent pregnancy. For each program, the document lists selected program effects, contact information, and links to additional program and evaluation information. The document offers advice on how to choose a program, catalogs the characteristics of effective programs, and offers some words of caution about what an effective program actually can accomplish.

Contact: National Campaign to Prevent Teen and Unplanned Pregnancy, 1776 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 478-8500 Fax: (202) 478-8588 E-mail: campaign@teenpregnancy.org Web Site: http://www.thenationalcampaign.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Prevention programs, Resources for professionals, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent sexuality, Brochures, Intervention, Program descriptions

Toggle Details

Tennessee District Attorneys General Conference. [2010. What's the rush?: Don't be a teen parent. [Nashville, TN]: Tennessee Department of Health, Tennessee Department of Human Services, Tennessee Department of Education,

Annotation: This website provides information about What's the Rush?, a statewide initiative of the Tennessee District Attorneys General Conference aimed at raising awareness of the legal, financial, and social consequences of becoming an adolescent parent. The website provides downloadable resources and a list of initiative partners.

Contact: Tennessee District Attorneys General Conference, 226 Capitol Boulevard, Suite 800, Nashville, TN 37243, Telephone: (615) 741-1696 Fax: (615) 741-7459 E-mail: contact@tndagc.org Web Site: http://www.tndagc.com Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent attitudes, Adolescent behavior, Adolescent parents, Adolescent pregnancy, Prevention, Resource materials, State initiatives, Tennessee

Toggle Details

Healthy Teen Network. [2009]. Helping teens stay healthy and safe: Health care, contraception, and confidential services. Baltimore, MD: Healthy Teen Network, (Fast facts)

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information on the provision of confidential contraceptive services as an essential part of comprehensive health care and pregnancy prevention for adolescents. Contents include statistics; research findings; and information on professional organization policies and state and federal laws that help to ensure adolescents' access to contraceptive services and provide confidentiality protections. The fact sheet also provides information and tips for adolescent on rights and expectations, consenting to care, and confidentiality. Organizational resources and references are included.

Contact: Healthy Teen Network, 1501 Saint Paul Street, Suite 124, Baltimore, MD 21202, Telephone: (410) 685-0410 Fax: (410) 687-0481 E-mail: Janet@healthyteennetwork.org Web Site: http://www.healthyteennetwork.org/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescents, Confidentiality, Consent, Contraception, Pregnancy, Preventive health services, Reproductive rights

Toggle Details

National Campaign to Prevent Teen and Unplanned Pregnancy with Pathways/Senderos Center. 2009 (ca.). Thinking about our future: Latino teens speak out about teen pregnancy. Washington, DC: National Campaign to Prevent Teen and Unplanned Pregnancy, 12 pp.

Annotation: This pamphlet, which is geared toward Latino adolescents, is intended to provide insights into Latino adolescents' own views about sex, pregnancy, and related issues. The pamphlet includes statistics about adolescent pregnancy and parenthood among Latinos, discusses reasons to avoid sex and pregnancy from the points of views of male Latino adolescents and female Latino adolescents, and provides three personal stories told by Latino adolescents.

Contact: National Campaign to Prevent Teen and Unplanned Pregnancy, 1776 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 478-8500 Fax: (202) 478-8588 E-mail: campaign@teenpregnancy.org Web Site: http://www.thenationalcampaign.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent attitudes, Adolescent parents, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent sexuality, Consumer education materials, Contraception, Costs, Hispanic Americans, Personal narratives, Prevention

Toggle Details

CityMatCH and National Association of County and City Health Officials. 2009. The impact of positive youth development programs on teen pregnancy prevention. Omaha, NE: CityMatCH; Washington, DC: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 72 min.

Annotation: This 72-minute webinar discusses PYD (Positive Youth Development) and evidenced-based programs that can impact teen pregnancy prevention, and features presentations by invited speakers from Healthy Teen Network, the Center for Disease Control's (CDC) Division of Adolescent Health and the Minnesota Organization on Adolescent Pregnancy Prevention and Parenting. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170, Telephone: (402) 552-9500 E-mail: citymch@unmc.edu Web Site: http://www.citymatch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescent pregnancy, Audiovisual materials, Models, Prevention programs

Toggle Details

Healthy Teen Network. 2009. Issue in brief: Youth development and teen pregnancy, STI, and HIV prevention. Baltimore, MD: Healthy Teen Network, 10 pp.

Annotation: This report describes the need for youth development programs, the trends and impacts of pregnancy and sexually transmitted infections on youth development, aspects of effective youth development programs, and seven programs proven to reduce sexual risk taking behaviors.

Contact: Healthy Teen Network, 1501 Saint Paul Street, Suite 124, Baltimore, MD 21202, Telephone: (410) 685-0410 Fax: (410) 687-0481 E-mail: Janet@healthyteennetwork.org Web Site: http://www.healthyteennetwork.org/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescents, Community programs, Model programs, Risk taking, Sexual behavior, Youth

Toggle Details

National Campaign to Prevent Teen and Unplanned Pregnancy. 2009. Science says: American Indian/Alaska Native youth and teen pregnancy prevention. Washington, DC: National Campaign to Prevent Teen and Unplanned Pregnancy, 6 pp. (Putting what works to work; no. 39)

Annotation: This research brief presents information about adolescent childbearing among Native Americans in the United States and includes information about sexual and contraceptive behavior, attitudes about sex and reproductive health, and information about potential programs for this population. Helping Native American adolescents prevent pregnancy and programs for Native American adolescents are also discussed.

Contact: National Campaign to Prevent Teen and Unplanned Pregnancy, 1776 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 478-8500 Fax: (202) 478-8588 E-mail: campaign@teenpregnancy.org Web Site: http://www.thenationalcampaign.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent attitudes, Adolescent behavior, Adolescent pregnancy, Alaska natives, American Indians, Contraceptive use, Prevention, Sexuality

Toggle Details

Sabatiuk L, Flores R. 2009. Toward a common future: Latino teens and adults speak out about teen pregnancy. Washington, DC: National Campaign to Prevent Teen and Unplanned Pregnancy, 32 pp.

Annotation: This pamphlet, which is geared toward Latino adolescents; presents perspectives on adolescent pregnancy and sexual activity in the voices of Latino adolescent males and females. Statistics about adolescent pregnancy and parenting are also provided.

Contact: National Campaign to Prevent Teen and Unplanned Pregnancy, 1776 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 478-8500 Fax: (202) 478-8588 E-mail: campaign@teenpregnancy.org Web Site: http://www.thenationalcampaign.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent attitudes, Adolescent females, Adolescent males, Adolescent parents, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent sexuality, Consumer education materials, Contraception, Hispanic Americans, Prevention

Toggle Details

Alford, S. 2008. Science and success, second edition: Sex education and other programs that work to prevent teen pregnancy, HIV, and sexually transmitted infections. Washington, DC: Advocates for Youth, 112 pp.

Annotation: This document describes 26 programs found to be effective in reducing adolescent pregnancy and sexually transmitted infections, including those that are school-based, community-based, and clinic-based. It discusses the criteria for inclusion and major program effects.

Contact: Advocates for Youth, 2000 M Street, N.W., Suite 750, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 419-3420 Fax: (202) 419-1448 Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, HIV, Model programs, Prevention, Programs, Sexuality education, Sexually transmitted diseases

Toggle Details

Card JJ, Benner T. 2008. Model programs for adolescent sexual health: Evidence-based HIV, STI, and pregnancy prevention interventions. New York, NY: Springer, 394 pp.

Annotation: This book provides a directory of effective sexual education programs in the United States, all of which are aimed at a variety of age groups, and ethnic, cultural, and sexual orientations. Each program description contains the following: an abstract, program rationale and history, schedule, materials, a description of implementation steps, and an evaluation section. Sites of the programs include schools, community settings, and medical clinics.

Contact: Springer Publishing Company, 11 West 42nd Street, 15th Floor, New York, NY 10036, Telephone: (877) 687-7476 E-mail: contactus@springerpub.com Web Site: http://www.springerpub.com/ $55.00, plus shipping and handling. Document Number: ISBN 978-082613824-8.

