The MCH Library maintains several databases to collect, manage, and disseminate knowledge about maternal and child health (MCH), with special emphasis on knowledge gained from initiatives and programs supported by the federal Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB), Health Resources and Services Administration, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. The library also provides a thesaurus of terms that are used to index the databases.
The databases are:
The databases are described below.
This database lists
materials held in the Mary C. Egan Maternal and Child Health Library.
The library focuses on materials for health professionals
and for consumers about taking care of the health of mothers and children
and about federal, state, and local health programs. Materials include
advice for parents and professional literature such as studies and reports,
guidelines and manuals, curricula, policy documents, survey instruments,
and unique material on the history of maternal and child health in the
United States. The library collection focuses on materials from federal
and state agencies, grantees of federal and state agencies, and professional
and voluntary agencies. Materials on clinical medicine and commercially
published literature are collected very selectively. Annotated
bibliographies developed from MCHLine® are
available on key MCH topics.
MCH Organizations Database | Search MCH Organizations Database
This database lists government,
professional, and other organizations that provide information on MCH
topics to health professionals and the public. Most organizations included
in the database work at the national level, although regional and state
organizations in selected categories are also included. Organizations
resource lists on selected MCH topics are available.
MCH Projects Database | Search MCH Projects Database
This database tracks
projects funded by MCHB, including Special Projects of Regional and
(SPRANS) through October 1, 2004, other projects funded under Title
V of the Social Security Act, and programs funded outside Title V (i.e.,
for Children (EMSC) program, the Healthy Start Initiative, the Traumatic
Brain Injury program). Descriptions of projects funded after 2004
are available from MCHB's Discretionary Grant Information System. See selected
reports in electronic
Healthy Start Collection Database | Search Healthy Start Collection Database
This database contains descriptions of over 2,000 items collected from
Healthy Start communities by the National Healthy Start Resource Center.
The database includes materials for consumers and materials for health
professionals. The resource center ceased operation in September 30,
MCH Alert | Search MCH Alert Database
This database contains articles from the MCH Alert from January 2001 to the present. The MCH Alert includes announcements of new publications and summaries of current articles from professional journals. Issues of the MCH Alert from its inception (1998) can be located using the MCH Library site search or can be viewed on the on the All Issues page.