| Search
Tips for the MCH Projects Database
General
Search Tips
To conduct and
searches (e.g., to retrieve records that contain pregnancy and
prenatal in a particular field), enter both terms in the search
field.
To conduct or
searches (e.g., to retrieve records that contain either pregnancy
or prenatal, but not necessarily both, in a particular field),
it is necessary to search twice, once for each term.
Choose the most unusual
words, if possible (not health!).
If you are searching
for a term that has varied endings, the term may be truncated by typing
in the root of the word followed by an asterisk. For example, for materials
on adolescents, typing adolescen* will retrieve records using both
adolescents and adolescence.
To match an exact
phrase, enclose it in quotation marks. For example, "special health
needs" matches children with special health needs and the special
health needs of pregnant women with disabilities but not children
with special health care needs or special needs of newborns.
The database search
engine is not case sensitive. For example, searches for WIC and
wic yield the same records.
The order of the words
is unimportant. Searching for public health yields public health
programs and health services for the public, but not public
private partnerships (because there is no health).
You may also search
using these special characters:
- @ matches one arbitrary
character (e.g., wom@n matches woman and women)
- * matches zero
or more arbitrary characters (e.g., *feeding matches feeding
disorders and breastfeeding)
- = forces the words
to be an exact match (e.g., =nutrition matches nutrition
and nutrition assessment, but not nutritionists or nutritional
requirements)
If a search finds
too many records, redo it with additional terms. For example, add a population
type (e.g., adolescents) or another subject term in the keyword
field. Or narrow your search by adding a state abbreviation to the state
field to find projects in a particular state (see tips for searching specific
fields below).
Simple Search
Use the simple
search field to conduct a comprehensive search on a particular topic.
Fill in words or phrases. The title, keyword, and annotation fields will
be searched. Records retrieved will contain all the search terms, which
may be located in any of these fields. For a more focused search, enter
your word or phrase in the keyword field, which indicates the main topic
addressed in a project.
Advanced
Search
Please note: Specific fields may be searched individually
or in combination.
Grant Number
This field contains the old and current grant numbers for the project.
Enter the number of the grant, without spaces, including letter prefixes
(e.g., R40MC00112).
Project Name
This field contains the official project name. For faster searches, don't
enter the entire name in this field. Limit the number of words to two
or three of the most unusual words, if possible. For example, to find
the "National Consortium to Advance Education and Public Policy," enter
the terms consortium advance in the project name field.
Grantee
This field contains the name of the organization or institution that
receives the grant from MCHB. Grantee names are the broadest institutional
entity of an organization. For example, if the project is being conducted
by the Department of Pediatrics at the University of Nebraska Medical
Center, the grantee is the University of Nebraska.
Project Director
This field contains the name of the person(s) who is the project's
principal investigator. Projects may have more than one project director.
All project directors of a project are included. A project director's
first name, middle initial (if known), last name, and degree(s) are recorded.
Search the project director field by entering the last name(s) of individual(s).
An example of the content of the project director field is Rochelle
Mayer, Ed.D.
City
This field contains the city in which a project and/or grantee is located
(e.g., Arlington).
State
This field contains the state or political jurisdiction in which a project
and/or grantee is located. The U.S. Postal Service's two-letter state
abbreviations are used for the states' names (e.g., VA).
Zip
This field contains the zip code in which a project and/or grantee
is located. Four-digit extensions are included when known, but do not
need to be included in the search (i.e., entering 22201 will find
22201 and 22201-2617).
Date
What are the beginning and end dates? The beginning date is the
earliest date associated with a project. The end date is the last date
that a project is scheduled to be active. Together, the beginning and
end dates constitute the "project period" for a grant. Typically (but
not always) project periods are from 10/1/_ to 9/30/_. Some projects are
funded in cycles. Thus, the standard beginning date in the beginning date
field remains the historical beginning date (e.g., 10/1/54). (Typically,
training projects have this characteristic.)
Why search by
date? You can search by date to find projects that are scheduled
to end by a certain date, find projects that began on a certain date,
and find projects that were active during a certain period.
How do I search by date? This is a useful field to search in
combination with the simple search field or keyword field if you are
interested in
limiting your search to a single year or range of years. Symbols allow
you to search for dates:
- Before a certain
date (e.g., <10/1/95)
- Before, or
equal to, a certain date (e.g., <=10/1/95)
- After a certain
date (e.g., >10/1/95)
- After, or
equal to, a certain date (e.g., >=10/1/95)
- Equal to a
certain date (e.g., =10/1/95)
- Within a certain
date range (e.g., 10/1/95...10/1/96)
- Today's date,
using the // symbol
Note:
The database covers projects that started 10/1/2002 or earlier
so searches for start dates later than that will not find any
results.
How should dates be formatted?
The standard format
is month/day/year (e.g., 10/1/92). However, for the year 2000
and beyond, use four digits for the year (e.g., 10/1/2001).
Can I search for an exact date? Yes. You can search for an exact
date (e.g., 10/1/93), by entering the date without a symbol.
Warning: Although many projects begin and end on the same dates (i.e.,
October
1 and September 30), there are always exceptions. Thus, searching by
exact dates is not recommended.
Do I have to search for projects by beginning AND end dates?
No. If you wish, you may search by one or the other. Simply leave the
other field blank.
How do I search for projects that were active in a certain fiscal year?
"Active" projects are defined as those that are active as of October
1 of that fiscal year. For example, a project is active in FY 1998 if
it
was active as of October 1, 1997. (Fiscal years run from October 1 through
September 30.) The project does not have to be active for the entire
year
to be counted as active for that year; even if it is active for only
1 day in the year, it is considered an active project.
Project Type
Every project belongs to a specified project type. Project types break
down the records in the database into useful categories. In many cases,
searching by project type can be much more efficient than other types
of searches. For example, it is easier to look for Healthy Start projects
by looking in the project type field than by using keywords.
- Keyword
- The keyword field
indicates the main focus of the project and the population addressed.
Use the keyword field to conduct a concentrated search for projects
working on particular MCH-related issues. Fill in one or more terms
using our keyword list. The keyword field
in records retrieved will contain all of the search terms entered. For
a more comprehensive search for projects, use the simple search field,
which will search the project name, keyword, and annotation fields.
-
|