Keywords: Sexuality education, Adolescents, Cultural beliefs, Ethnic groups, Homosexuality, Model programs, Prevention programs, Program descriptions, Sexual behavior, Sexually transmitted diseases

Toggle Details

Healthy Teen Network. 2008. Preventing teen pregnancy among marginalized youth: Developing a policy, program, and research agenda for the future. Baltimore, MD: Healthy Teen Network, 19 pp.

Annotation: This report summarizes the discussion and consensus formed at a summit held on September 8, 2008 in which eight adolescent pregnancy experts convened to discuss prevention of adolescent pregnancy among marginalized youth. The report also describes the current state of the adolescent pregnancy field, explores new frameworks and theoretical underpinnings, and makes policy recommendations.

Contact: Healthy Teen Network, 1501 Saint Paul Street, Suite 124, Baltimore, MD 21202, Telephone: (410) 685-0410 Fax: (410) 687-0481 E-mail: Janet@healthyteennetwork.org Web Site: http://www.healthyteennetwork.org/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescents with special health care needs, High risk adolescents

Toggle Details

National Campaign to Prevent Teen Pregnancy. 2008. Ten tips for parents to help their children avoid teen pregnancy. [Rev. ed.]. Washington, DC: National Campaign to Prevent Teen Pregnancy, 28 pp.

Annotation: This brochure provides parents, and other caregivers with information about how they can play a role in helping to reduce their adolescent child's risk for becoming pregnant.

Contact: National Campaign to Prevent Teen and Unplanned Pregnancy, 1776 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 478-8500 Fax: (202) 478-8588 E-mail: campaign@teenpregnancy.org Web Site: http://www.thenationalcampaign.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Parent education, Parent participation, Pregnant adolescents, Prevention, Spanish language materials

Toggle Details

University of California, San Francisco, Bixby Center for Global Reproductive Health. 2008. A question of hope: Reducing Latina teen childbearing in California. [San Francisco, CA]: Bixby Center for Global Reproductive Health, University of California, San Francisco, DVD (22.5 min.)

Annotation: This DVD captures the insights, choices, and opportunities of young Latina women in California and their views on birth control, early childbearing, and life choices. The DVD is based on findings from a study conducted by UCSF that interviewed pregnant Latinas who would soon deliver their first child. Topics include the need for improved birth control knowledge and access; increased communication with parents and partners about sex and birth control, involving young men in pregnancy prevention efforts; and the need to give Latino youth tangible alternatives to adolescent childbearing through increased educational and career opportunities. The film is intended to be useful to policy makers, health and social services professionals, and others concerned with helping teens delay childbearing into adulthood. A four-page brochure provides background into the study and the video and suggestions are provided for how to use the video to raise awareness and discussion.

Contact: University of California, San Francisco, Bixby Center for Global Reproductive Health, 3333 California Street, Suite 335, Box 0744, San Francisco, CA 94143-0744, Telephone: (415) 502-4086 Fax: (415) 502-8479 E-mail: packerc@obgyn.ucsf.edu Web Site: http://bixbycenter.ucsf.edu Available from the website.

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Adolescent parents, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescents, Contraception, DVDs, Family planning, Parent child relations, Prevention, Sexual behavior, Sexuality education

Toggle Details

Kirby D. 2007. Emerging answers 2007: Research findings on programs to reduce teen pregnancy and sexually transmitted diseases. Washington, DC: National Campaign to Prevent Teen Pregnancy, 199 pp.

Annotation: This report summarizes research results on sexual risk behavior and its consequences. It identifies the particular types of adolescent sexual risk-taking behavior that affect pregnancy and sexually transmitted diseases (STDs). It provides an overview of factors that influence sexual risk-taking and describes the programs and approaches that have reduced teen sexual risk-taking and pregnancy or STD. The closing chapters provide conclusions and advice on applying research results in communities. References are provided at the end of each chapter. Extensive tables throughout the report present research findings and program comparisons.

Contact: National Campaign to Prevent Teen and Unplanned Pregnancy, 1776 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 478-8500 Fax: (202) 478-8588 E-mail: campaign@teenpregnancy.org Web Site: http://www.thenationalcampaign.org $10.00, plus shipping and handling. Document Number: ISBN 1-58671-070-2.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent sexuality, Community programs, Contraception, HIV, Pregnant adolescents, Prevention programs, Program descriptions, Program evaluation, Risk factors, Sexual behavior, Sexually transmitted diseases

Toggle Details

National Campaign to Prevent Teen Pregnancy. 2007. One in three: The case for wanted and welcomed pregnancy. Washington, DC: National Campaign to Prevent Teen Pregnancy, 14 pp.

Annotation: This report focuses on the high rate of unwanted pregnancy among adolescents and young adults and the promotion of responsible behavior and policies that can help reduce unwanted pregnancy and the need for abortion in America. It discusses and promotes education about a range of topics on unwanted pregnancy among adolescents and young adults including work with leaders, policymakers, and program leaders at the national and state levels; the careful and consistent practice of family planning by all who are sexually active and not seeking pregnancy; the role of men in pregnancy prevention and planning; the engagement of entertainment media, faith communities, peers and others; and the support of practical, evidence-based policies. Statistical data are provided in charts and graphs throughout the report. Reference sources are provided along with a list of individuals on the National Campaign advisory groups.

Contact: National Campaign to Prevent Teen and Unplanned Pregnancy, 1776 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 478-8500 Fax: (202) 478-8588 E-mail: campaign@teenpregnancy.org Web Site: http://www.thenationalcampaign.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Family life planning, Family planning, Family planning education, Prevention programs, Sexual behavior, Sexuality education, Unplanned pregnancy, Unwanted pregnancy, Young adults

Toggle Details

National Campaign to Prevent Teen Pregnancy. 2007. Science says: American opinion on teen pregnancy and related issues 2007. Washington, DC: National Campaign to Prevent Teen Pregnancy, 5 pp. (Putting what works to work; no. 31)

Annotation: This brief summarizes key findings from the National Campaign to Prevent Teen Pregnancy's 2003 survey of adults and adolescents on these topics related to adolescent pregnancy and sexuality: (1) parental influence, (2) adolescent attitudes and values, (3) abstinence and contraception; (4) "mixed messages, " (5) adolescents' desire for more information, (6) adolescents' estimates of the percentage of their peers who have had sex, (7) dating older partners, (8) adult supervision, (9) the message for boys, and (10) media influence. The brief also includes information about the Putting What Works to Work project, of which this brief is a part.

Contact: National Campaign to Prevent Teen and Unplanned Pregnancy, 1776 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 478-8500 Fax: (202) 478-8588 E-mail: campaign@teenpregnancy.org Web Site: http://www.thenationalcampaign.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Abstinence, Adolescent attitudes, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent sexuality, Adolescents, Contraception, Dating, Families, Mass media, Parent child relations, Parents, Supervision, Surveys

Toggle Details

National Campaign to Prevent Teen Pregnancy. 2007. Science says: Effective and promising teen pregnancy prevention programs for Latino youth. Washington, DC: National Campaign to Prevent Teen Pregnancy, 5 pp. (Putting what works to work; no. 32)

Annotation: This research brief details six programs -- including some designed specifically for Latino adolescents -- that have been shown through evaluation to either delay sex, improve contraceptive use, or reduce pregnancy rates. Four additional programs that have not been as rigorously evaluated but that show encouraging results are also briefly discusssed. In addition, the brief provides data about pregnancy rates,birthrates, and sexual activity among Latino adolescents, and discusses what Latino adolescents and adults think and advice from the field. A conclusion and references are included.

Contact: National Campaign to Prevent Teen and Unplanned Pregnancy, 1776 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 478-8500 Fax: (202) 478-8588 E-mail: campaign@teenpregnancy.org Web Site: http://www.thenationalcampaign.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent attitudes, Adolescent behavior, Adolescent females, Adolescent males, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent sexuality, Community programs, Contraception, Hispanic Americans, Model programs, Pregnancy prevention programs

Toggle Details

Solomon-Fears C. 2007. Scientific evaluations of approaches to prevent teen pregnancy. [Washington, DC]: Congressional Research Service, 6 pp. (CRS report for Congress)

Annotation: This report discusses evaluations of two adolescent pregnancy prevention approaches: abstinence-only education and comprehensive sexuality education. The report provides background, discusses scientific evaluation of the two approaches, and explains the difference between an abstinence-only intervention vs. an abstinence message. A summary and footnotes are included.

