photo collage
Top Navigational image with links Home About Search
Search the Databases
Advanced Search
MCH Library Resources navigational image with links Bright Futures for Women 3rd Edition Guidelines Distance Learning MCH Group AIM Partners MCHB Final Report Healthy Start MCH History MCH Thesaurus Resource Guides MCH Alert Newsletter Oral Health Resource Center Healthy People 2010/2020 MCH Links MCHB Resources Centers Contact Us Frequently Asked Questions Site Map Bright Futures at Georgetown University MCHB-Funded Projects and Final Reports Children's Bureau Multimedia Resources State MCH-Medicaid Coordination About the Library Databases Sudden Infant Death Resources for Families Knowledge Paths Find Services Non-English Languages How to Use the Site
Healthy Start

Healthy StartThe Healthy Start Initiative, established in 1991 by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau, provides community-based, culturally competent, family-centered, and comprehensive perinatal health services to women, infants, and their families in communities with very high rates of infant mortality.

Overview of Healthy Start from the Promising Practices Network

Healthy Start Materials

The MCH Library has many materials about the Healthy Start Initiative in its general collection, including final reports of individual Healthy Start projects.

Complete list

Search for specific topics

The Healthy Start Collection Database, a specialized database compiled by the Healthy Start National Resource Center (HSNRC), is an online catalog of over 2,000 items developed by Healthy Start sites, including brochures, bylaws, curricula, marketing materials, policies, and reports, along with other material related to maternal and infant health.

The HSNRC was a special project funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau at the National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health from 1997 to 2002. Members of the maternal and child health community are welcome to contact the MCH Library for photocopies of most items.

Search the Healthy Start Collection

Directory of Healthy Start Sites

National Healthy Start Association Communications Directory

Utilization Indices

Overview of Adequacy of Prenatal Care Utilization Index pdf image
Adequacy of Prenatal Care Utilization Index pdf image