| Search
Tips for the Healthy Start Collection Database
General
Search Tips
To conduct and
searches (e.g., to retrieve records that contain pregnancy and
prenatal in a particular field), enter both terms in the search
field.
To conduct or
searches (e.g., to retrieve records that contain either pregnancy
or prenatal, but not necessarily both, in a particular field),
it is necessary to search twice, once for each term.
If you are searching
for a term that has varied endings, the term may be truncated by simply
typing in the root of the word. For example, for materials on adolescents,
typing adolescen will retrieve records using both adolescents
and adolescence.
To match an exact
phrase, enclose it in quotation marks (e.g., "infant mortality").
The database search
engine is not case sensitive. For example, searches for WIC and
wic yield the same records.
You may also search
using these special characters:
@
matches one arbitrary character (e.g., wom@n matches woman
and women)
*
matches zero or more arbitrary characters (e.g.,*feeding matches
feeding and breastfeeding)
=
forces the words to be an exact match (e.g.,=nutrition matches
nutrition, but not nutritionists)
Tips
for Searching Specific Fields
Please note: Fields
may be searched individually or in combination.
Project
Name
This field contains the name of the Healthy
Start site that developed or uses the library item in their program.
Model
This field contains the nine Healthy Start models of intervention
(see below for more information about these models).
All items in the collection are classified according to these models.
To search by model, scroll and select the model of interest. To select
more than one criteria from the box, hold down the command key (Mac) or
the control key (Windows) while selecting.
Although
all of the Healthy Start initiatives have locally designed interventions,
Healthy Start has identified nine over-arching models of intervention.
They are
- Community-based
consortia, which aim to identify and mobilize all essential local collaborators.
- Care coordination/case
management, which creates individual needs assessments and service plans.
- Outreach and client
recruitment, which utilizes creative ways to enroll at-risk pregnant
women.
- Family resource
centers, also called one stop shops, which centralize available
services for pregnant women and their families.
- Enhanced clinical
services, which improve the quality and availability of services through
a variety of strategies, such as expanded clinic hours and encouraged
involvement of male partners.
- Risk prevention
and reduction, which spotlight nonmedical interventions such as mental
health counseling and substance abuse treatment.
- Facilitating services,
which increase access to care by providing resources such as translators
and transportation.
- Training and education
interventions, which aim to increase community knowledge of the Healthy
Start project via community events and media outreach.
- Adolescent programs,
which educate adolescents on topics such as sex and abstinence and provide
pregnant and parenting adolescents with needed information.
Title
This field contains the title of items in the collection. For faster
searches, limit the number of search words to two or three of the most
unusual words in the title. For example, if you are searching for the
publication, "Male Involvement Specialist Training Guide: Male Outreach
and Case Management," enter the terms male outreach training
in the title field for a more efficient search.
Document
Type
This field contains information about the format of items in the collection
(e.g., brochures, videotapes, curricula). To search by document type,
scroll and select the format. To select more than one type of document
from the box, hold down the command key (Mac) or the control key (Windows)
while selecting.
Annotation
This field describes items in the collection. Search it to find items
on a particular topic by entering a search word or phrase (e.g., prenatal
or infant mortality). See the general search
tips for additional search strategies for this field.
|