Contact: Library of Congress, Congressional Research Service, 101 Independence Avenue, S.E., Washington, DC 20540-7500, Fax: Web Site: http://www.loc.gov/crsinfo Available from the website.

Keywords: Abstinence, Adolescent behavior, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent sexuality, Evaluation, Prevention, Sexuality education

Toggle Details

Alford S. 2006. Science and success: Supplement I—Additional sex education and other programs that work to prevent teen pregnancy, HIV and sexually transmitted infections. Washington, DC: Advocates for Youth, 15 pp.

Annotation: This document serves as a supplement to Science and Success: Sex Education and Other Programs That Work to Prevent Teen Pregnancy, HIV and Sexually Transmitted Infections, which compiles a list of programs proven successful by rigorous evaluation. The present document identifies an additional five such programs. For each program, the document provides program components, intended audience, evaluation methodology, evaluation findings, a program description, long-term outcomes, and ordering information. References are included.

Contact: Advocates for Youth, 2000 M Street, N.W., Suite 750, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 419-3420 Fax: (202) 419-1448 Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, HIV, Model programs, Prevention, Programs, Sexuality education, Sexually transmitted diseases

Toggle Details

Bean S, Rolleri LA, Wilson P. 2006. Parent-child connectedness: New interventions for teen pregnancy prevention. Santa Cruz, CA: ETR Associates, 73 pp.

Annotation: This document presents activities that can provide community-based organizations with intervention resources they can use to impact parent-child connectedness (PCC) among the parents and adolescents with whom they work. The activities focus on the following topics: (1) parenting style and PCC, (2) understanding adolescent development, (3) responding to adolescents, (4) connectedness and the emotional bank account, (5) using positive reinforcement to increase connectedness, and (6) active listening to provide emotional support.

Contact: ETR Associates, 4 Carbonero Way, Scotts Valley, CA 95066-4200, Telephone: (831) 438-4060 Secondary Telephone: (800) 321-4407 Fax: (800) 435-8433 E-mail: customerservic@eta.org Web Site: http://www.etr.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescents, Emotional development, Family support, Intervention, Parent child relations, Parents, Training

Toggle Details

Center for Adolescent Health and the Law, Healthy Teen Network. 2006. Confidential contraceptive services for adolescents: What health care providers need to know about the law. Chapel Hills, NC: Center for Adolescent Health and the Law, 6 pp.

Annotation: This document provides a brief overview of why confidential contraceptive services are an important component of both comprehensive health care for adolescents and adolescent pregnancy prevention efforts. The document also discusses what can be learned from research findings and from the policies of health care professional organizations, what state and federal laws provide, and what it means when laws are not clear. References are included.

Contact: Center for Adolescent Health and the Law, 310 Kildaire Road, Suite 100, Chapel Hill, NC 27516-4407, Telephone: (919) 968-8850 Fax: (919) 968-8851 E-mail: info@cahl.org Web Site: http://www.cahl.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent sexuality, Confidentiality, Contraception, Health care, Legislation, Prevention, Research

Toggle Details

CityMatCH. 2006. Evidenced-based approaches to teen pregnancy prevention. Omaha, NE: CityMatCH,

Annotation: This Webcast hosts presentations by three experts in the field of adolescent pregnancy and adolescent sexual risk taking behavior intervention. The first presenter speaks on promoting evidence or science based initiatives at the local level. She defines science based approaches and summarizes program designs and program evaluations. The second speaker overviews the work in Minnesota to promote science based approaches and details three examples of science based approaches to adolescent sexual health. The final speaker discusses adolescent sexual risk-taking intervention at the local level in Nevada including aspects of implementation, collaboration, sustainability and outcomes. Powerpoint presentations accompany the presentations. A question and answer session follows the presentations. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170, Telephone: (402) 552-9500 E-mail: citymch@unmc.edu Web Site: http://www.citymatch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Community programs, Multimedia, Prevention programs, Program descriptions, Program evaluations, Risk taking, Sexual behavior

Toggle Details

Corle S, Gilmore C, Nandi P, Mayfield J. 2006. State innovations to prevent teen pregnancy. Washington, DC: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 11 pp.

Annotation: This report provides information from a review that looked at specific state examples of funding for adolescent pregnancy prevention efforts. The report provides general information about adolescent pregnancy and its public health implications, background information about the project, and information about public-sector funding sources for adolescent pregnancy prevention. Three states' pregnancy prevention efforts are profiled: Utah, Washington, and Wisconsin. A conclusion and references are included.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 2030 M Street, N.W., Suite 350, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 775-0061 E-mail: info@amchp.org Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Costs, Financing, Prevention programs, Public health, State programs, Utah, Washington, Wisconsin

Toggle Details

Kane A, Lichter DT. 2006. Reducing unwed childbearing: The missing link in efforts to promote marriage. Washington, DC: Center on Children and Families, Brookings Institution, 8 pp. (CCF brief no. 37)

Annotation: This brief, which focuses on reducing the number of children born to single parents, discusses the need to address underlying problems, especially the problem of childbearing by single parents, for marriages to succeed among low-income families, it is essential . The brief discusses the following points: (1) why reducing the number of children born to single parents is important; (2) adolescents are not good candidates for marriage, (3) out-of-wedlock childbearing reduces marriage, (4) unwed mothers often lack good marriage prospects, (5) cohabitation is no substitute for marriage, and (6) implications for policy. A conclusion and list of additional readings are included.

Contact: Brookings Institution, Center on Children and Families, 1775 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 797-6058 Fax: (202) 797-2968 E-mail: ccf@brookings.edu Web Site: http://www.brookings.edu/ccf.aspx Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent parents, Low income groups, Marriage, Public policy, Single fathers, Single mothers, Single parents

Toggle Details

National Campaign to Prevent Teen Pregnancy. 2006. Science says: Teen contraceptive use. Washington, DC: National Campaign to Prevent Teen Pregnancy, 10 pp. (Putting what works to work; no. 29)

Annotation: This research brief presents information on contraceptive use among sexually experienced adolescents including trends, proportion who have ever used contraception, types used, consistency of use, and reason why adolescent girls stop using contraception. It outlines the research methodology, highlights the findings, and describes the data sources. Additional information is presented in statistical charts and tables throughout the brief. Endnotes are also provided

Contact: National Campaign to Prevent Teen and Unplanned Pregnancy, 1776 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 478-8500 Fax: (202) 478-8588 E-mail: campaign@teenpregnancy.org Web Site: http://www.thenationalcampaign.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Contraceptive use, Sexual behavior, Statistical data, Trends

Toggle Details

Troccoli K. 2006. Terms of engagement: How to involve parents in programs to prevent teen pregnancy. Washington, DC: National Campaign to Prevent Teen Pregnancy, 30 pp.

Annotation: This publication summarizes discussion from two roundtables during which adolescent pregnancy prevention leaders, health department representatives, and others working with youth and families explored what is known about parental influence on adolescents' sexual decision-making, shared strategies for effectively involving parents in programs, and considered what more programs can do to address parents' needs in this area. The publication also provides additional information about what social science suggests about parental influence. The publication focuses on for common challenges that emerged for programs seeking to involve parents: (1) reaching parents, (2) motivating parents to participate and keeping them involved, (3) knowing what to say to parents and how to say it, and (4) paying for programs. The publication concludes with a summary of key points based on these challenges and strategies, as well as program descriptions and some tips from parents to help their children avoid early pregnancy and parenthood.

Contact: National Campaign to Prevent Teen and Unplanned Pregnancy, 1776 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 478-8500 Fax: (202) 478-8588 E-mail: campaign@teenpregnancy.org Web Site: http://www.thenationalcampaign.org $5.00, plus shipping and handling; also available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 1-58671-065-6.

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent sexuality, Community programs, Families, Financing, Parent child relations, Parent participation, Parents, Pregnancy prevention

Toggle Details

Vexler EJ, Sullentrop K. 2006. Bridging two worlds: How teen pregnancy prevention programs can better serve Latino youth. Washington, DC: National Campaign to Prevent Teen Pregnancy, 36 pp.

Annotation: This publication, which is intended for those involved in community programs that work directly with Hispanic youth, offers information that can help reduce adolescent pregnancy rates within the Hispanic community. The publication provides demographic data about the Hispanic community, an overview of pregnancy prevention programs shown to be effective with Hispanic youth, insights from program leaders in the field, and views of Hispanic adolescents themselves. Endnotes and a list of other materials of interest from the National Campaign to Prevent Teen Pregnancy are included. The publication is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: National Campaign to Prevent Teen and Unplanned Pregnancy, 1776 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 478-8500 Fax: (202) 478-8588 E-mail: campaign@teenpregnancy.org Web Site: http://www.thenationalcampaign.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent attitudes, Adolescent behavior, Adolescent pregnancy, Community programs, Hispanic Americans, Prevention, Spanish language materials, Young adults

Toggle Details

Whitehead BD, Pearson M. 2006. Making a love connection: Teen relationships, pregnancy, and marriage. Washington, DC: National Campaign to Prevent Teen Pregnancy, 31 pp.

Annotation: This report outlines steps toward the goal of developing strategies that provide adolescents with a positive vision and expectations for their lives and thus help prevent adolescent pregnancy. The steps outlined in the report include (1) teach adolescents about healthy relationships and healthy marriage; (2) teach adolescents about how to promote the achievement of their dreams and desires for their future family and work lives; (3) provide a knowledge base, practical skills, and social support to help adolescents successfully navigate the transition from adolescence to adulthood; and (4) engage parents as first teachers. The report is divided into the following main sections: (1) facing the cultural challenge (which deals with the differences in the world of adolescents today vs. the one in which their parents grew up); (2) confronting the knowledge deficit about relationships; (3) losing the connection between sex, marriage, and parenthood; and (4) what we need to do. Endnotes are included.

Contact: National Campaign to Prevent Teen and Unplanned Pregnancy, 1776 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 478-8500 Fax: (202) 478-8588 E-mail: campaign@teenpregnancy.org Web Site: http://www.thenationalcampaign.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent attitudes, Adolescent behavior, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent sexuality, Families, Goals, Marriage, Parents, Prevention, Relationships

Toggle Details

National Campaign to Prevent Teen Pregnancy. [2005]. Faith, hope, and love: How Latino faith communities can help prevent teen pregnancy. [Washington, DC]: National Campaign to Prevent Teen Pregnancy, 12 pp.

Annotation: This guide provides information about how faith leaders in Latin American communities can help prevent adolescent pregnancy. The guide discusses why faith leaders should get involved and describes ways they can help in these areas: (1) be a cultural bridge between parents and adolescents, (2) send a clear message to kids and to adults, (3) don't leave out fathers and sons, (4) help adolescents set goals and standards, (5) support and celebrate excellence and achievement, (6) be aware of adolescent culture, (7) be open to adolescent perspectives, (8) reach out to young people who are not at church, (9) give youth something to say "yes" to, and (10) enlist others. The guide is available on the web site in English and Spanish.

Contact: National Campaign to Prevent Teen and Unplanned Pregnancy, 1776 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 478-8500 Fax: (202) 478-8588 E-mail: campaign@teenpregnancy.org Web Site: http://www.thenationalcampaign.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent attitudes, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent sexuality, Fathers, Hispanic Americans, Parents, Prevention, Religious organizations, Spanish language materials

Toggle Details

Alan Guttmacher Institute. 2005. Sex education: Needs, programs, and policies. New York, NY: Alan Guttmacher Institute, 48 pp.

Annotation: This document, originally designed as a PowerPoint presentation, brings together research and analysis on sex education in the United States and its effectiveness in preventing unintended pregnancies and sexually transmitted diseases (STDs) among adolescents. The document includes background information about sexual activity among American adolescents, sex education policy and practice in public schools, the effectiveness of programs designed to delay sexual activity and to prevent unintended pregnancy and STDs among adolescents, and public opinion and public policies related to these topics.

Contact: Guttmacher Institute, 125 Maiden Lane, New York, NY 10038, Telephone: (212) 248-1111 Secondary Telephone: (800) 355-0244 Fax: (212) 248-1951; Washington, D.C. Office (202) 223-5756 E-mail: guttmacher@guttmacher.org Web Site: http://www.guttmacher.org/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent sexuality, Prevention programs, Public policy, Research, Sexuality education, Sexually transmitted diseases

Toggle Details

Healthy Teen Network. 2005. Replicating success: One program at a time. Washington, DC: Healthy Teen Network, 18 pp.

Annotation: This publication focuses on the methodology that has been developed in recent years to replicate community-based programs that effectively address the complex issues associated with adolescent parents and adolescent pregnancy prevention in the United States. The publication showcases two programs in particular that have been successfully replicated in neighborhoods across the United States, Plain Talk and the Nurse-Family Partnership. The publication concludes with answers to frequently asked questions from community organizers who are interested in replicating an established program in their own communities and are prepared to take the next step. References and acknowledgments are included.

Contact: Healthy Teen Network, 1501 Saint Paul Street, Suite 124, Baltimore, MD 21202, Telephone: (410) 685-0410 Fax: (410) 687-0481 E-mail: Janet@healthyteennetwork.org Web Site: http://www.healthyteennetwork.org/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent sexuality, Adolescents, Community programs, Model programs, Prevention

Toggle Details

Love LT, McIntosh J, Rosst M, Tertzakian K. 2005. Fostering hope: Preventing teen pregnancy among youth in foster care. Washington, DC: National Campaign to Prevent Teen Pregnancy, 28 pp.

Annotation: This report provides an overview of qualitative research with adolescents in foster care and with foster parents to learn more about their perspective on adolescent pregnancy. The report is divided into the following chapters: (1) what the research shows, (2) focus groups, (3) service provider survey, (4) key questions, implications, and recomendations, and (5) appendix: roundtable participants.

Contact: National Campaign to Prevent Teen and Unplanned Pregnancy, 1776 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 478-8500 Fax: (202) 478-8588 E-mail: campaign@teenpregnancy.org Web Site: http://www.thenationalcampaign.org $1.00; also available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 1-58671-058-3.

Keywords: Adolescent attitudes, Adolescent parents, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent sexuality, Focus groups, Foster care, Foster children, Foster parents, Research, Surveys

Toggle Details

Albert B. 2004. Science says: American opinion on teen pregnancy and related issues 2003. Washington, DC: National Campaign to Prevent Teen Pregnancy, 4 pp. (Putting what works to work; no. 7)

Annotation: This brief summarizes some of the key findings from the National Campaign to Prevent Teen Pregnancy's 2003 survey of adults and adolescents. The brief includes information from the survey on these topics related to adolescent pregnancy and sexuality: (1) parental influence, (2) adolescent attitudes and values, (3) abstinence and contraception; (4) "mixed messages, " (5) adolescents' desire for more information, (6) adolescents' estimates of the percentage of their peers who have had sex, (7) dating older partners, (8) adult supervision, (9) the message for boys, and (10) media influence. The brief also includes information about the Putting What Works to Work project, of which this brief is a part.

Contact: National Campaign to Prevent Teen and Unplanned Pregnancy, 1776 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 478-8500 Fax: (202) 478-8588 E-mail: campaign@teenpregnancy.org Web Site: http://www.thenationalcampaign.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Abstinence, Adolescent attitudes, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent sexuality, Adolescents, Contraception, Dating, Families, Mass media, Parent child relations, Parents, Supervision, Surveys

Toggle Details

Albert B. 2004. Science says: Parental influence and teen pregnancy. Washington, DC: National Campaign to Prevent Teen Pregnancy, 4 pp. (Putting what works to work; no. 8)

Annotation: This brief makes the case that parents remain powerful even in a culture that bombards young people with conflicting and often-confusing message about sex and pregnancy. The brief compiles much of what is known from research about parental influence and offers parents and other suggestions for how to help adolescents delay sexual activity and avoid adolescent pregnancy. The brief concludes with endnotes.

Contact: National Campaign to Prevent Teen and Unplanned Pregnancy, 1776 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 478-8500 Fax: (202) 478-8588 E-mail: campaign@teenpregnancy.org Web Site: http://www.thenationalcampaign.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent sexuality, Adolescents, Mass media, Parent child relations, Parents

Toggle Details

Alford S, Leon J, Sugland BW. 2004. Science-based practices: A guide for state teen pregnancy prevention organizations. Washington, DC: Advocates for Youth, 4 pp.

Annotation: This document provides an overview of science-based practices (SBP), including what they are, why they are important, and how they relate to the work of state adolescent pregnancy prevention organizations. it also addresses benefits and challenges to incorporating SBP into the mission and work of each organization and offers suggestions. References are provided.

Contact: Advocates for Youth, 2000 M Street, N.W., Suite 750, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 419-3420 Fax: (202) 419-1448 Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescents, Family planning, Pregnant adolescents, Prevention, Prevention programs, Program development, Program evaluation

Toggle Details

Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs. 2004. Essential tips for successful collaboration. Washington, DC: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 8 pp.

Annotation: This report synthesizes lessons learned during a 5-year initiative driven by a national-level collaborative focused on school-based pregnancy prevention. The report describes the key elements that contribute to the development and sustainability of successful collaborations focused on complex issues. The report includes background information on the Joint Work Group on School-Based Teen Pregnancy Prevention, a discussions of collaboration as a viable approach to dealing with complex issues, and tips for successful collaboration. The tips are divided into 10 categories. Endnotes and a list of partners and collaborative members are included.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 2030 M Street, N.W., Suite 350, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 775-0061 E-mail: info@amchp.org Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Collaboration, Initiatives, Prevention, Schools

Toggle Details

Child Trends and National Campaign to Prevent Teen Pregnancy. 2004. Science says: Early childhood programs. Washington, DC: National Campaign to Prevent Teen Pregnancy, 6 pp. (Putting what works to work; no. 9)

Annotation: This research brief highlights three early childhood and elementary school programs that were evaluated and found to be associated with lower risk of pregnancy during adolescence. The brief lists criteria that programs must meet for inclusion in the report, discusses what research shows and what program studies show, and explains what it all means. The brief concludes with a list of endnotes.

Contact: National Campaign to Prevent Teen and Unplanned Pregnancy, 1776 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 478-8500 Fax: (202) 478-8588 E-mail: campaign@teenpregnancy.org Web Site: http://www.thenationalcampaign.org Available at no charge; also available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Early childhood education, Early intervention programs, Elementary education, High risk adolescents, High risk children, Prevention, Research

Toggle Details

Klerman LV. 2004. Another chance: Preventing additional births to teen mothers. Washington, DC: National Campaign to Prevent Teen Pregnancy and National Organization on Adolescent Pregnancy, Parenting, and Prevention, 49 pp.

Annotation: This report presents information about what is known about additional births to adolescent mothers. The primary focus of the report is its critical review and assessment of various prevention programs. The report is divided into the following sections: (1) the scope of the problem, (2) risk factors and consequences, (3) program evaluations, and (4) looking forward: recommendations and final thoughts. Each section includes references. Statistical information is presented in tables and figures throughout the report. The appendix presents the challenges of assessing evaluations of programs to prevent additional births to adolescent mothers.

Contact: National Campaign to Prevent Teen and Unplanned Pregnancy, 1776 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 478-8500 Fax: (202) 478-8588 E-mail: campaign@teenpregnancy.org Web Site: http://www.thenationalcampaign.org $15.00, plus shipping and handling.

Keywords: Adolescent mothers, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescents, Community programs, Prevention programs, Program evaluation, Risk factors

Toggle Details

Looney S. 2004. Rewards. Troy, AL: AIM Project, 14 pp., 1 brochure, 1 CD-ROM, 1 pin.

Annotation: This packet features a booklet containing a play about an adolescent couple who had unprotected sex before marriage, resulting in pregnancy. The play is intended to help adolescents think about the consequences of unprotected sex and alcohol consumption and to discern love from infatuation, set boundaries, identify pressures that lead to premarital sex, and think through choices. Finally, viewers are encouraged to learn from their mistakes and to move on and enjoy the rewards of making wise decisions in life. The packet also includes a brochure describing the play, "abstinence until marriage" pins, and a mini-CD. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: AIM Project, Troy Regional Medical Center, 1340 Highway 231 South Suite 1, Troy, AL 36081, Telephone: (334) 670-5261 Fax: (334) 670-5256 E-mail: info@aimproject.com Web Site: http://www.aimproject.com

Keywords: Abstinence, Adolescent behavior, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent sexuality, Alcohol consumption, CD-ROMs, Peer pressure, Premarital pregnancy, Prevention programs, Smoking during pregnancy

Toggle Details

Manlove J, Franzetta K, McKinney K, Papillo AR, Terry-Humen E. 2004. A good time: After school programs to reduce teen pregnancy. Washington, DC: National Campaign to Prevent Teen Pregnancy, 60 pp.

Annotation: This report for program providers, policymakers, and funders provides descriptions of those after-school programs that have been shown through research to have a positive impact on adolescent sexual behavior, such as delaying the onset of sex, increasing the use of contraception, and decreasing adolescent pregnancy. Contents include program profiles and key themes that emerged from evaluations of these programs; an overview of three types of after-school programs: curriculum-based sex education programs, youth development programs, and service learning programs; information on the costs and availability of program curricula; and program evaluation literature from which communities can draw in making their decisions about what programs they might consider using. The report also describes two sex education programs that did not affect adolescent sexual behavior. The appendix includes a program profile grid offering an outline of services included in the after-school programs.

Contact: National Campaign to Prevent Teen and Unplanned Pregnancy, 1776 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 478-8500 Fax: (202) 478-8588 E-mail: campaign@teenpregnancy.org Web Site: http://www.thenationalcampaign.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent sexuality, After school programs, Case studies, Community programs, Contraception, High risk adolescents, Prevention programs, Program descriptions, Service learning, Sexuality education, Sexually transmitted diseases

Toggle Details

Manlove J, Franzetta K, McKinney K, Papillo AR, Terry-Humen E. 2004. No time to waste: Programs to reduce teen pregnancy among middle school-aged youth. Washington, DC: National Campaign to Prevent Teen Pregnancy, 60 pp. (Putting what works to work)

Annotation: Produced in partnership with Child Trends, No Time to Waste provides detailed descriptions of programs for middle school-age students in abstinence and sex education and in HIV/AIDS and other sexually transmitted diseases that have been shown through careful research to have a positive impact on adolescent sexual behavior. The publication provides detailed descriptions of program curriculum, costs, and evaluation results. It also describes programs that did not change participants' behavior. No Time to Waste was developed as part of the ongoing Putting What Works to Work project.

Contact: National Campaign to Prevent Teen and Unplanned Pregnancy, 1776 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 478-8500 Fax: (202) 478-8588 E-mail: campaign@teenpregnancy.org Web Site: http://www.thenationalcampaign.org Available from the website.

Keywords: AIDS, Abstinence, Adolescent behavior, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent sexuality, Community programs, Costs, HIV, Middle schools, Model programs, Prevention, Prevention programs, Sexuality education, Sexually transmitted diseases

Toggle Details

Manlove J, Papillio AR, Ikramullah E. 2004. Not yet: Programs to delay first sex among teens. Washington, DC: National Campaign to Prevent Teen Pregnancy, 92 pp. (Putting what works to work)

Annotation: This report focuses on the effects of programs designed to delay first sex among adolescents. The report begins with a summary of research on the consequences of early sexual initiation. This section is followed by an overview of the types of programs described in the report, along with a list of key insights that emerged from evaluations of the programs. Finally, the report profiles 15 programs that were evaluated using experimental designs. The report includes one appendix: a program profile grid.

Contact: National Campaign to Prevent Teen and Unplanned Pregnancy, 1776 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 478-8500 Fax: (202) 478-8588 E-mail: campaign@teenpregnancy.org Web Site: http://www.thenationalcampaign.org Available at no charge; also available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Adolescent sexuality, Community programs, Prevention programs, Research, Sexual behavior

Toggle Details

Napp D. 2004. Preventing HIV, STD, and teen pregnancy in schools: Strengthening state health and education agency partnerships. Washington, DC: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 25 pp.

Annotation: This report on the regional stakeholders' meeting, Preventing HIV, STD and Teen Pregnancy in Schools: Strengthening State Health and Education Agency Partnerships, held in July 2003, provides the following: (1) a summary of the processes used to plan and implement the meeting; (2) the proceedings of the meeting; and (3) a sample of the experiences shared by state participants to coordinate efforts to integrate HIV, STD, and adolescent pregnancy prevention in schools. Topics include (1) setting the stage, (2) creating a shared vision, (3) identifying our assets, (4) defining our challenges, (5) seeking solutions, (6) working with our national partners, (7) planning for action, (8) follow-up and evaluation, and (9) regional stakeholders meetings: state outcomes. Six appendices include shared vision statements, common challenges, state strategies, an action-planning worksheet, a follow-up conference call facilitator's guide, a technical assistance tracking form, and a sample matrix of state technical assistance needs.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 2030 M Street, N.W., Suite 350, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 775-0061 E-mail: info@amchp.org Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescent pregnancy, Collaboration, Education, HIV, Prevention, Program coordination, Schools, Sexually transmitted diseases, State agencies, State health agencies, State programs, Technical assistance

Toggle Details

National Campaign to Prevent Teen Pregnancy. 2004. Teen pregnancy prevention: Dads make a difference. Washington, DC: National Campaign to Prevent Teen Pregnancy, 3 pp. (Fact sheet)

Annotation: This fact sheet discusses how parental influence can affect children's decisions about sex, love, and values. The fact sheet discusses what research says about parental influence, the media's role in influencing adolescents, adolescent boys, the role of fathers, and what parents can do.

Contact: National Campaign to Prevent Teen and Unplanned Pregnancy, 1776 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 478-8500 Fax: (202) 478-8588 E-mail: campaign@teenpregnancy.org Web Site: http://www.thenationalcampaign.org Available at no charge; also available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent sexuality, Adolescents, Families, Fathers, Love, Mass media, Moral values, Parent child relations, Parents, Prevention, Research

Toggle Details

Rogers J, Augustine J, Alford S. 2004. Integrating efforts to prevent HIV, other sexually transmitted infections, and pregnancy among teens. Washington, DC: Advocates for Youth, 4 pp. (Issues at a glance)

Annotation: This fact sheet discusses the benefits and challenges of approaching adolescents holistically and of integrating the sexual health information and services they receive. The ract sheet discusses the following topics: (1) what is an integrated approach to promoting sexual health among adolescents? (2) is the situation of adolescents in the United States really serious enough to justify integrating health promotion efforts? (3) what are the benefits of integrating pregnancy, HIV, and sexually transmitted infection (STI) prevention efforts? and (4) how does an organization integrate its work to prevent pregnancy, HIV, and other STIs? References are included.

Contact: Advocates for Youth, 2000 M Street, N.W., Suite 750, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 419-3420 Fax: (202) 419-1448 Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent sexuality, HIV, Health promotion, Health services, Prevention, Service integration, Sexually transmitted diseases

Toggle Details

Solomon J, Card JJ. 2004. Making the list: Understanding, selecting, and replicating effective teen pregnancy prevention programs. Washington, DC: National Campaign to Prevent Teen Pregnancy, 36 pp. (Putting what works to work)

Annotation: This report was developed to help those working with young people navigate overlapping lists of pregnancy-prevention programs and make informed decisions about how to select the best one(s) for a particular community and population. The report discusses the following topics: (1) what credible program lists are in existence? (2) why do effective program lists differ on which programs are effective? (3) what specific criteria were used to select programs for each effective program list? (4) what are the implications of the different criteria for the effective program lists and program replication effort? (5) how should practitioners use effective program lists to select programs for replication? (6) moving forward: science and practice. The report contains three appendices: an overview of programs, selected programs included in lists, and program included in at least three lists. The paper also includes a list of references and a glossary.

Contact: National Campaign to Prevent Teen and Unplanned Pregnancy, 1776 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 478-8500 Fax: (202) 478-8588 E-mail: campaign@teenpregnancy.org Web Site: http://www.thenationalcampaign.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Community programs, Model programs, Prevention programs

Toggle Details

Wertheimer R, Papillo AR. 2004. An update on state policy initiatives to reduce teen and adult nonmarital childbearing. Washington, DC: Urban Institute, 7 pp. (Assessing the new federalism, series A, no. A-66)

Annotation: This report summarizes the findings of a 2001 survey of the 50 states conducted to learn how specific state policies and programs to discourage adolescent and adult nonmarital childbearing have changed since similar surveys were conducted in 1999 and 1997. The report also reviews trends in adolescent and adult nonmarital childbearing. Statistical information is presented in figures and tables throughout the report.

Contact: Urban Institute, 2100 M Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 833-7200 Fax: (202) 467-5775 E-mail: http://www.urban.org/about/contact.cfm Web Site: http://www.urban.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent parents, Adolescent pregnancy, Childbirth, Prevention programs, Public policy, Single parents, State programs, State surveys, Surveys, Trends

Toggle Details

National Campaign to Prevent Teen Pregnancy. [2003]. Parent power: What parents need to know and do to help prevent teen pregnancy. Washington, DC: National Campaign to Prevent Teen Pregnancy, 32 pp.

Annotation: This report for parents and other who work with young people compiles much of what is known about parental influence on their children and offers parents practical suggestions to help their children delay sexual activity and avoid adolescent pregnancy. Topics include insights from research, what adolescents want adults to know, and tips for parents. Also included are a reference list, a list of videotapes and publications, and a Web site for more information. The report is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: National Campaign to Prevent Teen and Unplanned Pregnancy, 1776 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 478-8500 Fax: (202) 478-8588 E-mail: campaign@teenpregnancy.org Web Site: http://www.thenationalcampaign.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent sexuality, Adolescents, Parent child relations, Parent education, Parenting skills, Prevention programs, Resource materials, Spanish language materials

Toggle Details

Advocates for Youth. 2003-. The facts. Washington, DC: Advocates for Youth, 2 pp. each.

Annotation: This series of fact sheets provides statistics, trends, program highlights, and additional resources and references on specific topics primarily related to adolescent health and sexuality both nationally and worldwide. Recent topics include adolescent pregnancy and childbearing; the sexual and reproductive health of youth globally; HIV and AIDS; sexually transmitted infections; abstinence and contraceptive use; abortion; gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender and questioning youth; demographic and socio-psychological factors in sexual behavior; and condom effectiveness.

Contact: Advocates for Youth, 2000 M Street, N.W., Suite 750, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 419-3420 Fax: (202) 419-1448 Available from the website.

Keywords: AIDS, Adolescent health programs, Adolescent health services, Adolescent parents, Adolescent pregnancy, HIV, School based clinics, Sexuality, Sexually transmitted diseases

Toggle Details

Alford S. 2003. Science and success: Sex education and other programs that work to prevent teen pregnancy, HIV, and sexually transmitted infections. Washington, DC: Advocates for Youth, 48 pp.

Annotation: This report compiles descriptions of evaluated programs that have demonstrated effectiveness at reducing adolescents' risk for primary pregnancy and sexually transmitted infections, including HIV. Programs are divided into the following three categories: (1) school-based sex education programs; (2) community-based sex education programs; and (3) other programs. A summary chart outlines the programs, their behavioral outcomes, and health impacts. A second summary chart outlines the locale, age range, and populations of the 19 surveyed programs. The paper concludes with a glossary and a reference list.

Contact: Advocates for Youth, 2000 M Street, N.W., Suite 750, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 419-3420 Fax: (202) 419-1448 Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 0-913843-34-2.

Keywords: AIDS, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent sexuality, Community based services, Community health services, Community programs, Disease prevention, HIV, High risk adolescents, Model programs, Prevention, Programs, School health education, Schools, Sexuality education, Sexually transmitted diseases

Toggle Details

Annie E. Casey Foundation. 2003. Walking the plain talk : A guide for trainers. Baltimore, MD: Annie E. Casey Foundation, 136 pp.

Annotation: This guide is designed for community-based organizations and policy makers interested in developing programs similar to Plain Talk, a neighborhood-based initiative aimed at helping adults, parents, and community leaders develop the skills and tools they need to communicate effectively with young people about reducing adolescent sexual risk-taking. It is a companion piece to the Plain Talk Starter Kit. This guide provides the following: (1) an overview of Plain Talk; (2) a description of the Plain Talk components (community mapping, walkers and talkers, and home health parties); (3) sample performance measures; and (4) a list of other resources. An appendix gives a set of Plain Talk survey forms for adults, adolescents, service sites, physicians, and sources for nonprescription contraceptives. A section of handouts includes sample pledge forms, fact sheets, self-evaluation tools, listening skills inventory, discussion and communications tips and scripts, and checklists.

Contact: Annie E. Casey Foundation, 701 Saint Paul Street, Baltimore, MD 21202, Telephone: (410) 547-6600 Fax: (410) 547-6624 E-mail: webmail@aecf.org Web Site: http://www.aecf.org/ Available at no charge; also available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent health programs, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent sexuality, Community participation, Community programs, Contraception, Local initiatives, Plain Talk program, Planning, Prevention programs, Sexuality education, Sexually transmitted diseases

Toggle Details

Berglas N, Brindis C, Cohen J. 2003. Adolescent pregnancy and childbearing in California. Sacramento, CA: California Research Bureau, 56 pp.

Annotation: This report provides an overview of adolescent pregnancy and childbearing based on current research literature and focus groups with adolescents in California. The report addresses the following questions: (1) What are the current trends in adolescent sexual behavior, pregnancy, and childbearing in the United States? (2) What are the causes of adolescent sexual activity, pregnancy, and childbearing? (3) What are the consequences of adolescent childbearing for the mother, father, and infant? What are the economic costs to society? (4) What efforts have been made in California to address this issue? (5) What do California adolescents think about adolescent sexuality and pregnancy? Policy options involving the enhancement of family life education capacity of schools and families and other factors that influence adolescent decision-making are discussed. The report concludes with references. Statistical information is provided figures at the beginning of the report.

Contact: California Research Bureau, California State Library, 900 N Street, Suite 300, Sacramento, CA 94237-0001, Telephone: (916) 445-3551 Secondary Telephone: (916) 653-7843 Fax: (916) 654-5829 E-mail: crb@library.ca.gov Web Site: http://www.library.ca.gov/crb/index.html Available from the website. Document Number: CRB-03-007; ISBN 1-58703-176-0.

Keywords: Adolescent attitudes, Adolescent behavior, Adolescent parents, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent sexuality, California, Costs, Families, Fathers, Infants, Mothers, Prevention programs, Trends

Toggle Details

Costello C, Henry J (Ed.). 2003. Across America: Preventing teen pregnancy in California, Georgia, and Michigan. Washington, DC: National Campaign to Prevent Teen Pregnancy, 39 pp.

Annotation: This report provides case studies of the efforts of three states (California, Georgia, and Michigan) to prevent adolescent pregnancy and parenthood over the decade of the 1990s. Descriptions of each program include gubernatorial and legislative support, activities and initiatives, additional key players and activities, looking ahead, and timeline. Statistics are presented in figures throughout the report. The Web site from which this report is available also provides access to state data and ranking on adolescent pregnancy and births, and specific information on state-level adolescent pregnancy prevention programs, media campaigns, Title V-funded initiatives, welfare reform efforts, state contact information, and other resources and links.

Contact: National Campaign to Prevent Teen and Unplanned Pregnancy, 1776 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 478-8500 Fax: (202) 478-8588 E-mail: campaign@teenpregnancy.org Web Site: http://www.thenationalcampaign.org Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 1-58671-048-6.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, California, Case studies, Georgia, Media campaigns, Michigan, Prevention programs, State initiatives, Title V programs, Welfare reform, Youth development

Toggle Details

Grisham C. 2003. Advice from the field: Youth employment programs and unintended pregnancy. Washington, DC: Center for Law and Social Policy, 25 pp.

Annotation: This report is intended to assist staff in the adolescent-employment field in integrating reproductive health education and unintended-pregnancy-prevention services into their programs. The report explores the connection between the fields of pregnancy prevention and adolescent employment. It provides advice from the field from five adolescent employment providers about their efforts to combat unintended pregnancy and to provide family planning services. In addition, it includes interviews with two experts in adolescent employment and adolescent pregnancy prevention.

Contact: Center for Law and Social Policy, 1200 18th Street, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 906-8000 Fax: (202) 842-2885 E-mail: http://www.clasp.org/about/contact Web Site: http://www.clasp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent employment, Adolescent pregnancy, Community programs, Family planning, Health education, Pregnancy prevention, Reproductive health

Toggle Details

Kirby D, Lezin N, Afriye RA, Gallucci G. 2003. Preventing teen pregnancy: Youth development and after-school programs. Scotts Valley, CA: ETR Publishing; New York, NY: YWCA of the U. S. A., 162 pp.

Annotation: This publication describes the planning, implementation, and diversification of a variety of youth development and after-school programs that may reduce the rates of adolescent pregnancy. Section topics include designing and implementing effective youth-development pregnancy-prevention programs; planning for education, jobs and careers; tutoring; entrepreneurship; arts and creative expression; service learning; mentoring; sports and fitness; substance abuse; curriculum-based sex education and HIV education programs; power in relationships: recognizing and preventing violence, assault and abuse; drop-in centers and group discussions as resources for youth at high risk of unprotected sex; involving parents in sexuality education; and the Children's Aid Society (CAS) Carerra model. The volume also includes two appendices that describe general characteristics of youth programs and communities believed to be important in preventing adolescent pregnancy. The volume concludes with a reference list.

Contact: ETR Associates, 4 Carbonero Way, Scotts Valley, CA 95066-4200, Telephone: (831) 438-4060 Secondary Telephone: (800) 321-4407 Fax: (800) 435-8433 E-mail: customerservic@eta.org Web Site: http://www.etr.org $24.95, plus $5.00 shipping and handling. Document Number: ISBN 1-56071-616-9.

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescent pregnancy prevention, After school programs, Empowerment, Parent participation, Program development, Self esteem, Service learning, Youth development

Toggle Details

Kirby D, Troccoli K. 2003. Progress pending: How to sustain and extend recent reductions in teen pregnancy rates. Washington, DC: National Campaign to Prevent Teen Pregnancy, 39 pp.

Annotation: This publication reports on a roundtable held June 6-7, 2002 to discuss why some areas and groups continue to have high adolescent pregnancy rates and to share strategies that seem effective in reducing too-early-childbearing. The report reviews characteristics of successful programs and identifies examples of programs that have been successful in a variety of community income levels, and race, ethnicity, age, and sexual experience of program participants. The appendices include contact information for programs discussed, the roundtable agenda, and a list of roundtable participants.

Contact: National Campaign to Prevent Teen and Unplanned Pregnancy, 1776 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 478-8500 Fax: (202) 478-8588 E-mail: campaign@teenpregnancy.org Web Site: http://www.thenationalcampaign.org $10.00, plus $4.95 shipping and handling. Document Number: ISBN 1-58671-045-1.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy prevention, Conferences, Program evaluation, Strategic plans, Surveys

Toggle Details

Leigh WA. 2003. Estimating the cost of effective teen pregnancy prevention programs. Washington, DC: Joint Center for Political and Economic Studies, 124 pp.

Annotation: This publication provides guidance for program operators and others who want to estimate the cost of serving a client in a teen pregnancy prevention program. The publication includes an executive summary, a background and literature review section that includes estimated costs for specific adolescent pregnancy prevention programs, a blank costing worksheet with instructions, a presentation and discussion of results from the worksheet's application to an actual program, and a discussion of lessons learned and conclusions. Some information is presented in tables grouped together at the end of the publication. The publication includes references.

Contact: Joint Center for Political and Economic Studies, 1090 Vermont Avenue, N.W., Suite 1100, Washington, DC 20005-4928, Telephone: (202) 789-3500 Fax: (202) 789-6390 E-mail: general@jointcenter.org Web Site: http://www.jointcenter.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Costs, Family planning programs, Literature reviews, Prevention programs

Toggle Details

National Campaign to Prevent Teen Pregnancy. 2003. Not just another single issue: Teen pregnancy and athletic involvement. Washington, DC: National Campaign to Prevent Teen Pregnancy, 2 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information on the ways in which girls' involvement in athletics can help prevent teen pregnancy. The fact sheet includes a general overview of the relationship between athletic involvement and pregnancy prevention and also offers a list of facts pertaining to this issue. The reverse side of the fact sheet provides endnotes.

Contact: National Campaign to Prevent Teen and Unplanned Pregnancy, 1776 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 478-8500 Fax: (202) 478-8588 E-mail: campaign@teenpregnancy.org Web Site: http://www.thenationalcampaign.org Available at no charge; also available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescents, Prevention, Sports

Toggle Details

National Campaign to Prevent Teen Pregnancy. 2003. The National Day to Prevent Teen Pregnancy: May 7, 2003. Washington, DC: National Campaign to Prevent Teen Pregnancy, 3 items.

Annotation: This packet includes multiple copies of two postcards and a poster with information related to the National Day to Prevent Teen Pregnancy campaign. The poster and one postcard have the slogan "score big tonight" and the other postcard has the slogan "all of the fun passion decisions, none of the consequences." Each item encourages the user to take an on-line quiz about adolescent pregnancy.

Contact: National Campaign to Prevent Teen and Unplanned Pregnancy, 1776 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 478-8500 Fax: (202) 478-8588 E-mail: campaign@teenpregnancy.org Web Site: http://www.thenationalcampaign.org Available at no charge.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Campaigns, Media campaigns, Posters, Prevention programs, Public awareness campaigns

Toggle Details

Nowak MW, Fishman ME, Farrell ME. 2003. State experience and perspectives on reducing out-of-wedlock births: Final report. Falls Church, VA: Lewin Group, 47 pp.

Annotation: This report examines state perspectives and experiences related to nonmarital birth policy since the passage of the Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity Act (PRWORA) of 1996. The report provides information on states' experiences related to the goal of reducing nonmarital births and the factors that helped shape state policies. The first part of the report provides a general overview of what is currently known about state efforts to reduce nonmarital births and the second part of the report provides detailed information about the experiences of a sample of nine states; Alabama, Arizona, Georgia, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, New York, Pennsylvania, and Wyoming. Data are presented in graphs, charts, and tables throughout the report. The report provides a conclusion section and a list of references.

Contact: Lewin Group, 3130 Fairview Park Drive, Suite 800, Falls Church, VA 22042, Telephone: (703) 269-5500 Fax: (703) 269-5501 E-mail: lisa.chimento@lewin.com Web Site: http://www.lewin.com Available from the website.

Keywords: Case studies, Premarital pregnancy, Single parents, State programs, Unplanned pregnancy

Toggle Details

Annie E. Casey Foundation. 2002. Plain Talk implementation guide: Tools for developing community programs to reduce teen pregnancy, STDs, and HIV/AIDS. Baltimore, MD: Annie E. Casey Foundation, 115 pp.

Annotation: This guide is designed for community-based organizations and policy makers interested in developing programs similar to Plain Talk, a neighborhood-based initiative aimed at helping adults, parents, and community leaders develop the skills and tools they need to communicate effectively with young people about reducing adolescent sexual risk-taking. It is a companion piece to the Plain Talk Starter Kit. This guide provides the following: (1) an overview of Plain Talk; (2) a description of the Plain Talk components (community mapping, walkers and talkers, and home health parties); (3) sample performance measures; and (4) a list of other resources. An appendix gives a set of Plain Talk survey forms for adults, adolescents, service sites, physicians, and sources for nonprescription contraceptives.

Contact: Annie E. Casey Foundation, 701 Saint Paul Street, Baltimore, MD 21202, Telephone: (410) 547-6600 Fax: (410) 547-6624 E-mail: webmail@aecf.org Web Site: http://www.aecf.org/ Available at no charge; also available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent sexuality, Community participation, Community programs, Contraception, Local initiatives, Plain Talk program, Planning, Prevention programs, Sexually transmitted diseases

Toggle Details

National Campaign to Prevent Teen Pregnancy. 2001-2012. With one voice 20__: America's adults and teens sound off about teen pregnancy. Washington, DC: National Campaign to Prevent Teen Pregnancy, irregular.

Annotation: This report presents key findings from a national survey that asked adolescents and adults about a core set of questions about adolescent pregnancy and related issues. It offers information about factors that might influence adolescents' decisions about relationships, sex, contraception, and pregnancy as well as information for parents, program leaders, funders, and policymakers. The report describes the survey methodology, provides the specific wording of each survey question, and charts responses from adults and adolescents; comparable data from prior surveys are shown when available.

Contact: National Campaign to Prevent Teen and Unplanned Pregnancy, 1776 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 478-8500 Fax: (202) 478-8588 E-mail: campaign@teenpregnancy.org Web Site: http://www.thenationalcampaign.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Abstinence, Adolescent behaviors, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent sexuality, Prevention programs, Public opinion, Statistics, Surveys

Toggle Details

CityMatCH. Science-based approaches to preventing teen pregnancy . CityLights. 15(2):1-12. Summer 2006.,

Annotation: This issue of City Lights focuses on science-based approaches to preventing adolescent pregnancy. The issue includes articles on the public health challenge of addressing adolescent pregnancy and childbirth, the role of community helpers in solving the problem of unintended pregnancy, promoting science-based approaching to preventing adolescent pregnancy, sex and HIV education programs for adolescents, and promoting science-based approaching to preventing adolescent pregnancy in Massachusetts. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170, Telephone: (402) 552-9500 E-mail: citymch@unmc.edu Web Site: http://www.citymatch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: , Adolescent pregnancy, Childbirth, Community role, Prevention, Public health, Sexuality education, Unwanted pregnancy

Toggle Details

CityMatCH. Viewed through the lens: Urban MCH and the life course . CityLights. 17(1):1-12. Summer 2008.,

Annotation: This issue of City Lights focuses on urban maternal and child health and the life course. The issue discusses the life course model and perspectives and includes articles on adolescent pregnancy prevention in Pennsylvania, urban adolescent reproductive health disparities, science-based approach to adolescent pregnancy prevention (including the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention's approaches), and an overview and public health implications of autism spectrum disorders, [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170, Telephone: (402) 552-9500 E-mail: citymch@unmc.edu Web Site: http://www.citymatch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescents, Autism, Children, Ethnic factors, Families, Income factors, Infants, Life course, Pennsylvania, Prevention, Public health, Racial factors, Reproductive health, Urban populations, Women's health

Toggle Details

Sociometrics Corporation. Program Archive on Sexuality, Health and Adolescence. Los Altos, CA: Sociometrics Corporation,

Annotation: The Program Archive on Sexuality, Health, and Education (PASHA) provides a set of replication kits of promising adolescent pregnancy prevention programs as well as programs related to prevention of HIV, AIDS and other sexually transmitted diseases. The programs are developed for use in schools, community organizations, and clinics. The web site describes the selection criteria, program package contents, ways to choose and use program packages, and currently available and forthcoming programs. The adolescent pregnancy programs cover both primary and secondary prevention.

Contact: Sociometrics Corporation, 170 State Street, Suite 260, Los Altos, CA 94022-2812, Telephone: (650) 949-3282 Secondary Telephone: (800) 846-3475 Fax: (650) 949-3299 E-mail: socio@socio.com Web Site: http://www.socio.com Available at no charge.

Keywords: AIDS, Abstinence, Adolescent pregnancy, Curricula, Educational materials, HIV, Prevention programs, Sexually transmitted diseases

Return to Previous Page | Go To Cross-Database Search | Advanced MCHLine® Search